SlideShare une entreprise Scribd logo
1  sur  95
Télécharger pour lire hors ligne
Google Confidential and Proprietary 1
AdWords – Key Concepts
Search Advertising 101
Filip Hracek
Account Strategist
Google Confidential and Proprietary 2
Content
1 Key Concepts of AdWords
2 Search Best Practices: Science of Search
3 The Google Display Network
4 Q & A
3Google Confidential and Proprietary
What is AdWords?
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Rear-view mirror
4
“We drive into the future
using only our rear-view
mirror.”
Marshall McLuhan (1911-1980)
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Print ads  Internet banner ads
5
Google Confidential and Proprietary 6
Why is search impotant?
87%of visitors to a website come from search engines
source: Google internal
Google Confidential and Proprietary 7
Buying a new
laptop
laptop
How does marketing via Google work?
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google.com => Search
Google Confidential and Proprietary 8
One search box
for all questions…
Web results
Video results
(Steve’s famous Stanford
commencement speech)
News results
(Articles about Steve and Apple)
News archives
Images
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Natural Search
Results
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Online consumers use keywords to search for information
Google Search… and ads
Google Confidential and Proprietary
flights to barcelona
Online consumers use keywords to search for information.
Google Search… and ads… our core business
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Headline: 25 characters
Description line 1: 35 characters
Description line 2: 35 characters
Display URL: 35 characters
Destination URL: 1024 characters
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Where do the ads show?
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Natural Search
Results
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Google Search Property
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Natural Search
Results
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Google Search Partner
Ads are also served on keyword matching basis and relevancy
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Search Partners in Europe
NorwayNetherlands
Belgium
Germany
ItalySpain
France
Portugal Turkey
UK
Switzerland
Denmark
Finland
Poland
Czech Republic
Bulgaria
Austria
Google Confidential and Proprietary
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Google Content Property
Ads are also served on keyword matching basis and relevancy
Google Confidential and Proprietary
AdSense site
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Google Content Partner
Ads are contextually matched to the theme of the page
AdWords Ads
Google Confidential and Proprietary 17
Contextual & placement targeting
Keyword / Contextual Targeting
Uses your keywords to match the theme
of your Ad Group to the theme of
content pages
1
2 ‘Placement’ targeting
The advertiser specifies the websites that
they want to show their ads on.
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Largest global advertising network
The Google Content Network UK
•  Reach over 80% of Internet Users
•  1 Billion Daily Ad Exposures
•  27 Million Monthly Visitors
•  Thousands of Publishers
Source: comScore Custom Analysis, Nov 07
19
How are ads ranked?
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Search engine marketing
20
Search engine marketing
can be efficient but it can also be inefficient.
relevant
targeted
measurable
inexpensive
irrelevant
too broad
“spontaneous”
expensive
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Search engine marketing
21
Books at Amazon
Millions of titles, new & used.
Free 2-Day Shipping w/Amazon Prime!
Amazon.com/books
BOOQ Laptop bags
Vypers, Boas, Pythons, Mambas
We’ve got them all. Fast shipping!
www.pivotgear.com
Search engine marketing
can be efficient but it can also be inefficient.
Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Cost-per-click (CPC) => pay-per-click (PPC)
Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Cost-per-click (CPC) => pay-per-click (PPC)
Charged up to max CPC
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Ranking formula
CPC – Cost per Click
CTR – The ratio of the number of times an ad is clicked divided by the number of times an ad is viewed (Impressions)
Max CPC
AdWords is based on an auction designed to reward relevance
Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Ad rank = maximum CPC x Quality Score
£2.50 x 6 = 15
£2 x 6 = 12
£3 x 3.5 = 10.5
£5 x 2 = 10
£2 x 4 = 8
£2 x 3.5 = 7
£0.5 x 8 = 4
Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Rewarding relevance
£2.50 x 6 = 15
£3 x 3.5 = 10.5
£5 x 2 = 10
Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Rewarding relevance through Quality Score
QS determined by:
• Click-through-rate (CTR)
• Relevance of ad text to keyword
• Historical keyword performance
• Landing page assessment
• Other relevancy factors
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Science of Search
Maximise profitable results from Google Search
Google Confidential and Proprietary
The Google Account Structure
AdWords account
Campaign Campaign
Ad group Ad group Ad group
Keywords Keywords Keywords
Ad
Text
Ad
Text
Ad
Text
Ad
Text
Ad
Text
Ad
Text
Ad
Text
Ad
Text
Ad group level
•  CPC bids
Campaign level
•  Daily budget
•  Country and language targeting
•  Network options
•  Start and end dates
Keyword level
•  Keyword CPCs
•  Keyword URLs
•  Position preferences
Keywords
Ad group
Account Level
• Login Details
• Billing information
Google Confidential and Proprietary 30
Account Limits
Level Limits
Active Campaigns 25
Ad Groups/Campaign 100
Keywords/Ad Group 2,000
Text ad/Ad Group No limit
Images/Account 50
Overall Account Keyword Limit 50,000
Google Confidential and Proprietary 31
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match Types
4 Expanding keyword lists
5 Improving/writing ad text
Google Confidential and Proprietary 32
Landing Page Quality
Search: Cheap Holidays
• Easy to navigate
• Relevant to ad text
• Unique content
• Display product details
Cheap Holidays
Great deals on all destinations.
Lowest prices in the UK guaranteed!
www.holidays.com
Google Confidential and Proprietary 33
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match Types
4 Expanding keyword lists
5 Improving/writing ad text
Google Confidential and Proprietary 34
Structuring Ad Groups
Create separate ad groups/campaigns for:
•  Specific themes
•  Best selling products
•  Brand/Company
•  Products/Services
•  Long-tail traffic
Ideas for structures:
•  Match the website
•  Match the products you sell
•  Organise by brand
Google Confidential and Proprietary 35
Official Google Products
Great prices on Google
Merchandise – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Beach towel
Google towels
Golf umbrella
Google umbrella
Google golf kit
Golf accessories
Blue umbrella
Travel mug
Flask
Google flask
Alarm clock
Alarm clocks
Google clock
Google beach towels
Blue travel flask
Lava lamp
Google lava lamps
Travel alarm clock
Red clock
Golf umbrellas
Usb stick
Usb drive
Google backpacks
Laptop backpacks
Laptop bag
Google rucksacks
Laptop case
Google pens
Google pencils
Mouse pad
Mini mouse
Usb extender
Pen sets
Google speaker
Vase speaker
Small computer mouse
Google mouse
Memory stick
Google office equipment
Modem cord
Cycling jersey
Cycling top
Google hoody
Google hoodie
Grey hooded top
Google hooded jumper
Hooded tops
Cycling clothing
Google clothing
Arm warmer
Google tshirt
Google t-shirt
Google t shirt
Tracksuit bottoms
Jogging top
Baseball cap
Google hat
Fleece vest
White t-shirt
Polo shirts
Group Keywords
Google Confidential and Proprietary 36
Beach towel
Google towels
Golf umbrella
Google umbrella
Google golf kit
Golf accessories
Blue umbrella
Travel mug
Flask
Google flask
Alarm clock
Alarm clocks
Google clock
Google beach towels
Blue travel flask
Lava lamp
Google lava lamps
Travel alarm clock
Red clock
Golf umbrellas
Usb stick
Usb drive
Google backpacks
Laptop backpacks
Laptop bag
Google rucksacks
Laptop case
Google pens
Google pencils
Mouse pad
Mini mouse
Usb extender
Pen sets
Google speaker
Vase speaker
Small computer mouse
Google mouse
Memory stick
Google office equipment
Modem cord
Cycling jersey
Cycling top
Google hoody
Google hoodie
Grey hooded top
Google hooded jumper
Hooded tops
Cycling clothing
Google clothing
Arm warmer
Google tshirt
Google t-shirt
Google t shirt
Tracksuit bottoms
Jogging top
Baseball cap
Google hat
Fleece vest
White t-shirt
Polo shirts
Group Keywords - Better
Google Accessories
Great prices on Google
Accessories – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Google Office Equipment
Great prices on Google
Office Equipment – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Google Wearables
Great prices on Google
Clothing and gear – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Google Confidential and Proprietary 37
Group Keywords - Best
Google Beach Towel
Great prices on Google
Beach Towels – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Beach towel
Google towels
Google Bike Jersey
Great prices on Google
Bike Shorts – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Cycling jersey
Cycling top
Google USB Stick
Great prices on Google
USB Sticks – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Usb drive
Usb sticks
Google Golf Umbrellas
Great prices on Google
Golf Umbrellas – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Golf umbrella
Google umbrella
Google golf kit
Golf accessories
Blue umbrella
Google Laptop Backpacks
Great prices on Google
Laptop Backpacks – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Google backpacks
Laptop backpacks
Laptop bag
Google rucksacks
Laptop case
Google Hoodie
Great prices on Stylish
Google Hoodies – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Google hoody
Google hoodie
Grey hooded top
Google hooded jumper
Hooded tops
Google Confidential and Proprietary 38
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match Types
4 Expanding keyword lists
5 Improving/writing ad text
Google Confidential and Proprietary 39
Keyword Matching Options
Match
Type
How it must be
entered in AdWords
The ad will
show when
The ad will show when a
user types the following
Broad Caribbean Cruise
All words containing this
word or combination of
words in any order is used
as the query
Caribbean holiday Cruises
Cruise holiday in the
Caribbean
Phrase “Caribbean Cruise”
Keywords are typed in the
exact order specified. But
have other words before or
after
Cheap Caribbean Cruise
Caribbean Cruise deals
Luxury Caribbean Cruise
Exact [Caribbean Cruise]
Keywords must be only &
exactly what the user
types in
Caribbean Cruise
Negative
Also
Negative
Phrase, &
Negative
Exact
- Tom
- “Tom Cruise”
- [Tom Cruise]
Ads will not appear when
this search term is entered in
the query
Add will not show if
someone types:
Tom Cruise
Google Confidential and Proprietary 40
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match Types
4 Expanding keyword lists
5 Improving/writing ad text
Google Confidential and Proprietary 41
Choose all the right keywords
•  Core terms
•  Root & stem model
•  Singular & plural
•  Common misspellings (separate ad group)
Google Confidential and Proprietary 42
General Rules on Keyword Selection
What you don’t need to consider What you need to bear in mind
• Keywords case (upper/lower)
Upper and lower case variations are not
counted as separate keywords
•  Plurals may not be included in
match types
•  Replication of keywords will lead to
self-competition
•  Variations on accents not included
•  Misspellings not included
Google Confidential and Proprietary 43
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match Types
4 Expanding keyword lists
5 Improving/writing ad text
Google Confidential and Proprietary 44
Writing Ad Text
Be specific!
•  Refer to USPs
•  Refer to location if needed
•  Use Dynamic Keyword Insertion
Create a Specific Ad Title
•  Have a brand presence
•  Include your best performing
KW’s in the ad’s title.
Create Multiple ads and test, tweak & test
Google Confidential and Proprietary 45
1.  USPs: special offers, free / fast delivery
2.  Brand
3.  Prices
4.  Calls to Action
5.  2 – 4 creatives per ad group → auto-
optimization
6.  Dynamic Keyword Insertion
Buy Google Beach Towel
White cotton towel with full colour
Google logo. Buy for under £15!
www.googlestore.com/uk
64MB Google USB Drive
Sleek, silver-tone USB thumb drive
Ultra-portable. Only £15 – Buy now!
www.googlestore.com/uk
Buy Google USB Drive
64MB USB drive with Google logo
Free delivery within 3 working days
www.googlestore.com/uk
{KeyWord:Google Memory Stick}
64MB, ultra-portable USB drive
Buy now at Google’s Official Store
www.googlestore.com/uk
Official Google Towels
100% 2-ply woven cotton beach towel
36”x70” with Google logo. Buy now!
www.googlestore.com/uk
{KeyWord:Google Towels}
100% cotton heavyweight beach towel
Receive 25% discount on 3 or more!
www.googlestore.com/uk
Hot tips for Creatives
Google Confidential and Proprietary 46
{KeyWord:Google Products}
Great prices on Google
Merchandise – Shop now!
www.GoogleStore.com
Cycling jersey
Cycling top
Google hoody
Google hoodie
Grey hooded top
Google red logo hooded jumper
Hooded tops
Cycling clothing
Google clothing
Arm warmer
Google tshirt
Google t-shirt
Google t shirt
Tracksuit bottoms
Jogging top
Baseball cap
Dynamic Keyword Insertion
•  Use the appropriate format:
{KeyWord: Default Text}
  Upper case will determine format of
inserted keyword.
  Default text will be displayed when
keyword isn’t allowed (e.g.
character restriction)
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Budgets
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimize daily budgets
Differentiate budgets by category of product / service
Measure performance (CPA) by product category and
adjust budgets and bids to meet your goals
Campaign A Campaign B
BudgetProfit BudgetProfit
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimize daily budgets
Set CPCs to appear in the most profitable position
•  Typically Click Through Rate (CTR)
increases with position
•  As CTR increases, more customers
come to your site from the same
number of impressions
•  Work out the highest profitable
position for your ad text to achieve
target volume and profit
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimize daily budgets
Budget for maximum return
Users search and convert at all times of day, every day of the week, and every
month of the year. As long as they are searching for you or your products,
you should always be found
The most efficient way of doing this is to raise your budgets and control
your spend through CPC bidding
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Bids
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Bids
Bid according to marketing goal
CPC
for conversions
CPM
for branding
CPMs needs to be high enough to win the auction for placement on a selected
site as they compete with CPC automatic placements, they are therefore the most powerful
bidding option for branding campaigns with the goal of visibility vs. clicks.
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Bids
Know the value of a click / impression
PC World
Pink laptop
Coloured
Laptop
Dell
PC World
Cheap
Laptops
Laptops
Currys
Tablet Laptops
Toshiba
Portege
m400-11h
PCWorld
Laptops
Laptops
Coloured
Laptops
Pink Laptops
Comet
0 15 22 26 30 37 43 47 48 62 66
PCWorld
Dell
DealTime
Amazon
PCWorld
Dell
Shopping.com
eBay
Comet
Kelkoo
Pixmania
Dixons
eBay
Pixmania
Bizrate
MicroDirect
Misco
Currys
Amazon
Bizrate
Dell
Lenovo
Toshiba
PCWorld
Dell
Ebuyer
Comet
Currys
PCWorld
Sony Style
Nextag
Dell
Pixmania
eBay
PCWorld
PriceRunner
ebuyer
From “PC World” to laptop purchase at ebuyer in 66 days
First Search Purchase
VisitsSearchesDays
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Bids
Know the value of a click / impression
Last click attribution undervalues crucial ‘assist’ clicks
All the glory All the work
AssistLast click conversion
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Creative & Structure
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure
Use multiple creatives
Running 2-4 creatives can yield the
optimal CTR for your account as
AdWords can assess the
best performing ads and
give them priority
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure
Tailor your ad text to the user’s needs
Ad texts are your chance to attract customers as well as set realistic
expectations as to what the user will find if they click through to your site.
Book London Flights
Great savings to be made on flights
Out of London. Limited time only.
www.londonflightsite.co.uk
Call To Action Special Offer
Save On Holidays
Latest discounts, codes & offers!
Up to 40% off high street prices
www.holidaysite.com/specialoffer
Prices
Buy DVDs Online
Get top box-sets and all the
Latest movies from just £9.99
www.dvdstoresite.co.uk
Dynamic Keyword Insertion (DKI)
Low Apr Credit Cards
Get 16.9% typical APR variable when
You apply online, plus rewards
www.creditsite.co.uk/cards
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure
Keep trialling different creatives
User behaviour is dynamic and responsive to many external factors, e.g.:
offline messaging, current affairs, the economic environment.
Changing your creative message at regular intervals allows you to showcase
different product USPs and to differentiate yourself from the competition.
Trialling different creatives allows the creative to remain dynamic and may lead to
uplifts in CTR (Click Through Rate).
Book London Flights
Great savings to be made on flights
Out of London. Limited time only.
www.advertisera.co.uk
Save On Holidays
Latest discounts, codes & offers!
Up to 40% off high street prices
www.advertisera.com/specialoffer
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure
Mirror your website to structure your AdWords account
AdWords Campaign
Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group
Website
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Summary
Google Confidential and Proprietary
The Science of Search
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Key Takeaways
Add more keywords
Always check for new keywords.
Match your ads to your website and advertising content
Monitor your site and conversion activity to determine value of keywords
Optimize bids and daily budgets
Differentiate budgets by category of product / service
Set CPCs to appear in the most profitable position
Budget for maximum return
Optimise creatives and structure
Use multiple creatives
Tailor your ads to the consumers needs
Copy your website structure when building campaign structure
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Display Network
The Performance Network
The Performance Network
What is the Google Display Network?
YouTube and Google Sites Doubleclick Ad Exchange Partner Sites
Sites Games Social Media VideoFeeds Mobile
The Biggest Ad Network in UK*
84%

