SlideShare une entreprise Scribd logo
1  sur  33
Télécharger pour lire hors ligne
Boost Your Growth Engine with
Analytics*
@buyukgokcesu
BoostingConversion.com
BoostingConversion.com
Cemal Buyukgokcesu
Analytics and Conversion Consultant
analytics
analyticsdigital analyticsanalytics insightsstartup analyticsdigital analyticsanalytics insights
analyticsdigital analyticsanalytics insights
analyticsdigital analyticsanalytics insightsstartup analyticsstartup analytics
13%
11%
16%
60%
Entry Product view Add to basket Purchase Order status checking
Entry Product view Add to basket Purchase Order status checking
Entry Product view Add to basket Purchase Order status checking
% of product pages viewed per device
There are known knowns; there are things we
know we know (FACTS)
We also know there are known unknowns; that
is to say we know there are some things we do
not know (QUESTIONS)
There are also unknown unknowns; the ones
we don't know we don't know (EXPLORATION)
What makes a good metric for a
startup?
Comparative
A good metric should allow you to experiment, learn
and iterate with it.
Understandable Ratio or rate Actionable
Before choosing the right metric for
you...
Qualitative vs Quantitative
Leading vs Lagging
Correlated vs Causal
Vanity vs Actionable
What metrics to track?
- Metrics are “Business Type” dependent
- Metrics are “Stage of your startup’s
growth” dependent
Source: http://leananalyticsbook.com/one-metric-that-matters/
Pirate metrics by Dave McClure
(venture capitalist)
Source: http://www.slideshare.net/dmc500hats/startup-metrics-for-pirates-long-version
Empathy:
Get inside your target
market’s head and be sure
you are solving a problem
people care about in a way
someone will pay for
Lean Analytics Stages
by Alistair Croll and Benjamin Yoskovitz
Product/Market Fit Question
“How would you feel if you could no longer use [your
product]?”
Measure results on a scale, and define the success
Eg. At least 40% of users should say “Very disappointed”
Example metrics to track:
- Daily/weekly active users
- Bounce rate
- Length of time it takes someone
to become inactive
- # of inactive users that are
reactivated when sent an email
- Features users engage and
spend time with
- Features users ignore
Stickiness comes from a good
product
- Don’t look for rapid growth
- Focus is around retention
and engagement metrics
- Segment metrics by cohort
A segment is a group
that shares some
common characteristics
eg.
Visitors using firefox
browser have
significantly fewer
engagement
Total Users Average
Churn Rate
January 1.000 24%
February 2.000 23%
March 3.000 23%
April 4.000 21%
May 5.000 18%
Average Churn Rate
of Cohort Users
18%
17%
16%
13%
8%
Cohort Analysis compares similar
groups over time
We are all
delusional
Virality: Focus on user
acquisition and growth
- but keep an eye on your
stickiness too
NPS = % Promoters - % Detractors
One question survey:
“How likely is it you would recommend my
product to a friend or colleague?”
Some examples of leading indicators
of engaged users
Facebook: User reaching 7 friends
within 10 days of signing up
Zynga: Day 1 retention - if someone
comes back a day after signing up for
a game
Source: http://www.richardprice.io/post/34652740246/growth-hacking-leading-indicators-of-engaged-users
Some examples of leading indicators
of engaged users
Dropbox: When users put at least one file in
one Dropbox folder on one device
Twitter: Following a certain number of people,
and a certain percentage of those people
following the user back
LinkedIn: User getting to X connections in Y
days
Source: http://www.richardprice.io/post/34652740246/growth-hacking-leading-indicators-of-engaged-users
Example metrics to track:
- Customer lifetime value
- Revenue per customer
- Click-through Rate
- Conversion rate
- Cart size
- Checkout abandonment rate
- Customer acquisition cost
- Months to customer breakeven
- Cancellation rate
Source: http://www.kaushik.net/avinash/best-web-metrics-kpis-small-medium-large-business/
Cancellation rate
=
Percentage number of customers
who cancel in any given month
compared to total (paying)
customers
# months = 1 / cancellation rate
LTV = monthly revenue / cancellation rate
Customer lifetime value (LTV)
=
Monthly revenue
x
# months in lifetime
If user’s monthly revenue €20 a month
and cancellation rate is 10% a month
LTV = monthly revenue / cancellation rate
LTV = €20 / 10% = €200
Remember:
Short term cancellation rates are much higher than long term
Time to customer breakeven:
How long a customer takes to pay
you back?
$27 Customer lifetime value
11 Months from activation to departure
$2.45 Average revenue per customer per month
$14 Cost to acquire a customer
5.7 Months to customer breakeven
Find the
One Metric That
Matters
Pick a single metric
that’s incredibly
important for the
step you’re currently
working through in
your startup
Source: http://www.kaushik.net/avinash/lean-analytics-cycle-metrics-hypothesis-experiment-act/
Purpose of analytics
To find your way to the right product and market before the money
runs out
A good metric
A good metric is comparative, understandable, ratio or rate,
actionable
Segments, cohorts, tests
Use segments, analyze cohorts, make testing part of your DNA
Before deciding on metrics to track
Confirm your “Business Type” and “Stage of your startup’s growth”
Focus on one metric
Find your One Metric That Matters
Thanks!
@buyukgokcesu
BoostingConversion.com
BoostingConversion.com
Cemal Buyukgokcesu
Analytics and Conversion Consultant

