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Profit is an opinion, but cash of lack thereof, is cold hard reality
1. Profit is an Opinion, but Cash or
lack thereof is Cold Hard Reality
Dennis L. Thompson, CPA, CFE
206-390-9432
www.dlthompsoncpa.com
@dennislt
2. Common Question By Owners
• If I am making so much money, how come I
don’t have any cash?
3. Agenda
• Types of Accounting
• Breakeven Analysis & Ratio Analysis
• Operating Cycle – Cash to Cash
• Mechanics of Projecting Cash Flow
• Drains on Cash
• Solutions
4. Underlying Themes
• The Importance of a Basic Understanding
of Accounting
• Having Accurate Accounting Information is
Critical
• Being Able to use Your Accounting
Information to Make Business Decisions
5. What is Financial Accounting
• Production of Financial Statements
– Income Statement
– Balance Sheet
• Bookkeeping
• Used for Tax Returns
• Designed for External Audience
– Bankers
– Tax Collectors
– Creditors and Investors
• Backword Looking
6. What Is Management Accounting
• Analysis of Costs - Breakeven
• Projection of Cash Flows
• Budgets
• Ratio Analysis
• Designed for Internal Audience
• Forward Looking
• The Information comes from your
Accounting System and Reports
8. Financial Statements-Compass
For Your Business
• Think of Your Business as a Small Plane
• Think of Your Accounting System as an
Instrument Panel
• Two Potential Problems
– Your Accounting Info is Wrong
– You Don’t Use Your Accounting Info
9. Categories of Financial
Statements
•Income Statement
– Where You Have Been
•Balance Sheet
– Where You Are Now
•Cash Flow Projection & Budgets
– Where You Are Going
• Statement of Cash Flows
• Do You Have a Viable Company
13. Statement of Cash Flows
Increase
Increase
Increase
Decrease
Decrease
14. Analysis of Costs - Breakeven
• Sales Price Per Unit or Service
– How much Gross Income per product or
service.
• Variable Cost Per Unit or Service
– What are the Directs Costs associated
with the product or service
• Fixed Costs (Overhead)
– Costs that need to be paid whether you
make a Sale or not, e.g. Rent, Insurance
15. Breakeven - Example
• Sales Price Per Unit $10
• Variable Cost Per Unit 7
• Contribution Margin Per Unit $3
• Fixed Costs $15,000
• Units Sold 5,000
• Contribution Margin Ratio
– $3/$10 = 30%
• Sales to Breakeven = Fixed Cost/CM Ratio
• $15,000/30% = $50,000
• $50,000 - $35,000-$15,000 = $0
18. What is Ratio Analysis
• Comparing different line items of the
Balance Sheet and Income Statement to
each other.
• For example, Current Ratio = Current
Assets/Current Liablilities
19. Ratio Analysis – Why Care
• Banks use Ratio Analysis in deciding to
extend Credit
• Ratio Analysis can serve as an Early
Warning System for your company
• It is useful to compare your Ratios to
Industry Standards
20. Ratio Analysis - Categories
• Profitability – e.g. Return on Equity
• Activity – e.g. A/R Turnover
• Leverage – e.g. Debt to Equity
• Liquidity – e.g. Current Ratio
30. Windish RV - Colorado
•40 Year Old Billing Clerk
•Embezzled $951k
•Fraud Lasted Three Years
•Created a Shell Company
– Wrote duplicate checks
– Deposited into Shell Business Account
•Plead guilty to felony theft
•Sentenced to 5 years
32. Payless Hardware-California
• 36 Year Accounts Receivable Clerk
– Worked from 2002 to 2009
– Embezzled $1.43 Million
• Skimmed Receivables
– Handled bank deposits
– Laundered money
• Convicted on 58 Felony Counts
– 1 count of grand theft
– 3 counts of filing fraudulent tax returns
– Sentenced to 10 years
– Husband sentenced to 1 year for money
laundering
33. Solutions to Improve Cash Flow
• Have a Basic Understanding of Accounting
and Taxes
– If you want to play the game, you need
to know how to keep score
• Have Accurate and Up to Date Accounting
Information
– Use Cloud Accounting
– Don’t Manage Your Business out of Your
Checking Account
34. Solutions To Improve Cash Flow
• Get Deposits Upfront
• Be Careful in Incurring Fixed Costs
• Don’t Pay Early Unless You Get a Discount
• Credit Reports on Customers
• Background Checks on Employees
• Reconcile Your Bank Account
• Don’t Spend Trust Funds – Payroll and
Sales Taxes
• Use Budgets
• Purchase Commercial Theft Insurance
35. Budgets
• Why Budget?
– Forces you to think strategically about
your business and goals
– Can help you anticipate problems
– Can help detect Fraud
– Sets Expectations for Employees
39. • Looking at Accrual Financial Statements
• Collection Problem with A/R
• Not All Cash Expenditures are Expenses
• Embezzlement of Cash
• Not Making Cash Flow Projections
• A Large Proportion of Expenses are Fixed
• Your Profit Margins are Shrinking
If I Am Making So Much Money, How
Come I Don’t Have Any Cash?