83%
 83%

82%

79%

74%
 74%

73%

68%

64%





Google
Content

Network





Microso:
Media

Network





AOL
AdverAsing

(AdverAsing.com)






Yahoo!
Network
 



Specific
Media
 



24/7
Real
Media
 



Unanimis

Network
Aggregate





ValueClick
Media


(vcmedia)





TradeDoubler
 



Adconion
Media

Group

*By Unique Users
Source: Comscore Media Metirx UK, April 2010
84% Internet User Reach
36M Monthly Unique Users
453 Average Impressions per User per Month
Hundreds of thousands of sites
No penalties
for late submission or campaign
withdrawals
No contracts
ever
No premiums
on different formats (like image, video,
rich-media) OR remarketing
Price set by market
Ensures that you only pay the minimum
needed for your ad position; No fixed, inflated
pricing, you chose the level to start off at
You are in Control: Set Your Own Pricing
Precise targeting to reach your goals
Contextual Targeting
Placement Targeting
Remarketing
Where They Are Where They Have Been
Category Targeting
Contextual Targeting
Serve ads to consumers based on the content they’re reading using the
most powerful contextual technology in the world
Google uses
keywords and
themes to find the
right placements,
showing your ads
on pages that are
the most suitable
match for your
message
Category Targeting
Serve ads to consumers based on our categorisation of thousands of sites
Choose from over 600 categories
Luxury Goods
Luxury Auto Sites Travel Sites
Golf Sites
Placement Targeting
Serve ads to consumers based on specific sites on the Google Display Network
You can select
specific web
pages, online
videos, games,
RSS feeds, and
mobile sites to
show your ads
AdPlanner allows
you to search for
specific sites
based on the
audience that you
are targeting
Remarketing
97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit to your website. Target
those people on the Google Display Network to bring them back to your site.
Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
Remarketing
‘Our largest finance client has seen
tremendous results from the GDN for a long
time now. We were one of the first to use
Google's remarketing technology, and it has
been a boon to the operation. It has taken
the overall performance to another level.’
Jessica Bender
Digital Campaign Manager, PHD
97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit to your website. Target
those people on the Google Display Network to bring them back to your site.
Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
Remarketing drove the highest conversion rate and the lowest CPA for
Nexus One Display Campaign
•  Conversion rate for remarketing was 2.3x higher
than the account average and CPA was 2.4x lower
•  Display ads performed the best. Remarketing
display had 3.2x higher conversion rate than the
account average for display.
•  Due to high performance, the team roughly tripled
the remarketing budget in 3 months
Remarketing Case Study
Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
Google Display Network
Our recommended solution for your marketing need
Direct Response Branding
Goal
•  Drive Purchase, Downloads,
Sign-ups and Leads
•  Create Awareness
•  Generate Interest
Targeting
•  Category Targeting
•  Contextual Targeting
•  Remarketing
•  Placement Targeting
•  Category Targeting
Bidding •  CPC •  CPM
Ad Format
•  Text
•  Image, Promoted Video
•  Rich Media
•  Image and CTP Video
•  Rich Media
•  InStream Video
How to get started today
1. Speak to your Display Sales representative about your campaign
2. Let us suggest the best way to access the network based on your objectives
3. We will help to build and execute an amazing campaign on the UK’s biggest ad-network!
Add a different quote
We use the Google Display Network for one of
our largest Direct Response advertisers and it
is consistently one of the best performing
networks on our plan.
Tamara Cross
Strategy Director, MG OMD
Google Confidential and Proprietary 76
Content
1 Key Concepts of AdWords
2 Search Best Practices: Science of Search
3 The Google Display Network
4 Q & A
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Thanks for your attention!
77
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Appendix
Additional Slides
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Additional slides for
core presentation
Our Vision for Display Advertising
Performance OpenSimplify
Buyer logs in to AdWords
or DFA, and specifies
desired inventory or reviews
available opportunities
Seller makes inventory
eligible for purchase
An auction matches each piece of eligible inventory
to the highest bidding buyer. Alternately, buyers may
purchase reserved
Ad Exchange – What is it?
Ad ExchangeMedia Buyer Publisher
Auction
Flexible site
placement;
targeting options
#1 Online Advertising
Network
Mass Media
Niche Media
# of sites
Reach
Across both mass-media and niche sites
Overview of Targeting Options
Targeting Option How to use it When to use it
Available Ad
Formats
Goal
Contextual
Targeting
Select keywords to target
ads to web content
You want to reach people
engaged with pages
focused on particular topic
Text, Image, Flash, Click-
to-play video, 3PAS, Local
business
Direct Response
Placement
Targeting
Manually select
placements on pages
where you want your ads
to appear
You want to reach a
targeted audience in a
specific set of
environments
Text, Image, Flash, Click-
to-play video, InStream
Video, InVideo, 3PAS
Branding
Category
Targeting
Select categories to target
ads to groups of web
pages with content
focused on a specific
subject
You want to reach a broad
audience interested in
certain types of content
Text, Image, Flash, Click-
to-play video, 3PAS
Branding,
Direct Response
Remarketing
Target people who visited
your website but didn’t
convert
You want to reconnect to
build brand loyalty and
cement your brand
message
Text, Image, Flash, Click-
to-play video, 3PAS
Direct Response &
Longer-term branding
Audience Selection
DoubleClick AdPlanner
AdWords Placement Tool
YouTube Video Targeting Tool
Find relevant Sites & Videos
AdWords Keyword Tool
Search-Based Keyword Tool
Google Wonder Wheel
Develop keyword themes
Google Insights for Search
DoubleClick AdPlanner
GDN Planning tool
Find insights about your audience
Plan your
campaigns with
the largest data set
of audience behavior
on the internet
•  Target people who have visited your website but didn’t convert
•  Re-advertise to these people with a different message
•  Bring them back to your website - engage them again
•  97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit*
•  Target them on a network with more reach, scale & efficiency than any other
•  84% of the UK online population can be reached on the Google Display Network
•  You only target hot prospects that have previously engaged with your site
•  No premium for Remarketing on the Google Display Network
*Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
Remarketing
Step 3: Start serving ads to your hot prospects
•  Create Text, Display or Video ads
•  Ads should be designed to persuade hot prospects to return
•  Upload ads to AdWords
•  Set the cost you are prepared to pay to get them to return (CPC)
•  Check if you want to exclude any sites, categories or topics
•  Go live!
Step 1: Set clear objective and tag your site
•  Start with a simple strategy
•  “Homepage” and “Thank You” page are a good place to begin
•  Google Account Manager will email you 2 tags (a few lines of code)
•  Copy and paste the tags onto the two pages
•  You’re now collecting hot prospects!
Step 4: Reap rewards and scale up
•  Test, learn and scale
Step 2: Google collects a hot prospects list
•  Tags drop cookies on “Homepage” and “Thank You” page visitors
•  Within 48h Google creates a list of visitor cookies for each site
•  “Homepage” list - “Thank You” page list = “Hot prospects” list
•  These hot prospects visited your Homepage but didn’t convert
Remarketing / How does it work
Control the Environment with Brand Safety Features
Negative Keywords
Use keywords to prevent your sites from appearing on
particular themes of page content.
Site, Topic & Category Exclusions
Prevent your ads from appearing on specific sites or
types of Google Display Network pages.
Above the Fold Targeting
Exclude placements that may appear in a lower part
of a website requiring the user to scroll.
Ad Planner 1000
Restrict your campaigns to AdSense publishers that
are one of the largest 1000 publishers on the web.
Brand Select Filter
Restrict your campaigns to AdSense publishers
algorithmically determined by Google as brand safe
based on site quality.
Target IASH Bundle*
Target an IASH approved bundle of sites on the
Google Display Network using Category Targeting.
* IASH bundle not yet available for targeting
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Additional Topics
- Ad Formats -
Full set of creative options to engage with users
Ad Format Sizes
Standard Image
(JPG or GIF)
Standard Flash
Rich Media Flash
In-Unit Video
Click-to-play
Video Ads
Banner: 468 x 60
Square: 250 x 250
Small Square: 200 x 200
Leaderboard: 728 x 90
Medium Rectangle: 300 x 250
Large Rectangle: 336 x 280
Skyscraper: 120 x 600
Wide Skyscraper: 160 x 600
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Additional Topics
- Pricing and Reporting -
You are in Control: Set Your Own Pricing
CPCCPM
What?
Pay whenever the
ad appears
Pay when users click
trough to your site
When?
Campaigns in which you care
about visibility and track metrics
such as impressions, reach,
frequency and search uplift
Campaigns in which you care
about clicks and track metrics such
as sales, leads and sign ups
The auction system guarantees the best possible price
Conversion tracking and optimisation products are available at no extra cost
Real-time Reporting and Controls to Maximize Results
Automate Optimization
•  Set your maximum CPA –
let Conversion Optimizer
do the rest
•  On average, a 21%
increase in conversions and
a 14% decrease in CPA*
•  Provide creative, budget and
target CPA and let Auto
Optimizer* drive
conversions
•  Bid more on what works
•  Exclude what doesn’t work
•  Focus on profitable demos
•  Invest more in profitable hours
•  Manage frequency,
maximize reach
Optimize Manually
* Source: Google Internal Analysis. This analysis compares the performance of Conversion Optimizer campaigns with a control set of
campaigns and represents the average impact of Conversion Optimizer. The actual impact will vary from campaign to campaign.
Get daily
reports on:
Site by site performance
Reach and Frequency
Conversions
Domain- and URL-Level Reporting
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Additional Topics
- Sample Sites -
Google Display Network Sites
Sample categories
Travel
Source: Google AdPlanner, Oct 2010, UK
Entertainment & Games News & Classified
Health & Beauty Finance Communities

Contenu connexe

Tendances

Google AdWords
Google AdWordsGoogle AdWords
Google AdWordsVnr Sarma
 
Google Adwords by Neha Nayak
Google Adwords by Neha NayakGoogle Adwords by Neha Nayak
Google Adwords by Neha NayakNeha Nayak
 
MHVDM presents An Introduction to Google AdWords | Andy Groller and Paolo Vid...
MHVDM presents An Introduction to Google AdWords | Andy Groller and Paolo Vid...MHVDM presents An Introduction to Google AdWords | Andy Groller and Paolo Vid...
MHVDM presents An Introduction to Google AdWords | Andy Groller and Paolo Vid...MHVDM
 
Google AdWords Overview
Google AdWords Overview Google AdWords Overview
Google AdWords Overview Saurabh Bhambry
 
Google AdWords Introduction PPT - Swikrit Malik
Google AdWords Introduction PPT - Swikrit MalikGoogle AdWords Introduction PPT - Swikrit Malik
Google AdWords Introduction PPT - Swikrit MalikSwikrit Malik
 
587 t gp_school_light_ani
587 t gp_school_light_ani587 t gp_school_light_ani
587 t gp_school_light_aniWu Nengyong
 
Google Adwords Advanced Tactics Webinar
Google Adwords Advanced Tactics WebinarGoogle Adwords Advanced Tactics Webinar
Google Adwords Advanced Tactics Webinarzcamusio
 
571 t gp_business_light_ani
571 t gp_business_light_ani571 t gp_business_light_ani
571 t gp_business_light_aniWu Nengyong
 
Google Ad word Guide - M Srinivasan
Google Ad word Guide - M SrinivasanGoogle Ad word Guide - M Srinivasan
Google Ad word Guide - M SrinivasaniReff App
 
Set Up Your Google AdWords Campaign
Set Up Your Google AdWords CampaignSet Up Your Google AdWords Campaign
Set Up Your Google AdWords CampaignEight Trails
 
592 t gp_makeup_light_ani
592 t gp_makeup_light_ani592 t gp_makeup_light_ani
592 t gp_makeup_light_aniWu Nengyong
 
Ad words fundamental Question and Answer
Ad words fundamental Question and AnswerAd words fundamental Question and Answer
Ad words fundamental Question and AnswerSuganya Srinivasan
 
592 t gp_makeup_light
592 t gp_makeup_light592 t gp_makeup_light
592 t gp_makeup_lightWu Nengyong
 
Ppt模板大全(上)
Ppt模板大全(上)Ppt模板大全(上)
Ppt模板大全(上)mike841211
 

Tendances (18)

Google AdWords
Google AdWordsGoogle AdWords
Google AdWords
 
Google Adwords by Neha Nayak
Google Adwords by Neha NayakGoogle Adwords by Neha Nayak
Google Adwords by Neha Nayak
 
RPC-Week5-PPC-Session
RPC-Week5-PPC-SessionRPC-Week5-PPC-Session
RPC-Week5-PPC-Session
 
MHVDM presents An Introduction to Google AdWords | Andy Groller and Paolo Vid...
MHVDM presents An Introduction to Google AdWords | Andy Groller and Paolo Vid...MHVDM presents An Introduction to Google AdWords | Andy Groller and Paolo Vid...
MHVDM presents An Introduction to Google AdWords | Andy Groller and Paolo Vid...
 
