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AdWords Overview




                   Google Confidential and Proprietary
Definitions Soup
Inventory available page slots for ads

Keywords terms entered in a search

Impression showing ad to a user

Creative – the text/image that is shown

CPM Cost Per Mille (1,000 impressions)

CPC Cost Per Click

CTR Click Through Rate (= Clicks/Impressions)
                                          Google Confidential and Proprietary   2
98% Revenue – „Sponsored Links”



                         Queries       Ads         Clicks            Revenue
 Revenue =   Users   *             *           *             *
                          User         Query        Ads                  Click




                                                            Google Confidential and Proprietary   3
AdWords
          AdWords Ads




           Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Advertising Auction




                      Speed
    Not an auction that closes in 7 to 10 days –
   Google auctions close almost instantaneously


                       Scale
    A live auction is run for every single query –
     every user, everywhere around the world


                      Quality
    In addition to price, there s a consumer
        component – critical for usefulness




                                                     Google Confidential and Proprietary
How the Ad Auction Works
                           Ad Position is determined by...

      Relevance                     Willingness to pay
                                                                      Ad rank …
    Quality Score             X          Max CPC                 =   which denotes
                                                                      ad position

    Quality Score is              Max CPC is the highest $
   determined by a                 amount an advertiser is
 combination of factors,          willing to pay for one click
      including:                           on their ad

 •  Click-through-rate on         •  Maximum CPC bids are
     Google.com (clicks              used as an upper limit
          divided by
        impressions)               •  Each advertiser pays
                                  only the minimum amount
 •  Keyword and ad text
                                  required to maintain their
        relevance
                                           position
 •  Landing page quality
                                                                     Google Confidential and Proprietary   6
Targeting: Sharpen Your Focus
      Region                     City                                     Radius                 Set Borders




Country, Regional, and City-level Targeting
•  Reach customers searching for results in geographic areas you choose

Customized Targeting
•  Reach customers searching for results in an area you define

Language Targeting
•  Reach users searching in a specific language, wherever they are*

                         *Marketer is responsible for translating ads into selected languages.   Google Confidential and Proprietary   7
Practical Steps




                  Google Confidential and Proprietary
Step 1
What do you want to achieve?




                               Google Confidential and Proprietary
What Do You Want To Achieve?

Goals                                  Metrics
•  Increase brand awareness            •  Increase in sales
•  Educate a market                    •  Increase in page views
•  Gather market data                  •  Free trial of product
•  Influence decision makers           •  Downloads of whitepapers
•  Capture qualified leads             •  Webcast registrations
•  Sell product                        •  Event participation




                                                              Google Confidential and Proprietary   10

                             Google Confidential
What Action Do You Want Your Visitor To
Perform?
•  New customer                         •  Email address opt-in
•  Subscriber                           •  Contest entries, downloads
•  Whitepaper downloads                 •  Shop locator PVs
•  Webinar, conference                  •  Coupon downloads; in-store
   registration                            redemptions of online promo
•  Newsletter registrations




                                                              Google Confidential and Proprietary   11

                              Google Confidential
What Value Do You Place On Those Actions?

•  Positive return on advertising spend (aka ROI)
•  Cost per customer acquisition
•  Lifetime customer value
•  Cost per call
•  Cost per Action


  Value of Action                  % of visitors sent by
      to you           X             AdWords that                 = CPC
                                     perform action


                     $24     x      1.0%     =     $0.24

                                                           Google Confidential and Proprietary   12

                             Google Confidential
Step 2
 How to Achieve your Goals




                             Google Confidential and Proprietary
Four Steps To A Successful Search Campaign



       Identify your                         Select relevant

   1   target user
                                      2      keywords and
                                             group by goals




       Measure results                       Test messaging
   4   and costs
                                      3      and keywords




                                                     Google Confidential and Proprietary   14

                       Google Confidential
Step 1 Identify Your Target User




                                             Google Confidential and Proprietary
15
                       Google Confidential
Step 2 Keyword Selection

