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BUILDING A PROFIT & LOSS STATEMENT 1
© Rick Rasmussen 2019
START UP
FINANCIAL
MODELS
2
Your financial model is your ‘real’
business plan
Revenues Profits Cash
needs
Hiring
plans
Burn
Rate,
Runway
Investors don’t put their money into
ideas.
They put their money into
businesses…
INVESTORS EXPECT:
A 5-year Profit & Loss (P&L)
A simplified Income Statement
Broken out by Year in the presentation
INVESTORS EXPECT:
A 5-year Profit & Loss (P&L)
A simplified Income Statement
Broken out by Year in the presentation
And…
to have you show “financial literacy”
WHY FIVE YEARS?
A typical fund is 10 years
Must invest and ”exit”
during that window
Five year financials give
adequate picture of exit
potential within fund lifetime
Raising $ Investing Period Harvesting Period
Fund Launch
1 yr 3-5 years 5-7 years
Fund I LLC
THREE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
Balance Sheet: A "snapshot”
Assets vs. Liabilities
At a specific time
Income Statement: A “video”
Measures Financial Health
Income vs. Expenses
Over a period of time
Cash Flow Statement: Shows effects on Cash
based on Balance Sheet and Income Statement accounts
THREE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
Balance Sheet: A "snapshot”
Assets vs. Liabilities
At a specific time
Income Statement: A “video”
Measures Financial Health
Income vs. Expenses
Over a period of time
Cash Flow Statement: Shows effects on Cash
based on Balance Sheet and Income Statement accounts
INCOME STATEMENT: BASIC STRUCTURE
INCOME STATEMENT: BASIC STRUCTURE
Revenue
- Cost of Goods Sold (Variable costs)
= Gross Profit (Rev – COGS)
.
INCOME STATEMENT: BASIC STRUCTURE
Revenue
- Cost of Goods Sold (Variable costs)
= Gross Profit (Rev – COGS)
Gross Profit
- Expenses (Fixed Costs)
R&D
Sales and Mktg
General and Administrative (G&A)
= Net Profit [Gross Profit - Expenses]
.
INCOME STATEMENT: BASIC STRUCTURE
Revenue
- Cost of Goods Sold (Variable costs)
= Gross Profit (Rev – COGS)
Gross Profit
- Expenses (Fixed Costs)
R&D
Sales and Mktg
General and Administrative (G&A)
= Net Profit [Gross Profit - Expenses]
+/- Other Income (expense)
= Net Income
THREE THINGS TO FIGURE OUT…
Revenue
- Cost of Goods Sold (Variable costs)
= Gross Profit (Rev – COGS)
Gross Profit
- Expenses (Fixed Costs)
R&D
Sales and Mktg
General and Administrative (G&A)
= Net Profit [Gross Profit - Expenses]
+/- Other Income (expense)
= Net Income
13
Cash flow positive
TRANSLATING INTO NUMBERS
14
in $M Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5
Revenue $0.1 2.5 $17.4 $31.5 $49.2
COGS 0.2 1.0 7.2 11.8 16.4
Gross
Profit
(.02) 1.4 10.1 19.7 32.8
Expenses 2.4 6.2 10.1 15.1 21.1
Net
Profit
($2.4) ($4.7) $0.05 $4.5 $11.6
?
TRANSLATING INTO NUMBERS
15
in $M Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5
Revenue $0.1 2.5 $17.4 $31.5 $49.2
COGS 0.2 1.0 7.2 11.8 16.4
Gross
Profit
(.02) 1.4 10.1 19.7 32.8
Expenses 2.4 6.2 10.1 15.1 21.1
Net
Profit
($2.4) ($4.7) $0.05 $4.5 $11.6
?
Note: This is not GAAP or IFRS accounting!
A P&L statement is a way to capture financial information that is easier to convey and understand
HOW CAN YOU DO THIS?