Google AdWords Overview
Google AdWords Overview Google AdWords Overview
Google AdWords Overview
 
Google AdWords Introduction PPT - Swikrit Malik
Google AdWords Introduction PPT - Swikrit MalikGoogle AdWords Introduction PPT - Swikrit Malik
Google AdWords Introduction PPT - Swikrit Malik
 
Google Ads Training
Google Ads TrainingGoogle Ads Training
Google Ads Training
 
587 t gp_school_light_ani
587 t gp_school_light_ani587 t gp_school_light_ani
587 t gp_school_light_ani
 
Google Adwords Advanced Tactics Webinar
Google Adwords Advanced Tactics WebinarGoogle Adwords Advanced Tactics Webinar
Google Adwords Advanced Tactics Webinar
 
571 t gp_business_light_ani
571 t gp_business_light_ani571 t gp_business_light_ani
571 t gp_business_light_ani
 
RPC-PPC-Session
RPC-PPC-SessionRPC-PPC-Session
RPC-PPC-Session
 
Google Ad word Guide - M Srinivasan
Google Ad word Guide - M SrinivasanGoogle Ad word Guide - M Srinivasan
Google Ad word Guide - M Srinivasan
 
Set Up Your Google AdWords Campaign
Set Up Your Google AdWords CampaignSet Up Your Google AdWords Campaign
Set Up Your Google AdWords Campaign
 
592 t gp_makeup_light_ani
592 t gp_makeup_light_ani592 t gp_makeup_light_ani
592 t gp_makeup_light_ani
 
9. DBS-PPC-Google-Ads
9. DBS-PPC-Google-Ads9. DBS-PPC-Google-Ads
9. DBS-PPC-Google-Ads
 
Ad words fundamental Question and Answer
Ad words fundamental Question and AnswerAd words fundamental Question and Answer
Ad words fundamental Question and Answer
 
592 t gp_makeup_light
592 t gp_makeup_light592 t gp_makeup_light
592 t gp_makeup_light
 
Ppt模板大全(上)
Ppt模板大全(上)Ppt模板大全(上)
Ppt模板大全(上)
 

En vedette

Color presentation3
Color presentation3Color presentation3
Color presentation3ml26441
 
Rocklin Chamber Brown Bag Workshop Nov 4th
Rocklin Chamber Brown Bag Workshop Nov 4thRocklin Chamber Brown Bag Workshop Nov 4th
Rocklin Chamber Brown Bag Workshop Nov 4thGary Winchester
 
Out Care The Competition - Presented to the Association of Fundraising Profes...
Out Care The Competition - Presented to the Association of Fundraising Profes...Out Care The Competition - Presented to the Association of Fundraising Profes...
Out Care The Competition - Presented to the Association of Fundraising Profes...Jeph Maystruck
 
Amy Grothaus CUES NTCUE Presentation
Amy Grothaus CUES NTCUE PresentationAmy Grothaus CUES NTCUE Presentation
Amy Grothaus CUES NTCUE PresentationCUES Emerge
 
Out Care The Competition: how to succeed in a changing world
Out Care The Competition: how to succeed in a changing worldOut Care The Competition: how to succeed in a changing world
Out Care The Competition: how to succeed in a changing worldJeph Maystruck
 
Care more. Be different. Bring wine.
Care more. Be different. Bring wine. Care more. Be different. Bring wine.
Care more. Be different. Bring wine. Jeph Maystruck
 
BrainBank Idealinke Open
BrainBank Idealinke OpenBrainBank Idealinke Open
BrainBank Idealinke Openbrainbankinc
 
Comunicación repaso final
Comunicación repaso finalComunicación repaso final
Comunicación repaso finalLucia Jiménez
 
Geodesic dome structures
Geodesic dome structuresGeodesic dome structures
Geodesic dome structuresIreneJohnLora
 
Corporate Presentatie Algemeen 18 05 10
Corporate Presentatie Algemeen 18 05 10Corporate Presentatie Algemeen 18 05 10
Corporate Presentatie Algemeen 18 05 10wendy_deswart
 
Wat Betekent Vtl Voor Haar Klanten
Wat Betekent Vtl Voor Haar KlantenWat Betekent Vtl Voor Haar Klanten
Wat Betekent Vtl Voor Haar Klantenwendy_deswart
 
Uml unified-modeling-language-presented by dileep
Uml unified-modeling-language-presented by dileepUml unified-modeling-language-presented by dileep
Uml unified-modeling-language-presented by dileepmekhap
 
Fsc Presentation 2010
Fsc Presentation 2010Fsc Presentation 2010
Fsc Presentation 2010kennewman89
 
Learning event 2010
Learning event 2010Learning event 2010
Learning event 2010gist466
 

En vedette (20)

Color presentation3
Color presentation3Color presentation3
Color presentation3
 
Rocklin Chamber Brown Bag Workshop Nov 4th
Rocklin Chamber Brown Bag Workshop Nov 4thRocklin Chamber Brown Bag Workshop Nov 4th
Rocklin Chamber Brown Bag Workshop Nov 4th
 
Out Care The Competition - Presented to the Association of Fundraising Profes...
Out Care The Competition - Presented to the Association of Fundraising Profes...Out Care The Competition - Presented to the Association of Fundraising Profes...
Out Care The Competition - Presented to the Association of Fundraising Profes...
 
Amy Grothaus CUES NTCUE Presentation
Amy Grothaus CUES NTCUE PresentationAmy Grothaus CUES NTCUE Presentation
Amy Grothaus CUES NTCUE Presentation
 
Hall
HallHall
Hall
 
Innovative elever løser virksomhedsproblemer (2)
Innovative elever løser virksomhedsproblemer (2)Innovative elever løser virksomhedsproblemer (2)
Innovative elever løser virksomhedsproblemer (2)
 
Out Care The Competition: how to succeed in a changing world
Out Care The Competition: how to succeed in a changing worldOut Care The Competition: how to succeed in a changing world
Out Care The Competition: how to succeed in a changing world
 
Care more. Be different. Bring wine.
Care more. Be different. Bring wine. Care more. Be different. Bring wine.
Care more. Be different. Bring wine.
 
BrainBank Idealinke Open
BrainBank Idealinke OpenBrainBank Idealinke Open
BrainBank Idealinke Open
 
Comunicación repaso final
Comunicación repaso finalComunicación repaso final
Comunicación repaso final
 
Neis 24 marts
Neis 24 martsNeis 24 marts
Neis 24 marts
 
Geodesic dome structures
Geodesic dome structuresGeodesic dome structures
Geodesic dome structures
 
Corporate Presentatie Algemeen 18 05 10
Corporate Presentatie Algemeen 18 05 10Corporate Presentatie Algemeen 18 05 10
Corporate Presentatie Algemeen 18 05 10
 
Berlin Tourism
Berlin TourismBerlin Tourism
Berlin Tourism
 
Wat Betekent Vtl Voor Haar Klanten
Wat Betekent Vtl Voor Haar KlantenWat Betekent Vtl Voor Haar Klanten
Wat Betekent Vtl Voor Haar Klanten
 
Uml unified-modeling-language-presented by dileep
Uml unified-modeling-language-presented by dileepUml unified-modeling-language-presented by dileep
Uml unified-modeling-language-presented by dileep
 
Assignment 2 cecilia rojas
Assignment 2 cecilia rojasAssignment 2 cecilia rojas
Assignment 2 cecilia rojas
 
Final Form
Final FormFinal Form
Final Form
 
Fsc Presentation 2010
Fsc Presentation 2010Fsc Presentation 2010
Fsc Presentation 2010
 
Learning event 2010
Learning event 2010Learning event 2010
Learning event 2010
 

Similaire à Google Ad words

AMA Conference Bootcamp 2020
AMA Conference Bootcamp 2020AMA Conference Bootcamp 2020
AMA Conference Bootcamp 2020Andrew Garberson
 
Intro to SEM For MBA Students At Kellogg
Intro to SEM For MBA Students At Kellogg Intro to SEM For MBA Students At Kellogg
Intro to SEM For MBA Students At Kellogg Elan Mosbacher
 
AdWords Academy Display Campaign/多媒體廣告優化
AdWords Academy Display Campaign/多媒體廣告優化AdWords Academy Display Campaign/多媒體廣告優化
AdWords Academy Display Campaign/多媒體廣告優化AdWordsGreaterChina
 
Fvcp Googleadwords July13
Fvcp Googleadwords July13Fvcp Googleadwords July13
Fvcp Googleadwords July13Straight North
 
Nuevas herramientas de Google para Marketing
Nuevas herramientas de Google para Marketing Nuevas herramientas de Google para Marketing
Nuevas herramientas de Google para Marketing Oscar García
 
How To Sell AdWords 101
How To Sell AdWords 101How To Sell AdWords 101
How To Sell AdWords 101TNC Digital
 
Final holiday pla webinar slides_vertical nerve_and_google_edit
Final holiday pla webinar slides_vertical nerve_and_google_editFinal holiday pla webinar slides_vertical nerve_and_google_edit
Final holiday pla webinar slides_vertical nerve_and_google_editDice Nakamura
 
Ad Words Introduction
Ad Words IntroductionAd Words Introduction
Ad Words Introductiondockn0tt
 
Google new solutions for 2014 Q3
Google new solutions for 2014 Q3Google new solutions for 2014 Q3
Google new solutions for 2014 Q3Web Manager Service
 
New AdWords Updates to Finish the Year Strong
New AdWords Updates to Finish the Year StrongNew AdWords Updates to Finish the Year Strong
New AdWords Updates to Finish the Year StrongHanapin Marketing
 
Week 3 PPC Slides
Week 3 PPC SlidesWeek 3 PPC Slides
Week 3 PPC SlidesToby Eborn
 
Search Marketing in China- Where do we start?
Search Marketing in China- Where do we start?Search Marketing in China- Where do we start?
Search Marketing in China- Where do we start?Dr Matt McDougall
 
Your Perfect Adwords Strategy
Your Perfect Adwords StrategyYour Perfect Adwords Strategy
Your Perfect Adwords StrategySemrush
 
Google adwords advance program in details e briks infotech
Google adwords advance program in details   e briks infotechGoogle adwords advance program in details   e briks infotech
Google adwords advance program in details e briks infotechEBriks Infotech Pvt. Ltd.
 
