Ce diaporama a bien été signalé.
Le téléchargement de votre SlideShare est en cours. ×

Millennialmedia MobileMix Q1 2013

Publicité
Publicité
Publicité
Publicité
Publicité
Publicité
Publicité
Publicité
Publicité
Publicité
Publicité
Publicité
Chargement dans…3
×

Consultez-les par la suite

1 sur 7 Publicité
Publicité

Plus De Contenu Connexe

Diaporamas pour vous (19)

Similaire à Millennialmedia MobileMix Q1 2013 (20)

Publicité

Plus par Sergey Polovnikov (20)

Plus récents (20)

Publicité

Millennialmedia MobileMix Q1 2013

  1. 1. #MobileMix Q1 2013 Device & Manufacturer Data Device & OS Mix Mobile DeveloperTrends Android Spotlight
  2. 2. Device & Manufacturer Data millennial media’s T H E M O B I L E D E V I C E I N D E X Q1 2013 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Apple Samsung BlackBerry HTC LG Motorola Amazon SonyEricsson Nokia HUAWEI ZTE Asus Kyocera Sony Pantech 36.87% 26.96% 6.47% 4.82% 4.52% 4.36% 2.19% 1.64% 1.39% 1.39% 1.07% 0.85% 0.60% 0.53% 0.51% RANK MANUFACTURERS Q1 2013 2 DEVICES Q1 2013RANK TYPE OS 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Apple iPhone Samsung Galaxy S BlackBerry Curve Samsung Galaxy 5 LG Optimus Samsung Galaxy Note Motorola Droid RAZR Samsung Galaxy Ace BlackBerry Bold HTC Evo BlackBerryTorch Samsung GalaxyY SamsungWithin HTC Desire SamsungVibrant Galaxy S BlackBerry BoldTouch Samsung Galaxy Nexus Motorola Droid X HTC One X LG Motion 20.41% 8.71% 3.26% 2.30% 1.89% 1.72% 1.31% 1.30% 1.15% 1.00% 0.88% 0.78% 0.69% 0.66% 0.64% 0.61% 0.57% 0.51% 0.48% 0.46% Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone Smartphone iOS Android BlackBerry OS Android Android Android Android Android BlackBerry OS Android BlackBerry OS Android Android Android Android BlackBerry OS Android Android Android Android Source: Millennial Media, Q1 2013. Source: Millennial Media, Q1 2013. Top 15 Manufacturers (all devices) Ranked by Impressions CHART A Top 20 Mobile Phones Ranked by Impressions CHART B Visit www.millennialmedia.com/mobile-intelligence/mobile-mix to sign up Source: Millennial Media, Q1 2013. Top 5Tablets on the Millennial Media Platform By Impressions CHART C Apple iPad* 1 Samsung GalaxyTab* 2 Amazon Kindle Fire* 3 AsusTransformer Pad 5 Google NexusTablet 4 * Ranked in the top 20 among all mobile devices The Google Nexus 7Tablet GREW126% from the previous quarter to enter ourTop 5Tablets. Apple Remains Dominant Apple was the top manufacturer on our platform in Q1 (Chart A). The Apple iPhone also continued to be the number one mobile phone on our platform in Q1 2013 (Chart B). Impressions from all models of the iPhone grew 28% from the previous quarter. Samsung Rising Samsung remained the second largest manufacturer on our platform in Q1 2013 (Chart A), with impressions up 19% from the previous quarter.The Samsung Galaxy Note is the first“phablet”(a smartphone with a screen size generally 5 to 8 inches in diagonal) to enter ourTop 20 Mobile Phones.The Galaxy Note grew 67% through the quarter to become the sixth largest mobile phone on our platform (Chart B). Amazon HitsTopTen Amazon rose to the number seven spot of the top manufacturers on our platform (Chart A), whose impressions grew 125% from the previous quarter.The growth of impressions from non-phone connected devices, such as tablets and e-readers, overall helped propel Amazon into the top ten. Tablets are Key to Growth The Apple iPad was the tablet from which we saw the largest number of impressions on our platform in Q1 2013, followed by the Samsung GalaxyTab, and the Amazon Kindle Fire (Chart C). Manufacturers with the leading tablets on our platform have also seen larger growth in overall impressions than those without a leading tablet device (Charts A & C).
  3. 3. Device & OS Mix millennial media’s T H E M O B I L E D E V I C E I N D E X Q1 2013 3Visit www.millennialmedia.com/mobile-intelligence/mobile-mix to sign up Changing Device Mix Smartphones accounted for 70% of total platform impressions in Q1 2013 (Chart D).While their percentage of overall platform impressions has decreased from the same quarter a year ago (Chart E), the volume of total smartphone impressions on our platform has increased.The mix of device impressions on our platform is changing to reflect the growth in tablet and non-phone connected devices. Tablet Growth Impressions from non-phone connected devices grew five percentage points from the same quarter a year ago to account for 25% of total platform impressions in Q1 2013 (Charts D & E).The increased adoption of these devices has grown globally as more consumers add a second or third mobile device to their lives. OS Mix Steady Android was the largest operating system on our