SlideShare une entreprise Scribd logo
1  sur  15
Debt financing for Venture backed Startups
Samir Kaji
Senior Managing Director
First Republic Bank
2Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt
Table Of Contents
Overview
Types Of Debt Financing
Venture Debt Overview
Recurring Revenue Lines
A/R lines
Q&A
Sources
3Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt
Types Of Debt Financing
d
•Venture Debt Financing
•Accounts Receivable Financing
•Recurring Revenue Financing
•Growth Capital financing
•Mezzanine Financing
4Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt
Benefits And Risks Of Taking on Debt
Provide incremental
runway (allowing for additional
time to meet critical milestones)
Alleviate and smooth out
liquidity needs due to
working capital cycles
Fund growth Nominally
dilutive capital (positive
impact to shareholders returns)
PROS
 Overleveraging (can impact
fundraising efforts)
− Venture debt <50% of last institutional raise;
Monthly P&I payments <15% of monthly cash
burn. Under 10% is ideal
 If Lender is not reputable,
could be catastrophic for in a
downside scenario
 Preference of secured debt
holders
 Lack of understanding could
create unintended issues.
 False security
CONS
5Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt
Venture Debt Overview
What is Venture Debt?
Simply debt financing for Venture Capital backed companies for the purpose of
extending cash runway and accelrating growth in a way that’s minimally dilutive for
shareholders
A non-formula based term financing with durations of 3-5 years
Lenders provide with a belief that next round financing risk is nominal.
When is it appropriate for a company to explore Venture Debt?
The company is backed by a strong syndicate of Venture partners that has the ability to
further support the Company financially with or without the introduction of a new lead
For early stage companies, the management team should be able to clearly define the
milestones prior to the next equity fundraising, and should have a high degree of
confidence of reasonably hitting them.
The Company has a management team and board that preferably has worked with secured
creditors in the past (not necessary of course!)
6Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt
Venture Debt as a runway extender
 Venture debt as an extension of company runway
– Allows company more time to meet critical performance milestones
– Enables quick growth
7Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt
Terms of Debt to be considered
Key Terms To Be Aware Of
All-in IRR: should include all fees, backend payments, etc. IRR’s range 6% - 15%+
depending on risk profile of transaction and other economics of the deal (warrants)
MAC Clauses: a subjective default that allows lender to “call” a loan if lender deems, in their
sole discretion, that a material deterioration in the business has occurred
Warrants:
Collateral: blanket lien on all assets is standard; IP may be included if risk level is higher
Financial Covenants: Income statement, milestone, or balance sheet.
Real runway provided by the debt?
Borrowing Base Is there a formula that governs borrowing?
Draw requirement far in advance of cash-out? If so, how amortization will there be prior to
projected cash out?
8Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt
Examples of Venture Debt Players
 Capital source from client
deposits
 Cheapest but lower risk appetite
 Expected loss from portfolio 1-3%
BANKS
 Funds with 3rd
Party LPs
 Pricier but higher risk appetite (been
through cycles)
 Often partnership with value add (can
provide domain and operational expertise)
 Loss rate is typically higher (3-5%)
VENTURE DEBT FIRMS
9Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt
Banks VS Venture Debt Firms Terms
Term Banks Venture Debt Firms
Typical Interest Rates
(usually Based of off Prime Rate)
5%-7.5% 9%-13%
Upfront Fees 25bp-1% 50bps-1%
Warrant Coverage
As low as 2-3%, but typically in 4%-5%
range
Usually 8%-12%
Draw or Interest only period 6-12 months 6-18 months
Amortization Period <=36months <=48 months
Financial Covenants Sometimes, but not typically No
MAC Clause Yes Sometimes, but typically not
Size of loan 20-40% of Recent Venture Round
Depending on the Company profile, may go up
to 100% of last round if appropriate. Usually 30-
50% of Recent Venture Round.
Pre-Payment Penalty
3% Year 12% Year 21% Year 3(Can be
reduced in many cases)
Same as Banks, but sometimes “Full Metal
Jacket” (all future interest payments are
accelerated)
Other Conditions
Company must keep primary depository and
operating accounts with Bank
Deposits can be kept anywhere, although a
Deposit Control Agreement document must be
executed, which provides lender a legal security
interest over cash held in a bank.
10Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt
Example of Venture Debt
XYZ company raises a $10MM Series A round, led by Founders Fund, done at
a $30MM Pre-Money Valuation. 8M fully diluted shares authorized after round
($5/share)
Projected Burn is $500K/month (20 months of cash runway).
Company is offered $5MM Venture Debt term loan, with following terms:
–12 Month Interest only Drawdown period, following by a 36 month amortization period.
–Interest rate of 9% with back-end payment of 5%.
–No MAC
–No Financial Covenants
–Warrant Coverage of 10% on Series A shares.
• 10% * $5MM = $500,000/$5 PPS = Lender has the right to purchase 100,000 shares at $5 at any time over
next 8-10 years. 100,000/8MM shares = 1.25% dilution.
Best case scenario is debt provides additional 6-8 months of cash runway,
more milestones hit, and thus allowing for better valuation at B round.
11Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt
Formula based Working Capital Lines (Also commonly called asset
based lines)
 Revolving Facilities
 Typically 1-2 years in length, with ability to renew
 Lender offers a borrowing base against something tangible
– AR
– PO
– Inventory
– Recurring Revenue

12Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt
Formula based Working Capital Lines -Accounts Receivable Lines
 Financing provided against a Company’s Accounts Receivable base, or in some cases
against specific invoices (not PO financing).
 Used to smooth out working capital cycles
– Good for businesses that have large AR balances. Traditional software license models,
hardware models, etc.
 Usually cheapest form of financing
 Formula based (lender will look at quality of account debtors, concentrations). Borrowing
advance rate of 70-80% of qualified eligible accounts receivables.
 Almost always come with performance and/or liquidity covenants (the exception being
specific invoice by invoice financing offered by some lenders).
 Provided by Banks, not Venture Debt firms
13Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt
Formula Based Lines - Recurring Revenue lines
Recurring Revenue lines
Financing provided against a company’s recurring revenue stream
Used to smooth out working capital and help financing CAC’s
– Good for businesses that have recurring revenue models such as SaaS and
subscription based companies.
Similar pricing to Accounts Receivable lines.
Formula based on revenue
– 2-7x of MRR
– Adjusted for Churn (usually gross, but lenders becoming increasingly ok with net)
Almost always come with performance and/or liquidity covenants (the exception being
specific invoice by invoice financing offered by some lenders).
– Performance to plan covenant on revenues or bookings
– Liquidity covenants (Adjusted Quick Ratio, Liquidity ratio). More common with larger
deals.
– Most often provided by Bank’s, but specialty fund lenders like SaaS Capital and Golub
Capital also provide.
14Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt
Example of Recurring Revenue Line
ABC company is a SaaS company that has raised $20MM in Venture Capital
Investors include Emergence Capital and Social Capital.
Company currently Monthly Recurring Revenues (MRR) of $750K, and
projects to end 2017 with MRR of $1.5MM. Average gross churn per month for
trailing 6 months is 0.75%.
Company would like to take on non-dilutive financing to help financing growth.
Bank offers a $4MM Revolving Recurring Revenue line of credit.
Borrowing availability today = $750K (MRR) * 3 = $2.25MM
Adjustment for Gross Churn = 0.75 *12 (annualized) = 9%
Adjusted Borrowing Availability = $2.25MM * (100%-9%) = $2.04MM
15Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt
Mezzanine Lines
 Typically provided to companies at late expansion stages.
 Often acts as last money in prior to an exit.
 Offered by Banks and Funds (i.e. Silverlake, Golub)
 Terms
– 3-5 year term
– Interest only through term, principal due at maturity. Interest is sometimes
Payment In Kind (PIK).
– Interest rate ~11%
– With warrants, lenders aim for 15-20% return.
– No Covenants
– Shouldn’t have Cross-defaults (need to check) with other debt Company has.
Mezzanine lines are often subordinate in nature to senior asset based lines.

Contenu connexe

Tendances

Venture Capital Operating Model
Venture Capital Operating ModelVenture Capital Operating Model
Venture Capital Operating ModelBenjamin Scherer
 
502331 capital budgeting techniques pp13
502331 capital budgeting techniques pp13502331 capital budgeting techniques pp13
502331 capital budgeting techniques pp13Naveed Hussain Shah
 
Terms of a GP/LP Fund Structure
Terms of a GP/LP Fund StructureTerms of a GP/LP Fund Structure
Terms of a GP/LP Fund StructureRobert Carroll
 
Venture Capital Term Sheets: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly
Venture Capital Term Sheets:  The Good, The Bad & The UglyVenture Capital Term Sheets:  The Good, The Bad & The Ugly
Venture Capital Term Sheets: The Good, The Bad & The UglyTim Dick
 
Hack fund pitch deck
Hack fund pitch deckHack fund pitch deck
Hack fund pitch deckRenata George
 
JP MORGAN DCF AND M&A ANALYSIS
JP MORGAN  DCF AND M&A ANALYSIS JP MORGAN  DCF AND M&A ANALYSIS
JP MORGAN DCF AND M&A ANALYSIS DAVID CHIKHLADZE
 
Private equity
Private equityPrivate equity
Private equityM.S. SaHiR
 
Venture capitalist and angel investors
Venture capitalist and angel investorsVenture capitalist and angel investors
Venture capitalist and angel investorsAqib ali
 
Risk Return Trade Off PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Risk Return Trade Off PowerPoint Presentation SlidesRisk Return Trade Off PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Risk Return Trade Off PowerPoint Presentation SlidesSlideTeam
 
Valuation Concepts And Overview
Valuation   Concepts And OverviewValuation   Concepts And Overview
Valuation Concepts And OverviewRick Warner, ASA
 
Credit Risk Management Presentation
Credit Risk Management PresentationCredit Risk Management Presentation
Credit Risk Management PresentationSumant Palwankar
 
Sources Of Finance
Sources Of FinanceSources Of Finance
Sources Of Financelittle robie
 
Private equity vs venture capital
Private equity vs venture capitalPrivate equity vs venture capital
Private equity vs venture capitalsandesh p
 
Managing cash flows
Managing cash flowsManaging cash flows
Managing cash flowsFatima Khan
 

Tendances (20)

Equity valuation models raju indukoori
Equity valuation models raju indukooriEquity valuation models raju indukoori
Equity valuation models raju indukoori
 
Private equity
Private equityPrivate equity
Private equity
 
Venture Capital Operating Model
Venture Capital Operating ModelVenture Capital Operating Model
Venture Capital Operating Model
 
Credit management
Credit managementCredit management
Credit management
 
502331 capital budgeting techniques pp13
502331 capital budgeting techniques pp13502331 capital budgeting techniques pp13
502331 capital budgeting techniques pp13
 
Terms of a GP/LP Fund Structure
Terms of a GP/LP Fund StructureTerms of a GP/LP Fund Structure
Terms of a GP/LP Fund Structure
 