Google101 Understanding the fundamentals
Google101 Understanding the fundamentalsGoogle101 Understanding the fundamentals
Google101 Understanding the fundamentalsFront Page Advantage
 

Similaire à Google Ad words (20)

Google Adword Guide
Google  Adword  GuideGoogle  Adword  Guide
Google Adword Guide
 
AMA Conference Bootcamp 2020
AMA Conference Bootcamp 2020AMA Conference Bootcamp 2020
AMA Conference Bootcamp 2020
 
Big Changes Coming to AdWords: Everything You Need to Know
Big Changes Coming to AdWords: Everything You Need to KnowBig Changes Coming to AdWords: Everything You Need to Know
Big Changes Coming to AdWords: Everything You Need to Know
 
Intro to SEM For MBA Students At Kellogg
Intro to SEM For MBA Students At Kellogg Intro to SEM For MBA Students At Kellogg
Intro to SEM For MBA Students At Kellogg
 
AdWords Academy Display Campaign/多媒體廣告優化
AdWords Academy Display Campaign/多媒體廣告優化AdWords Academy Display Campaign/多媒體廣告優化
AdWords Academy Display Campaign/多媒體廣告優化
 
Fvcp Googleadwords July13
Fvcp Googleadwords July13Fvcp Googleadwords July13
Fvcp Googleadwords July13
 
Nuevas herramientas de Google para Marketing
Nuevas herramientas de Google para Marketing Nuevas herramientas de Google para Marketing
Nuevas herramientas de Google para Marketing
 
How To Sell AdWords 101
How To Sell AdWords 101How To Sell AdWords 101
How To Sell AdWords 101
 
Final holiday pla webinar slides_vertical nerve_and_google_edit
Final holiday pla webinar slides_vertical nerve_and_google_editFinal holiday pla webinar slides_vertical nerve_and_google_edit
Final holiday pla webinar slides_vertical nerve_and_google_edit
 
Ad Words Introduction
Ad Words IntroductionAd Words Introduction
Ad Words Introduction
 
Google new solutions for 2014 Q3
Google new solutions for 2014 Q3Google new solutions for 2014 Q3
Google new solutions for 2014 Q3
 
New AdWords Updates to Finish the Year Strong
New AdWords Updates to Finish the Year StrongNew AdWords Updates to Finish the Year Strong
New AdWords Updates to Finish the Year Strong
 
Week 3 PPC Slides
Week 3 PPC SlidesWeek 3 PPC Slides
Week 3 PPC Slides
 
Search Marketing in China- Where do we start?
Search Marketing in China- Where do we start?Search Marketing in China- Where do we start?
Search Marketing in China- Where do we start?
 
Your Perfect Adwords Strategy
Your Perfect Adwords StrategyYour Perfect Adwords Strategy
Your Perfect Adwords Strategy
 
Introduction To Google Adwords
Introduction To Google AdwordsIntroduction To Google Adwords
Introduction To Google Adwords
 
Introduction to google adwords
Introduction to google adwordsIntroduction to google adwords
Introduction to google adwords
 
Google adwords advance program in details e briks infotech
Google adwords advance program in details   e briks infotechGoogle adwords advance program in details   e briks infotech
Google adwords advance program in details e briks infotech
 
Google Marketing
Google MarketingGoogle Marketing
Google Marketing
 
Google101 Understanding the fundamentals
Google101 Understanding the fundamentalsGoogle101 Understanding the fundamentals
Google101 Understanding the fundamentals
 

Plus de KenticoCMS

How to sell Kentico CMS
How to sell Kentico CMSHow to sell Kentico CMS
How to sell Kentico CMSKenticoCMS
 
E-commerce customization
E-commerce customizationE-commerce customization
E-commerce customizationKenticoCMS
 
Does your website speak Chinese?
Does your website speak Chinese?Does your website speak Chinese?
Does your website speak Chinese?KenticoCMS
 
Azure businessoverview daliborkacmar
Azure businessoverview daliborkacmarAzure businessoverview daliborkacmar
Azure businessoverview daliborkacmarKenticoCMS
 

Plus de KenticoCMS (6)

Going mobile
Going mobileGoing mobile
Going mobile
 
How to sell Kentico CMS
How to sell Kentico CMSHow to sell Kentico CMS
How to sell Kentico CMS
 
Going mobile
Going mobileGoing mobile
Going mobile
 
E-commerce customization
E-commerce customizationE-commerce customization
E-commerce customization
 
Does your website speak Chinese?
Does your website speak Chinese?Does your website speak Chinese?
Does your website speak Chinese?
 
Azure businessoverview daliborkacmar
Azure businessoverview daliborkacmarAzure businessoverview daliborkacmar
Azure businessoverview daliborkacmar
 

Dernier

Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!
Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!
Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!Commit University
 
New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024BookNet Canada
 
Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...
Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...
Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...Patryk Bandurski
 
Kotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmatics
Kotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmaticsKotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmatics
Kotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmaticscarlostorres15106
 
The Future of Software Development - Devin AI Innovative Approach.pdf
The Future of Software Development - Devin AI Innovative Approach.pdfThe Future of Software Development - Devin AI Innovative Approach.pdf
The Future of Software Development - Devin AI Innovative Approach.pdfSeasiaInfotech2
 
Scanning the Internet for External Cloud Exposures via SSL Certs
Scanning the Internet for External Cloud Exposures via SSL CertsScanning the Internet for External Cloud Exposures via SSL Certs
Scanning the Internet for External Cloud Exposures via SSL CertsRizwan Syed
 
Advanced Test Driven-Development @ php[tek] 2024
Advanced Test Driven-Development @ php[tek] 2024Advanced Test Driven-Development @ php[tek] 2024
Advanced Test Driven-Development @ php[tek] 2024Scott Keck-Warren
 
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii SoldatenkoFwdays
 
AI as an Interface for Commercial Buildings
AI as an Interface for Commercial BuildingsAI as an Interface for Commercial Buildings
AI as an Interface for Commercial BuildingsMemoori
 
Streamlining Python Development: A Guide to a Modern Project Setup
Streamlining Python Development: A Guide to a Modern Project SetupStreamlining Python Development: A Guide to a Modern Project Setup
Streamlining Python Development: A Guide to a Modern Project SetupFlorian Wilhelm
 
Artificial intelligence in cctv survelliance.pptx
Artificial intelligence in cctv survelliance.pptxArtificial intelligence in cctv survelliance.pptx
Artificial intelligence in cctv survelliance.pptxhariprasad279825
 
Install Stable Diffusion in windows machine
Install Stable Diffusion in windows machineInstall Stable Diffusion in windows machine
Install Stable Diffusion in windows machinePadma Pradeep
 
Bun (KitWorks Team Study 노별마루 발표 2024.4.22)
Bun (KitWorks Team Study 노별마루 발표 2024.4.22)Bun (KitWorks Team Study 노별마루 발표 2024.4.22)
Bun (KitWorks Team Study 노별마루 발표 2024.4.22)Wonjun Hwang
 
"Subclassing and Composition – A Pythonic Tour of Trade-Offs", Hynek Schlawack
"Subclassing and Composition – A Pythonic Tour of Trade-Offs", Hynek Schlawack"Subclassing and Composition – A Pythonic Tour of Trade-Offs", Hynek Schlawack
"Subclassing and Composition – A Pythonic Tour of Trade-Offs", Hynek SchlawackFwdays
 
"Federated learning: out of reach no matter how close",Oleksandr Lapshyn
"Federated learning: out of reach no matter how close",Oleksandr Lapshyn"Federated learning: out of reach no matter how close",Oleksandr Lapshyn
"Federated learning: out of reach no matter how close",Oleksandr LapshynFwdays
 
DevEX - reference for building teams, processes, and platforms
DevEX - reference for building teams, processes, and platformsDevEX - reference for building teams, processes, and platforms
DevEX - reference for building teams, processes, and platformsSergiu Bodiu
 
Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024BookNet Canada
 
Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?
Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?
Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?Mattias Andersson
 
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024Lorenzo Miniero
 

Dernier (20)

Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!
Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!
Nell’iperspazio con Rocket: il Framework Web di Rust!
 
New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
 
Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...
Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...
Integration and Automation in Practice: CI/CD in Mule Integration and Automat...
 
Kotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmatics
Kotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmaticsKotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmatics
Kotlin Multiplatform & Compose Multiplatform - Starter kit for pragmatics
 
The Future of Software Development - Devin AI Innovative Approach.pdf
The Future of Software Development - Devin AI Innovative Approach.pdfThe Future of Software Development - Devin AI Innovative Approach.pdf
The Future of Software Development - Devin AI Innovative Approach.pdf
 
DMCC Future of Trade Web3 - Special Edition
DMCC Future of Trade Web3 - Special EditionDMCC Future of Trade Web3 - Special Edition
DMCC Future of Trade Web3 - Special Edition
 
Scanning the Internet for External Cloud Exposures via SSL Certs
Scanning the Internet for External Cloud Exposures via SSL CertsScanning the Internet for External Cloud Exposures via SSL Certs
Scanning the Internet for External Cloud Exposures via SSL Certs
 
Advanced Test Driven-Development @ php[tek] 2024
Advanced Test Driven-Development @ php[tek] 2024Advanced Test Driven-Development @ php[tek] 2024
Advanced Test Driven-Development @ php[tek] 2024
 
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko
"Debugging python applications inside k8s environment", Andrii Soldatenko
 
AI as an Interface for Commercial Buildings
AI as an Interface for Commercial BuildingsAI as an Interface for Commercial Buildings
AI as an Interface for Commercial Buildings
 
Streamlining Python Development: A Guide to a Modern Project Setup
Streamlining Python Development: A Guide to a Modern Project SetupStreamlining Python Development: A Guide to a Modern Project Setup
Streamlining Python Development: A Guide to a Modern Project Setup
 
Artificial intelligence in cctv survelliance.pptx
Artificial intelligence in cctv survelliance.pptxArtificial intelligence in cctv survelliance.pptx
Artificial intelligence in cctv survelliance.pptx
 
Install Stable Diffusion in windows machine
Install Stable Diffusion in windows machineInstall Stable Diffusion in windows machine
Install Stable Diffusion in windows machine
 
Bun (KitWorks Team Study 노별마루 발표 2024.4.22)
Bun (KitWorks Team Study 노별마루 발표 2024.4.22)Bun (KitWorks Team Study 노별마루 발표 2024.4.22)
Bun (KitWorks Team Study 노별마루 발표 2024.4.22)
 
"Subclassing and Composition – A Pythonic Tour of Trade-Offs", Hynek Schlawack
"Subclassing and Composition – A Pythonic Tour of Trade-Offs", Hynek Schlawack"Subclassing and Composition – A Pythonic Tour of Trade-Offs", Hynek Schlawack
"Subclassing and Composition – A Pythonic Tour of Trade-Offs", Hynek Schlawack
 
"Federated learning: out of reach no matter how close",Oleksandr Lapshyn
"Federated learning: out of reach no matter how close",Oleksandr Lapshyn"Federated learning: out of reach no matter how close",Oleksandr Lapshyn
"Federated learning: out of reach no matter how close",Oleksandr Lapshyn
 
DevEX - reference for building teams, processes, and platforms
DevEX - reference for building teams, processes, and platformsDevEX - reference for building teams, processes, and platforms
DevEX - reference for building teams, processes, and platforms
 
Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
Transcript: New from BookNet Canada for 2024: BNC CataList - Tech Forum 2024
 
Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?
Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?
Are Multi-Cloud and Serverless Good or Bad?
 
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024
SIP trunking in Janus @ Kamailio World 2024
 