platform, growing four percentage points from the previous year to account for 52% of the total impressions on our platform (Charts F & G). iOS, which grew six percentage points from the same quarter a year ago (Chart G), was the second largest operating system on our platform (Chart F).The growth in impressions from both Android and iOS devices is growing market share at the expense of other operating systems. The continued adoption of mobile devices is changing how consumers engage with consumer goods content, whether in-store, on-the-go, or at home. In Millennial Media’s recently-released Mobile Intel Series: Consumer Goods guide, findings show that consumers are using their devices to: • Research items for reviews and prices • Find store locations • Engage with their favorite brands Mobile Intel Series: Consumer Goods provides insight into this mobile audience, how they are using mobile to access content, and best practices for how consumer goods brands can succeed in mobile advertising. To download the free guide visit: www.millennialmedia.com/mobile-intelligence/mobile-intel-series MOBILE INTEL SERIES: CONSUMER GOODS NOW AVAILABLE Device Mix Ranked by Impressions CHART D CHART E 70% 25% 5% 75% 5% 20% Source: Millennial Media, Q1 2013 / Q1 2012. Smartphones Non-Phone Connected Devices Feature Phones Q12013 Q12012 OS Mix Ranked by Impressions CHART F CHART G 52% 1% 1% 1%3% 7% 39% 49% 14% 33% Source: Millennial Media, Q1 2013 / Q1 2012. Android iOS BlackBerry OS Windows Symbian Q12013 Q12012
  4. 4. The 2012Year in Review edition of S.M.A.R.T. features a year-over-year look at key global mobile advertiser trends, with a focus on the top verticals, campaign goals, and the most frequently targeted audiences. To download the free report visit: www.millennialmedia.com/mobile-intelligence/smart-report millennial media’s T H E M O B I L E D E V I C E I N D E X Q1 2013 Visit www.millennialmedia.com/mobile-intelligence/mobile-mix to sign up Device & OS Mix Tablet OS Mix by Device Ranked by Impressions CHART H Source: Millennial Media, Q1 2013. 45% 54% Android iOS BlackBerry OS Samsung GalaxyTab Amazon Kindle Fire Google Nexus 7 AsusTransformer Pad All Others 1% 35% 28% 7% 4% 26% 4 A LOOK BACK... Source: Millennial Media, Q1 2013 & Q1 2010. Millennial Media has published over 75 Mobile Intelligence reports since 2009.The mix of operating systems has drastically shifted from our first Mobile Mix report in Q1 2010. 70% 14% 6% 52% 7% 39% Q1 2010 Q1 2013 iOS BlackBerry OS Android iOSTablets Remain in the Lead Impressions from tablet devices on our platform grew year-over-year as global adoption of these devices continued. 54% of the tablet impressions on our platform in Q1 came from the two iOS tablet devices (Chart H), the Apple iPad and the iPad mini. Over three-quarters of these tablets are running iOS 6.0 or higher. Android Close, with Greater Diversity Of the total tablet impressions on our platform, 45% were from a diverse mix of Android tablets (Chart H), including dozens of manufacturers and devices. Android tablet impressions on our platform have grown 96% from the same quarter a year ago. Of the Android tablet impressions on our platform, Samsung was the leading manufacturer and the Samsung GalaxyTab was the largest device (35%), of which the 7-inch version saw the most impressions. Asus: New Entrant As shown in Chart C, the AsusTransformer Pad saw the fifth largest amount of impressions on our total platform, and was the fourth largest Android tablet (Chart H).The AsusTransformer Pad, released in Q3 of 2012, is sold as a larger, 10-inch touch screen tablet with an attachable keyboard for typing.
  5. 5. 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1 2 4 3 5 6 7 9 8 10 CATEGORIES Games Music & Entertainment Communications Mobile Social Media Productivity &Tools News Books & Reference Dating Sports Weather Top 10 Application Categories Ranked by Impressions CHART I Q42012Q12013 Source: Millennial Media, Q1 2013 & Q4 2012. Music & Entertainment Category Mix Ranked by Impressions CHART J Source: Millennial Media, Q1 2013. 