Wondering if SEO is worth your time and money?
Wouldn't it be great if you knew exactly how your SEO initiatives enhanced your business?
A solid understanding of how your search investments will impact performance and your bottom line will help you uncover the best ways to invest in the future.
Join our upcoming webinar to discover what business benefits can be uncovered from certain SEO activities, giving you the power to see your investment’s true worth.
You’ll learn:
- How to invest in content and know the expected return.
- Why you should also invest in the technical aspects of SEO.
- How to assess the effectiveness of authority signals.
Find out how to understand the true worth of your SEO strategies with Wayne Cichanski, VP of Search & Site Experience at iQuanti.
Learn how to gauge which SEO strategies are worth your time and money, and steer your organization toward the right paths to growth.
Demystifying SEO Investments: Expert Advice On What CMOs Can Expect
1. 1 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
2. 2 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Wayne Cichanski, VP Search & Site Experience
28-yr career in digital marketing, with 10 years at the brand level & 18 years
at the agency level. Last 9 years in financial services & insurance
• Digital solutions executive
• SEO before Google was Google
• UX, Development, Search, Data
• Former CIO/CMO
wayne.c@iquanti.com
3. 3 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
1 2
3 4
Investing in SEO
• Does the channel really work?
• Can you forecast the channel?
Investing in Content
• Understanding the expected ROI
• Knowing what to write and why to write it
How to Invest into Authority
• How much do you invest
• The do’s and don’ts to authority mgmt
Where to Invest into Technical
• Key defining foundational elements
• What elements truly make a difference
Today’s Discussion Agenda
4. This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
4
Closer look at demystifying some SEO myths as it relates to investing
Investing in SEO
5. 5 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Investment into SEO as a Channel
Demystifying some expectations of SEO vs paid search
Investment
Impression Share
Investment vs Impression Share
SEO Investment Paid Investment
• “And” statement not “Either Or”
• Lower overall CPA
• $300/400 standard CPA
• $25-65 organic CPA
• Offset SEM bidding strategies
• High CPC non branded
• Mid to upper funnel
• Multiple SERP positions
• Predictable & trackable
Paid vs Organic
6. 6 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Forecasting SEO is Achievable
Calculating revenue impact can be achieved
Themes / Pages
Theme/Page A 90,500 18% = 16,290 195,480
Theme/Page B 201,000 10% = 20,100 241,200
Theme/Page C 32,000 7% = 2,240 26,880
Keyword Volume CTR Curve Mo. Traffic Annual Traffic
463,560
Traffic x CVR = Leads/Sales x Value = Revenue Projection
463,560 x 3% = 13,906/(556 sales) x $550 = $305,800
7. This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
7
Understanding what to write and why
Investing into Content
8. 8 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Common Misconceptions Around Content
Automatically Rank
Just because you publish a page it will
automatically rank.
9. 9 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Common Misconceptions Around Content
1-2 Core Pages
Having my core product page is enough to
sell or rank top on Google.
Automatically Rank
Just because you publish a page it will
automatically rank.
10. 10 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Common Misconceptions Around Content
1-2 Core Pages
Having my core product page is enough to
sell or rank top on Google.
Automatically Rank
Just because you publish a page it will
automatically rank.
Need to be a Publisher
I need to become a publisher and create
endless amounts of content.
11. 11 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Common Misconceptions Around Content
1-2 Core Pages
Having my core product page is enough to
sell or rank top on Google.
Automatically Rank
Just because you publish a page it will
automatically rank.
Need to be a Publisher
I need to become a publisher and create
endless amounts of content.
Blog Content
Let’s create content and stick it into the
“blog” and that will suffice for driving sales.
12. 12 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Common Misconceptions Around Content
“SEO Content”
We will have “SEO content” and then the
regular content for our users.
1-2 Core Pages
Having my core product page is enough to
sell or rank top on Google.
Automatically Rank
Just because you publish a page it will
automatically rank.
Need to be a Publisher
I need to become a publisher and create
endless amounts of content.
Blog Content
Let’s create content and stick it into the
“blog” and that will suffice for driving sales.
13. 13 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Common Misconceptions Around Content
Create a Full Funnel
Connection
Create content for each stage or better
known as intent across the journey so
there is a full funnel connection for your
users. Connect the pages up and down
through primary and secondary CTA’s.