You’re predicting the future
With little or no real evidence
Trying to reassure investors
that your guesses are valid
16
TELL A STORY
Startup financials are your story
expressed in numbers
Build out your story and then
translate
17
STEPS TO BUILD AN PROFIT & LOSS STATEMENT
Build a
timeline with
assumptions
01
Build out Unit
Economics
02
Use curves to
build short-
term model
12, 18 or 24 months
03
Predict Year
5 model
(Zone of Reason)
Fill-in P&L
and/or
present graphs
04
REPRESENTATIVE COMPANY TIMELINE
Q3Q1 Q2 Q7Q6 Q8
Series B
Company
Starts
First
Production
Full
Production
Series A
Second
Production
Cost
Reduction
First
Orders
Seed Funding
Q4 Q5
Employees: 6 10 14 18 22 25 29 33
50K/month
Shipments
WHAT DOES YOUR CURVE LOOK LIKE?
How deep?
How wide?
Timing?
Slope?
20
REVENUE CURVES VARY AS A FUNCTION OF THE
BUSINESS
Sales Volume = Height
Time to Market = Length
Sales Growth = Slope
REVENUE CURVES VARY BY MARKET TYPE
Existing Market
Linear with S&M
expenditures
Re-Segmented Market
Positioning and education
New Market
Education and adoption
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
1 2
3
4
5
6
7
1 2 3
4
5
6
7
PRIMARY BUSINESS MODELS
Product
Tangible Solution
Design once, sell many
Service
Custom Solution
Intangible Value
Trade
Connect Buyers and Sellers
Product
Service Trade
REVENUE CURVES VARY BY BUSINESS MODEL TYPE
“Scalable”
Product
Service
Due to Overhead Costs
Trade
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
1 2 3
4
5
6
7
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
YOUR COSTS WILL VARY WITH TECHNOLOGY AND
ECONOMIES OF SCALE
Decreasing Costs Uncertain Costs Increasing Costs
Technology
Transportation
Manufacturing
LaborRaw Materials
Regulations
P&L EXAMPLE 1:
A NEW PRODUCT COMPANY
26
Introducing
NewProdCo
World’s best
Projection
Clickers
STEP 1: ASSUMPTIONS
Revenue Model: A product, one-time sale
Market Type: Re-segmented Market
Marketing Strategy: B2C
Sales Channel: Sales through online Channnels
Amazon, etc
Costs: First production: $10
First 2 years $2.50
Declining costs over time
STEP 1: ASSUMPTIONS
Production: Subcontract Manufacturing
no factory required
Time-to-Market:
Takes 3 months to develop first prototypes
Three months to sample customers
Three months to first production
STEP 2: UNIT ECONOMICS
Our unit is one clicker
Unit Price: $16.00
Unit Cost: $7.00
Unit Profit: $9.00
Unit Margin: 58.3%
SUMMARY: UNIT ECONOMICS
We’ve identified
“The Unit” A clicker
Form of revenue One-time sale
Price $16
Cost $7
Profit $9
Profit Margin 56.25%
NEWCO TIMELINE
Q3Q1 Q2 Q7Q6 Q8
Company
Starts
First
Prototype
50Ku
per
Quarter
First
Production
Unit
Profits
Customer
Samples
Q4 Q5
100Ku
per
Quarter
A PRODUCT BUSINESS
A typical product business
Key is adequate margin
to account for fixed costs
Concerns about
inventories, cash flow, etc.
Typical
Benchmarks
Revenues High
COGS Medium
Net Revenue Medium
Marketing Medium
R&D Medium
G&A Medium
Total Fixed Costs Medium
Net Profit Low/Medium
ESTIMATE UNITS / QUARTER
Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8
Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200
ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16
Total $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200
Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7
COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400
Gross Profit $0 ($2) $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800
Gross Margin % - (25%) 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25%
Evidence:
1. Your timeline
2. Type of business and
typical growth curves
TOTAL REVENUE
Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8
Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200
ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16
Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200
Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7
COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400
Gross Profit $0 ($2) $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800
Gross Margin % - (25%) 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25%
ASP is
Average Selling Price
You can also list individual
product lines and sum them up
CONSIDER COST OF GOODS SOLD (COGS)
Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8
Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200
ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16
Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200
Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7
COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400
Gross Profit $0 ($2) $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800
Gross Margin % - (25%) 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25%
GROSS PROFIT FOR FIRST 8 QUARTERS
Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8
Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200
ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16
Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200
Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7
COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400
Gross Profit $0 ($2) $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800
Gross Margin % - (25%) 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25%
Gross Profit is
Revenue minus COGS
CONSIDER MARGINS
Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8
Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200
ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16
Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200
Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7
COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400
Gross Profit $0 ($2) $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800
Gross Margin % - (25%) 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25%
You want to know if they align with industry standards
In this case, they’re flat as prices and costs don’t vary
TIME TO ADD FIXED COSTS
Salaries and Expenses by Department
Research & Development (R&D) Research, Engineering and Development
Sales & Marketing (S&M) Promoting and selling product
Operations Making and distributing product
General & Administrative (G&A) “Overhead” of corporate management,
finance, legal, rent, etc.
