Measuring the performance of your content marketing strategy is a challenge that baffles many marketers. Find out how you can set yourself by success by creating a content marketing report. (Presentation from WordCamp London 2017)
6. Playbill
• Act 1: Content is part of your business strategy
• Act 2: How to set up a report
• Act 3: How to calculate ROI
7. • Content marketer with
strong focus on SaaS
companies
• Curator of Content
Marketing Weekly
newsletter
• Saints fan, have traveled
to Hull, Swansea, and
Southampton
A bit about myself…
10. What are your goals with content?
• NOT “Traffic” → It could be a KPI (next slide)
• Do you have someone doing Sales? → It could be
leads
• Are you selling a digital product (SaaS)? → Trials
started
11. Tie your KPI framework with the goals
• KPI = Key Performance Indicator
• What metric shows progress on your goals?
• Some popular options include:
• Traffic
• Shares & Comments
• Leads generated
• Conversions
13. What tools to use
• Google Analytics → straightforward (sort of)
• Woopra → detailed analytics, free plan
• Google Search Console → for measuring SEO
• Google Sheets + Analytics Add-on → for the
actual report
18. Some things you should consider
• Attribution → consider using UTM links
• Set up goals in Google Analytics / Woopra
• How to measure to avoid data issues (spikes, etc.)
26. You need to know two numbers
• CAC: Cost of Acquiring a Customer
• LTV: Average Customer Lifetime Value
27. How to find out your CAC
• In February you generated 4 clients and spent £1200 on
content:
• Writing: £800 (4 posts x £200 each)
• Editing: £300 (10 hours x £30)
• Tools (hosting, keyword research, email provider, lead
gen): £100
• => Your CAC of content is £1200 / 4 = £300
• But this is quite simplified…
28. Calculating LTV is similar
• In reality, it’s the average deal size, but with
caveats…
• If you’re selling a subscription-based product (e.g.
SaaS, productized consulting, etc.), => average
[monthly/annual] rate x average time someone’s
a customer
• If you’re freelancing (e.g. building websites for
clients) => figure out your average deal size