Thanos Dimitriou Commercial Director Netsteps
Ioannis Karalis Founder and CEO Netsteps
Ioannis Karalis is the founder and CEO of Netsteps. The company was founded in 2013 and specializes in consultancy, implementation and marketing for e-commerce projects.
Before that, he studied Physics at the University of Athens and completed his first year of postgraduate studies at Athens Information Technology (A.I.T.). interrupted his studies and started working on IT projects in the web.
He has worked in the educational sector, teaching computer science and programming. Then he worked for Singular Logic PCS company on the implementation of projects for the banking sector.
3. Business Intelligence
• What is your Customer Lifetime Value?
• What is the time between orders of your Loyal
Customers?
• After which order a customer becomes loyal?
• Which of my customers are coupon lovers?
• What is the marketing channel that brings you the
most loyal customers?
4. Basic Terminology
• CPA: Cost Per Acquisition
• CLV: Customer Life Time Value
• AOV: Average Order Value
• ROAS: Return On Advertising Spending
• PROFIT: Profit ☺
• Time To Market: The time we need from the idea
to implementation.
5. Find the CPA that fits to your business!
CPA
0.5€ 5€ 10€ 20€ 50€
PROFIT
ROAS
6. Which Campaign performs better?
Campaign
A
CPA 3€
CLV
2.3
AOV:
40€
Campaign
B
CPA 6€
CLV
2.8
AOV:
40€
Revenue: 2.3*40 = 92€
Revenue 2.8*40 = 112€
In other words 3€ more
expensive CPA may lead to 20€
more revenue only by acquiring
20% better customers
14. Business Intelligence tool
• Great tool to learn from your data
• Inspire you to develop strategy
• Answers to major questions
– What is my customer lifetime value?
– Are we getting better at creating more valuable customers?
– What is the average period between orders?
– What is my most profitable channel?
– How much of my revenue comes from new vs repeating
customers?
• Affordable cost, really fast installation, zero learning curve
19. Results
• Customer Life Time value increased
• Higher Conversion Rates
• Lower Design Costs for the Campaigns
• Noticed lower CPAs up to 60% in some cases
20. Results
• Shorter Launch Time for campaigns
• Initiating sales with better profit margins
• Leverage the power of knowledge and provide
unparalleled user experience
21. How we did it?
• We just looked at eCommerce Data, the most
valuable asset that we have
• We started thinking how we could develop
customer centric strategy by utilizing this
valuable information
• If you can’t measure it you cant fix it. We keep
measuring certain KPI’s
22. Digital commerce marketing success barriers
Lack of Strategy
Huge time to market
Too many tools/
vendors
IT barriers
23. Clearly we have enough tools ☺
What we need is Strategy + Execution
27. • International Digital Commerce Agency
• Customers in Greece, Italy, Germany, Belgium
• Experience in B2B and B2C Projects
• Experience in Fashion, Beauty, Home,
Pharmacy, Books
Meet Netsteps
28. We Bring to you the value of Magento ecosystem
29. Thanks for listening
Ioannis Karalis
Founder and CEO @ Netsteps S.A.
jkaralis@netsteps.gr
www.netsteps.gr
Thanos Dimitriou
Commercial Director @ Netsteps S.A.
tdimitriou@netsteps.gr
www.netsteps.gr