Venture Capital Term Sheets: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly
Venture Capital Term Sheets:  The Good, The Bad & The UglyVenture Capital Term Sheets:  The Good, The Bad & The Ugly
Venture Capital Term Sheets: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly
 
Venture capital presentation
Venture capital presentationVenture capital presentation
Venture capital presentation
 
Dividend policy
Dividend policyDividend policy
Dividend policy
 
Hack fund pitch deck
Hack fund pitch deckHack fund pitch deck
Hack fund pitch deck
 
JP MORGAN DCF AND M&A ANALYSIS
JP MORGAN  DCF AND M&A ANALYSIS JP MORGAN  DCF AND M&A ANALYSIS
JP MORGAN DCF AND M&A ANALYSIS
 
Private equity
Private equityPrivate equity
Private equity
 
Venture capitalist and angel investors
Venture capitalist and angel investorsVenture capitalist and angel investors
Venture capitalist and angel investors
 
Financial assets lec#2
Financial assets lec#2Financial assets lec#2
Financial assets lec#2
 
Risk Return Trade Off PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Risk Return Trade Off PowerPoint Presentation SlidesRisk Return Trade Off PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Risk Return Trade Off PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
Valuation Concepts And Overview
Valuation   Concepts And OverviewValuation   Concepts And Overview
Valuation Concepts And Overview
 
Credit Risk Management Presentation
Credit Risk Management PresentationCredit Risk Management Presentation
Credit Risk Management Presentation
 
Sources Of Finance
Sources Of FinanceSources Of Finance
Sources Of Finance
 
Private equity vs venture capital
Private equity vs venture capitalPrivate equity vs venture capital
Private equity vs venture capital
 
Managing cash flows
Managing cash flowsManaging cash flows
Managing cash flows
 

En vedette

Update on Micro-VC
Update on Micro-VCUpdate on Micro-VC
Update on Micro-VCSamir Kaji
 
Design in Tech Report 2017
Design in Tech Report 2017Design in Tech Report 2017
Design in Tech Report 2017John Maeda
 
Infographic: Medicare Marketing: Direct Mail: Still The #1 Influencer For Tho...
Infographic: Medicare Marketing: Direct Mail: Still The #1 Influencer For Tho...Infographic: Medicare Marketing: Direct Mail: Still The #1 Influencer For Tho...
Infographic: Medicare Marketing: Direct Mail: Still The #1 Influencer For Tho...Scott Levine
 
Micro-VC slide deck update
Micro-VC slide deck update Micro-VC slide deck update
Micro-VC slide deck update Samir Kaji
 
サーバーレスの今とこれから
サーバーレスの今とこれからサーバーレスの今とこれから
サーバーレスの今とこれから真吾 吉田
 
Payments Trends 2017
Payments Trends 2017Payments Trends 2017
Payments Trends 2017Capgemini
 
ELSA France "Teaching is us!"
ELSA France "Teaching is us!" ELSA France "Teaching is us!"
ELSA France "Teaching is us!" Adrian Scarlett
 
10 Things You Didn’t Know About Mobile Email from Litmus & HubSpot
 10 Things You Didn’t Know About Mobile Email from Litmus & HubSpot 10 Things You Didn’t Know About Mobile Email from Litmus & HubSpot
10 Things You Didn’t Know About Mobile Email from Litmus & HubSpotHubSpot
 
How to Earn the Attention of Today's Buyer
How to Earn the Attention of Today's BuyerHow to Earn the Attention of Today's Buyer
How to Earn the Attention of Today's BuyerHubSpot
 
25 Discovery Call Questions
25 Discovery Call Questions25 Discovery Call Questions
25 Discovery Call QuestionsHubSpot
 
Modern Prospecting Techniques for Connecting with Prospects (from Sales Hacke...
Modern Prospecting Techniques for Connecting with Prospects (from Sales Hacke...Modern Prospecting Techniques for Connecting with Prospects (from Sales Hacke...
Modern Prospecting Techniques for Connecting with Prospects (from Sales Hacke...HubSpot
 
Class 1: Email Marketing Certification course: Email Marketing and Your Business
Class 1: Email Marketing Certification course: Email Marketing and Your BusinessClass 1: Email Marketing Certification course: Email Marketing and Your Business
Class 1: Email Marketing Certification course: Email Marketing and Your BusinessHubSpot
 
Behind the Scenes: Launching HubSpot Tokyo
Behind the Scenes: Launching HubSpot TokyoBehind the Scenes: Launching HubSpot Tokyo
Behind the Scenes: Launching HubSpot TokyoHubSpot
 
HubSpot Diversity Data 2016
HubSpot Diversity Data 2016HubSpot Diversity Data 2016
HubSpot Diversity Data 2016HubSpot
 
Why People Block Ads (And What It Means for Marketers and Advertisers) [New R...
Why People Block Ads (And What It Means for Marketers and Advertisers) [New R...Why People Block Ads (And What It Means for Marketers and Advertisers) [New R...
Why People Block Ads (And What It Means for Marketers and Advertisers) [New R...HubSpot
 
What is Inbound Recruiting?
What is Inbound Recruiting?What is Inbound Recruiting?
What is Inbound Recruiting?HubSpot
 

En vedette (20)

Update on Micro-VC
Update on Micro-VCUpdate on Micro-VC
Update on Micro-VC
 
Pencemaran tanah
Pencemaran tanahPencemaran tanah
Pencemaran tanah
 
Design in Tech Report 2017
Design in Tech Report 2017Design in Tech Report 2017
Design in Tech Report 2017
 