Contenu connexe

Tendances

Tendances (20)

Google Analytics ppt
Google Analytics  pptGoogle Analytics  ppt
Google Analytics ppt
 
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Retirement Communities
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Retirement CommunitiesGoogle Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Retirement Communities
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Retirement Communities
 
Google Analytics: The Basics
Google Analytics: The BasicsGoogle Analytics: The Basics
Google Analytics: The Basics
 
Introduction to Google Analytics
Introduction to Google AnalyticsIntroduction to Google Analytics
Introduction to Google Analytics
 
Introduction to Google Analytics
Introduction to Google AnalyticsIntroduction to Google Analytics
Introduction to Google Analytics
 
Introduction to web analytics and the Google analytics platform pdf
Introduction to web analytics and the Google analytics platform pdfIntroduction to web analytics and the Google analytics platform pdf
Introduction to web analytics and the Google analytics platform pdf
 
Google Analytics 101 #SMAMI 2017
Google Analytics 101 #SMAMI 2017Google Analytics 101 #SMAMI 2017
Google Analytics 101 #SMAMI 2017
 
Metrics to Track Using Google Analytics for a SAAS company
Metrics to Track Using Google Analytics for a SAAS companyMetrics to Track Using Google Analytics for a SAAS company
Metrics to Track Using Google Analytics for a SAAS company
 
An introduction to Google Analytics
An introduction to Google AnalyticsAn introduction to Google Analytics
An introduction to Google Analytics
 
Google Analytics
Google AnalyticsGoogle Analytics
Google Analytics
 
Measuring What Matters with Google Analytics
Measuring What Matters with Google AnalyticsMeasuring What Matters with Google Analytics
Measuring What Matters with Google Analytics
 
Chapter 9 - Analytics
Chapter 9 - AnalyticsChapter 9 - Analytics
Chapter 9 - Analytics
 
Google Analytics for Beginners - Training
Google Analytics for Beginners - TrainingGoogle Analytics for Beginners - Training
Google Analytics for Beginners - Training
 
Introduction to Google Analytics
Introduction to Google AnalyticsIntroduction to Google Analytics
Introduction to Google Analytics
 
Google Analytics Class One
Google Analytics Class OneGoogle Analytics Class One
Google Analytics Class One
 
Intent Based Analytics with Google Analytics and Google Tag Manager
Intent Based Analytics with Google Analytics and Google Tag ManagerIntent Based Analytics with Google Analytics and Google Tag Manager
Intent Based Analytics with Google Analytics and Google Tag Manager
 
Google Analytics
Google AnalyticsGoogle Analytics
Google Analytics
 
Google analytics glossary
Google analytics glossaryGoogle analytics glossary
Google analytics glossary
 
Web Analytics : A Detailed Study
Web Analytics : A Detailed StudyWeb Analytics : A Detailed Study
Web Analytics : A Detailed Study
 
Next Generation Measurement with Google Analytics - Dara Fitzgerald, Fresh Egg
Next Generation Measurement with Google Analytics - Dara Fitzgerald, Fresh EggNext Generation Measurement with Google Analytics - Dara Fitzgerald, Fresh Egg
Next Generation Measurement with Google Analytics - Dara Fitzgerald, Fresh Egg
 