Google Ad words

  • 1. Google Confidential and Proprietary 1 AdWords – Key Concepts Search Advertising 101 Filip Hracek Account Strategist
  • 2. Google Confidential and Proprietary 2 Content 1 Key Concepts of AdWords 2 Search Best Practices: Science of Search 3 The Google Display Network 4 Q & A
  • 3. 3Google Confidential and Proprietary What is AdWords?
  • 4. Google Confidential and Proprietary Rear-view mirror 4 “We drive into the future using only our rear-view mirror.” Marshall McLuhan (1911-1980)
  • 5. Google Confidential and Proprietary Print ads  Internet banner ads 5
  • 6. Google Confidential and Proprietary 6 Why is search impotant? 87%of visitors to a website come from search engines source: Google internal
  • 7. Google Confidential and Proprietary 7 Buying a new laptop laptop How does marketing via Google work?
  • 8. Google Confidential and Proprietary Google.com => Search Google Confidential and Proprietary 8 One search box for all questions… Web results Video results (Steve’s famous Stanford commencement speech) News results (Articles about Steve and Apple) News archives Images
  • 9. Google Confidential and Proprietary Natural Search Results AdWords Ads Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Online consumers use keywords to search for information Google Search… and ads
  • 10. Google Confidential and Proprietary flights to barcelona Online consumers use keywords to search for information. Google Search… and ads… our core business Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Headline: 25 characters Description line 1: 35 characters Description line 2: 35 characters Display URL: 35 characters Destination URL: 1024 characters
  • 11. Google Confidential and Proprietary Where do the ads show? Google Confidential and Proprietary
  • 12. Google Confidential and Proprietary Natural Search Results AdWords Ads Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Google Search Property
  • 13. Google Confidential and Proprietary Natural Search Results AdWords Ads Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Google Search Partner Ads are also served on keyword matching basis and relevancy
  • 14. Google Confidential and Proprietary Google Search Partners in Europe NorwayNetherlands Belgium Germany ItalySpain France Portugal Turkey UK Switzerland Denmark Finland Poland Czech Republic Bulgaria Austria
  • 15. Google Confidential and Proprietary AdWords Ads Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Google Content Property Ads are also served on keyword matching basis and relevancy
  • 16. Google Confidential and Proprietary AdSense site Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Google Content Partner Ads are contextually matched to the theme of the page AdWords Ads
  • 17. Google Confidential and Proprietary 17 Contextual & placement targeting Keyword / Contextual Targeting Uses your keywords to match the theme of your Ad Group to the theme of content pages 1 2 ‘Placement’ targeting The advertiser specifies the websites that they want to show their ads on.
  • 18. Google Confidential and Proprietary Largest global advertising network The Google Content Network UK •  Reach over 80% of Internet Users •  1 Billion Daily Ad Exposures •  27 Million Monthly Visitors •  Thousands of Publishers Source: comScore Custom Analysis, Nov 07
  • 19. 19 How are ads ranked?
  • 20. Google Confidential and Proprietary Search engine marketing 20 Search engine marketing can be efficient but it can also be inefficient. relevant targeted measurable inexpensive irrelevant too broad “spontaneous” expensive
  • 21. Google Confidential and Proprietary Search engine marketing 21 Books at Amazon Millions of titles, new & used. Free 2-Day Shipping w/Amazon Prime! Amazon.com/books BOOQ Laptop bags Vypers, Boas, Pythons, Mambas We’ve got them all. Fast shipping! www.pivotgear.com Search engine marketing can be efficient but it can also be inefficient.
  • 22. Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Cost-per-click (CPC) => pay-per-click (PPC)
  • 23. Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Cost-per-click (CPC) => pay-per-click (PPC) Charged up to max CPC
  • 24. Google Confidential and Proprietary Ranking formula CPC – Cost per Click CTR – The ratio of the number of times an ad is clicked divided by the number of times an ad is viewed (Impressions) Max CPC AdWords is based on an auction designed to reward relevance
  • 25. Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Ad rank = maximum CPC x Quality Score £2.50 x 6 = 15 £2 x 6 = 12 £3 x 3.5 = 10.5 £5 x 2 = 10 £2 x 4 = 8 £2 x 3.5 = 7 £0.5 x 8 = 4
  • 26. Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Rewarding relevance £2.50 x 6 = 15 £3 x 3.5 = 10.5 £5 x 2 = 10
  • 27. Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Rewarding relevance through Quality Score QS determined by: • Click-through-rate (CTR) • Relevance of ad text to keyword • Historical keyword performance • Landing page assessment • Other relevancy factors
  • 28. Google Confidential and Proprietary Science of Search Maximise profitable results from Google Search
  • 29. Google Confidential and Proprietary The Google Account Structure AdWords account Campaign Campaign Ad group Ad group Ad group Keywords Keywords Keywords Ad Text Ad Text Ad Text Ad Text Ad Text Ad Text Ad Text Ad Text Ad group level •  CPC bids Campaign level •  Daily budget •  Country and language targeting •  Network options •  Start and end dates Keyword level •  Keyword CPCs •  Keyword URLs •  Position preferences Keywords Ad group Account Level • Login Details • Billing information
  • 30. Google Confidential and Proprietary 30 Account Limits Level Limits Active Campaigns 25 Ad Groups/Campaign 100 Keywords/Ad Group 2,000 Text ad/Ad Group No limit Images/Account 50 Overall Account Keyword Limit 50,000
  • 31. Google Confidential and Proprietary 31 Optimisation 1 Landing page quality 2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure 3 Match Types 4 Expanding keyword lists 5 Improving/writing ad text
  • 32. Google Confidential and Proprietary 32 Landing Page Quality Search: Cheap Holidays • Easy to navigate • Relevant to ad text • Unique content • Display product details Cheap Holidays Great deals on all destinations. Lowest prices in the UK guaranteed! www.holidays.com
  • 33. Google Confidential and Proprietary 33 Optimisation 1 Landing page quality 2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure 3 Match Types 4 Expanding keyword lists 5 Improving/writing ad text
  • 34. Google Confidential and Proprietary 34 Structuring Ad Groups Create separate ad groups/campaigns for: •  Specific themes •  Best selling products •  Brand/Company •  Products/Services •  Long-tail traffic Ideas for structures: •  Match the website •  Match the products you sell •  Organise by brand
  • 35. Google Confidential and Proprietary 35 Official Google Products Great prices on Google Merchandise – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Beach towel Google towels Golf umbrella Google umbrella Google golf kit Golf accessories Blue umbrella Travel mug Flask Google flask Alarm clock Alarm clocks Google clock Google beach towels Blue travel flask Lava lamp Google lava lamps Travel alarm clock Red clock Golf umbrellas Usb stick Usb drive Google backpacks Laptop backpacks Laptop bag Google rucksacks Laptop case Google pens Google pencils Mouse pad Mini mouse Usb extender Pen sets Google speaker Vase speaker Small computer mouse Google mouse Memory stick Google office equipment Modem cord Cycling jersey Cycling top Google hoody Google hoodie Grey hooded top Google hooded jumper Hooded tops Cycling clothing Google clothing Arm warmer Google tshirt Google t-shirt Google t shirt Tracksuit bottoms Jogging top Baseball cap Google hat Fleece vest White t-shirt Polo shirts Group Keywords
  • 36. Google Confidential and Proprietary 36 Beach towel Google towels Golf umbrella Google umbrella Google golf kit Golf accessories Blue umbrella Travel mug Flask Google flask Alarm clock Alarm clocks Google clock Google beach towels Blue travel flask Lava lamp Google lava lamps Travel alarm clock Red clock Golf umbrellas Usb stick Usb drive Google backpacks Laptop backpacks Laptop bag Google rucksacks Laptop case Google pens Google pencils Mouse pad Mini mouse Usb extender Pen sets Google speaker Vase speaker Small computer mouse Google mouse Memory stick Google office equipment Modem cord Cycling jersey Cycling top Google hoody Google hoodie Grey hooded top Google hooded jumper Hooded tops Cycling clothing Google clothing Arm warmer Google tshirt Google t-shirt Google t shirt Tracksuit bottoms Jogging top Baseball cap Google hat Fleece vest White t-shirt Polo shirts Group Keywords - Better Google Accessories Great prices on Google Accessories – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Google Office Equipment Great prices on Google Office Equipment – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Google Wearables Great prices on Google Clothing and gear – Shop now! www.googlestore.com
  • 37. Google Confidential and Proprietary 37 Group Keywords - Best Google Beach Towel Great prices on Google Beach Towels – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Beach towel Google towels Google Bike Jersey Great prices on Google Bike Shorts – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Cycling jersey Cycling top Google USB Stick Great prices on Google USB Sticks – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Usb drive Usb sticks Google Golf Umbrellas Great prices on Google Golf Umbrellas – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Golf umbrella Google umbrella Google golf kit Golf accessories Blue umbrella Google Laptop Backpacks Great prices on Google Laptop Backpacks – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Google backpacks Laptop backpacks Laptop bag Google rucksacks Laptop case Google Hoodie Great prices on Stylish Google Hoodies – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Google hoody Google hoodie Grey hooded top Google hooded jumper Hooded tops