Is the end near
Is the end nearIs the end near
Is the end near
 
Guia de derivadas
Guia de derivadasGuia de derivadas
Guia de derivadas
 
NM1 - Clase 1 Construcción Estado Nación
NM1 - Clase 1 Construcción Estado NaciónNM1 - Clase 1 Construcción Estado Nación
NM1 - Clase 1 Construcción Estado Nación
 
Infographic: Medicare Marketing: Direct Mail: Still The #1 Influencer For Tho...
Infographic: Medicare Marketing: Direct Mail: Still The #1 Influencer For Tho...Infographic: Medicare Marketing: Direct Mail: Still The #1 Influencer For Tho...
Infographic: Medicare Marketing: Direct Mail: Still The #1 Influencer For Tho...
 
Micro-VC slide deck update
Micro-VC slide deck update Micro-VC slide deck update
Micro-VC slide deck update
 
サーバーレスの今とこれから
サーバーレスの今とこれからサーバーレスの今とこれから
サーバーレスの今とこれから
 
Payments Trends 2017
Payments Trends 2017Payments Trends 2017
Payments Trends 2017
 
ELSA France "Teaching is us!"
ELSA France "Teaching is us!" ELSA France "Teaching is us!"
ELSA France "Teaching is us!"
 
10 Things You Didn’t Know About Mobile Email from Litmus & HubSpot
 10 Things You Didn’t Know About Mobile Email from Litmus & HubSpot 10 Things You Didn’t Know About Mobile Email from Litmus & HubSpot
10 Things You Didn’t Know About Mobile Email from Litmus & HubSpot
 
How to Earn the Attention of Today's Buyer
How to Earn the Attention of Today's BuyerHow to Earn the Attention of Today's Buyer
How to Earn the Attention of Today's Buyer
 
25 Discovery Call Questions
25 Discovery Call Questions25 Discovery Call Questions
25 Discovery Call Questions
 
Modern Prospecting Techniques for Connecting with Prospects (from Sales Hacke...
Modern Prospecting Techniques for Connecting with Prospects (from Sales Hacke...Modern Prospecting Techniques for Connecting with Prospects (from Sales Hacke...
Modern Prospecting Techniques for Connecting with Prospects (from Sales Hacke...
 
Class 1: Email Marketing Certification course: Email Marketing and Your Business
Class 1: Email Marketing Certification course: Email Marketing and Your BusinessClass 1: Email Marketing Certification course: Email Marketing and Your Business
Class 1: Email Marketing Certification course: Email Marketing and Your Business
 
Behind the Scenes: Launching HubSpot Tokyo
Behind the Scenes: Launching HubSpot TokyoBehind the Scenes: Launching HubSpot Tokyo
Behind the Scenes: Launching HubSpot Tokyo
 
HubSpot Diversity Data 2016
HubSpot Diversity Data 2016HubSpot Diversity Data 2016
HubSpot Diversity Data 2016
 
Why People Block Ads (And What It Means for Marketers and Advertisers) [New R...
Why People Block Ads (And What It Means for Marketers and Advertisers) [New R...Why People Block Ads (And What It Means for Marketers and Advertisers) [New R...
Why People Block Ads (And What It Means for Marketers and Advertisers) [New R...
 
What is Inbound Recruiting?
What is Inbound Recruiting?What is Inbound Recruiting?
What is Inbound Recruiting?
 

Similaire à Venture Debt financing for startups

Ten Questions Every Founder Should Ask before Raising Venture Debt
Ten Questions Every Founder Should Ask before Raising Venture DebtTen Questions Every Founder Should Ask before Raising Venture Debt
Ten Questions Every Founder Should Ask before Raising Venture DebtBessemer Venture Partners
 
Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding
Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding
Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding Dr Rajeev Jain
 
Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding.
Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding.Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding.
Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding.Dr Rajeev Jain
 
Financing Alternatives For Government Contractors
Financing Alternatives For Government ContractorsFinancing Alternatives For Government Contractors
Financing Alternatives For Government ContractorsPrivia LLC
 
M5 L3 Loans and Credit
M5 L3 Loans and CreditM5 L3 Loans and Credit
M5 L3 Loans and CreditNCVPS
 
Small business loans you can qualify for with bad credit score
Small business loans you can qualify for with bad credit scoreSmall business loans you can qualify for with bad credit score
Small business loans you can qualify for with bad credit scoreMerchant Advisors
 
Ratio Analysis and Business Performance – Why Should I Care – Part 2?
Ratio Analysis and Business Performance – Why Should I Care – Part 2?Ratio Analysis and Business Performance – Why Should I Care – Part 2?
Ratio Analysis and Business Performance – Why Should I Care – Part 2?McKonly & Asbury, LLP
 
Raising Capital Insights, Peoria AZ Business Summit
Raising Capital Insights, Peoria AZ Business Summit Raising Capital Insights, Peoria AZ Business Summit
Raising Capital Insights, Peoria AZ Business Summit Kristin Slice
 
A Primer on Financial Restructurings
A Primer on Financial RestructuringsA Primer on Financial Restructurings
A Primer on Financial RestructuringsPabloVerra
 
Funding and Loans presentation
Funding and Loans presentationFunding and Loans presentation
Funding and Loans presentationGeorgiaPinner
 