En vedette

Room 3 investigates
Room 3 investigatesRoom 3 investigates
Room 3 investigates
Jan Pickett
 
Digital Design Presentation
Digital Design PresentationDigital Design Presentation
Digital Design Presentation
jsander103
 
Learn Through Play
Learn Through PlayLearn Through Play
Learn Through Play
PolinaSaper
 
18.301.trivedi.pooja
18.301.trivedi.pooja18.301.trivedi.pooja
18.301.trivedi.pooja
poojatrivedi
 

En vedette (20)

Dharapaper6
Dharapaper6Dharapaper6
Dharapaper6
 
Room 3 investigates
Room 3 investigatesRoom 3 investigates
Room 3 investigates
 
Digital Design Presentation
Digital Design PresentationDigital Design Presentation
Digital Design Presentation
 
Kayleigh
KayleighKayleigh
Kayleigh
 
Plan de mk
Plan de mkPlan de mk
Plan de mk
 
Dhara paper 3
Dhara paper 3Dhara paper 3
Dhara paper 3
 
Our Poetry
Our PoetryOur Poetry
Our Poetry
 
Capital mkt (2)
Capital mkt (2)Capital mkt (2)
Capital mkt (2)
 
Time Management
Time ManagementTime Management
Time Management
 
Learn Through Play
Learn Through PlayLearn Through Play
Learn Through Play
 
18.301.trivedi.pooja
18.301.trivedi.pooja18.301.trivedi.pooja
18.301.trivedi.pooja
 
Search marketing, Find the good media mix
Search marketing, Find the good media mixSearch marketing, Find the good media mix
Search marketing, Find the good media mix
 
101 google auction system
101 google auction system101 google auction system
101 google auction system
 
บัตรลดหนี้ วินัยดีมีวงเงิน
บัตรลดหนี้ วินัยดีมีวงเงินบัตรลดหนี้ วินัยดีมีวงเงิน
บัตรลดหนี้ วินัยดีมีวงเงิน
 
Networlding Sara Knowles
Networlding Sara KnowlesNetworlding Sara Knowles
Networlding Sara Knowles
 
Spa em casa
Spa em casaSpa em casa
Spa em casa
 
Measuring and Optimising Apps using Google Mobile App Analytics
Measuring and Optimising Apps using Google Mobile App AnalyticsMeasuring and Optimising Apps using Google Mobile App Analytics
Measuring and Optimising Apps using Google Mobile App Analytics
 
Translation
TranslationTranslation
Translation
 
Pemodelan Sintetik Gayaberat Mikro Selang Waktu Lubang Bor Menggunakan BHGM A...
Pemodelan Sintetik Gayaberat Mikro Selang Waktu Lubang Bor Menggunakan BHGM A...Pemodelan Sintetik Gayaberat Mikro Selang Waktu Lubang Bor Menggunakan BHGM A...
Pemodelan Sintetik Gayaberat Mikro Selang Waktu Lubang Bor Menggunakan BHGM A...
 
Open labs presented at FSK12
Open labs presented at FSK12Open labs presented at FSK12
Open labs presented at FSK12
 

Similaire à Boost Your Growth Engine with Analytics

Chi pma metrics presentation
Chi pma metrics presentationChi pma metrics presentation
Chi pma metrics presentation
toddwyder
 
SPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics Presentation
SPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics PresentationSPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics Presentation
SPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics Presentation
Azul 7
 
CS 2014-15-2
CS 2014-15-2CS 2014-15-2
CS 2014-15-2
Jim Head
 

Similaire à Boost Your Growth Engine with Analytics (20)

Optimizely Summer School Class 1 - Analyze
Optimizely Summer School Class 1 - AnalyzeOptimizely Summer School Class 1 - Analyze
Optimizely Summer School Class 1 - Analyze
 
How Analytics Should Power Your Conversion Strategy
How Analytics Should Power Your Conversion StrategyHow Analytics Should Power Your Conversion Strategy
How Analytics Should Power Your Conversion Strategy
 
Chi pma metrics presentation
Chi pma metrics presentationChi pma metrics presentation
Chi pma metrics presentation
 