51% 38% 7% Music & Radio Humor Photo &Video Personalization 4% millennial media’s T H E M O B I L E D E V I C E I N D E X Q1 2013 Visit www.millennialmedia.com/mobile-intelligence/mobile-mix to sign up Mobile DeveloperTrends Introducing SDK 5.0 for iOS & Android. Millennial Media’s latest SDK for iOS and Android makes it easier than ever to put premium ads in your apps and earn revenue. With SDK 5.0 you can: To download SDK 5.0 visit: http://mmedia.com/resources/sdk-api/ 5 Make Money Integrate Quickly & Easily Take Advantage of iOS 6 Capabilities Games Still Going Strong Games was the largest application category from which we saw impressions on our platform (Chart I), maintaining its position from the previous quarter.The mobile audience who plays mobile game applications is a large, diverse group that often belongs to multiple behavioral audiences, since gamers tend to be heavily engaged with their mobile device. Music & Entertainment On the Go Music & Entertainment maintained its number two position of the top application categories on our platform (Chart I). As shown in the breakout of Music & Entertainment applications on our platform (Chart J), the largest sub-categories, Music & Radio and Humor applications, have experienced growth with the increased popularity of streaming radio applications, and“just-for-fun”humor apps. Sports Aiming High Sports applications were the ninth largest app category from which we saw impressions on our platform in Q1 (Chart I). In Europe, Sports channel impressions surged on days Premier League and UEFA Champions League games were played. Daily volumes in Sports applications were three times higher than average on these days. Seasonal Storms Draw Mobile Users News andWeather were the number six and ten positions of the top application categories on our platform (Chart I). During the winter months of Q1, consumers used mobile to stay informed with real-time news and weather updates when snow storms threatened their area. During snow storm“Nemo”in New England, impressions fromWeather applications grew 40% throughout the week. In March, when the UK experienced its worst snowfall in 30 years, News impressions soared 80% as mobile kept users up-to-date with breaking news on the storm and its impact.
  6. 6. 46% Android surpassed iOS in December 2010 to become the largest OS on our platform, growing to of total platform impressions that year. Source: Millennial Media, Q1 2013. 2Xyear-over-year. Impressions from Amazon devices on our platform grew Source: Millennial Media, Q1 2012 & Q1 2013. 26%of Android tablet impressions are from the Amazon Kindle Fire. Source: Millennial Media, Q1 2013. 96%year-over-year. Impressions from Android tablet devices grew Source: Millennial Media, Q1 2012 & Q1 2013. Source: comScore MobiLens, March 2013, 3-month average. 46%of Android smartphone users have a 4G device. 56%year-over-year. Impressions from Samsung devices on our platform grew Source: Millennial Media, Q1 2012 & Q1 2013. >1.5MAndroid devices are being activated every day. Source: Google, April 2013. millennial media’s T H E M O B I L E D E V I C E I N D E X Q1 2013 Visit www.millennialmedia.com/mobile-intelligence/mobile-mix to sign up Android Spotlight 6 60%of Android users have a HHI over $50k / year. Source: comScore MobiLens, March 2013, 3-month average. 56%of Android users are over the age of 35. Source: comScore MobiLens, March 2013, 3-month average. 700K There are approximately apps in the Google Play store. Source: Google, October 2012. Source: comScore MobiLens, March 2013, 3-month average. 25%of iPad owners also own an Android smartphone.
  7. 7. millennial media’s T H E M O B I L E D E V I C E I N D E X Q1 2013 Visit www.millennialmedia.com/mobile-intelligence/mobile-mix to sign up 7 About Millennial Media Millennial Media is the leading independent mobile advertising and data platform. Our technology, tools and services help app developers and mobile website publishers maximize their advertising revenue, acquire users and gain audience insights. Our platform also enables us to offer advertisers powerful Mobile Audience Solutions (MAS) that utilize our significant scale, sophisticated targeting and uniquely engaging creative capabilities to deliver meaningful results. About Millennial Media’s Mobile Mix™ Millennial Media’s Mobile Mix™ reports key advertising trends with a focus on mobile manufacturers, devices, operating systems, connected devices and more. Millennial Media’s Mobile Mix™ is in complement to the Scorecard for Mobile Advertising Reach and Targeting (S.M.A.R.T.)™ report, which delivers monthly insights on advertising performance and engagement. Both reports are based on actual campaign and platform data from Millennial Media. As the leading independent mobile advertising and data platform, we are capable of reporting and analyzing data collected over tens of billions of monthly ad requests. Elevating and driving the whole mobile ecosystem forward is central to our company mission. For questions about the data in this report, or for recommendations for future reports, please contact us at research@millennialmedia.com. ©2013 Millennial Media, Inc. All rights reserved. All product names and images are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners.

×