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User
Acquisition
HELLO!
Bonny Lai
Startups Advisor . Co-Founder .
Head of Product At Roost
500 Startups Alumni
@ansonwolfe
Bonny.lai@gmail.com
Agenda
1. What is it?
2. Inbound vs. Outbound Marketing
3. User Behaviour
4. KPIs
5. Analytics Tools
6. Basic SEO
User Acquisition – what is it?1
A set of methodologies and
systems to manage customer
prospects and inquiries generated
by marketing techniques.
: Users from from various channels
: Users enjoy 1st experience
: Users come back
: Users like product enough to refer
: User does some monetizing behaviour
Customer Lifecycle
Marketing
Growth
Hacking
Customer
Acquisition
Distribution
It costs money.Myth :
“If you have more money than brains, you
should focus on outbound marketing.
If you have more brains than money, you
should focus on inbound marketing.”
- Guy Kawasaki
Inbound vs. Outbound Marketing2
• “Interruption Marketing”
• Higher average cost to acquire new customer
• Press Releases
• Billboards & Outdoor Advertising
• Trade show booths
• Paid advertising (billboard, TV, Radio, News)
• Paid app reviews
• Social Media Advertising
Outbound Marketing
Try to avoid unless you are
well established& well funded
• Get attention organically
• Uses creativity, talent & effort
• SEO & PPC
• Opt-In Email Lists
• Supporting / Sponsoring events
• Community building / blogging
• Word of Mouth & Viral Marketing
• Content Creation
Inbound Marketing
Always ask:
Who is your audience?
Go target that audience.
User Behaviours3
• Awareness – User first learns about you
• Interest – something piques user’s
interest to continue engaging with you.
• Desire / Decision – Tipping point that
pushes user to commit.
• Action – the desired outcome you want.
The Customer Funnel / Sales Funnel
Each stage has leaky holes. Your job is to
find out where these holes are and fix
them.
• Personal finance platform, acquired by Intuit for $340Million
• Grew 1 million users from 2007 to 2009
• Adding thousands of new users every day
• Made access to platform limited.
• Incentives: Bloggers given access, asked to display badge (creating
desire for others to want)
• Had an active Questions & Answers platform for personal finance
• SEO the Q&A massively
• Active blog with actionable tips for readers (blog alone was 20% of
new users)
• Attractive and educational infographics to share on social media
• 12 million new users in one year
• By adding in one single line to every email sent by
users with a link back to hotmail’s home page.
• “PS: I love you. Get your free email at Hotmail.”
• Gamify it – 5 people found this article useful
• Infographics with educational and shareable content
• Blogs & Guest blogging – Google favours articles of 2,000 words or more.
• Short video clips – quick ‘How to’ tips
• Free ebook – 37 Signals published a book on business design and
programming
• Referral bonuses – Dropbox refer a friend, get more free storage
Other things that drive growth
Pick ONE feature to ask them to write about.
(Make sure it’s something that people care about,
specifically their readers).
If approaching bloggers
or publications
Bad ask:
Here’s a list of ten features you don’t really
care about. Will you write about it?
Good ask:
We have a new feature that helps you do
something really cool and no one else has it. Will
you write about it?
1. Find their contact (it’s usually their first name @ company). Or
call company and ask.
2. Write the article for them.
(Make it super easy for them to write about you. They can edit
it if they want.)
3. Let them know what you do.
4. Keep it short and to the point!
Approaching bloggers or writers
Psychology of Language
“Remember that a person’s name is to that
person the sweetest and most important
sound in any language.”
~ Dale Carnegie
YOU.
We are all governed to aim for the lowest hanging fruit.
~ Ariely’s principle of Loss Aversion.
FREE .
Because.
Creating a causal relationship is incredibly persuasive:
"even giving weak reasons have been shown to be more
persuasive than giving no reason at all."
Instantly.
"Words like "instant," "immediately," or even "fast" are
triggers for flipping the switch on mid-brain activity."
People are rational.Myth :
Putting a badge
of anything will
make you look
more authentic.