Building Analytics for Growth
Building Analytics for GrowthBuilding Analytics for Growth
Building Analytics for Growth
 
Click Ventures Startup Metrics Playbook by Summer Interns 2018
Click Ventures Startup Metrics Playbook by Summer Interns 2018Click Ventures Startup Metrics Playbook by Summer Interns 2018
Click Ventures Startup Metrics Playbook by Summer Interns 2018
 
SPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics Presentation
SPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics PresentationSPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics Presentation
SPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics Presentation
 
Digital Marketing Course Week 4: Digital Analytics
Digital Marketing Course Week 4: Digital AnalyticsDigital Marketing Course Week 4: Digital Analytics
Digital Marketing Course Week 4: Digital Analytics
 
Startup Metrics
Startup MetricsStartup Metrics
Startup Metrics
 
Google Analytics : Overview & Customization
Google Analytics : Overview & CustomizationGoogle Analytics : Overview & Customization
Google Analytics : Overview & Customization
 
Digital measurement & analytics
Digital measurement & analyticsDigital measurement & analytics
Digital measurement & analytics
 
Growth for SaaS using conversion optimization
Growth for SaaS using conversion optimizationGrowth for SaaS using conversion optimization
Growth for SaaS using conversion optimization
 
Google Analytics : Overview & Basic Customization for Retirement Communities
Google Analytics : Overview & Basic Customization for Retirement CommunitiesGoogle Analytics : Overview & Basic Customization for Retirement Communities
Google Analytics : Overview & Basic Customization for Retirement Communities
 
CS 2014-15-2
CS 2014-15-2CS 2014-15-2
CS 2014-15-2
 
Scribd, inc. slide share - google play - worldwide - 2021-05-03 18-07_11
Scribd, inc.   slide share - google play - worldwide - 2021-05-03 18-07_11Scribd, inc.   slide share - google play - worldwide - 2021-05-03 18-07_11
Scribd, inc. slide share - google play - worldwide - 2021-05-03 18-07_11
 
Develop and Grow your Audience with Google Analytics
Develop and Grow your Audience with Google AnalyticsDevelop and Grow your Audience with Google Analytics
Develop and Grow your Audience with Google Analytics
 
7 essential google analytics reports
7 essential google analytics reports7 essential google analytics reports
7 essential google analytics reports
 
Digital marketing metrics and measurement
Digital marketing metrics and measurementDigital marketing metrics and measurement
Digital marketing metrics and measurement
 
Grow Hack Athens Pt.2: Growth Hacking For Mobile Apps
Grow Hack Athens Pt.2: Growth Hacking For Mobile AppsGrow Hack Athens Pt.2: Growth Hacking For Mobile Apps
Grow Hack Athens Pt.2: Growth Hacking For Mobile Apps
 
Funnels Workshop Web Summit 2014 @geckoboard @GA
Funnels Workshop Web Summit 2014 @geckoboard @GAFunnels Workshop Web Summit 2014 @geckoboard @GA
Funnels Workshop Web Summit 2014 @geckoboard @GA
 
How to Create Winning A/B Tests through Stronger Research
How to Create Winning A/B Tests through Stronger ResearchHow to Create Winning A/B Tests through Stronger Research
How to Create Winning A/B Tests through Stronger Research
 

Plus de Cemal Buyukgokcesu

Plus de Cemal Buyukgokcesu (8)

Digital Analytics Summit - Bogazici University - November 2015
Digital Analytics Summit - Bogazici University - November 2015Digital Analytics Summit - Bogazici University - November 2015
Digital Analytics Summit - Bogazici University - November 2015
 
Digital Advertising & SEM - Bogazici University Marketing Department Lecture ...
Digital Advertising & SEM - Bogazici University Marketing Department Lecture ...Digital Advertising & SEM - Bogazici University Marketing Department Lecture ...
Digital Advertising & SEM - Bogazici University Marketing Department Lecture ...
 
Digital Talks Spring'15 - User Experience
Digital Talks Spring'15 - User ExperienceDigital Talks Spring'15 - User Experience
Digital Talks Spring'15 - User Experience
 
Understanding the Digital User - Bogazici University / Digital Times Summit (...
Understanding the Digital User - Bogazici University / Digital Times Summit (...Understanding the Digital User - Bogazici University / Digital Times Summit (...
Understanding the Digital User - Bogazici University / Digital Times Summit (...
 