STARTUP SALARY GUIDELINES
Don’t assume free salaries forever
No one will work for free
US, Canada, Western Europe, Japan, Korea $100K / person / year
Rest of World $50K / person / year
This covers everything needed (e.g. benefits)
After profitability or after year 5, these often rise by 50% or more
39
NON-SALARY EXPENSES
R&D
Subcontractors and outsourced engineering
Non-depreciated tools, servers
Marketing and Sales
Trade shows
Marketing campaigns
[Operations] optional
Subcontractors
Facilities
G&A
Legal, IP, accounting expenses
ENGINEERING / R&D:
Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8
Headcount 1 2 2 2 3 3 3 4
Salaries $25 $50 $50 $50 $75 $75 $75 $100
Expenses
Tools 10 10 10 10 20 20 20 20
Contractors 50 50 50 50 100 100 100 100
Travels 10 20 20 20 20 20 40 40
Expenses R&D $95 $130 $130 $130 $215 $215 $235 $260
MARKETING & SALES:
42
Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8
Headcount 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Salaries $50 $75 $100 $125 $150 $175 $200 $225
Expenses
Campaigns 50 50 100 250 250 400 400
Contractors 50 50 50 50 100 100 100 100
Travel 10 20 20 20 20 20 30 30
Expenses
Marketing $110 $195 $220 $295 $520 $545 $730 $755
GENERAL & ADMINISTRATIVE:
Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8
Headcount 0 1 2 2 3 4 5 6
Salaries $0 $25 $50 $50 $75 $100 $125 $150
Expenses
Legal 50 10 10 20 50 100 100 100
IP Filings 50 50 50 50 50 50
Travel 10 20 20 20 50 50 50 50
Expenses G&A $60 $55 $130 $140 $225 $300 $325 $350
ADD IN FIXED COSTS THEN TOTAL AS EXPENSES
Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8
Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200
ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16
Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200
Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7
COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400
Gross Profit $0 -$2 $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800
R&D $95 $130 $130 $130 $215 $215 $235 $260
S&M $110 $195 $220 $295 $520 $545 $730 $755
G&A $60 $55 $130 $140 $225 $300 $325 $350
Expenses $265 $380 $480 $565 $960 $1,060 $1,290 $1,365
Net Profit ($265) ($382) ($390) ($205) ($285) ($70) ($30) $435
P&L FOR FIRST 8 QUARTERS
Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8
Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200
ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16
Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200
Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7
COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400
Gross Profit $0 -$2 $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800
R&D $95 $130 $130 $130 $215 $215 $235 $260
S&M $110 $195 $220 $295 $520 $545 $730 $755
G&A $60 $55 $130 $140 $225 $300 $325 $350
Expenses $265 $380 $480 $565 $960 $1,060 $1,290 $1,365
Net Profit ($265) ($382) ($390) ($205) ($285) ($70) ($30) $435
P&L FOR FIRST 8 QUARTERS
Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8
Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200
ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16
Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200
Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7
COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400
Gross Profit $0 -$2 $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800
R&D $95 $130 $130 $130 $215 $215 $235 $260
S&M $110 $195 $220 $295 $520 $545 $730 $755
G&A $60 $55 $130 $140 $225 $300 $325 $350
Expenses $265 $380 $480 $565 $960 $1,060 $1,290 $1,365
Net Profit ($265) ($382) ($390) ($205) ($285) ($70) ($30) $435
Breakeven…!