Chris Nodder
Evil by Design
Establish your expertise early, and soon.
Answer questions pre-emptively.
Follow with social validation.
Make a small Ask.
If you do have to run ads, constantly test and change
to find out what is most effective. Change up your
images, ad copy, message, etc.
A/B test them. Always.
KPIs4
• Key Performance Indicator (KPI)
a business metric used to evaluate factors
that are crucial to the success of the
organisation.
• Cost per Acquisition (CPA)
A measure of the costs associated with
acquiring a new customer, lead, or action.
A low cost per acquisition is an indication
of cost-efficient Internet marketing
practices.
Other variations
• CPS – cost per sale
• CPL – cost per lead
• CPI – cost per install
• CPC – cost per click
• CPM – cost per Mille
Always keep track of your costs
per conversion.
• Life Time Value (LTV)
a prediction of the net profit attributed to
the entire future relationship with a
customer.
Example LTV value for Airbnb customers:
Average customer travels 3-4x a year, average 5 nights.
Most commonly used lodgings are mid-range priced (i.e.
$80/night).
On average, customers spend $400 in lodgings.
Assuming customers use Airbnb in this way for 10 years.
LTV = $400*4 = 1600/yr * 10 years = $16,0000
,
• Daily Active Users (DAU)
• Monthly Active Users (MAU)
How many users are on your app daily?
How many users are on your app monthly?
• What is the defining KPI for
your startup?
Every startup has a slightly different metric
that is meaningful to the startup’s health.
You can have more than one KPI. Make it
meaningful.
Sample Company KPI (unique to company)
Airbnb Number of nights booked
Starbucks Coffee Number of cups of coffee sold
Amazon.com Revenue for the year
Analytics Tools5
Google Analytics
1. See your most important analytics data first.
2. Find out which online campaigns bring
the most traffic and conversions.
3. Determine where your best visitors are located.
4. Learn what people are searching for on your
site.5. Visualize what people click on the most.
6. Uncover your top content.
9. Discover if you need a mobile site.
8. Determine where people abandon the shopping
cart
7. Identify your worst performing pages.
Alternatives: Localytics, Kissmetrics, Mixpanel *
*While these cover more points, they are also more
technical resource-intensive to implement.
Use Google Analytics in conjunction with
another metrics tool if you can.
What’s most engaging
on your page?
A/B Testing & Heat Map Visualizer
Optimzely, Crazyegg, Wvo,
Zarget, Sumome, Convert,
Adobe Test & Target
Choose a tool that lets you quickly set up
different test scenarios, and test results
without needing a whole development
team.
SEO basics6
Keywords.
Think of your keywords as search terms. Scatter
them across your site but do not overuse – they will
get marked as spam.
The title tag and page header are the two
most important spots to put keywords
Mobile - Optimised
Web pages that do are not optimised for mobile
device screens are ranked lower than mobile-
optimised sites.
Sitemap
Adding a site map -- a page listing and linking to
all the other major pages on your site -- makes it
easier for spiders to search your site.
"The fewer clicks necessary to get to a page on
your website, the better."
Canonical URLs
www.puppyfun.co.uk/puppyhealth/vitamins
www.puppyfun.co.uk/11789/s201.htm
vs.
Alt Tags
Search spiders read text, not images or Flash.
Every image you have on your site is an opportunity to type in
a descriptive ALT tag description the spiders will read.
<img src = “filename.jpeg” alt=“startup founders in Palestine”>
Fresh Content
A company blog serves as both content marketing for you as
well as tells the search engine spiders of fresh updates.
"The best sites for users, and consequently
for search engines, are full of oft-updated,
useful information about a given service,
product, topic or discipline."
Social Media Distribution
Whenever there’s fresh content on the blog, be sure to
announce over social media channels as well.
POST TO YOUR OWN BLOG FIRST.
Link to others
Return favours when you can. Ask other webmasters if they
will link to your site, write a guest post for you or let you write
one on their site.
There are a lot more to SEO than mentioned above.