  • 38. Google Confidential and Proprietary 38 Optimisation 1 Landing page quality 2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure 3 Match Types 4 Expanding keyword lists 5 Improving/writing ad text
  • 39. Google Confidential and Proprietary 39 Keyword Matching Options Match Type How it must be entered in AdWords The ad will show when The ad will show when a user types the following Broad Caribbean Cruise All words containing this word or combination of words in any order is used as the query Caribbean holiday Cruises Cruise holiday in the Caribbean Phrase “Caribbean Cruise” Keywords are typed in the exact order specified. But have other words before or after Cheap Caribbean Cruise Caribbean Cruise deals Luxury Caribbean Cruise Exact [Caribbean Cruise] Keywords must be only & exactly what the user types in Caribbean Cruise Negative Also Negative Phrase, & Negative Exact - Tom - “Tom Cruise” - [Tom Cruise] Ads will not appear when this search term is entered in the query Add will not show if someone types: Tom Cruise
  • 40. Google Confidential and Proprietary 40 Optimisation 1 Landing page quality 2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure 3 Match Types 4 Expanding keyword lists 5 Improving/writing ad text
  • 41. Google Confidential and Proprietary 41 Choose all the right keywords •  Core terms •  Root & stem model •  Singular & plural •  Common misspellings (separate ad group)
  • 42. Google Confidential and Proprietary 42 General Rules on Keyword Selection What you don’t need to consider What you need to bear in mind • Keywords case (upper/lower) Upper and lower case variations are not counted as separate keywords •  Plurals may not be included in match types •  Replication of keywords will lead to self-competition •  Variations on accents not included •  Misspellings not included
  • 43. Google Confidential and Proprietary 43 Optimisation 1 Landing page quality 2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure 3 Match Types 4 Expanding keyword lists 5 Improving/writing ad text
  • 44. Google Confidential and Proprietary 44 Writing Ad Text Be specific! •  Refer to USPs •  Refer to location if needed •  Use Dynamic Keyword Insertion Create a Specific Ad Title •  Have a brand presence •  Include your best performing KW’s in the ad’s title. Create Multiple ads and test, tweak & test
  • 45. Google Confidential and Proprietary 45 1.  USPs: special offers, free / fast delivery 2.  Brand 3.  Prices 4.  Calls to Action 5.  2 – 4 creatives per ad group → auto- optimization 6.  Dynamic Keyword Insertion Buy Google Beach Towel White cotton towel with full colour Google logo. Buy for under £15! www.googlestore.com/uk 64MB Google USB Drive Sleek, silver-tone USB thumb drive Ultra-portable. Only £15 – Buy now! www.googlestore.com/uk Buy Google USB Drive 64MB USB drive with Google logo Free delivery within 3 working days www.googlestore.com/uk {KeyWord:Google Memory Stick} 64MB, ultra-portable USB drive Buy now at Google’s Official Store www.googlestore.com/uk Official Google Towels 100% 2-ply woven cotton beach towel 36”x70” with Google logo. Buy now! www.googlestore.com/uk {KeyWord:Google Towels} 100% cotton heavyweight beach towel Receive 25% discount on 3 or more! www.googlestore.com/uk Hot tips for Creatives
  • 46. Google Confidential and Proprietary 46 {KeyWord:Google Products} Great prices on Google Merchandise – Shop now! www.GoogleStore.com Cycling jersey Cycling top Google hoody Google hoodie Grey hooded top Google red logo hooded jumper Hooded tops Cycling clothing Google clothing Arm warmer Google tshirt Google t-shirt Google t shirt Tracksuit bottoms Jogging top Baseball cap Dynamic Keyword Insertion •  Use the appropriate format: {KeyWord: Default Text}   Upper case will determine format of inserted keyword.   Default text will be displayed when keyword isn’t allowed (e.g. character restriction)
  • 47. Google Confidential and Proprietary Budgets
  • 48. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimize daily budgets Differentiate budgets by category of product / service Measure performance (CPA) by product category and adjust budgets and bids to meet your goals Campaign A Campaign B BudgetProfit BudgetProfit
  • 49. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimize daily budgets Set CPCs to appear in the most profitable position •  Typically Click Through Rate (CTR) increases with position •  As CTR increases, more customers come to your site from the same number of impressions •  Work out the highest profitable position for your ad text to achieve target volume and profit
  • 50. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimize daily budgets Budget for maximum return Users search and convert at all times of day, every day of the week, and every month of the year. As long as they are searching for you or your products, you should always be found The most efficient way of doing this is to raise your budgets and control your spend through CPC bidding
  • 51. Google Confidential and Proprietary Bids
  • 52. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimise Bids Bid according to marketing goal CPC for conversions CPM for branding CPMs needs to be high enough to win the auction for placement on a selected site as they compete with CPC automatic placements, they are therefore the most powerful bidding option for branding campaigns with the goal of visibility vs. clicks.
  • 53. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimise Bids Know the value of a click / impression PC World Pink laptop Coloured Laptop Dell PC World Cheap Laptops Laptops Currys Tablet Laptops Toshiba Portege m400-11h PCWorld Laptops Laptops Coloured Laptops Pink Laptops Comet 0 15 22 26 30 37 43 47 48 62 66 PCWorld Dell DealTime Amazon PCWorld Dell Shopping.com eBay Comet Kelkoo Pixmania Dixons eBay Pixmania Bizrate MicroDirect Misco Currys Amazon Bizrate Dell Lenovo Toshiba PCWorld Dell Ebuyer Comet Currys PCWorld Sony Style Nextag Dell Pixmania eBay PCWorld PriceRunner ebuyer From “PC World” to laptop purchase at ebuyer in 66 days First Search Purchase VisitsSearchesDays
  • 54. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimise Bids Know the value of a click / impression Last click attribution undervalues crucial ‘assist’ clicks All the glory All the work AssistLast click conversion
  • 55. Google Confidential and Proprietary Creative & Structure
  • 56. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimise Creative and Structure Use multiple creatives Running 2-4 creatives can yield the optimal CTR for your account as AdWords can assess the best performing ads and give them priority
  • 57. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimise Creative and Structure Tailor your ad text to the user’s needs Ad texts are your chance to attract customers as well as set realistic expectations as to what the user will find if they click through to your site. Book London Flights Great savings to be made on flights Out of London. Limited time only. www.londonflightsite.co.uk Call To Action Special Offer Save On Holidays Latest discounts, codes & offers! Up to 40% off high street prices www.holidaysite.com/specialoffer Prices Buy DVDs Online Get top box-sets and all the Latest movies from just £9.99 www.dvdstoresite.co.uk Dynamic Keyword Insertion (DKI) Low Apr Credit Cards Get 16.9% typical APR variable when You apply online, plus rewards www.creditsite.co.uk/cards
  • 58. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimise Creative and Structure Keep trialling different creatives User behaviour is dynamic and responsive to many external factors, e.g.: offline messaging, current affairs, the economic environment. Changing your creative message at regular intervals allows you to showcase different product USPs and to differentiate yourself from the competition. Trialling different creatives allows the creative to remain dynamic and may lead to uplifts in CTR (Click Through Rate). Book London Flights Great savings to be made on flights Out of London. Limited time only. www.advertisera.co.uk Save On Holidays Latest discounts, codes & offers! Up to 40% off high street prices www.advertisera.com/specialoffer
  • 59. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimise Creative and Structure Mirror your website to structure your AdWords account AdWords Campaign Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Website
  • 60. Google Confidential and Proprietary Summary
  • 61. Google Confidential and Proprietary The Science of Search
  • 62. Google Confidential and Proprietary Key Takeaways Add more keywords Always check for new keywords. Match your ads to your website and advertising content Monitor your site and conversion activity to determine value of keywords Optimize bids and daily budgets Differentiate budgets by category of product / service Set CPCs to appear in the most profitable position Budget for maximum return Optimise creatives and structure Use multiple creatives Tailor your ads to the consumers needs Copy your website structure when building campaign structure
  • 63. Google Confidential and Proprietary Google Display Network The Performance Network The Performance Network
  • 64. What is the Google Display Network? YouTube and Google Sites Doubleclick Ad Exchange Partner Sites Sites Games Social Media VideoFeeds Mobile
  • 65. The Biggest Ad Network in UK* 84%
 83%
 83%
 82%
 79%
 74%
 74%
 73%
 68%
 64%
 