MINIMUM FUNDING REQUIRED
Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8
Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200
ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16
Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200
Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7
COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400
Gross Profit $0 -$2 $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800
R&D $95 $130 $130 $130 $215 $215 $235 $260
S&M $110 $195 $220 $295 $520 $545 $730 $755
G&A $60 $55 $130 $140 $225 $300 $325 $350
Expenses $265 $380 $480 $565 $960 $1,060 $1,290 $1,365
Net Profit ($265) ($382) ($390) ($205) ($285) ($70) ($30) $435
Cumulative Loss 265 647 1037 1242 1527 1597 1627
$1,627
Probably ask for $2M+
LET’S START YOUR 5 YEAR P&L
Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5 %
Units Sold (K) 51 525
ASP $16 $16
Revenue $K $808 $8,400
Unit Cost $7 $7
COGS $K $360 $3,675
Gross Profit $448 $4,725
R&D 485 925
S&M 820 2550
G&A 385 1200
Expenses $1,690 $4,675
Net Profit ($1,242) $50
Methods:
1. Bottom up and/or
curves
2. Estimate year 5 and
work backwards
WORK BACKWARD FROM YEAR 5
Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5 %
Units Sold (K) 51 525 3500
ASP $16 $16 $16
Revenue $K $808 $8,400 $56,000
Unit Cost $7 $7 $7
COGS $K $360 $3,675 $16,400
Gross Profit $448 $4,725 $39,600
R&D 485 925 5000
S&M 820 2550 16000
G&A 385 1200 4800
Expenses $1,690 $4,675 $25,800
Net Profit ($1,242) $50 $13,800
Set a reasonable revenue
goal for year 5
< $20M/yr Too small
$20M - $50M Interesting
$50M - $100M Very
interesting
Over $100M Tough to
do. Will
need to
justify
THINK ABOUT YEAR 5
Zone of
Reason
Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5 %
Units Sold (K) 51 525 3500
ASP $16 $16 $16
Revenue $K $808 $8,400 $56,000 100%
Unit Cost $7 $7 $7
COGS $K $360 $3,675 $16,400 29%
Gross Profit $448 $4,725 $39,600 71%
R&D 485 925 5000 9%
S&M 820 2550 16000 29%
G&A 385 1200 4800 9%
Expenses $1,690 $4,675 $25,800 46%
Net Profit ($1,242) $50 $13,800 25%
Set a reasonable revenue
goal for year 5
< $20M/yr Too small
$20M - $50M Interesting
$50M - $100M Very
interesting
Over $100M Tough to
do. Will
need to
justify
ZONE OF REASON
The amount of
expense as a % of
revenue expected by
category
Not absolute, check
public companies in
same industry
51
% of Revenue B2C B2B
S&M 30 - 55% 15 - 30%
R&D 10 - 20% 15 - 30%
G&A 8 - 12% 8 - 12%
FILL IN THE GAPS
Add in
Years 3 and 4
Trend as
appropriate
Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5 %
Units Sold (K) 51 525 1000 1800 3500
ASP $16 $16 $16 $16 $16
Revenue $K $808 $8,400 $16,000 $28,800 $56,000 100%
Unit Cost $7 $7 $7 $7 $7
COGS $K $360 $3,675 $7,000 $12,600 $16,400 29%
Gross Profit $448 $4,725 $9,000 $16,200 $39,600 71%
R&D 485 925 1740 2630 5000 9%
S&M 820 2550 4420 8500 16000 29%
G&A 385 1200 2500 3850 4800 9%
Expenses $1,690 $4,675 $8,660 $14,980 $25,800 46%
Net Profit ($1,242) $50 $340 $1,220 $13,800 25%
IT’S A P&L…! $50+M Business
Losses for first year
Break even year 2
Steady State profitable
Expenses within
“Zone of Reason”
Need to raise
at least $1.2M
Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5 %
Units Sold (K) 51 525 1000 1800 3500
ASP $16 $16 $16 $16 $16
Revenue $K $808 $8,400 $16,000 $28,800 $56,000 100%
Unit Cost $7 $7 $7 $7 $7
COGS $K $360 $3,675 $7,000 $12,600 $16,400 29%
Gross Profit $448 $4,725 $9,000 $16,200 $39,600 71%
R&D 485 925 1740 2630 5000 9%
S&M 820 2550 4420 8500 16000 29%
G&A 385 1200 2500 3850 4800 9%
Expenses $1,690 $4,675 $8,660 $14,980 $25,800 46%
Net Profit ($1,242) $50 $340 $1,220 $13,800 25%
SIMPLIFIED FOR PRESENTATION
in $M Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5
Revenue $0.8 $8.4 $16.0 $28.8 $56.0
COGS 0.4 3.7 7.0 12.6 16.4
Gross
Profit
(0.4) 4.7 9.0 16.2 39.6
Expenses 1,7 4.7 8.7 15.0 25.9
Net
Profit
($1.2) $0.05 $0.3 $1.2 $13.8
Only relevant info
for a quick read.