Alternative Structures - PO Financing, Factoring & MCA (Series: Business Borr...
Alternative Structures - PO Financing, Factoring & MCA (Series: Business Borr...Alternative Structures - PO Financing, Factoring & MCA (Series: Business Borr...
Alternative Structures - PO Financing, Factoring & MCA (Series: Business Borr...Financial Poise
 
7 small business lenders report to credit bureaus in 2019
7 small business lenders report to credit bureaus in 20197 small business lenders report to credit bureaus in 2019
7 small business lenders report to credit bureaus in 2019Merchant Advisors
 
10 Criteria to Help You Compare Venture Debt Term Sheets
10 Criteria to Help You Compare Venture Debt Term Sheets10 Criteria to Help You Compare Venture Debt Term Sheets
10 Criteria to Help You Compare Venture Debt Term SheetsKyle Lacy
 
Topic 6 working capital cycle
Topic   6 working capital cycleTopic   6 working capital cycle
Topic 6 working capital cycleRAJKAMAL282
 
Mezzanine finance explained
Mezzanine finance explainedMezzanine finance explained
Mezzanine finance explainedCílio Pleno
 
Capital structure and its Determinants
     Capital structure and its Determinants     Capital structure and its Determinants
Capital structure and its DeterminantsMinhas Azeem
 
Chapter 07 credit process in banks
Chapter 07   credit process in banksChapter 07   credit process in banks
Chapter 07 credit process in banksiipmff2
 

Similaire à Venture Debt financing for startups (20)

Ten Questions Every Founder Should Ask before Raising Venture Debt
Ten Questions Every Founder Should Ask before Raising Venture DebtTen Questions Every Founder Should Ask before Raising Venture Debt
Ten Questions Every Founder Should Ask before Raising Venture Debt
 
Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding
Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding
Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding
 
Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding.
Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding.Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding.
Managing balance sheet liquidity & long term funding.
 
Financing Alternatives For Government Contractors
Financing Alternatives For Government ContractorsFinancing Alternatives For Government Contractors
Financing Alternatives For Government Contractors
 
M5 L3 Loans and Credit
M5 L3 Loans and CreditM5 L3 Loans and Credit
M5 L3 Loans and Credit
 
Small business loans you can qualify for with bad credit score
Small business loans you can qualify for with bad credit scoreSmall business loans you can qualify for with bad credit score
Small business loans you can qualify for with bad credit score
 
Ratio Analysis and Business Performance – Why Should I Care – Part 2?
Ratio Analysis and Business Performance – Why Should I Care – Part 2?Ratio Analysis and Business Performance – Why Should I Care – Part 2?
Ratio Analysis and Business Performance – Why Should I Care – Part 2?
 
Raising Capital Insights, Peoria AZ Business Summit
Raising Capital Insights, Peoria AZ Business Summit Raising Capital Insights, Peoria AZ Business Summit
Raising Capital Insights, Peoria AZ Business Summit
 
A Primer on Financial Restructurings
A Primer on Financial RestructuringsA Primer on Financial Restructurings
A Primer on Financial Restructurings
 
Debt financing for tech companies
Debt financing for tech companiesDebt financing for tech companies
Debt financing for tech companies
 
Funding and Loans presentation
Funding and Loans presentationFunding and Loans presentation
Funding and Loans presentation
 
Alternative Structures - PO Financing, Factoring & MCA (Series: Business Borr...
Alternative Structures - PO Financing, Factoring & MCA (Series: Business Borr...Alternative Structures - PO Financing, Factoring & MCA (Series: Business Borr...
Alternative Structures - PO Financing, Factoring & MCA (Series: Business Borr...
 
7 small business lenders report to credit bureaus in 2019
7 small business lenders report to credit bureaus in 20197 small business lenders report to credit bureaus in 2019
7 small business lenders report to credit bureaus in 2019
 
10 Criteria to Help You Compare Venture Debt Term Sheets
10 Criteria to Help You Compare Venture Debt Term Sheets10 Criteria to Help You Compare Venture Debt Term Sheets
10 Criteria to Help You Compare Venture Debt Term Sheets
 
Topic 6 working capital cycle
Topic   6 working capital cycleTopic   6 working capital cycle
Topic 6 working capital cycle
 
Financing business
Financing businessFinancing business
Financing business
 
Revive Your ASC
Revive Your ASCRevive Your ASC
Revive Your ASC
 
Mezzanine finance explained
Mezzanine finance explainedMezzanine finance explained
Mezzanine finance explained
 
Capital structure and its Determinants
     Capital structure and its Determinants     Capital structure and its Determinants
Capital structure and its Determinants
 
Chapter 07 credit process in banks
Chapter 07   credit process in banksChapter 07   credit process in banks
Chapter 07 credit process in banks
 

Dernier

8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Kotla Mubarakpur Delhi NCR
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Kotla Mubarakpur Delhi NCR8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Kotla Mubarakpur Delhi NCR
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Kotla Mubarakpur Delhi NCRashishs7044
 
Marketplace and Quality Assurance Presentation - Vincent Chirchir
Marketplace and Quality Assurance Presentation - Vincent ChirchirMarketplace and Quality Assurance Presentation - Vincent Chirchir
Marketplace and Quality Assurance Presentation - Vincent Chirchirictsugar
 
Organizational Structure Running A Successful Business
Organizational Structure Running A Successful BusinessOrganizational Structure Running A Successful Business
Organizational Structure Running A Successful BusinessSeta Wicaksana
 
Cybersecurity Awareness Training Presentation v2024.03
Cybersecurity Awareness Training Presentation v2024.03Cybersecurity Awareness Training Presentation v2024.03
Cybersecurity Awareness Training Presentation v2024.03DallasHaselhorst
 