Google
Content
 Network
 



Microso:
Media
 Network
 



AOL
AdverAsing
 (AdverAsing.com)

 



Yahoo!
Network
 



Specific
Media
 



24/7
Real
Media
 



Unanimis
 Network
Aggregate
 



ValueClick
Media

 (vcmedia)
 



TradeDoubler
 



Adconion
Media
 Group
 *By Unique Users Source: Comscore Media Metirx UK, April 2010 84% Internet User Reach 36M Monthly Unique Users 453 Average Impressions per User per Month Hundreds of thousands of sites
  • 66. No penalties for late submission or campaign withdrawals No contracts ever No premiums on different formats (like image, video, rich-media) OR remarketing Price set by market Ensures that you only pay the minimum needed for your ad position; No fixed, inflated pricing, you chose the level to start off at You are in Control: Set Your Own Pricing
  • 67. Precise targeting to reach your goals Contextual Targeting Placement Targeting Remarketing Where They Are Where They Have Been Category Targeting
  • 68. Contextual Targeting Serve ads to consumers based on the content they’re reading using the most powerful contextual technology in the world Google uses keywords and themes to find the right placements, showing your ads on pages that are the most suitable match for your message
  • 69. Category Targeting Serve ads to consumers based on our categorisation of thousands of sites Choose from over 600 categories Luxury Goods Luxury Auto Sites Travel Sites Golf Sites
  • 70. Placement Targeting Serve ads to consumers based on specific sites on the Google Display Network You can select specific web pages, online videos, games, RSS feeds, and mobile sites to show your ads AdPlanner allows you to search for specific sites based on the audience that you are targeting
  • 71. Remarketing 97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit to your website. Target those people on the Google Display Network to bring them back to your site. Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
  • 72. Remarketing ‘Our largest finance client has seen tremendous results from the GDN for a long time now. We were one of the first to use Google's remarketing technology, and it has been a boon to the operation. It has taken the overall performance to another level.’ Jessica Bender Digital Campaign Manager, PHD 97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit to your website. Target those people on the Google Display Network to bring them back to your site. Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
  • 73. Remarketing drove the highest conversion rate and the lowest CPA for Nexus One Display Campaign •  Conversion rate for remarketing was 2.3x higher than the account average and CPA was 2.4x lower •  Display ads performed the best. Remarketing display had 3.2x higher conversion rate than the account average for display. •  Due to high performance, the team roughly tripled the remarketing budget in 3 months Remarketing Case Study Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
  • 74. Google Display Network Our recommended solution for your marketing need Direct Response Branding Goal •  Drive Purchase, Downloads, Sign-ups and Leads •  Create Awareness •  Generate Interest Targeting •  Category Targeting •  Contextual Targeting •  Remarketing •  Placement Targeting •  Category Targeting Bidding •  CPC •  CPM Ad Format •  Text •  Image, Promoted Video •  Rich Media •  Image and CTP Video •  Rich Media •  InStream Video How to get started today 1. Speak to your Display Sales representative about your campaign 2. Let us suggest the best way to access the network based on your objectives 3. We will help to build and execute an amazing campaign on the UK’s biggest ad-network!
  • 75. Add a different quote We use the Google Display Network for one of our largest Direct Response advertisers and it is consistently one of the best performing networks on our plan. Tamara Cross Strategy Director, MG OMD
  • 76. Google Confidential and Proprietary 76 Content 1 Key Concepts of AdWords 2 Search Best Practices: Science of Search 3 The Google Display Network 4 Q & A
  • 77. Google Confidential and Proprietary Thanks for your attention! 77
  • 78. Google Confidential and Proprietary Appendix Additional Slides
  • 79. Google Confidential and Proprietary Additional slides for core presentation
  • 80. Our Vision for Display Advertising Performance OpenSimplify
  • 81. Buyer logs in to AdWords or DFA, and specifies desired inventory or reviews available opportunities Seller makes inventory eligible for purchase An auction matches each piece of eligible inventory to the highest bidding buyer. Alternately, buyers may purchase reserved Ad Exchange – What is it? Ad ExchangeMedia Buyer Publisher Auction
  • 82. Flexible site placement; targeting options #1 Online Advertising Network Mass Media Niche Media # of sites Reach Across both mass-media and niche sites
  • 83. Overview of Targeting Options Targeting Option How to use it When to use it Available Ad Formats Goal Contextual Targeting Select keywords to target ads to web content You want to reach people engaged with pages focused on particular topic Text, Image, Flash, Click- to-play video, 3PAS, Local business Direct Response Placement Targeting Manually select placements on pages where you want your ads to appear You want to reach a targeted audience in a specific set of environments Text, Image, Flash, Click- to-play video, InStream Video, InVideo, 3PAS Branding Category Targeting Select categories to target ads to groups of web pages with content focused on a specific subject You want to reach a broad audience interested in certain types of content Text, Image, Flash, Click- to-play video, 3PAS Branding, Direct Response Remarketing Target people who visited your website but didn’t convert You want to reconnect to build brand loyalty and cement your brand message Text, Image, Flash, Click- to-play video, 3PAS Direct Response & Longer-term branding
  • 84. Audience Selection DoubleClick AdPlanner AdWords Placement Tool YouTube Video Targeting Tool Find relevant Sites & Videos AdWords Keyword Tool Search-Based Keyword Tool Google Wonder Wheel Develop keyword themes Google Insights for Search DoubleClick AdPlanner GDN Planning tool Find insights about your audience Plan your campaigns with the largest data set of audience behavior on the internet
  • 85. •  Target people who have visited your website but didn’t convert •  Re-advertise to these people with a different message •  Bring them back to your website - engage them again •  97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit* •  Target them on a network with more reach, scale & efficiency than any other •  84% of the UK online population can be reached on the Google Display Network •  You only target hot prospects that have previously engaged with your site •  No premium for Remarketing on the Google Display Network *Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009 Remarketing
  • 86. Step 3: Start serving ads to your hot prospects •  Create Text, Display or Video ads •  Ads should be designed to persuade hot prospects to return •  Upload ads to AdWords •  Set the cost you are prepared to pay to get them to return (CPC) •  Check if you want to exclude any sites, categories or topics •  Go live! Step 1: Set clear objective and tag your site •  Start with a simple strategy •  “Homepage” and “Thank You” page are a good place to begin •  Google Account Manager will email you 2 tags (a few lines of code) •  Copy and paste the tags onto the two pages •  You’re now collecting hot prospects! Step 4: Reap rewards and scale up •  Test, learn and scale Step 2: Google collects a hot prospects list •  Tags drop cookies on “Homepage” and “Thank You” page visitors •  Within 48h Google creates a list of visitor cookies for each site •  “Homepage” list - “Thank You” page list = “Hot prospects” list •  These hot prospects visited your Homepage but didn’t convert Remarketing / How does it work
  • 87. Control the Environment with Brand Safety Features Negative Keywords Use keywords to prevent your sites from appearing on particular themes of page content. Site, Topic & Category Exclusions Prevent your ads from appearing on specific sites or types of Google Display Network pages. Above the Fold Targeting Exclude placements that may appear in a lower part of a website requiring the user to scroll. Ad Planner 1000 Restrict your campaigns to AdSense publishers that are one of the largest 1000 publishers on the web. Brand Select Filter Restrict your campaigns to AdSense publishers algorithmically determined by Google as brand safe based on site quality. Target IASH Bundle* Target an IASH approved bundle of sites on the Google Display Network using Category Targeting. * IASH bundle not yet available for targeting
  • 88. Google Confidential and Proprietary Additional Topics - Ad Formats -
  • 89. Full set of creative options to engage with users Ad Format Sizes Standard Image (JPG or GIF) Standard Flash Rich Media Flash In-Unit Video Click-to-play Video Ads Banner: 468 x 60 Square: 250 x 250 Small Square: 200 x 200 Leaderboard: 728 x 90 Medium Rectangle: 300 x 250 Large Rectangle: 336 x 280 Skyscraper: 120 x 600 Wide Skyscraper: 160 x 600
  • 90. Google Confidential and Proprietary Additional Topics - Pricing and Reporting -
  • 91. You are in Control: Set Your Own Pricing CPCCPM What? Pay whenever the ad appears Pay when users click trough to your site When? Campaigns in which you care about visibility and track metrics such as impressions, reach, frequency and search uplift Campaigns in which you care about clicks and track metrics such as sales, leads and sign ups The auction system guarantees the best possible price Conversion tracking and optimisation products are available at no extra cost
  • 92. Real-time Reporting and Controls to Maximize Results Automate Optimization •  Set your maximum CPA – let Conversion Optimizer do the rest •  On average, a 21% increase in conversions and a 14% decrease in CPA* •  Provide creative, budget and target CPA and let Auto Optimizer* drive conversions •  Bid more on what works •  Exclude what doesn’t work •  Focus on profitable demos •  Invest more in profitable hours •  Manage frequency, maximize reach Optimize Manually * Source: Google Internal Analysis. This analysis compares the performance of Conversion Optimizer campaigns with a control set of campaigns and represents the average impact of Conversion Optimizer. The actual impact will vary from campaign to campaign. Get daily reports on: Site by site performance Reach and Frequency Conversions
  • 94. Google Confidential and Proprietary Additional Topics - Sample Sites -
  • 95. Google Display Network Sites Sample categories Travel Source: Google AdPlanner, Oct 2010, UK Entertainment & Games News & Classified Health & Beauty Finance Communities