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Customer Life Time Value

  1. MARKETING ANALYTICS MARKETING ANALYTICS BM2507 • Week 11 Introduction and Application in Marketing Customer Lifetime Value (CLV):
  2. MARKETING ANALYTICS “Marketing is the art of attracting and keeping profitable customers.” - Kotler & Armstrong, 1996
  3. MARKETING ANALYTICS “Marketing is the art of attracting and keeping profitable customers.” - Kotler & Armstrong, 1996 A person, household, or company whose revenues over time exceed, by an acceptable amount, the company costs of attracting, selling, and servicing that customer.
  4. MARKETING ANALYTICS Why do we need marketing activities? Retain existing customers Acquire potential customers
  5. MARKETING ANALYTICS Why do we need marketing activities? Which type of customers should be prioritised for acquisition and retention? How much should we spend for acquisition and retention? Which marketing mix activities are effective for acquisition and retention?
  6. MARKETING ANALYTICS What do we need to answer these questions? Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) If you know how much is a customer’s worth over a lifetime, then you can answer the question above CLV = Customer Lifetime Value
  7. MARKETING ANALYTICS Expected Revenue by Year Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 $100 $110 $110 $110 $110 Know how much the customers are going to buy over a lifetime Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)
  8. MARKETING ANALYTICS Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 𝑅𝑒𝑣1 𝑅𝑒𝑣2 𝑅𝑒𝑣3 𝑅𝑒𝑣4 𝑅𝑒𝑣5
  9. MARKETING ANALYTICS Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 𝑅𝑒𝑣1 𝑅𝑒𝑣2 𝑅𝑒𝑣3 𝑅𝑒𝑣4 𝑅𝑒𝑣5 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡1 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡2 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡3 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡4 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡5
  10. MARKETING ANALYTICS Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 1 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 2 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 3 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 4 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 5
  11. MARKETING ANALYTICS Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 1 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 2 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 3 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 4 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 5 𝑝1 𝑝2 𝑝3 𝑝4 𝑝5 Annual retention probability
  12. MARKETING ANALYTICS Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 1 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 2 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 3 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 4 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 5 𝑝1 𝑝2 𝑝3 𝑝4 𝑝5 𝜋1 𝜋2 𝜋3 𝜋4 𝜋5 Annual retention probability Cumulative retention probability
  13. MARKETING ANALYTICS Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 1 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 2 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 3 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 4 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 5 𝑝1 𝑝2 𝑝3 𝑝4 𝑝5 𝜋1 𝜋2 𝜋3 𝜋4 𝜋5 = 𝑝1 = 𝑝1. 𝑝2 = 𝑝1. 𝑝2. 𝑝3 = 𝑝1. 𝑝2. 𝑝3. 𝑝4 = 𝑝1. 𝑝2. 𝑝3. 𝑝4. 𝑝5 Annual retention probability Cumulative retention probability
  14. MARKETING ANALYTICS Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 𝜋1. 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 1 𝜋2. 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 2 𝜋3. 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 3 𝜋4. 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 4 𝜋5. 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 5 Expected net contribution of each period
  15. MARKETING ANALYTICS Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 𝜋1. 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 1 𝜋2. 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 2 𝜋3. 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 3 𝜋4. 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 4 𝜋5. 𝑅𝑒𝑣 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡 5 Discounted present value of expected future net contributions
  16. MARKETING ANALYTICS Present Value, Interest Rate, and Discount Factor How much is $100 worth next year? If interest rate is 10%, 𝐹𝑉 = $100 ∙ (1 + 10%) = $110 Future Value Therefore, the present value (PV) of $110 next year is $100.
