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5. goldsmiths short course introduction to marketing data

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Day 2 - Introduction to Digital Marketing.

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5. goldsmiths short course introduction to marketing data

  1. 1. GOLDSMITHS SOCIAL MEDIA SHORT COURSE 14th of Feb 2018
  2. 2. THE ROAD WE TRAVEL TODAY  Creativity V Data -  Understanding Data – The test  ROI -  Cookies – Show Ghostery  GDPR  Look at your videos.  Viewability  Interactivity  Cookieless advertising  Data Driven advertising
  3. 3. THE CRYSTAL MAZE TWITTER ZONE FACEBOOOK ZONE VIDEO ZONEROI ZONE
  4. 4. THE PROCESS OF DIGITAL MARKETING
  5. 5. WE ALL LEAVE VAPOUR TRAILS OF DATA. IT IS CALLED LIVELY DATA
  6. 6. WHICH IS MORE IMPORTANT? Creativity
  7. 7. REPORTING WISDOM  Ad Agencies spend about 60% of their time creating reports for their clients. They hate it.  Even though the reports can be automated, it is valuable to analyse a report to actually get to know the client.
  8. 8. DATA AND CREATIVITY – AI DOC.  Which do you feel is more important?  What comes first data or creativity?  What things can’t a computer improve?
  9. 9. IT ALL BEGINS HERE. Your logo here
  10. 10. • Oct 1994 – 1st Online ad appeared in Hot Wired Magazine. • Advertisers were Zima, Club Med and AT&T • 468x60 – pixel size – filled horizontal length of maximised browser. ( We had 15 inch screens back then). • First form of advertising to offer accurate measurement • Click Through Rate Born! - Very high at first. • You can find an Oral History of the first banner ad by clicking here.
  11. 11. WHAT MAKES DIGITAL AD DISTINCT? • Interactivity – Click Here! • Measurability – ROI • Targetability - Like never before • Flexibility – A defining trait.
  12. 12. Types of Targeting When using an ad server Site Date Time Browser Connection Speed Operating System IP address Frequency Capping Internet Service Provider Geo-IP Key-word and key value Cookie-targeting Re-targeting Optimisation Engines S T A N D A R D Contextual/behavioural combined R E T A R G E T I N G Surround sessions Contextual I N T E N T I O N A L Audience Segmentation Tastes and interests
  13. 13.  Expressed as % of clicks to impressions  CTR (Click Through Rate)= X/Y = CTR  Y = 1,000,000 impressions  X = 10,000 clicks  (10,000 / 1,000,000)x100 = 1% CTR  There is one big problem with a CTR. THE BASIC CURRENCY OF ONLINE DISPLAYADS. Your logo here
  14. 14. Think of engagement data as the chemical reaction between the viewer, the viewability of the story, the offer, and how busy that person was at the time. A high CTR doesn’t mean that you will sell more products.
  15. 15. THESE TOOLS COME FROM MARKETING AND SO AUDIENCE DATA IS LIKE THIS. Marketers don’t care about the name of each animal – just the direction of the animals.
  16. 16. HOW DOES IT ALL WORK?
  17. 17. WE COULD NEVER MEASURE THIS BEFORE The chance of an Web user clicking on an ad and going straight to the purchase page is about as likely as a pedestrian hailing a taxi and asking the driver to take him or her directly to the place advertised on the side of the cab – VERY SMALL. It is more likely the user will make a note and visit later. Online, you can measure exactly this: the branding effect.
  18. 18. User Sees a banner, remembers it, but DOES NOT CLICK Goes to site within 90 days and buys something User Gets another cookie set in browser Cookie sent back To adserver / agency Adserver sets a cookie set in internet browser Events Correlated POST CLICK AND POST VIEW
  19. 19. 19  CPM:  CPM = “Cost Per Thousand”  In Traditional advertising “1,000” = viewers or readers  In Internet advertising “1,000” = impressions  “M” is the symbol for the Roman numeral 1,000  The benchmark for pricing of traditional media  How much does it cost to reach 1,000 readers or viewers  Calculating the Cost of Media using CPM  1,000,000 impressions  CPM = £10  Calculation is: (1,000,000 / 1,000) * £10 CPM = £10,000 media buy  Calculating the CPM based on the Cost of Media  Cost of media = £10,000  1,500,000 impressions  Calculation is £10,000 / (1,500,000 * 1,000) = £6.66 BASIC PRICING MODEL
  20. 20. 20  Impressions = 1,000,000  CPM = £10  Calculation:  (Impressions / 1,000) x CPM = Cost of Media  (1,000,000 / 1,000) * £10 = £10,000 CALCULATING THE COST OF MEDIA USING CPM
  21. 21. IS SOCIAL MEDIA DATA ADDICTION DATA?