Read the Moz SEO for Beginners report. GREAT read!
Resources:
1. http://blog.hubspot.com/
2. http://www.quicksprout.com/
3. http://www.daniellemorrill.com/
4. https://blog.kissmetrics.com/resourc
es-for-customer-acquisition/
5. https://blog.kissmetrics.com/guide-
to-customer-acquisition/
6. https://moz.com/blog
7. https://moz.com/learn/seo
8. https://growthhackers.com/
THANK YOU!
Bonny.lai@gmail.com
@ansonwolfe

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User acquisition myths tips and tricks

  • 2. HELLO! Bonny Lai Startups Advisor . Co-Founder . Head of Product At Roost 500 Startups Alumni @ansonwolfe Bonny.lai@gmail.com
  • 3. Agenda 1. What is it? 2. Inbound vs. Outbound Marketing 3. User Behaviour 4. KPIs 5. Analytics Tools 6. Basic SEO
  • 4. User Acquisition – what is it?1
  • 5. A set of methodologies and systems to manage customer prospects and inquiries generated by marketing techniques.
  • 6. : Users from from various channels : Users enjoy 1st experience : Users come back : Users like product enough to refer : User does some monetizing behaviour Customer Lifecycle
  • 9. “If you have more money than brains, you should focus on outbound marketing. If you have more brains than money, you should focus on inbound marketing.” - Guy Kawasaki
  • 10. Inbound vs. Outbound Marketing2
  • 11.
  • 12. • “Interruption Marketing” • Higher average cost to acquire new customer • Press Releases • Billboards & Outdoor Advertising • Trade show booths • Paid advertising (billboard, TV, Radio, News) • Paid app reviews • Social Media Advertising Outbound Marketing Try to avoid unless you are well established& well funded
  • 13. • Get attention organically • Uses creativity, talent & effort • SEO & PPC • Opt-In Email Lists • Supporting / Sponsoring events • Community building / blogging • Word of Mouth & Viral Marketing • Content Creation Inbound Marketing Always ask: Who is your audience? Go target that audience.
  • 15. • Awareness – User first learns about you • Interest – something piques user’s interest to continue engaging with you. • Desire / Decision – Tipping point that pushes user to commit. • Action – the desired outcome you want. The Customer Funnel / Sales Funnel Each stage has leaky holes. Your job is to find out where these holes are and fix them.
  • 16. • Personal finance platform, acquired by Intuit for $340Million • Grew 1 million users from 2007 to 2009 • Adding thousands of new users every day • Made access to platform limited. • Incentives: Bloggers given access, asked to display badge (creating desire for others to want) • Had an active Questions & Answers platform for personal finance • SEO the Q&A massively • Active blog with actionable tips for readers (blog alone was 20% of new users) • Attractive and educational infographics to share on social media
  • 17. • 12 million new users in one year • By adding in one single line to every email sent by users with a link back to hotmail’s home page. • “PS: I love you. Get your free email at Hotmail.”
  • 18. • Gamify it – 5 people found this article useful • Infographics with educational and shareable content • Blogs & Guest blogging – Google favours articles of 2,000 words or more. • Short video clips – quick ‘How to’ tips • Free ebook – 37 Signals published a book on business design and programming • Referral bonuses – Dropbox refer a friend, get more free storage Other things that drive growth
  • 19. Pick ONE feature to ask them to write about. (Make sure it’s something that people care about, specifically their readers). If approaching bloggers or publications
  • 20. Bad ask: Here’s a list of ten features you don’t really care about. Will you write about it? Good ask: We have a new feature that helps you do something really cool and no one else has it. Will you write about it?
  • 21. 1. Find their contact (it’s usually their first name @ company). Or call company and ask. 2. Write the article for them. (Make it super easy for them to write about you. They can edit it if they want.) 3. Let them know what you do. 4. Keep it short and to the point! Approaching bloggers or writers
  • 23. “Remember that a person’s name is to that person the sweetest and most important sound in any language.” ~ Dale Carnegie YOU.