  17. MARKETING ANALYTICS Formula: 𝑃𝑉 = 𝐹𝑉 1 + 𝑖% = 𝐹𝑉 ∙ 𝑑𝑖𝑠𝑐𝑜𝑢𝑛𝑡 𝑓𝑎𝑐𝑡𝑜𝑟 𝑓𝑜𝑟 𝑦𝑒𝑎𝑟 1 Present Value, Interest Rate, and Discount Factor How much is $100 worth next year? If interest rate is 10%, 𝐹𝑉 = $100 ∙ (1 + 10%) = $110
  18. MARKETING ANALYTICS Formula: 𝑃𝑉 = 𝐹𝑉 1 + 𝑖% = 𝐹𝑉 ∙ 𝑑𝑖𝑠𝑐𝑜𝑢𝑛𝑡 𝑓𝑎𝑐𝑡𝑜𝑟 𝑓𝑜𝑟 𝑦𝑒𝑎𝑟 1 Present Value, Interest Rate, and Discount Factor How much is $100 worth next year? If interest rate is 10%, 𝐹𝑉 = $100 ∙ (1 + 10%) = $110 Interest rate
  19. MARKETING ANALYTICS Formula: 𝑃𝑉 = 𝐹𝑉 1 + 𝑖% = 𝐹𝑉 ∙ 𝑑𝑖𝑠𝑐𝑜𝑢𝑛𝑡 𝑓𝑎𝑐𝑡𝑜𝑟 𝑓𝑜𝑟 𝑦𝑒𝑎𝑟 1 Present Value, Interest Rate, and Discount Factor How much is $100 worth next year? If interest rate is 10%, 𝐹𝑉 = $100 ∙ (1 + 10%) = $110 Interest rate 1 1 + 𝑖%
  20. MARKETING ANALYTICS Formula: 𝑃𝑉 = 𝐹𝑉 1 + 𝑖% = 𝐹𝑉 ∙ 𝑑𝑖𝑠𝑐𝑜𝑢𝑛𝑡 𝑓𝑎𝑐𝑡𝑜𝑟 𝑓𝑜𝑟 𝑦𝑒𝑎𝑟 1 Present Value, Interest Rate, and Discount Factor How much is $100 worth next year? If interest rate is 10%, 𝐹𝑉 = $100 ∙ (1 + 10%) = $110 Interest rate 1 1 + 𝑖%
  21. MARKETING ANALYTICS Present Value, Interest Rate, and Discount Factor How much is $100 worth after 2 years? If interest rate is 10%, Therefore, the present value (PV) $121 after 2 years is $100. Future Value 𝐹𝑉 = $100 ∙ (1 + 10%) ∙ (1 + 10%) = $100 ∙ 1 + 10% 2 = $121
  22. MARKETING ANALYTICS Formula: Present Value, Interest Rate, and Discount Factor How much is $100 worth after 2 years? If interest rate is 10%, 𝑃𝑉 = 𝐹𝑉 (1 + 𝑖%)2 = 𝐹𝑉 ∙ 𝑑𝑖𝑠𝑐𝑜𝑢𝑛𝑡 𝑓𝑎𝑐𝑡𝑜𝑟 𝑓𝑜𝑟 𝑦𝑒𝑎𝑟 2 𝐹𝑉 = $100 ∙ (1 + 10%) ∙ (1 + 10%) = $100 ∙ 1 + 10% 2 = $121
  23. MARKETING ANALYTICS Formula: Present Value, Interest Rate, and Discount Factor How much is $100 worth after 2 years? If interest rate is 10%, 𝑃𝑉 = 𝐹𝑉 (1 + 𝑖%)2 = 𝐹𝑉 ∙ 𝑑𝑖𝑠𝑐𝑜𝑢𝑛𝑡 𝑓𝑎𝑐𝑡𝑜𝑟 𝑓𝑜𝑟 𝑦𝑒𝑎𝑟 2 𝐹𝑉 = $100 ∙ (1 + 10%) ∙ (1 + 10%) = $100 ∙ 1 + 10% 2 = $121 Interest rate
  24. MARKETING ANALYTICS Formula: Present Value, Interest Rate, and Discount Factor How much is $100 worth after 2 years? If interest rate is 10%, 𝑃𝑉 = 𝐹𝑉 (1 + 𝑖%)2 = 𝐹𝑉 ∙ 𝑑𝑖𝑠𝑐𝑜𝑢𝑛𝑡 𝑓𝑎𝑐𝑡𝑜𝑟 𝑓𝑜𝑟 𝑦𝑒𝑎𝑟 2 𝐹𝑉 = $100 ∙ (1 + 10%) ∙ (1 + 10%) = $100 ∙ 1 + 10% 2 = $121 Interest rate 1 (1 + 𝑖%)2