Map the Journey
Know what a complete user journey looks
like around your audience and if it changes
based on persona’s. Look from top of the
funnel awareness to down funnel purchase
intent.
Take Aways
“SEO Content”
We will have “SEO content” and then the
regular content for our users.
1-2 Core Pages
Having my core product page is enough to
sell or rank top on Google.
Automatically Rank
Just because you publish a page it will
automatically rank.
Need to be a Publisher
I need to become a publisher and create
endless amounts of content.
Blog Content
Let’s create content and stick it into the
“blog” and that will suffice for driving sales.
14. 14 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Age Old Saying; Fish Where the Fish Are
Where would you want to go in order to catch fish?
Wrong Spot to Fish
15. 15 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Age Old Saying; Fish Where the Fish Are
Where would you want to go in order to catch fish?
Right Spot to Fish
16. 16 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Knowing What to Write and Why
Acknowledging and discovering what will drive impact based on consumer
demand and intent
Down funnel
Up funnel
Page Asset
Missing Asset
Page Asset
Missing Asset
Missing Asset
Point of Entry
(New Traffic)
Broken Journey
Point of Entry
(Loss of Traffic)
Consumer Demand
Auto Insurance
3,600 monthly searches
Car Insurance
110,000 monthly searches
17. 17 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
What is the Expected ROI of Content
Role of Content
Setting the correct expectations and role for your content assets
Effort to Produce Content
Looking at the cost benefit analysis to producing content
Cost to Rank Content
Understand the true cost to get a piece of content to rank
Traffic to the Content
Driving meaningful traffic through your content funnel
Conversion
Important considerations for page conversion
18. 18 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Role of Content
Important to understand and level set expectations of your content assets
ACQUISITION
1
Down Funnel
Low Volume
High CVR
C O N T E N T
19. 19 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Role of Content
Important to understand and level set expectations of your content assets
ACQUISITION SUPPORTING
1 2
Down Funnel
Low Volume
High CVR
C O N T E N T C O N T E N T
Mid Funnel
Mid Volume
Low CVR
20. 20 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Role of Content
Important to understand and level set expectations of your content assets
ACQUISITION SUPPORTING RELATED
1 2 3
Down Funnel
Low Volume
High CVR
C O N T E N T C O N T E N T C O N T E N T
Mid Funnel
Mid Volume
Low CVR
Upper Funnel
High Volume
Low CVR
21. 21 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Role of Content
Important to understand and level set expectations of your content assets
ACQUISITION SUPPORTING RELATED
BRAND
1 2 3
4
Down Funnel
Low Volume
High CVR
C O N T E N T C O N T E N T C O N T E N T
C O N T E N T
Mid Funnel
Mid Volume
Low CVR
Upper Funnel
High Volume
Low CVR
Down Funnel
Volume Varies
High CVR
22. 22 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Role of Content
Important to understand and level set expectations of your content assets
ACQUISITION SUPPORTING RELATED
BRAND
THOUGHT
LEADERSHIP
1 2 3
4 5
Down Funnel
Low Volume
High CVR
C O N T E N T C O N T E N T C O N T E N T
C O N T E N T
C O N T E N T
Mid Funnel
Mid Volume
Low CVR
Upper Funnel
High Volume
Low CVR
Down Funnel
Volume Varies
High CVR
Upper Funnel
High Volume
Low CVR
23. 23 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Role of Content
Important to understand and level set expectations of your content assets
ACQUISITION SUPPORTING RELATED
BRAND
THOUGHT
LEADERSHIP
OFF PAGE
1 2 3
4 5 6
Down Funnel
Low Volume
High CVR
C O N T E N T C O N T E N T C O N T E N T
C O N T E N T
C O N T E N T
C O N T E N T
Mid Funnel
Mid Volume
Low CVR
Upper Funnel
High Volume
Low CVR
Down Funnel
Volume Varies
High CVR
Upper Funnel
High Volume
Low CVR
Earned Media
No Volume
No CVR but Link
24. 24 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Effort to Produce Content
What is the cost benefit in producing quality content
Content
Strategy
KW Research
Theme Prioritization
Content Strategy Review
Content Gap Assessment
SEO Strategy Review
Topic Ideation
Article Prioritization
Content Calendar
25. 25 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Effort to Produce Content
What is the cost benefit in producing quality content
Content
Strategy
KW Research
Theme Prioritization
Content Strategy Review
Content Gap Assessment
SEO Strategy Review
Topic Ideation