  • 24. We are all governed to aim for the lowest hanging fruit. ~ Ariely’s principle of Loss Aversion. FREE .
  • 25. Because. Creating a causal relationship is incredibly persuasive: "even giving weak reasons have been shown to be more persuasive than giving no reason at all."
  • 26. Instantly. "Words like "instant," "immediately," or even "fast" are triggers for flipping the switch on mid-brain activity."
  • 28. Putting a badge of anything will make you look more authentic. Chris Nodder Evil by Design
  • 29. Establish your expertise early, and soon. Answer questions pre-emptively. Follow with social validation. Make a small Ask. If you do have to run ads, constantly test and change to find out what is most effective. Change up your images, ad copy, message, etc. A/B test them. Always.
  • 30. KPIs4
  • 31. • Key Performance Indicator (KPI) a business metric used to evaluate factors that are crucial to the success of the organisation.
  • 32. • Cost per Acquisition (CPA) A measure of the costs associated with acquiring a new customer, lead, or action. A low cost per acquisition is an indication of cost-efficient Internet marketing practices.
  • 33. Other variations • CPS – cost per sale • CPL – cost per lead • CPI – cost per install • CPC – cost per click • CPM – cost per Mille Always keep track of your costs per conversion.
  • 34. • Life Time Value (LTV) a prediction of the net profit attributed to the entire future relationship with a customer.
  • 35. Example LTV value for Airbnb customers: Average customer travels 3-4x a year, average 5 nights. Most commonly used lodgings are mid-range priced (i.e. $80/night). On average, customers spend $400 in lodgings. Assuming customers use Airbnb in this way for 10 years. LTV = $400*4 = 1600/yr * 10 years = $16,0000 ,
  • 36. • Daily Active Users (DAU) • Monthly Active Users (MAU) How many users are on your app daily? How many users are on your app monthly?
  • 37. • What is the defining KPI for your startup? Every startup has a slightly different metric that is meaningful to the startup’s health. You can have more than one KPI. Make it meaningful.
  • 38. Sample Company KPI (unique to company) Airbnb Number of nights booked Starbucks Coffee Number of cups of coffee sold Amazon.com Revenue for the year
  • 39.
  • 41. Google Analytics 1. See your most important analytics data first. 2. Find out which online campaigns bring the most traffic and conversions. 3. Determine where your best visitors are located. 4. Learn what people are searching for on your site.5. Visualize what people click on the most. 6. Uncover your top content. 9. Discover if you need a mobile site. 8. Determine where people abandon the shopping cart 7. Identify your worst performing pages.
  • 42. Alternatives: Localytics, Kissmetrics, Mixpanel * *While these cover more points, they are also more technical resource-intensive to implement. Use Google Analytics in conjunction with another metrics tool if you can.
  • 43. What’s most engaging on your page? A/B Testing & Heat Map Visualizer Optimzely, Crazyegg, Wvo, Zarget, Sumome, Convert, Adobe Test & Target
  • 44. Choose a tool that lets you quickly set up different test scenarios, and test results without needing a whole development team.
  • 46. Keywords. Think of your keywords as search terms. Scatter them across your site but do not overuse – they will get marked as spam. The title tag and page header are the two most important spots to put keywords
  • 47. Mobile - Optimised Web pages that do are not optimised for mobile device screens are ranked lower than mobile- optimised sites.
  • 48. Sitemap Adding a site map -- a page listing and linking to all the other major pages on your site -- makes it easier for spiders to search your site. "The fewer clicks necessary to get to a page on your website, the better."
  • 50. Alt Tags Search spiders read text, not images or Flash. Every image you have on your site is an opportunity to type in a descriptive ALT tag description the spiders will read. <img src = “filename.jpeg” alt=“startup founders in Palestine”>
  • 51. Fresh Content A company blog serves as both content marketing for you as well as tells the search engine spiders of fresh updates. "The best sites for users, and consequently for search engines, are full of oft-updated, useful information about a given service, product, topic or discipline."