  25. MARKETING ANALYTICS Formula: Present Value, Interest Rate, and Discount Factor How much is $100 worth after 2 years? If interest rate is 10%, 𝑃𝑉 = 𝐹𝑉 (1 + 𝑖%)2 = 𝐹𝑉 ∙ 𝑑𝑖𝑠𝑐𝑜𝑢𝑛𝑡 𝑓𝑎𝑐𝑡𝑜𝑟 𝑓𝑜𝑟 𝑦𝑒𝑎𝑟 2 𝐹𝑉 = $100 ∙ (1 + 10%) ∙ (1 + 10%) = $100 ∙ 1 + 10% 2 = $121 Interest rate 1 (1 + 𝑖%)2
  26. MARKETING ANALYTICS Present Value, Interest Rate, and Discount Factor How much is $100 worth after t years? If interest rate is 10%, 𝐹𝑉 = $100 ∙ 1 + 10% 𝑡 Future Value
  27. MARKETING ANALYTICS Present Value, Interest Rate, and Discount Factor How much is $100 worth after t years? If interest rate is 10%, 𝐹𝑉 = $100 ∙ 1 + 10% 𝑡 Formula: 𝑃𝑉 = 𝐹𝑉 (1 + 𝑖%)𝑡 = 𝐹𝑉 ∙ 𝑑𝑖𝑠𝑐𝑜𝑢𝑛𝑡 𝑓𝑎𝑐𝑡𝑜𝑟 𝑓𝑜𝑟 𝑦𝑒𝑎𝑟 𝑡
  28. MARKETING ANALYTICS Present Value, Interest Rate, and Discount Factor How much is $100 worth after t years? If interest rate is 10%, 𝐹𝑉 = $100 ∙ 1 + 10% 𝑡 Formula: 𝑃𝑉 = 𝐹𝑉 (1 + 𝑖%)𝑡 = 𝐹𝑉 ∙ 𝑑𝑖𝑠𝑐𝑜𝑢𝑛𝑡 𝑓𝑎𝑐𝑡𝑜𝑟 𝑓𝑜𝑟 𝑦𝑒𝑎𝑟 𝑡 Interest rate
  29. MARKETING ANALYTICS Present Value, Interest Rate, and Discount Factor How much is $100 worth after t years? If interest rate is 10%, 𝐹𝑉 = $100 ∙ 1 + 10% 𝑡 Formula: 𝑃𝑉 = 𝐹𝑉 (1 + 𝑖%)𝑡 = 𝐹𝑉 ∙ 𝑑𝑖𝑠𝑐𝑜𝑢𝑛𝑡 𝑓𝑎𝑐𝑡𝑜𝑟 𝑓𝑜𝑟 𝑦𝑒𝑎𝑟 𝑡 Interest rate 1 (1 + 𝑖%)t
  30. MARKETING ANALYTICS Present Value, Interest Rate, and Discount Factor How much is $100 worth after t years? If interest rate is 10%, 𝐹𝑉 = $100 ∙ 1 + 10% 𝑡 Formula: 𝑃𝑉 = 𝐹𝑉 (1 + 𝑖%)𝑡 = 𝐹𝑉 ∙ 𝑑𝑖𝑠𝑐𝑜𝑢𝑛𝑡 𝑓𝑎𝑐𝑡𝑜𝑟 𝑓𝑜𝑟 𝑦𝑒𝑎𝑟 𝑡 Interest rate 1 (1 + 𝑖%)t
  31. MARKETING ANALYTICS Acquisition Cost Information Needed for Calculating CLV Interest Rate Duration Revenue per Year Servicing Costs per Year Retention Rate
  32. MARKETING ANALYTICS Timeline t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 Acquisition cost -10,000 Projected revenue 3,000 3,500 3,700 4,200 4,500 Projected cost of servicing -1,000 -1,100 -1,200 -1,300 -1,400 Projected net contribution 2,000 2,400 2,500 2,900 3,100 Retention rate Cumulative retention Expected net contribution Interest rate Discount factor Discounted preset value Sum of discounted PV CLV Estimating CLV How do you estimate CLV?