Round to $K or $M
Delete all trailing
zeros
Simplify, simplify..!
REPRESENTATIVE “COMMON SENSE” CHECKLIST
Does this look like others in the industry?
Are there any strange jumps or gaps in any of the numbers?
Does this follow “Valley of Death” standards?
Can I tell how quickly company gets to break even?
Can I tell how much money needs to be raised?
Does the business large enough to care about?
Does this generate sufficient returns in a reasonable time?
FINANCIAL
KEY
PERFORMANCE
INDICATORS
56
FUNDING STRATEGY
TEMPLATE
57
GRAPHS
Income statements are generally
recognizable by most finance
professionals
Graphic representations differ.
Simplest: Break out Revenues
and Net Profits
Keep as periodic information, not
cumulative.
Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5
Revenue 0 135 2460 17400 31500 49200
Profits 0 -2425 -4730 55 4538 11670
-10000
0
10000
20000
30000
40000
50000
60000
GROWBY SAYS:
Let’s do it
again…!
That was so
much fun!
BONUS: HOW TO BUILD
A ONE-PERIOD SAAS-BASED P&L
© Rick Rasmussen 2019
SECONDARY BUSINESS MODELS
Combining primary business modes in groups
Product Service Trade
Subscription x x
Marketplace x x
Brokerage x x
Ecosystem x x x
Product
Service Trade
REVENUE MODELS DRIVE UNIT ECONOMICS
Type Business Revenue Model Cost Model
Primary
Product Sales One time sale COGS
Service Sales Hourly Rate Hourly Cost
Trade Resell COGS
Derivative
Subscription Monthly Revenue CAC
Marketplace Transaction Fees open
Brokerage Commission Fees open
Ecosystem Combination open
PROJECT YOUR REVENUE
STEP 1: CALCULATE AVERAGE SALES PRICE ACROSS PLANS
$6 / month $12 / month $16 / month
Plan A Plan B Plan C
50% of Business
$6 x 0.5 = $3
25% of Business
$12 x 0.25 = $3
25% of Business
$16 x 0.25 = $4
$3 + $3 + $4 = $10 Average Sales Price (ASP) per month
$10 x 3 months = $30 Average Sales Price per quarter
PROJECT YOUR REVENUE
STEP 2: ESTIMATE SUBSCRIPTION GROWTH
+ ATTRITION ACROSS THE PERIOD
(i.e. Q1: January – March)
Beginning
Customer
Subscriptions Growth Attrition
Ending Customer
Subscriptions
Q1 0 3,020 (20) 3,000
Average Subscriptions
Beginning + Ending
2
=
0 + 3000
2
= 1500
PROJECT YOUR REVENUE
STEP 3: CALCULATE ESTIMATED REVENUE
Average
Subscriptions x
Average
Sales Price =
Estimated Revenue
Q1 1500 x $30 = $45,000
CATEGORIZE & PROJECT YOUR EXPENSES
STEP 1: CATEGORIZE COGS (I.E. COST OF GOODS SOLD)
COGS are direct costs
attributable to the
production and delivery of
goods or services sold
Examples:
-Hosting, cloud, database fees
-Support personnel / customer care costs
-Third-party web fees
-Ex: content delivery networks, etc
-Customer onboarding costs
-Payment fees
-Ex: bank fees, credit card gateways, etc.
