Ce diaporama a bien été signalé.
Nous utilisons votre profil LinkedIn et vos données d’activité pour vous proposer des publicités personnalisées et pertinentes. Vous pouvez changer vos préférences de publicités à tout moment.

The Three Branches of Government

3 125 vues

Publié le

A presentation for The Read/Write Web class.

Publié dans : Formation
  • Soyez le premier à commenter

The Three Branches of Government

  1. 1. The Three Branches of Government Mrs. Glover 4th Grade History Class
  2. 2. How does the government get the power? • Under the Constitution, the powers of government are limited by law. • The Constitution had to give the federal government the power to govern the nation, but it also had to protect the states and citizens from that power. • The Constitution also required the national government to defend the country and to work for the common good of the nation.
  3. 3. Separation of Powers • Under the Constitution, three branches share government powers. • The delegates created this separation of powers to keep any one branch from controlling the government. • It creates a limited government, protecting both citizens and the other branches.
  4. 4. The Three Branches of Government • Legislative Branch • Executive Branch • Judicial Branch
  5. 5. Let’s Watch a Video School House Rock: Three Ring Government- It's Our Political Circus!! By: Kyle Hardaway http://youtu.be/YMY6lOVjQgs
  6. 6. The Branches of Government
  7. 7. Legislative Branch • In Article 1 of the Constitution, we find the explanation of the legislative branch. • The legislative branch is also known as the lawmaking branch of the government. • The Congress is given the powers to make laws to manage conflict, raising an army and a navy, declaring war, and coining and printing money. • Congress also controls commerce, or trade.
  8. 8. Legislative Branch • Congress became two houses—the House of Representatives and the Senate. • Either house could propose most bills. • For a bill to become law, a majority in each house would have to vote for it.
  9. 9. The Executive Branch • In Article 2, we find the explanation of the executive branch. • The executive branch has the power to enforce laws. • The delegates decided to have a President., who is also known as the chief executive. • Citizens vote for electors, who vote for the President. This group of electors is called the electoral college.
  10. 10. To Qualify to be the President… – One must be at least 35 years old – born in the United States – live in the United States for 14 years.
  11. 11. The Executive Branch • The President could veto, or reject, bills passed by Congress. • However, Congress could then override the President's veto with a two-thirds vote.
  12. 12. Executive Branch • The delegates also made the President commander in chief of the military. • The President's main power, however, would be to “take care that the laws be faithfully executed.” • If this duty was not met, Congress could impeach the President, or accuse the President of crimes. • If found guilty, the President could be removed from office.
  13. 13. The Judicial Branch • The countries court system • Interprets the meaning of laws • Determine how laws are applied • Determines if the law follows the guidelines of the constitution.
  14. 14. The Judicial Branch • The states have their own courts. • A federal court system was developed by delegates. • Federal courts would decide cases that dealt with the Constitution, treaties, and national laws. • Federal court also decide cases between states and between citizens of different states.
  15. 15. The Supreme Court • The Supreme Court is the highest court in the United States. • It is the head of the judicial branch. • The President would nominate the Supreme Court justices, or judges. • The Senate would vote whether to approve them. • The delegates decided that Supreme Court justices could stay in office for life. • At first, there were six Supreme Court justices. Today, there are nine.
  16. 16. The Supreme Court • The Supreme Court has the power to strike down any law that goes against the Constitution. • Only by changing the Constitution can Congress restore a law struck down by the Supreme Court. • The government must also apply laws equally to every person. This is called rule of law.
  17. 17. Resources Berson, M., Howard, T. & Salinas, C. (2010). Social studies: the United States, making a new nation. Orlando, Fla: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt School Publishing. Branch of Government Photo Retrieved June 4,2014 on https://www.flickr.com/photos/28768887@N07/2 683998145/sizes/m School House Rock: Three Ring Government- It's Our Political Circus!! Retrieved on June 4, 2014 http://youtu.be/YMY6lOVjQgs