  22. 22. 0.19% CTR 0. 11% CTR 0. 20% CTR 0. 33% CTR CREATIVE REPORTS
  23. 23. WHY IS DATA USED #1 Your logo here
  24. 24. WHY IS DATA USED - #2
  25. 25. WHY IS DATA USED #3
  26. 26. WHY IS DATA USED #4
  27. 27. To make sure your message gets to the right person. To measure how engaging the story was. To try and get you to see the story. To try and find more of you. To optimise digital advertising, in campaigns in real time. WHY IS DATA USED ROUND UP
  28. 28. WHY IS DATA USED #6
  29. 29. Source: Tim Armstrong, Google SES, 2005 • Achieve greater brand impact through intelligent targeting • Improve performance by maximising relevancy and minimising wastage • Contextual ads scan content before placing ad CONTEXTUAL ADVERTISING
  30. 30. OUTBRAIN HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WA TCH?V=KBTYZBT2VSQ TABOOLA HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WA TCH?V=TPIGF08SHHI
  31. 31. PROGRAMATIC ADVERITISING
  32. 32. THE STOCK EXCHANGE & REAL TIME BIDDING
  33. 33. WAYS THAT YOUR DATA IS USED IN DISTRIBUTION ENGINE.
  34. 34. WHY IS RE-TARGETING USED SO MUCH? Your logo here
  35. 35. Your logo here
  36. 36. THE DATAFICATION OF EMOTIONS. LIKE LOVE LAUGH SURPRISE SADNESS ANGER NO PLACE FOR FEAR, DISGUST OR CONTEMPT A PERFECT SPACE FOR BRANDS.
  37. 37. BEACONS http://streetfightmag.com/2015/11/24/beacons-to-shine-a-light- on-consumers-murky-path-to-purchase/
  38. 38. CLASS LINKS Pay with a smile at KFC in China http://www.alizila.com/alipay-launches-smile-to-pay-commercial-use/ The latest use of image recognition technology is from Alibaba’s Alipay, which is allowing customers to pay with a smile. Initially just in one restaurant (possibly to allow intensive monitoring…), it’s a nice twist on the ‘pay with a selfie’ idea. Store Analytics with floor level cameras https://www.hoxtonanalytics.com/ I went to an event this week on the future of retail, and one of the companies mentioned was this analytics company that measures footfall, inc producing a dashboard and visualisations, simply by filming people’s shoes as they enter and leave stores or malls. They even say they can tell the gender of the shopper (presumably based on style and size of foot…) Sometimes the great ideas are the simple ones! https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=52&v=4X6ZpOp3dkE
  39. 39. Brand Safety aka – content verification tools CV products block or report, in real time, the serving of an online advertisement onto destinations that have been defined as inappropriate to the campaign. This refers to any words that are deemed by the advertiser to be unsuitable for a campaign, including brand conflicting content. These tools mostly send blank ads when they detect a negative page. In RTB this wastes a lot of money. Only Grapeshot and Double verify can now block sites at a bidding level. A serious issue for all these guys is - Lack of source level transparency is primarily an unfortunate side effect of inventory “daisy-chaining” (or inter-network reselling)
  40. 40.  Is re-targeting the solution to the problems of digital marketing?  What are the other options? QUESTIONS Your logo here
  41. 41. BIG BANG MODEL VS ELECTION MODEL
  42. 42. VERY USEFUL LINK:
  43. 43. DOORS MARKETING FILM
  44. 44. SIMPLE INCLUSIVE MESSAGING – WELCOMING & SENSE OF GENEROSITY.