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Shivaji Enclave Delhi NCR
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Shivaji Enclave Delhi NCR8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Shivaji Enclave Delhi NCR
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Shivaji Enclave Delhi NCRashishs7044
 
IoT Insurance Observatory: summary 2024
IoT Insurance Observatory:  summary 2024IoT Insurance Observatory:  summary 2024
IoT Insurance Observatory: summary 2024Matteo Carbone
 
Future Of Sample Report 2024 | Redacted Version
Future Of Sample Report 2024 | Redacted VersionFuture Of Sample Report 2024 | Redacted Version
Future Of Sample Report 2024 | Redacted VersionMintel Group
 
Ms Motilal Padampat Sugar Mills vs. State of Uttar Pradesh & Ors. - A Milesto...
Ms Motilal Padampat Sugar Mills vs. State of Uttar Pradesh & Ors. - A Milesto...Ms Motilal Padampat Sugar Mills vs. State of Uttar Pradesh & Ors. - A Milesto...
Ms Motilal Padampat Sugar Mills vs. State of Uttar Pradesh & Ors. - A Milesto...ShrutiBose4
 
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Tughlakabad Delhi NCR
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Tughlakabad Delhi NCR8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Tughlakabad Delhi NCR
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Tughlakabad Delhi NCRashishs7044
 
2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis Usage
2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis Usage2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis Usage
2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis UsageNeil Kimberley
 
Flow Your Strategy at Flight Levels Day 2024
Flow Your Strategy at Flight Levels Day 2024Flow Your Strategy at Flight Levels Day 2024
Flow Your Strategy at Flight Levels Day 2024Kirill Klimov
 
NewBase 19 April 2024 Energy News issue - 1717 by Khaled Al Awadi.pdf
NewBase  19 April  2024  Energy News issue - 1717 by Khaled Al Awadi.pdfNewBase  19 April  2024  Energy News issue - 1717 by Khaled Al Awadi.pdf
NewBase 19 April 2024 Energy News issue - 1717 by Khaled Al Awadi.pdfKhaled Al Awadi
 
Buy gmail accounts.pdf Buy Old Gmail Accounts
Buy gmail accounts.pdf Buy Old Gmail AccountsBuy gmail accounts.pdf Buy Old Gmail Accounts
Buy gmail accounts.pdf Buy Old Gmail AccountsBuy Verified Accounts
 
Market Sizes Sample Report - 2024 Edition
Market Sizes Sample Report - 2024 EditionMarket Sizes Sample Report - 2024 Edition
Market Sizes Sample Report - 2024 EditionMintel Group
 
FULL ENJOY Call girls in Paharganj Delhi | 8377087607
FULL ENJOY Call girls in Paharganj Delhi | 8377087607FULL ENJOY Call girls in Paharganj Delhi | 8377087607
FULL ENJOY Call girls in Paharganj Delhi | 8377087607dollysharma2066
 
Contemporary Economic Issues Facing the Filipino Entrepreneur (1).pptx
Contemporary Economic Issues Facing the Filipino Entrepreneur (1).pptxContemporary Economic Issues Facing the Filipino Entrepreneur (1).pptx
Contemporary Economic Issues Facing the Filipino Entrepreneur (1).pptxMarkAnthonyAurellano
 
Kenya Coconut Production Presentation by Dr. Lalith Perera
Kenya Coconut Production Presentation by Dr. Lalith PereraKenya Coconut Production Presentation by Dr. Lalith Perera
Kenya Coconut Production Presentation by Dr. Lalith Pereraictsugar
 
Ten Organizational Design Models to align structure and operations to busines...
Ten Organizational Design Models to align structure and operations to busines...Ten Organizational Design Models to align structure and operations to busines...
Ten Organizational Design Models to align structure and operations to busines...Seta Wicaksana
 

Dernier (20)

8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Kotla Mubarakpur Delhi NCR
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Kotla Mubarakpur Delhi NCR8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Kotla Mubarakpur Delhi NCR
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Kotla Mubarakpur Delhi NCR
 
Marketplace and Quality Assurance Presentation - Vincent Chirchir
Marketplace and Quality Assurance Presentation - Vincent ChirchirMarketplace and Quality Assurance Presentation - Vincent Chirchir
Marketplace and Quality Assurance Presentation - Vincent Chirchir
 
Organizational Structure Running A Successful Business
Organizational Structure Running A Successful BusinessOrganizational Structure Running A Successful Business
Organizational Structure Running A Successful Business
 
Cybersecurity Awareness Training Presentation v2024.03
Cybersecurity Awareness Training Presentation v2024.03Cybersecurity Awareness Training Presentation v2024.03
Cybersecurity Awareness Training Presentation v2024.03
 
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Shivaji Enclave Delhi NCR
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Shivaji Enclave Delhi NCR8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Shivaji Enclave Delhi NCR
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Shivaji Enclave Delhi NCR
 
IoT Insurance Observatory: summary 2024
IoT Insurance Observatory:  summary 2024IoT Insurance Observatory:  summary 2024
IoT Insurance Observatory: summary 2024
 
Future Of Sample Report 2024 | Redacted Version
Future Of Sample Report 2024 | Redacted VersionFuture Of Sample Report 2024 | Redacted Version
Future Of Sample Report 2024 | Redacted Version
 
Ms Motilal Padampat Sugar Mills vs. State of Uttar Pradesh & Ors. - A Milesto...
Ms Motilal Padampat Sugar Mills vs. State of Uttar Pradesh & Ors. - A Milesto...Ms Motilal Padampat Sugar Mills vs. State of Uttar Pradesh & Ors. - A Milesto...
Ms Motilal Padampat Sugar Mills vs. State of Uttar Pradesh & Ors. - A Milesto...
 