  33. MARKETING ANALYTICS Estimating Retention Rates How do you estimate retention rates? Estimating retention rates Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Number of users 100 110 120 125 128 Remaining Year 1 users 100% 50 30 20 14 Retention rate 100% 50% 60% 66.67% 70%
  34. MARKETING ANALYTICS Estimating CLV How do you estimate CLV? Timeline t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 Acquisition cost -10,000 Projected revenue 3,000 3,500 3,700 4,200 4,500 Projected cost of servicing -1,000 -1,100 -1,200 -1,300 -1,400 Projected net contribution 2,000 2,400 2,500 2,900 3,100 Retention rate 100% 50% 60% 66.67% 70% Cumulative retention Expected net contribution Interest rate Discount factor Discounted preset value Sum of discounted PV CLV
  35. MARKETING ANALYTICS Estimating CLV How do you estimate CLV? Timeline t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 Acquisition cost -10,000 Projected revenue 3,000 3,500 3,700 4,200 4,500 Projected cost of servicing -1,000 -1,100 -1,200 -1,300 -1,400 Projected net contribution 2,000 2,400 2,500 2,900 3,100 Retention rate 100% 50% 60% 66.67% 70% Cumulative retention 100% 50% 30% 20% 14% Expected net contribution Interest rate Discount factor Discounted preset value Sum of discounted PV CLV
  36. MARKETING ANALYTICS How do you estimate CLV? Estimating CLV Timeline t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 Acquisition cost -10,000 Projected revenue 3,000 3,500 3,700 4,200 4,500 Projected cost of servicing -1,000 -1,100 -1,200 -1,300 -1,400 Projected net contribution 2,000 2,400 2,500 2,900 3,100 Retention rate 100% 50% 60% 66.67% 70% Cumulative retention 100% 50% 30% 20% 14% Expected net contribution Interest rate Discount factor Discounted preset value Sum of discounted PV CLV
  37. MARKETING ANALYTICS How do you estimate CLV? Estimating CLV Timeline t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 Acquisition cost -10,000 Projected revenue 3,000 3,500 3,700 4,200 4,500 Projected cost of servicing -1,000 -1,100 -1,200 -1,300 -1,400 Projected net contribution 2,000 2,400 2,500 2,900 3,100 Retention rate 100% 50% 60% 66.67% 70% Cumulative retention 100% 50% 30% 20% 14% Expected net contribution Interest rate Discount factor Discounted preset value Sum of discounted PV CLV
  38. MARKETING ANALYTICS How do you estimate CLV? Estimating CLV Timeline t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 Acquisition cost -10,000 Projected revenue 3,000 3,500 3,700 4,200 4,500 Projected cost of servicing -1,000 -1,100 -1,200 -1,300 -1,400 Projected net contribution 2,000 2,400 2,500 2,900 3,100 Retention rate 100% 50% 60% 66.67% 70% Cumulative retention 100% 50% 30% 20% 14% Expected net contribution Interest rate Discount factor Discounted preset value Sum of discounted PV CLV
  39. MARKETING ANALYTICS Estimating CLV How do you estimate CLV? Timeline t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 Acquisition cost -10,000 Projected revenue 3,000 3,500 3,700 4,200 4,500 Projected cost of servicing -1,000 -1,100 -1,200 -1,300 -1,400 Projected net contribution 2,000 2,400 2,500 2,900 3,100 Retention rate 100% 50% 60% 66.67% 70% Cumulative retention 100% 50% 30% 20% 14% Expected net contribution 2,000 1,200 750 580 434 Interest rate Discount factor Discounted preset value Sum of discounted PV CLV