Optimize Your Business Results: A look into Site Conversion Optimization & Di...
Optimize Your Business Results: A look into Site Conversion Optimization & Di...Optimize Your Business Results: A look into Site Conversion Optimization & Di...
Optimize Your Business Results: A look into Site Conversion Optimization & Di...
 
Understand your multi-screen users with Google Analytics
Understand your multi-screen users with Google AnalyticsUnderstand your multi-screen users with Google Analytics
Understand your multi-screen users with Google Analytics
 
Çok Ekranlı Dünyada Kullanıcıları Anlamak - MarketingTalks (Turkish)
Çok Ekranlı Dünyada Kullanıcıları Anlamak - MarketingTalks (Turkish)Çok Ekranlı Dünyada Kullanıcıları Anlamak - MarketingTalks (Turkish)
Çok Ekranlı Dünyada Kullanıcıları Anlamak - MarketingTalks (Turkish)
 
Know and Delight Your Users: UX Analytics
Know and Delight Your Users: UX AnalyticsKnow and Delight Your Users: UX Analytics
Know and Delight Your Users: UX Analytics
 

Dernier

Uncommon Grace The Autobiography of Isaac Folorunso
Uncommon Grace The Autobiography of Isaac FolorunsoUncommon Grace The Autobiography of Isaac Folorunso
Uncommon Grace The Autobiography of Isaac Folorunso
Kayode Fayemi
 
Chiulli_Aurora_Oman_Raffaele_Beowulf.pptx
Chiulli_Aurora_Oman_Raffaele_Beowulf.pptxChiulli_Aurora_Oman_Raffaele_Beowulf.pptx
Chiulli_Aurora_Oman_Raffaele_Beowulf.pptx
raffaeleoman
 
Bring back lost lover in USA, Canada ,Uk ,Australia ,London Lost Love Spell C...
Bring back lost lover in USA, Canada ,Uk ,Australia ,London Lost Love Spell C...Bring back lost lover in USA, Canada ,Uk ,Australia ,London Lost Love Spell C...
Bring back lost lover in USA, Canada ,Uk ,Australia ,London Lost Love Spell C...
amilabibi1
 
If this Giant Must Walk: A Manifesto for a New Nigeria
If this Giant Must Walk: A Manifesto for a New NigeriaIf this Giant Must Walk: A Manifesto for a New Nigeria
If this Giant Must Walk: A Manifesto for a New Nigeria
Kayode Fayemi
 

Dernier (18)

Sector 62, Noida Call girls :8448380779 Noida Escorts | 100% verified
Sector 62, Noida Call girls :8448380779 Noida Escorts | 100% verifiedSector 62, Noida Call girls :8448380779 Noida Escorts | 100% verified
Sector 62, Noida Call girls :8448380779 Noida Escorts | 100% verified
 
Digital collaboration with Microsoft 365 as extension of Drupal
Digital collaboration with Microsoft 365 as extension of DrupalDigital collaboration with Microsoft 365 as extension of Drupal
Digital collaboration with Microsoft 365 as extension of Drupal
 
Thirunelveli call girls Tamil escorts 7877702510
Thirunelveli call girls Tamil escorts 7877702510Thirunelveli call girls Tamil escorts 7877702510
Thirunelveli call girls Tamil escorts 7877702510
 
Busty Desi⚡Call Girls in Sector 51 Noida Escorts >༒8448380779 Escort Service-...
Busty Desi⚡Call Girls in Sector 51 Noida Escorts >༒8448380779 Escort Service-...Busty Desi⚡Call Girls in Sector 51 Noida Escorts >༒8448380779 Escort Service-...
Busty Desi⚡Call Girls in Sector 51 Noida Escorts >༒8448380779 Escort Service-...
 
Dreaming Marissa Sánchez Music Video Treatment
Dreaming Marissa Sánchez Music Video TreatmentDreaming Marissa Sánchez Music Video Treatment
Dreaming Marissa Sánchez Music Video Treatment
 
Aesthetic Colaba Mumbai Cst Call girls 📞 7738631006 Grant road Call Girls ❤️-...
Aesthetic Colaba Mumbai Cst Call girls 📞 7738631006 Grant road Call Girls ❤️-...Aesthetic Colaba Mumbai Cst Call girls 📞 7738631006 Grant road Call Girls ❤️-...
Aesthetic Colaba Mumbai Cst Call girls 📞 7738631006 Grant road Call Girls ❤️-...
 