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Tughlakabad Delhi NCR
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Tughlakabad Delhi NCR8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Tughlakabad Delhi NCR
8447779800, Low rate Call girls in Tughlakabad Delhi NCR
 
2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis Usage
2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis Usage2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis Usage
2024 Numerator Consumer Study of Cannabis Usage
 
Flow Your Strategy at Flight Levels Day 2024
Flow Your Strategy at Flight Levels Day 2024Flow Your Strategy at Flight Levels Day 2024
Flow Your Strategy at Flight Levels Day 2024
 
NewBase 19 April 2024 Energy News issue - 1717 by Khaled Al Awadi.pdf
NewBase  19 April  2024  Energy News issue - 1717 by Khaled Al Awadi.pdfNewBase  19 April  2024  Energy News issue - 1717 by Khaled Al Awadi.pdf
NewBase 19 April 2024 Energy News issue - 1717 by Khaled Al Awadi.pdf
 
Buy gmail accounts.pdf Buy Old Gmail Accounts
Buy gmail accounts.pdf Buy Old Gmail AccountsBuy gmail accounts.pdf Buy Old Gmail Accounts
Buy gmail accounts.pdf Buy Old Gmail Accounts
 
Market Sizes Sample Report - 2024 Edition
Market Sizes Sample Report - 2024 EditionMarket Sizes Sample Report - 2024 Edition
Market Sizes Sample Report - 2024 Edition
 
FULL ENJOY Call girls in Paharganj Delhi | 8377087607
FULL ENJOY Call girls in Paharganj Delhi | 8377087607FULL ENJOY Call girls in Paharganj Delhi | 8377087607
FULL ENJOY Call girls in Paharganj Delhi | 8377087607
 
Corporate Profile 47Billion Information Technology
Corporate Profile 47Billion Information TechnologyCorporate Profile 47Billion Information Technology
Corporate Profile 47Billion Information Technology
 
Contemporary Economic Issues Facing the Filipino Entrepreneur (1).pptx
Contemporary Economic Issues Facing the Filipino Entrepreneur (1).pptxContemporary Economic Issues Facing the Filipino Entrepreneur (1).pptx
Contemporary Economic Issues Facing the Filipino Entrepreneur (1).pptx
 
Kenya Coconut Production Presentation by Dr. Lalith Perera
Kenya Coconut Production Presentation by Dr. Lalith PereraKenya Coconut Production Presentation by Dr. Lalith Perera
Kenya Coconut Production Presentation by Dr. Lalith Perera
 
Call Us ➥9319373153▻Call Girls In North Goa
Call Us ➥9319373153▻Call Girls In North GoaCall Us ➥9319373153▻Call Girls In North Goa
Call Us ➥9319373153▻Call Girls In North Goa
 
Ten Organizational Design Models to align structure and operations to busines...
Ten Organizational Design Models to align structure and operations to busines...Ten Organizational Design Models to align structure and operations to busines...
Ten Organizational Design Models to align structure and operations to busines...
 

