Contenu connexe


Consitution ppt

  1. The United States Constitution is the supreme law of the land. It provides the framework for our nation’s government.
  2. The parts of the Constitution are the Preamble(introduction and goals), 7 Articles(divisions), and 27 amendments(changes).
  3. The first three Articles of the Constitution structure the three branches of government. The legislative, executive, and judicial.
  4. Article One structures the legislative branch or Congress. It consists of the Senate(Upper House) and House of Representatives(Lower House).
  5. The Senate has two members from each state(100 total). Senators serve for 6 years and the leader of the Senate is the Vice President. The V. P. may vote only in the event of a tie vote.
  6. The qualifications of a Senator are: at least 30 years of age U. S. citizen for 9 years resident of the state represented
  7. In addition to making laws, the Senate conducts impeachment trials, approves treaties, and approves presidential appointments.
  8. The House of Representatives has 435 members. Representation is based on state population. Members serve for 2 years and the leader is called the Speaker of the House.
  9. The qualifications of a member of the House are: at least 25 years of age U. S. citizen for 7 years resident of state represented
  10. In addition to making laws, the House impeaches high federal officials and all financial bills must start in the House.
  11. Article Two structures the executive branch. The President and the 15 departments of the federal government comprise this branch.
  12. The President’s term of office is 4 years. He may be re-elected once and serve a maximum of 10 years.
  13. The qualification for President/Vice President are: at least 35 years old U. S. natural born citizen a resident of the U. S. for 14 years
  14. The major powers of the President are: Sign (approve) bills passed by Congress into law Veto (reject) bills Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces Conduct foreign policy and sign treaties with approval of Senate Make appointments to government positions (Cabinet members, Supreme Court Justices, Ambassadors) with approval of Senate
  15. Article Three structures the judicial branch of government. The judicial branch is made up of the Supreme Court and other federal courts.
  16. There are nine Supreme Court justices. They are appointed by the President and approved by the Senate. They serve for life and are led by the Chief Justice.
  17. The Supreme Court has the power of judicial review—deciding if a law is constitutional. Other major powers are: deciding cases on appeal deciding disputes between states deciding cases involving diplomats