Article Prioritization
Content Calendar
Article
Creation
Pull existing ranks / keyword targets
ALPS baseline content scores
Content brief
Content writing - draft
Proof reading - editing
Page anatomy SEO recommendations
SEO recommendations - review
ALPS simulation & impact
Iteration 1
SEO iterations
Proof reading - editing
Iteration 2
26. 26 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Benefit of Producing Content
What is the cost benefit in producing quality content
On Page Matches
Demand
Connects
Journey
New Point
of Entry
Content
27. 27 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Benefit of Producing Content
What is the cost benefit in producing quality content
On Page
Off Page
Matches
Demand
Connects
Journey
New Point
of Entry
Earned Link
Engagement
Metrics
Referral
Traffic
Content
Content
28. 28 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Cost to Rank Content
Your go to market strategy needs to include the costs to rank your content
Web Page SERP Competition
Authority Gap
5:1
Authority Gap
10:1
Authority Gap
20:1
Authority Gap
29. 29 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Acquiring the Right Traffic to Your Content
The intent of your content will drive the quality of your traffic
Web Page
Intent A
Intent B
Intent C
What is Intent?
Intent is defined as what the user is
looking for or hoping to find as a result
to a search query. Very similar to a
game of Jeopardy where you have the
answer and need to figure out the
question.
Traffic Based on Intent
With the proper intent for your content
pages, when they do gain enough
authority to rank – it will drive the right
traffic for the right audience.
30. 30 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Not All Content Converts Equally
Understand what the proper expectations for content conversion is
Persona
Awareness
Consideration
Purchase
Loyalty
Higher Volume
Lower Direct Conversion
MOVING UP FUNNEL
Lower Volume
Higher Direct Conversion
MOVING DOWN FUNNEL
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31
Learn the pitfalls before you get penalized
How to Invest into
Authority
32. 32 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Understand There is Positive & Negative Authority
Reduce the negative signals and elevate the positive signals
Negative
Authority
Negative authority can drag down
positive signals causing rank loss or not
advancing ranks where they could be.
• Disavow management
• Review & monitoring of link profile
Invest into monitoring, verifying &
removal of negative signals
33. 33 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Understand There is Positive & Negative Authority
Reduce the negative signals and elevate the positive signals
Negative
Authority
Negative authority can drag down
positive signals causing rank loss or not
advancing ranks where they could be.
• Disavow management
• Review & monitoring of link profile
Positive
Authority
Positive authority is a necessary
requirement in order to elevate ranks,
content and traffic.
• Build earned links & authority signals
• Target specific themes/pages
Invest into monitoring, verifying &
removal of negative signals
Invest into content promotion,
syndication and earned media
34. 34 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
What Return can be Expected on Your Investment
Research and discover where the consumer demand resides
Earn a Link Back
to Targeted URL
Targeted Web Page Time Period Referring Domains Rank Pos.
Month 1 337 45th
Month 3 454 19th
Month 6 733 8th
Notable KPI’s
• Increased referring domains
• Closing gap on competitive landscape
• Monitor rank improvements
35. This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
35
Keeping a pulse on performance
Where to Invest into
Technical
36. 36 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
Biggest Bang for the Buck in Technical
Research and discover where the consumer demand resides
Page Speed
• Informational
• Transactional
• Utilitarian
Page Templates
• Core web vitals
• Optimized
• Flexible
Hygienic Issues
• 4xx / 5xx errors
• Missing attributes
• Duplicate attributes
37. 37 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
How Technical Elevates Entire Global Property
Research and discover where the consumer demand resides
Technical improvements are
inherited globally and raise
improvements across the entire
domain.
Notable KPI’s
• Increased page performance
• Reduction in errors
• Quicker page speeds
38. 38 This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
39. This document and the information in it are provided in confidence, and may not be disclosed to any third party.
39
Thank You