Venture Debt financing for startups

  • 1. Debt financing for Venture backed Startups Samir Kaji Senior Managing Director First Republic Bank
  • 2. 2Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt Table Of Contents Overview Types Of Debt Financing Venture Debt Overview Recurring Revenue Lines A/R lines Q&A Sources
  • 3. 3Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt Types Of Debt Financing d •Venture Debt Financing •Accounts Receivable Financing •Recurring Revenue Financing •Growth Capital financing •Mezzanine Financing
  • 4. 4Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt Benefits And Risks Of Taking on Debt Provide incremental runway (allowing for additional time to meet critical milestones) Alleviate and smooth out liquidity needs due to working capital cycles Fund growth Nominally dilutive capital (positive impact to shareholders returns) PROS  Overleveraging (can impact fundraising efforts) − Venture debt <50% of last institutional raise; Monthly P&I payments <15% of monthly cash burn. Under 10% is ideal  If Lender is not reputable, could be catastrophic for in a downside scenario  Preference of secured debt holders  Lack of understanding could create unintended issues.  False security CONS
  • 5. 5Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt Venture Debt Overview What is Venture Debt? Simply debt financing for Venture Capital backed companies for the purpose of extending cash runway and accelrating growth in a way that’s minimally dilutive for shareholders A non-formula based term financing with durations of 3-5 years Lenders provide with a belief that next round financing risk is nominal. When is it appropriate for a company to explore Venture Debt? The company is backed by a strong syndicate of Venture partners that has the ability to further support the Company financially with or without the introduction of a new lead For early stage companies, the management team should be able to clearly define the milestones prior to the next equity fundraising, and should have a high degree of confidence of reasonably hitting them. The Company has a management team and board that preferably has worked with secured creditors in the past (not necessary of course!)
  • 6. 6Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt Venture Debt as a runway extender  Venture debt as an extension of company runway – Allows company more time to meet critical performance milestones – Enables quick growth
  • 7. 7Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt Terms of Debt to be considered Key Terms To Be Aware Of All-in IRR: should include all fees, backend payments, etc. IRR’s range 6% - 15%+ depending on risk profile of transaction and other economics of the deal (warrants) MAC Clauses: a subjective default that allows lender to “call” a loan if lender deems, in their sole discretion, that a material deterioration in the business has occurred Warrants: Collateral: blanket lien on all assets is standard; IP may be included if risk level is higher Financial Covenants: Income statement, milestone, or balance sheet. Real runway provided by the debt? Borrowing Base Is there a formula that governs borrowing? Draw requirement far in advance of cash-out? If so, how amortization will there be prior to projected cash out?
  • 8. 8Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt Examples of Venture Debt Players  Capital source from client deposits  Cheapest but lower risk appetite  Expected loss from portfolio 1-3% BANKS  Funds with 3rd Party LPs  Pricier but higher risk appetite (been through cycles)  Often partnership with value add (can provide domain and operational expertise)  Loss rate is typically higher (3-5%) VENTURE DEBT FIRMS
  • 9. 9Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt Banks VS Venture Debt Firms Terms Term Banks Venture Debt Firms Typical Interest Rates (usually Based of off Prime Rate) 5%-7.5% 9%-13% Upfront Fees 25bp-1% 50bps-1% Warrant Coverage As low as 2-3%, but typically in 4%-5% range Usually 8%-12% Draw or Interest only period 6-12 months 6-18 months Amortization Period <=36months <=48 months Financial Covenants Sometimes, but not typically No MAC Clause Yes Sometimes, but typically not Size of loan 20-40% of Recent Venture Round Depending on the Company profile, may go up to 100% of last round if appropriate. Usually 30- 50% of Recent Venture Round. Pre-Payment Penalty 3% Year 12% Year 21% Year 3(Can be reduced in many cases) Same as Banks, but sometimes “Full Metal Jacket” (all future interest payments are accelerated) Other Conditions Company must keep primary depository and operating accounts with Bank Deposits can be kept anywhere, although a Deposit Control Agreement document must be executed, which provides lender a legal security interest over cash held in a bank.
  • 10. 10Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt Example of Venture Debt XYZ company raises a $10MM Series A round, led by Founders Fund, done at a $30MM Pre-Money Valuation. 8M fully diluted shares authorized after round ($5/share) Projected Burn is $500K/month (20 months of cash runway). Company is offered $5MM Venture Debt term loan, with following terms: –12 Month Interest only Drawdown period, following by a 36 month amortization period. –Interest rate of 9% with back-end payment of 5%. –No MAC –No Financial Covenants –Warrant Coverage of 10% on Series A shares. • 10% * $5MM = $500,000/$5 PPS = Lender has the right to purchase 100,000 shares at $5 at any time over next 8-10 years. 100,000/8MM shares = 1.25% dilution. Best case scenario is debt provides additional 6-8 months of cash runway, more milestones hit, and thus allowing for better valuation at B round.
  • 11. 11Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt Formula based Working Capital Lines (Also commonly called asset based lines)  Revolving Facilities  Typically 1-2 years in length, with ability to renew  Lender offers a borrowing base against something tangible – AR – PO – Inventory – Recurring Revenue 
  • 12. 12Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt Formula based Working Capital Lines -Accounts Receivable Lines  Financing provided against a Company’s Accounts Receivable base, or in some cases against specific invoices (not PO financing).  Used to smooth out working capital cycles – Good for businesses that have large AR balances. Traditional software license models, hardware models, etc.  Usually cheapest form of financing  Formula based (lender will look at quality of account debtors, concentrations). Borrowing advance rate of 70-80% of qualified eligible accounts receivables.  Almost always come with performance and/or liquidity covenants (the exception being specific invoice by invoice financing offered by some lenders).  Provided by Banks, not Venture Debt firms
  • 13. 13Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt Formula Based Lines - Recurring Revenue lines Recurring Revenue lines Financing provided against a company’s recurring revenue stream Used to smooth out working capital and help financing CAC’s – Good for businesses that have recurring revenue models such as SaaS and subscription based companies. Similar pricing to Accounts Receivable lines. Formula based on revenue – 2-7x of MRR – Adjusted for Churn (usually gross, but lenders becoming increasingly ok with net) Almost always come with performance and/or liquidity covenants (the exception being specific invoice by invoice financing offered by some lenders). – Performance to plan covenant on revenues or bookings – Liquidity covenants (Adjusted Quick Ratio, Liquidity ratio). More common with larger deals. – Most often provided by Bank’s, but specialty fund lenders like SaaS Capital and Golub Capital also provide.
  • 14. 14Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt Example of Recurring Revenue Line ABC company is a SaaS company that has raised $20MM in Venture Capital Investors include Emergence Capital and Social Capital. Company currently Monthly Recurring Revenues (MRR) of $750K, and projects to end 2017 with MRR of $1.5MM. Average gross churn per month for trailing 6 months is 0.75%. Company would like to take on non-dilutive financing to help financing growth. Bank offers a $4MM Revolving Recurring Revenue line of credit. Borrowing availability today = $750K (MRR) * 3 = $2.25MM Adjustment for Gross Churn = 0.75 *12 (annualized) = 9% Adjusted Borrowing Availability = $2.25MM * (100%-9%) = $2.04MM
  • 15. 15Kauffman Fellows | Venture Debt Mezzanine Lines  Typically provided to companies at late expansion stages.  Often acts as last money in prior to an exit.  Offered by Banks and Funds (i.e. Silverlake, Golub)  Terms – 3-5 year term – Interest only through term, principal due at maturity. Interest is sometimes Payment In Kind (PIK). – Interest rate ~11% – With warrants, lenders aim for 15-20% return. – No Covenants – Shouldn’t have Cross-defaults (need to check) with other debt Company has. Mezzanine lines are often subordinate in nature to senior asset based lines.