  45. 45. 90 REACTIONS, AND REAL COMMENTS = TRUST
  46. 46. TARGET GROUP  Interests: Parenting Teenagers, UCAS, A-level, Higher education or Screenwriting and Parents: Parents with teenagers (aged 13-18) or Parents with adult children (aged 18-26)
  47. 47. OVERALL NUMBERS
  48. 48. MEN WERE REACHED. IS THIS BORN OUT IN APPLICATIONS?
  49. 49. WE SPIKED A WEEK BEFORE THE DEADLINE.
  50. 50. MINUTES VIEWED SHOWS SAME TREND.
  51. 51. WE ADDED A 2ND VIDEO IN THE FINAL 2 WEEKS. IT SHOWED OFF STUDENT WORK.
  52. 52. MORE MEN CLICKED
  53. 53. FREQUENCY WAS GOOD
  54. 54. TWITTER REACH
  55. 55. TARGET GROUP  Custom audience of Teachers and A-Level UCAS related Influencers FE influencers
  56. 56. TWITTER TOP LEVEL STATS Tweet engagements 2807 Engagement rate 0.90% Cost per engagement 0.36 Clicks 1474 Media engagements 1307 Retweets 11 Replies 3 Follows 12 Video Views 167376 Cost per view 1 view Rate 54
  57. 57. POSSIBLE COURSES OF ACTION  PLUMB THE DEPARTMENTS SOCIAL MEDIA ACCOUNTS INTO THE FACEBOOK ADVERTISING AND TWITTER ADVERTISING PLATFORMS AT A DEEPER LEVEL.  COMPLETE THE DATA CIRCLE IN TERMS SOCIAL MEDIA AND APPLICATIONS SO WE SEE REAL ROI IMPACT  SIMPLIFY RHUL LANDING PAGES. INCLUDE MORE VIDEO CONTENT.  HAVE APPLICATION LINKS ON SOCIAL MEDIA ACCOUNTS  CREATE LOOKALIKE POOLS ON FACEBOOK AND TWITTER  MORE STUDENT LED ADVERTISING.  MORE DIVERSITY
  58. 58. GDPR  The amount of data collected about us has risen exponentially. But where is that data, who owns it and who uses it?  European General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), which will come into force on May 25 2018  it replaces the previous 1995 data protection directive, which current UK law is based upon
  59. 59. GDPR  Where GDPR differentiates from current data protection laws is that pseudonymised personal data can fall under the law – if it's possible that a person could be identified by a pseudonym.  These include allowing people to have easier access to the data companies hold about them, a new fines regime and a clear responsibility for organisations to obtain the consent of people they collect information about.
  60. 60. GDPR  massive data breaches, including millions of Yahoo, LinkedIn, and MySpace account details. Under GDPR, the "destruction, loss, alteration, unauthorised disclosure of, or access to" people's data has to be reported to a country's data protection regulator  The ICO has to be told about a breach 72 hours after an organisation finds out about it and the people it impacts also need to be told.
  61. 61. GDPR  GDPR also gives individuals a lot more power to access the information that's held about them  requests for personal information can be made free-of-charge  people must be provided with an explanation of a decision made about them.  fines of up to €10 million or two per cent of a firm's global turnover (whichever is greater). Those with more serious consequences can have fines of up to €20 million or four per cent of a firm's global turnover (whichever is greater).
  62. 62. GDPR  WHAT IS PERSONAL DATA?Personal data can be anything that allows a living person to be directly or indirectly identified. This may be a name, an address, or even an IP address. It includes automated personal data and can also encompass pseudonymised data if a person can be identified from it.  SO, WHAT'S SENSITIVE PERSONAL DATA?GDPR calls sensitive personal data as being in 'special categories' of information. These include trade union membership, religious beliefs, political opinions, racial information, and sexual orientation.
  63. 63. IMPACT ON DIGITAL ADVERTISING  Regarding the implication on digital marketing, it looks like location, IP and device ID will be included.  Consumers are now going to need to be re-informed about what data is being collected on them, and will need to be offered a way of opting out.  End or Re-targeting.

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