CATEGORIZE & PROJECT YOUR EXPENSES
STEP 2: CATEGORIZE/CALCULATE COGS
Hosting, cloud, database fees $10000
Support personnel / customer care costs $8000
Third-party web fees $4000
Customer onboarding costs $4000
Payment fees $3000
Total $29000
CATEGORIZE AND PROJECT YOUR EXPENSES
STEP 3: CATEGORIZE OPERATING EXPENSES
Examples:
Salaries
Rent
Advertising
Legal & Professional
Equipment
Travel
Software
Operating expenses
(a.k.a. Fixed Costs)
are expenses incurred
through
normal business
operations
CATEGORIZE AND PROJECT YOUR EXPENSES
STEP 4: CALCULATE / PROJECT OPERATING EXPENSES
Salaries $7000
Rent $2000
Advertising $300
Legal & Professional $200
Equipment $200
Travel $200
Software $100
Total $10000
BUILDING THE PROFIT & LOSS STATEMENT
Q1
Total Sales $45000
Less: COGS - $29000
Gross Profit $16000
Less: Total Operating Expenses - $10000
Net Profit $6000
Deeper cash trough
SaaS Economics:
• Raise more $
• Spend on Customer
Acquisition
• Grow Faster
• Dominate Sector
Faster Growth
CONGRATULATIONS
YOU DID IT..!
You’re now a
financial genius
Get ready to present
to investors..!

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EIA2019Portugal - Building Your Financials - Rick Rasmussen

  • 1. BUILDING A PROFIT & LOSS STATEMENT 1 © Rick Rasmussen 2019
  • 2. START UP FINANCIAL MODELS 2 Your financial model is your ‘real’ business plan Revenues Profits Cash needs Hiring plans Burn Rate, Runway Investors don’t put their money into ideas. They put their money into businesses…
  • 3. INVESTORS EXPECT: A 5-year Profit & Loss (P&L) A simplified Income Statement Broken out by Year in the presentation
  • 4. INVESTORS EXPECT: A 5-year Profit & Loss (P&L) A simplified Income Statement Broken out by Year in the presentation And… to have you show “financial literacy”
  • 5. WHY FIVE YEARS? A typical fund is 10 years Must invest and ”exit” during that window Five year financials give adequate picture of exit potential within fund lifetime Raising $ Investing Period Harvesting Period Fund Launch 1 yr 3-5 years 5-7 years Fund I LLC
  • 6. THREE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS Balance Sheet: A "snapshot” Assets vs. Liabilities At a specific time Income Statement: A “video” Measures Financial Health Income vs. Expenses Over a period of time Cash Flow Statement: Shows effects on Cash based on Balance Sheet and Income Statement accounts
  • 7. THREE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS Balance Sheet: A "snapshot” Assets vs. Liabilities At a specific time Income Statement: A “video” Measures Financial Health Income vs. Expenses Over a period of time Cash Flow Statement: Shows effects on Cash based on Balance Sheet and Income Statement accounts
  • 9. INCOME STATEMENT: BASIC STRUCTURE Revenue - Cost of Goods Sold (Variable costs) = Gross Profit (Rev – COGS) .
  • 10. INCOME STATEMENT: BASIC STRUCTURE Revenue - Cost of Goods Sold (Variable costs) = Gross Profit (Rev – COGS) Gross Profit - Expenses (Fixed Costs) R&D Sales and Mktg General and Administrative (G&A) = Net Profit [Gross Profit - Expenses] .
  • 11. INCOME STATEMENT: BASIC STRUCTURE Revenue - Cost of Goods Sold (Variable costs) = Gross Profit (Rev – COGS) Gross Profit - Expenses (Fixed Costs) R&D Sales and Mktg General and Administrative (G&A) = Net Profit [Gross Profit - Expenses] +/- Other Income (expense) = Net Income
  • 12. THREE THINGS TO FIGURE OUT… Revenue - Cost of Goods Sold (Variable costs) = Gross Profit (Rev – COGS) Gross Profit - Expenses (Fixed Costs) R&D Sales and Mktg General and Administrative (G&A) = Net Profit [Gross Profit - Expenses] +/- Other Income (expense) = Net Income
  • 14. TRANSLATING INTO NUMBERS 14 in $M Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5 Revenue $0.1 2.5 $17.4 $31.5 $49.2 COGS 0.2 1.0 7.2 11.8 16.4 Gross Profit (.02) 1.4 10.1 19.7 32.8 Expenses 2.4 6.2 10.1 15.1 21.1 Net Profit ($2.4) ($4.7) $0.05 $4.5 $11.6 ?