Uncommon Grace The Autobiography of Isaac Folorunso
Uncommon Grace The Autobiography of Isaac FolorunsoUncommon Grace The Autobiography of Isaac Folorunso
Uncommon Grace The Autobiography of Isaac Folorunso
 
My Presentation "In Your Hands" by Halle Bailey
My Presentation "In Your Hands" by Halle BaileyMy Presentation "In Your Hands" by Halle Bailey
My Presentation "In Your Hands" by Halle Bailey
 
ICT role in 21st century education and it's challenges.pdf
ICT role in 21st century education and it's challenges.pdfICT role in 21st century education and it's challenges.pdf
ICT role in 21st century education and it's challenges.pdf
 
lONG QUESTION ANSWER PAKISTAN STUDIES10.
lONG QUESTION ANSWER PAKISTAN STUDIES10.lONG QUESTION ANSWER PAKISTAN STUDIES10.
lONG QUESTION ANSWER PAKISTAN STUDIES10.
 
Chiulli_Aurora_Oman_Raffaele_Beowulf.pptx
Chiulli_Aurora_Oman_Raffaele_Beowulf.pptxChiulli_Aurora_Oman_Raffaele_Beowulf.pptx
Chiulli_Aurora_Oman_Raffaele_Beowulf.pptx
 
Bring back lost lover in USA, Canada ,Uk ,Australia ,London Lost Love Spell C...
Bring back lost lover in USA, Canada ,Uk ,Australia ,London Lost Love Spell C...Bring back lost lover in USA, Canada ,Uk ,Australia ,London Lost Love Spell C...
Bring back lost lover in USA, Canada ,Uk ,Australia ,London Lost Love Spell C...
 
The workplace ecosystem of the future 24.4.2024 Fabritius_share ii.pdf
The workplace ecosystem of the future 24.4.2024 Fabritius_share ii.pdfThe workplace ecosystem of the future 24.4.2024 Fabritius_share ii.pdf
The workplace ecosystem of the future 24.4.2024 Fabritius_share ii.pdf
 
Dreaming Music Video Treatment _ Project & Portfolio III
Dreaming Music Video Treatment _ Project & Portfolio IIIDreaming Music Video Treatment _ Project & Portfolio III
Dreaming Music Video Treatment _ Project & Portfolio III
 
If this Giant Must Walk: A Manifesto for a New Nigeria
If this Giant Must Walk: A Manifesto for a New NigeriaIf this Giant Must Walk: A Manifesto for a New Nigeria
If this Giant Must Walk: A Manifesto for a New Nigeria
 
AWS Data Engineer Associate (DEA-C01) Exam Dumps 2024.pdf
AWS Data Engineer Associate (DEA-C01) Exam Dumps 2024.pdfAWS Data Engineer Associate (DEA-C01) Exam Dumps 2024.pdf
AWS Data Engineer Associate (DEA-C01) Exam Dumps 2024.pdf
 
Report Writing Webinar Training
Report Writing Webinar TrainingReport Writing Webinar Training
Report Writing Webinar Training
 
Causes of poverty in France presentation.pptx
Causes of poverty in France presentation.pptxCauses of poverty in France presentation.pptx
Causes of poverty in France presentation.pptx
 