                                              •  Jet ski
                                              •  Jet ski break
              jet ski holiday                 •  Jet ski breaks
                                              •  Jet ski holiday
                                              •  Jet ski holidays
                                              •  Barbados jet ski
                                              •  Water sports
                                              •  Caribbean water sports
                                              •  Fun activity break
                                              •  Water sports course
                                              •  Water motor sport
                                              •  etc…


                                                             Google Confidential and Proprietary
16
                            Google Confidential
Step 2 Keyword Selection

    jet                                          ski chamonix
                                                 jet water ski pic
    ski
                                                 naked jet ski movie
                                                 james bond jet ski
                                                 used jet ski
                                                 abrasive water jet
                       water sports
                       water sports vacation
                                                    negative keywords
                       water activity
jet ski                fast water sport
jet ski break          motorboat fun
learn to jet ski       barbados activity break
jet ski course
water sports jet ski

                                                         Google Confidential and Proprietary   17

                        Google Confidential
Step 2 Keyword Selection

Other Ideas

•    Product names
       jet ski holiday, water sports course, learn to jet ski


•    Pluralize/Singularise
       jet ski holidays


•    Spelling Variations
       jetski, jet ski vacs, watersports




                                                                Google Confidential and Proprietary   18

                             Google Confidential
Step 2 Keyword Selection

               Use the AdWords Keyword Suggestion tool




•    Look over the suggestions carefully
•    Pull out any irrelevant words
•    Look for negative keywords
                                                     Google Confidential and Proprietary   19

                            Google Confidential
Step 3 Get The Right Ad For Your Keywords



         jet ski holiday




                                             Google Confidential and Proprietary   20

                       Google Confidential
Step 3 Get The Right Ad For Your Keywords

JET SKI:               WATER SPORT:            BARBADOS:
jet ski                water sports            barbados holiday
jet ski break          water sports vacation   barbados vacation
learn to jet ski       water activity          barbados breaks
jet ski course         water sports break      activity barbados
water sports jet ski   water sports activity   caribbean water




                                                    Google Confidential and Proprietary   21

                         Google Confidential
Step 3 Get The Right Ad For Your Keywords

Adopt Landing Page testing

  Landing Pages Affect Conversions
  •    Aim for a smooth landing
  •    Land on a page specific to the product
  •    Use similar language to your ad text
  •    Make it easy for the user to act or purchase




                                                      Google Confidential and Proprietary   22

                          Google Confidential
Step 4 Results & Costs

You control your budget in two ways:


  1.  Select a maximum cost per click (max CPC) for your keywords
      –  Never pay more per click than your maximum CPC

      –  The minimum CPC for any keyword starts at £0.04p


  2.  Manage your spending by setting a daily budget
      –  AdWords controls how frequently your ad appears to keep you at or
         below your desired budget




                                                            Google Confidential and Proprietary   23

                           Google Confidential
Step 4 Results & Costs: Relevancy Matters

•  Ranking/Bidding
  –  Ad Rank = Max CPC * Quality Score
  –  Quality Score = Keyword CTR, Ad Text relevance, historical
     performance plus other relevance factors


•  Improve your rank
  –  Check the min bids for your keywords constantly
  –  Always adjust min bids per keyword, not per campaign/ad group
  –  Could you increase your bid or QS?




                                                                  Google Confidential and Proprietary   24

                             Google Confidential
Step 4 Results and Costs: AdWords Discounter

The AdWords Discounter minimises your costs by setting your CPC as
low as possible:
•  You pay only $0.01p more than the minimum necessary to maintain
   your position on the page


              Example        Max CPC              Advertiser Pays
                             *

              Advertiser 1: $ 1.00                                $ 0.76

              Advertiser 2: $ 0.75                                $ 0.51

              Advertiser 3: $ 0.50                                $ 0.11

              Advertiser 4: $ 0.10                                $ 0.04
                                     min £0.04
                     * Assuming each advertiser has the same QS


                                                                           Google Confidential and Proprietary   25

                            Google Confidential
Step 3
 How do I know it s working?




