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ONLINE
MARKETING
METRICS



Lauren Jones
Senior Campaign Manager
Make It Rain
Why do we need online marketing metrics?
In todays world of proving online marketing ROI
and hitting performance targets, it’s crucial to
know basic ROI calculations.
Return on Investment (ROI)
(Revenue [Minus] Investment) [Divided] by Investment


E.g.


(£20,000 - £1,500)/£1,500 = £12.33

Revenue
Investment
Investment
ROI



ROI shows you how much you get for every £ or $ you spend!
Cost Per Acquisition/Lead (CPA or CPL)
Total Cost of Campaign [Divided] by Number of Leads


E.g.


£1,500 ÷ 62 = £24.19

 Cost
CPA / CPL
Leads
Cost Per Thousand (CPM)
Cost of an Ad [Multiplied] by 1000 [Divided] by Number
of Circulations (site placements)


E.g.


£1,500 x 1000 ÷ 250,000 = £6

 Cost
Circulations
CPM
Conversion Rate (CR)
Number of Goals* [Divided] by Visits


E.g.


62 ÷ 12,000 x 100 = 0.52%

Visits
CR

Goals

*Goals can be anything from transactions, email sign-ups, brochure downloads, video
views etc.
Click-through Rate (CTR)
(Clicks [Divided] by Impressions) [Multiplied] 100


E.g.


(2,000 ÷ 40,000) x 100 = 5%

 Clicks
Impressions
CTR
Thank You!



Questions or Comments?

Lauren Jones
Twitter: 
@Lauren_Reports
Email: 
lauren@make-it-rain.co.uk
Web: 
http://lauren-jones.co.uk

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Online Marketing Metrics (ROI Calculations)

  • 2. Why do we need online marketing metrics? In todays world of proving online marketing ROI and hitting performance targets, it’s crucial to know basic ROI calculations.
  • 3. Return on Investment (ROI) (Revenue [Minus] Investment) [Divided] by Investment E.g. (£20,000 - £1,500)/£1,500 = £12.33 Revenue Investment Investment ROI ROI shows you how much you get for every £ or $ you spend!
  • 4. Cost Per Acquisition/Lead (CPA or CPL) Total Cost of Campaign [Divided] by Number of Leads E.g. £1,500 ÷ 62 = £24.19 Cost CPA / CPL Leads
  • 5. Cost Per Thousand (CPM) Cost of an Ad [Multiplied] by 1000 [Divided] by Number of Circulations (site placements) E.g. £1,500 x 1000 ÷ 250,000 = £6 Cost Circulations CPM
  • 6. Conversion Rate (CR) Number of Goals* [Divided] by Visits E.g. 62 ÷ 12,000 x 100 = 0.52% Visits CR Goals *Goals can be anything from transactions, email sign-ups, brochure downloads, video views etc.
  • 7. Click-through Rate (CTR) (Clicks [Divided] by Impressions) [Multiplied] 100 E.g. (2,000 ÷ 40,000) x 100 = 5% Clicks Impressions CTR
  • 8. Thank You! Questions or Comments? Lauren Jones Twitter: @Lauren_Reports Email: lauren@make-it-rain.co.uk Web: http://lauren-jones.co.uk