  40. MARKETING ANALYTICS Estimating CLV How do you estimate CLV? Timeline t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 Acquisition cost -10,000 Projected revenue 3,000 3,500 3,700 4,200 4,500 Projected cost of servicing -1,000 -1,100 -1,200 -1,300 -1,400 Projected net contribution 2,000 2,400 2,500 2,900 3,100 Retention rate 100% 50% 60% 66.67% 70% Cumulative retention 100% 50% 30% 20% 14% Expected net contribution 2,000 1,200 750 580 434 Interest rate 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% Discount factor Discounted preset value Sum of discounted PV CLV
  41. MARKETING ANALYTICS Estimating CLV How do you estimate CLV? Timeline t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 Acquisition cost -10,000 Projected revenue 3,000 3,500 3,700 4,200 4,500 Projected cost of servicing -1,000 -1,100 -1,200 -1,300 -1,400 Projected net contribution 2,000 2,400 2,500 2,900 3,100 Retention rate 100% 50% 60% 66.67% 70% Cumulative retention 100% 50% 30% 20% 14% Expected net contribution 2,000 1,200 750 580 434 Interest rate 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% Discount factor 0.909 0.826 0.751 0.683 0.621 Discounted preset value 1818 992 563 396 269 Sum of discounted PV CLV
  42. MARKETING ANALYTICS Estimating CLV How do you estimate CLV? Timeline t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 Acquisition cost -10,000 Projected revenue 3,000 3,500 3,700 4,200 4,500 Projected cost of servicing -1,000 -1,100 -1,200 -1,300 -1,400 Projected net contribution 2,000 2,400 2,500 2,900 3,100 Retention rate 100% 50% 60% 66.67% 70% Cumulative retention 100% 50% 30% 20% 14% Expected net contribution 2,000 1,200 750 580 434 Interest rate 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% Discount factor 0.909 0.826 0.751 0.683 0.621 Discounted preset value 1818 992 563 396 269 Sum of discounted PV 4,039 CLV
  43. MARKETING ANALYTICS Estimating CLV How do you estimate CLV? Timeline t0 t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 Acquisition cost -10,000 Projected revenue 3,000 3,500 3,700 4,200 4,500 Projected cost of servicing -1,000 -1,100 -1,200 -1,300 -1,400 Projected net contribution 2,000 2,400 2,500 2,900 3,100 Retention rate 100% 50% 60% 66.67% 70% Cumulative retention 100% 50% 30% 20% 14% Expected net contribution 2,000 1,200 750 580 434 Interest rate 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% Discount factor 0.909 0.826 0.751 0.683 0.621 Discounted preset value 1818 992 563 396 269 Sum of discounted PV 4,039 CLV -5,961
  44. MARKETING ANALYTICS General Formula General Formula: 𝐶𝐿𝑉0 = 𝑅𝑒𝑣1 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡1 1 + 𝑖 1 + 𝑅𝑒𝑣2 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡2 1 + 𝑖 2 r1 + ⋯ + lim 𝑡→∞ 𝑅𝑒𝑣𝑡 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡𝑡 1 + 𝑖 𝑡 r1. r2 … r𝑡-1 − 𝐴𝐶
  45. MARKETING ANALYTICS General Formula General Formula: 𝐶𝐿𝑉0 = 𝑹𝒆𝒗𝟏 − 𝑪𝒐𝒔𝒕𝟏 𝟏 + 𝒊 𝟏 + 𝑅𝑒𝑣2 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡2 1 + 𝑖 2 r1 + ⋯ + lim 𝑡→∞ 𝑅𝑒𝑣𝑡 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡𝑡 1 + 𝑖 𝑡 r1. r2 … r𝑡-1 − 𝐴𝐶
  46. MARKETING ANALYTICS General Formula General Formula: 𝐶𝐿𝑉0 = 𝑅𝑒𝑣1 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡1 1 + 𝑖 1 + 𝑹𝒆𝒗𝟐 − 𝑪𝒐𝒔𝒕𝟐 𝟏 + 𝒊 𝟐 r𝟏 + ⋯ + lim 𝑡→∞ 𝑅𝑒𝑣𝑡 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡𝑡 1 + 𝑖 𝑡 r1. r2 … r𝑡-1 − 𝐴𝐶
  47. MARKETING ANALYTICS General Formula General Formula: 𝐶𝐿𝑉0 = 𝑅𝑒𝑣1 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡1 1 + 𝑖 1 + 𝑅𝑒𝑣2 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡2 1 + 𝑖 2 r1 + ⋯ + lim 𝑡→∞ 𝑅𝑒𝑣𝑡 − 𝐶𝑜𝑠𝑡𝑡 1 + 𝑖 𝑡 r1. r2 … r𝑡-1 − 𝐴𝐶
  48. MARKETING ANALYTICS Infinite Horizon Infinite horizon is generally not feasible. Typically, 3-5 years horizon is used.