  • 15. TRANSLATING INTO NUMBERS 15 in $M Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5 Revenue $0.1 2.5 $17.4 $31.5 $49.2 COGS 0.2 1.0 7.2 11.8 16.4 Gross Profit (.02) 1.4 10.1 19.7 32.8 Expenses 2.4 6.2 10.1 15.1 21.1 Net Profit ($2.4) ($4.7) $0.05 $4.5 $11.6 ? Note: This is not GAAP or IFRS accounting! A P&L statement is a way to capture financial information that is easier to convey and understand
  • 16. HOW CAN YOU DO THIS? You’re predicting the future With little or no real evidence Trying to reassure investors that your guesses are valid 16
  • 17. TELL A STORY Startup financials are your story expressed in numbers Build out your story and then translate 17
  • 18. STEPS TO BUILD AN PROFIT & LOSS STATEMENT Build a timeline with assumptions 01 Build out Unit Economics 02 Use curves to build short- term model 12, 18 or 24 months 03 Predict Year 5 model (Zone of Reason) Fill-in P&L and/or present graphs 04
  • 19. REPRESENTATIVE COMPANY TIMELINE Q3Q1 Q2 Q7Q6 Q8 Series B Company Starts First Production Full Production Series A Second Production Cost Reduction First Orders Seed Funding Q4 Q5 Employees: 6 10 14 18 22 25 29 33 50K/month Shipments
  • 20. WHAT DOES YOUR CURVE LOOK LIKE? How deep? How wide? Timing? Slope? 20
  • 21. REVENUE CURVES VARY AS A FUNCTION OF THE BUSINESS Sales Volume = Height Time to Market = Length Sales Growth = Slope
  • 22. REVENUE CURVES VARY BY MARKET TYPE Existing Market Linear with S&M expenditures Re-Segmented Market Positioning and education New Market Education and adoption 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
  • 23. PRIMARY BUSINESS MODELS Product Tangible Solution Design once, sell many Service Custom Solution Intangible Value Trade Connect Buyers and Sellers Product Service Trade
  • 24. REVENUE CURVES VARY BY BUSINESS MODEL TYPE “Scalable” Product Service Due to Overhead Costs Trade 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
  • 25. YOUR COSTS WILL VARY WITH TECHNOLOGY AND ECONOMIES OF SCALE Decreasing Costs Uncertain Costs Increasing Costs Technology Transportation Manufacturing LaborRaw Materials Regulations
  • 26. P&L EXAMPLE 1: A NEW PRODUCT COMPANY 26 Introducing NewProdCo World’s best Projection Clickers
  • 27. STEP 1: ASSUMPTIONS Revenue Model: A product, one-time sale Market Type: Re-segmented Market Marketing Strategy: B2C Sales Channel: Sales through online Channnels Amazon, etc Costs: First production: $10 First 2 years $2.50 Declining costs over time
  • 28. STEP 1: ASSUMPTIONS Production: Subcontract Manufacturing no factory required Time-to-Market: Takes 3 months to develop first prototypes Three months to sample customers Three months to first production
  • 29. STEP 2: UNIT ECONOMICS Our unit is one clicker Unit Price: $16.00 Unit Cost: $7.00 Unit Profit: $9.00 Unit Margin: 58.3%
  • 30. SUMMARY: UNIT ECONOMICS We’ve identified “The Unit” A clicker Form of revenue One-time sale Price $16 Cost $7 Profit $9 Profit Margin 56.25%
  • 31. NEWCO TIMELINE Q3Q1 Q2 Q7Q6 Q8 Company Starts First Prototype 50Ku per Quarter First Production Unit Profits Customer Samples Q4 Q5 100Ku per Quarter
  • 32. A PRODUCT BUSINESS A typical product business Key is adequate margin to account for fixed costs Concerns about inventories, cash flow, etc. Typical Benchmarks Revenues High COGS Medium Net Revenue Medium Marketing Medium R&D Medium G&A Medium Total Fixed Costs Medium Net Profit Low/Medium
  • 33. ESTIMATE UNITS / QUARTER Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8 Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200 ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 Total $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200 Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400 Gross Profit $0 ($2) $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800 Gross Margin % - (25%) 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% Evidence: 1. Your timeline 2. Type of business and typical growth curves
  • 34. TOTAL REVENUE Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8 Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200 ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200 Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400 Gross Profit $0 ($2) $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800 Gross Margin % - (25%) 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% ASP is Average Selling Price You can also list individual product lines and sum them up