  • 52. Social Media Distribution Whenever there’s fresh content on the blog, be sure to announce over social media channels as well. POST TO YOUR OWN BLOG FIRST.
  • 53. Link to others Return favours when you can. Ask other webmasters if they will link to your site, write a guest post for you or let you write one on their site.
  • 54. There are a lot more to SEO than mentioned above. Read the Moz SEO for Beginners report. GREAT read!
  • 55. Resources: 1. http://blog.hubspot.com/ 2. http://www.quicksprout.com/ 3. http://www.daniellemorrill.com/ 4. https://blog.kissmetrics.com/resourc es-for-customer-acquisition/ 5. https://blog.kissmetrics.com/guide- to-customer-acquisition/ 6. https://moz.com/blog 7. https://moz.com/learn/seo 8. https://growthhackers.com/

Notes de l'éditeur

  1. ----- Meeting Notes (01/02/16 18:05) ----- Presented Feb. 01, 2016 @ Leaders.ps
  2. Simple terms: Get new customers using most efficient ways
  3. The customer lifecycle in multiple stages.
  4. Also known as “marketing”, “growth hacking”, “customer acquisition”. Do not let buzzwords throw you off. The end goal of all the above is to generate new leads into users using marketing techniques.
  5. There are many ways to get new users without having to spend money. Focus on low cost or free channels.
  6. Guy Kawasaki is Chief Evangelist for Apple.
  7. Image source: http://www.2lvw.nl/blog/marketing/inbound-marketing-vs-outbound-marketing/
  8. These types of advertising are considered “money pits”. ROI on these are very hard to calculate and you can spend a fortune on them without seeing returns.
  9. A LOT of successful companies start out using these methods.
  10. The various stages from awareness through conversion to engagement and eventually evangelist. At each stage, a few users will drop out of the funnel while a few will remain. Your job as marketer is to optimize for retention through the end.
  11. Make the dialogue / conversation piece about the person. “You” or your name is so important in communications, there is no reason not to be addressing the person by name in emails. If you are pre-product, Mailchimp allows importing list of contacts or manually editing contacts for names.
  12. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loss_aversion
  13. Psychology of Language: http://lifehacker.com/5993267/the-psychology-of-language-why-are-some-words-more-persuasive-than-others
  14. There are many ways to get new users without having to spend money. Focus on low cost or free channels.
  15. KPI = Key Performance Indicator
  16. Image source: http://www.2lvw.nl/blog/marketing/inbound-marketing-vs-outbound-marketing/
  17. CPA – cost per action CPS – cost per sale CPL – cost per lead CPI – cost per install CPC – cost per click CPM – cost per mille
  18. CPS – Cost per sale . Your true cost per customer number. This is all the costs associated with bringing in one paying customer. CPL – Cost per lead. Largely used in affiliate marketing. Leads are often at top of sales funnel and need to be nurtured into paying customers. Can also be Cost per Like. CPI – Cost per Install. For mobile apps, this is a KPI that matters . CPC – Cost per Click. If paying for adwords or other paid advertising, CPC is how you can be charged for online advertising. CPM – Cost per Mille. Mille refers to 1,000 impressions. Another way online advertisers charge for ads based on # of impressions your ad is shown / seen by.
  19. How much will this customer earn you for as long as this customer is with you? i.e. Mohammed travels 3-4x a year, average 5 nights. He usually stays in mid-range priced lodgings (i.e. $80/night). Each trip costs Mohammed $400 in lodgings. Assuming he continues to use Airbnb for 10 more years, Mohammed’s LTV is approx. $400*4 = 1600/yr * 10 years = $16,0000
  20. How much will this customer earn you for as long as this customer is with you?
  21. https://blog.kissmetrics.com/awesome-google-analytics/
  22. Make the dialogue / conversation piece about the person. “You” or your name is so important in communications, there is no reason not to be addressing the person by name in emails. Mailchimp allows importing list of contacts or manually editing contacts for names.
  23. Meta tags are also very important.
  24. Content creation can be a time consuming exercise. Find a company brand / voice. Outsource if you need do.