  49. MARKETING ANALYTICS Infinite Period Formula with Constant r and i 𝐶𝐿𝑉 = 𝑃𝑟𝑜𝑗𝑒𝑐𝑡𝑒𝑑 𝑛𝑒𝑡 𝑐𝑜𝑛𝑡𝑟𝑖𝑏𝑢𝑡𝑖𝑜𝑛 1 1 + 𝑖 − 𝑟 − 𝐴𝐶
  50. MARKETING ANALYTICS Compare the results with infinite period formula and finite period formula • Exercise: • $ 1 constant gross margin, assume 0 acquisition cost • Step 1: For, 𝑟 = 20%, 30%, 40%, 70%, 80%, 90% calculate the 5 year CLV using the formula = 1. 1 1 + 𝑖 + 1. 𝑟 1 + 𝑖 2 + 1. 𝑟2 1 + 𝑖 3 + 1. 𝑟3 1 + 𝑖 4 + 1. 𝑟4 1 + 𝑖 5 • Step 2: For, 𝑟 = 20%, 30%, 40%, 70%, 80%, 90% , calculate infinite horizon CLV using the formula = 1 1 + 𝑖 − 𝑟 • Calculate the above for various for 𝑖 = 2%, 5%, 10%, 𝑎𝑛𝑑 15% • Calculate the ratio of the values calculated in both steps (for the same r and i)
  51. MARKETING ANALYTICS Example Singtel charges $64.90 for MIO Stadium sports channel. The annual churn rate is 20%. The prime rate in Singapore is 1.5%. The cost of servicing is $24.90 per household. How much will the CLV change by if the churn rate decreases to 18% or increases to 22%?
  52. MARKETING ANALYTICS Migration model How we can apply CLV? So far, the context that we considered is more appropriate for contractual cases (e.g. subscription to telco services, social media services, and membership). This is known as ‘lost-for-good’ cases (once you lose the subscribers, they are practically gone for good, and a reacquisition effort is therefore required to get them back.). The non-contractual cases are known as ‘always-a-share’ situations. In this case, the customer may not buy in every period. How can we apply CLV in such contexts?
  53. MARKETING ANALYTICS Example – Cruise Ship Passenger Valuation p = 6,094 t = 6,198 p = 548 t = 586 p = 152 t = 182 p = 52 t = 78 no = 34 p = 18 t = 18 no = 100 no = 64 p = 36 t = 42 no = 396 p = 76 t = 112 no = 62 p = 14 t = 14 no = 320 p = 18 t = 24 no = 302 no = 5,546 p = 512 t = 556 p = 134 t = 146 p = 16 t = 16 no = 118 no = 378 no = 342 p = 36 t = 38 no = 5,034 p = 336 t = 378 no = 292 p = 44 t = 46 no = 4,698 p = 216 t = 226 no = 4,482
  54. MARKETING ANALYTICS Berger, Weinberg, Hannah – Cohort-Based Estimate B A 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 C D E F G (1) Year 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 (2) Number of cruises* 6,198 586 738 714 424 (3) Average price US$ 3,899 4,367 4,891 5,478 6,135 (4) 3,314 3,712 4,157 4,656 5,215 (5) Present value (PV) of (4) 3,314 3,228 3,143 3,061 2,982 (6) = (5) x (2) Total present value (PV) 20,540,172 1,891,608 2,319,534 2,185,554 1,264,368 Total: 28,201,236 * From Figure 1 ** (3) multiplied by 0.85 Table 1 Net contribution US$**
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