                               Google Confidential and Proprietary
Measure Results & Revise Campaigns

•  Conversion tracking lets you see exactly what works
•  Customise by tracking multiple types of conversions: purchases,
   sign-ups, leads, page views
•  No cost – free tool




                                                        Google Confidential and Proprietary   27

                           Google Confidential
Questions?

 mlorenc@google.com




                      Google Confidential and Proprietary

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New mediadl adwords_intro

  • 1. AdWords Overview Google Confidential and Proprietary
  • 2. Definitions Soup Inventory available page slots for ads Keywords terms entered in a search Impression showing ad to a user Creative – the text/image that is shown CPM Cost Per Mille (1,000 impressions) CPC Cost Per Click CTR Click Through Rate (= Clicks/Impressions) Google Confidential and Proprietary 2
  • 3. 98% Revenue – „Sponsored Links” Queries Ads Clicks Revenue Revenue = Users * * * * User Query Ads Click Google Confidential and Proprietary 3
  • 4. AdWords AdWords Ads Google Confidential and Proprietary
  • 5. Google Advertising Auction Speed Not an auction that closes in 7 to 10 days – Google auctions close almost instantaneously Scale A live auction is run for every single query – every user, everywhere around the world Quality In addition to price, there s a consumer component – critical for usefulness Google Confidential and Proprietary
  • 6. How the Ad Auction Works Ad Position is determined by... Relevance Willingness to pay Ad rank … Quality Score X Max CPC = which denotes ad position Quality Score is Max CPC is the highest $ determined by a amount an advertiser is combination of factors, willing to pay for one click including: on their ad •  Click-through-rate on •  Maximum CPC bids are Google.com (clicks used as an upper limit divided by impressions) •  Each advertiser pays only the minimum amount •  Keyword and ad text required to maintain their relevance position •  Landing page quality Google Confidential and Proprietary 6
  • 7. Targeting: Sharpen Your Focus Region City Radius Set Borders Country, Regional, and City-level Targeting •  Reach customers searching for results in geographic areas you choose Customized Targeting •  Reach customers searching for results in an area you define Language Targeting •  Reach users searching in a specific language, wherever they are* *Marketer is responsible for translating ads into selected languages. Google Confidential and Proprietary 7
  • 8. Practical Steps Google Confidential and Proprietary
  • 9. Step 1 What do you want to achieve? Google Confidential and Proprietary
  • 10. What Do You Want To Achieve? Goals Metrics •  Increase brand awareness •  Increase in sales •  Educate a market •  Increase in page views •  Gather market data •  Free trial of product •  Influence decision makers •  Downloads of whitepapers •  Capture qualified leads •  Webcast registrations •  Sell product •  Event participation Google Confidential and Proprietary 10 Google Confidential
  • 11. What Action Do You Want Your Visitor To Perform? •  New customer •  Email address opt-in •  Subscriber •  Contest entries, downloads •  Whitepaper downloads •  Shop locator PVs •  Webinar, conference •  Coupon downloads; in-store registration redemptions of online promo •  Newsletter registrations Google Confidential and Proprietary 11 Google Confidential
  • 12. What Value Do You Place On Those Actions? •  Positive return on advertising spend (aka ROI) •  Cost per customer acquisition •  Lifetime customer value •  Cost per call •  Cost per Action Value of Action % of visitors sent by to you X AdWords that = CPC perform action $24 x 1.0% = $0.24 Google Confidential and Proprietary 12 Google Confidential
  • 13. Step 2 How to Achieve your Goals Google Confidential and Proprietary
  • 14. Four Steps To A Successful Search Campaign Identify your Select relevant 1 target user 2 keywords and group by goals Measure results Test messaging 4 and costs 3 and keywords Google Confidential and Proprietary 14 Google Confidential