Boost Your Growth Engine with Analytics

  • 1. Boost Your Growth Engine with Analytics* @buyukgokcesu BoostingConversion.com BoostingConversion.com Cemal Buyukgokcesu Analytics and Conversion Consultant
  • 3. analyticsdigital analyticsanalytics insightsstartup analyticsdigital analyticsanalytics insights
  • 6. 13% 11% 16% 60% Entry Product view Add to basket Purchase Order status checking Entry Product view Add to basket Purchase Order status checking Entry Product view Add to basket Purchase Order status checking % of product pages viewed per device
  • 7. There are known knowns; there are things we know we know (FACTS) We also know there are known unknowns; that is to say we know there are some things we do not know (QUESTIONS) There are also unknown unknowns; the ones we don't know we don't know (EXPLORATION)
  • 8. What makes a good metric for a startup? Comparative A good metric should allow you to experiment, learn and iterate with it. Understandable Ratio or rate Actionable
  • 9. Before choosing the right metric for you... Qualitative vs Quantitative Leading vs Lagging Correlated vs Causal Vanity vs Actionable
  • 10.
  • 11.
  • 12. What metrics to track? - Metrics are “Business Type” dependent - Metrics are “Stage of your startup’s growth” dependent Source: http://leananalyticsbook.com/one-metric-that-matters/
  • 13. Pirate metrics by Dave McClure (venture capitalist) Source: http://www.slideshare.net/dmc500hats/startup-metrics-for-pirates-long-version
  • 14. Empathy: Get inside your target market’s head and be sure you are solving a problem people care about in a way someone will pay for Lean Analytics Stages by Alistair Croll and Benjamin Yoskovitz
  • 15. Product/Market Fit Question “How would you feel if you could no longer use [your product]?” Measure results on a scale, and define the success Eg. At least 40% of users should say “Very disappointed”
  • 16. Example metrics to track: - Daily/weekly active users - Bounce rate - Length of time it takes someone to become inactive - # of inactive users that are reactivated when sent an email - Features users engage and spend time with - Features users ignore Stickiness comes from a good product - Don’t look for rapid growth - Focus is around retention and engagement metrics - Segment metrics by cohort
  • 17. A segment is a group that shares some common characteristics eg. Visitors using firefox browser have significantly fewer engagement
  • 18. Total Users Average Churn Rate January 1.000 24% February 2.000 23% March 3.000 23% April 4.000 21% May 5.000 18% Average Churn Rate of Cohort Users 18% 17% 16% 13% 8% Cohort Analysis compares similar groups over time
  • 19. We are all delusional Virality: Focus on user acquisition and growth - but keep an eye on your stickiness too
  • 20. NPS = % Promoters - % Detractors One question survey: “How likely is it you would recommend my product to a friend or colleague?”
  • 21. Some examples of leading indicators of engaged users Facebook: User reaching 7 friends within 10 days of signing up Zynga: Day 1 retention - if someone comes back a day after signing up for a game Source: http://www.richardprice.io/post/34652740246/growth-hacking-leading-indicators-of-engaged-users
  • 22. Some examples of leading indicators of engaged users Dropbox: When users put at least one file in one Dropbox folder on one device Twitter: Following a certain number of people, and a certain percentage of those people following the user back LinkedIn: User getting to X connections in Y days Source: http://www.richardprice.io/post/34652740246/growth-hacking-leading-indicators-of-engaged-users
  • 23. Example metrics to track: - Customer lifetime value - Revenue per customer - Click-through Rate - Conversion rate - Cart size - Checkout abandonment rate - Customer acquisition cost - Months to customer breakeven - Cancellation rate
  • 25. Cancellation rate = Percentage number of customers who cancel in any given month compared to total (paying) customers
  • 26. # months = 1 / cancellation rate LTV = monthly revenue / cancellation rate Customer lifetime value (LTV) = Monthly revenue x # months in lifetime
  • 27. If user’s monthly revenue €20 a month and cancellation rate is 10% a month LTV = monthly revenue / cancellation rate LTV = €20 / 10% = €200 Remember: Short term cancellation rates are much higher than long term
  • 28. Time to customer breakeven: How long a customer takes to pay you back? $27 Customer lifetime value 11 Months from activation to departure $2.45 Average revenue per customer per month $14 Cost to acquire a customer 5.7 Months to customer breakeven
  • 29. Find the One Metric That Matters Pick a single metric that’s incredibly important for the step you’re currently working through in your startup Source: http://www.kaushik.net/avinash/lean-analytics-cycle-metrics-hypothesis-experiment-act/
  • 30.
  • 31.
  • 32. Purpose of analytics To find your way to the right product and market before the money runs out A good metric A good metric is comparative, understandable, ratio or rate, actionable Segments, cohorts, tests Use segments, analyze cohorts, make testing part of your DNA Before deciding on metrics to track Confirm your “Business Type” and “Stage of your startup’s growth” Focus on one metric Find your One Metric That Matters