  • 15. Step 1 Identify Your Target User Google Confidential and Proprietary 15 Google Confidential
  • 16. Step 2 Keyword Selection •  Jet ski •  Jet ski break jet ski holiday •  Jet ski breaks •  Jet ski holiday •  Jet ski holidays •  Barbados jet ski •  Water sports •  Caribbean water sports •  Fun activity break •  Water sports course •  Water motor sport •  etc… Google Confidential and Proprietary 16 Google Confidential
  • 17. Step 2 Keyword Selection jet ski chamonix jet water ski pic ski naked jet ski movie james bond jet ski used jet ski abrasive water jet water sports water sports vacation negative keywords water activity jet ski fast water sport jet ski break motorboat fun learn to jet ski barbados activity break jet ski course water sports jet ski Google Confidential and Proprietary 17 Google Confidential
  • 18. Step 2 Keyword Selection Other Ideas •  Product names jet ski holiday, water sports course, learn to jet ski •  Pluralize/Singularise jet ski holidays •  Spelling Variations jetski, jet ski vacs, watersports Google Confidential and Proprietary 18 Google Confidential
  • 19. Step 2 Keyword Selection Use the AdWords Keyword Suggestion tool •  Look over the suggestions carefully •  Pull out any irrelevant words •  Look for negative keywords Google Confidential and Proprietary 19 Google Confidential
  • 20. Step 3 Get The Right Ad For Your Keywords jet ski holiday Google Confidential and Proprietary 20 Google Confidential
  • 21. Step 3 Get The Right Ad For Your Keywords JET SKI: WATER SPORT: BARBADOS: jet ski water sports barbados holiday jet ski break water sports vacation barbados vacation learn to jet ski water activity barbados breaks jet ski course water sports break activity barbados water sports jet ski water sports activity caribbean water Google Confidential and Proprietary 21 Google Confidential
  • 22. Step 3 Get The Right Ad For Your Keywords Adopt Landing Page testing Landing Pages Affect Conversions •  Aim for a smooth landing •  Land on a page specific to the product •  Use similar language to your ad text •  Make it easy for the user to act or purchase Google Confidential and Proprietary 22 Google Confidential
  • 23. Step 4 Results & Costs You control your budget in two ways: 1.  Select a maximum cost per click (max CPC) for your keywords –  Never pay more per click than your maximum CPC –  The minimum CPC for any keyword starts at £0.04p 2.  Manage your spending by setting a daily budget –  AdWords controls how frequently your ad appears to keep you at or below your desired budget Google Confidential and Proprietary 23 Google Confidential
  • 24. Step 4 Results & Costs: Relevancy Matters •  Ranking/Bidding –  Ad Rank = Max CPC * Quality Score –  Quality Score = Keyword CTR, Ad Text relevance, historical performance plus other relevance factors •  Improve your rank –  Check the min bids for your keywords constantly –  Always adjust min bids per keyword, not per campaign/ad group –  Could you increase your bid or QS? Google Confidential and Proprietary 24 Google Confidential
  • 25. Step 4 Results and Costs: AdWords Discounter The AdWords Discounter minimises your costs by setting your CPC as low as possible: •  You pay only $0.01p more than the minimum necessary to maintain your position on the page Example Max CPC Advertiser Pays * Advertiser 1: $ 1.00 $ 0.76 Advertiser 2: $ 0.75 $ 0.51 Advertiser 3: $ 0.50 $ 0.11 Advertiser 4: $ 0.10 $ 0.04 min £0.04 * Assuming each advertiser has the same QS Google Confidential and Proprietary 25 Google Confidential
  • 26. Step 3 How do I know it s working? Google Confidential and Proprietary
  • 27. Measure Results & Revise Campaigns •  Conversion tracking lets you see exactly what works •  Customise by tracking multiple types of conversions: purchases, sign-ups, leads, page views •  No cost – free tool Google Confidential and Proprietary 27 Google Confidential
  • 28. Questions? mlorenc@google.com Google Confidential and Proprietary