  • 35. CONSIDER COST OF GOODS SOLD (COGS) Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8 Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200 ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200 Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400 Gross Profit $0 ($2) $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800 Gross Margin % - (25%) 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25%
  • 36. GROSS PROFIT FOR FIRST 8 QUARTERS Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8 Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200 ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200 Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400 Gross Profit $0 ($2) $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800 Gross Margin % - (25%) 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% Gross Profit is Revenue minus COGS
  • 37. CONSIDER MARGINS Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8 Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200 ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200 Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400 Gross Profit $0 ($2) $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800 Gross Margin % - (25%) 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% 56.25% You want to know if they align with industry standards In this case, they’re flat as prices and costs don’t vary
  • 38. TIME TO ADD FIXED COSTS Salaries and Expenses by Department Research & Development (R&D) Research, Engineering and Development Sales & Marketing (S&M) Promoting and selling product Operations Making and distributing product General & Administrative (G&A) “Overhead” of corporate management, finance, legal, rent, etc.
  • 39. STARTUP SALARY GUIDELINES Don’t assume free salaries forever No one will work for free US, Canada, Western Europe, Japan, Korea $100K / person / year Rest of World $50K / person / year This covers everything needed (e.g. benefits) After profitability or after year 5, these often rise by 50% or more 39
  • 40. NON-SALARY EXPENSES R&D Subcontractors and outsourced engineering Non-depreciated tools, servers Marketing and Sales Trade shows Marketing campaigns [Operations] optional Subcontractors Facilities G&A Legal, IP, accounting expenses
  • 41. ENGINEERING / R&D: Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8 Headcount 1 2 2 2 3 3 3 4 Salaries $25 $50 $50 $50 $75 $75 $75 $100 Expenses Tools 10 10 10 10 20 20 20 20 Contractors 50 50 50 50 100 100 100 100 Travels 10 20 20 20 20 20 40 40 Expenses R&D $95 $130 $130 $130 $215 $215 $235 $260
  • 42. MARKETING & SALES: 42 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8 Headcount 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Salaries $50 $75 $100 $125 $150 $175 $200 $225 Expenses Campaigns 50 50 100 250 250 400 400 Contractors 50 50 50 50 100 100 100 100 Travel 10 20 20 20 20 20 30 30 Expenses Marketing $110 $195 $220 $295 $520 $545 $730 $755
  • 43. GENERAL & ADMINISTRATIVE: Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8 Headcount 0 1 2 2 3 4 5 6 Salaries $0 $25 $50 $50 $75 $100 $125 $150 Expenses Legal 50 10 10 20 50 100 100 100 IP Filings 50 50 50 50 50 50 Travel 10 20 20 20 50 50 50 50 Expenses G&A $60 $55 $130 $140 $225 $300 $325 $350
  • 44. ADD IN FIXED COSTS THEN TOTAL AS EXPENSES Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8 Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200 ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200 Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400 Gross Profit $0 -$2 $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800 R&D $95 $130 $130 $130 $215 $215 $235 $260 S&M $110 $195 $220 $295 $520 $545 $730 $755 G&A $60 $55 $130 $140 $225 $300 $325 $350 Expenses $265 $380 $480 $565 $960 $1,060 $1,290 $1,365 Net Profit ($265) ($382) ($390) ($205) ($285) ($70) ($30) $435
  • 45. P&L FOR FIRST 8 QUARTERS Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8 Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200 ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200 Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400 Gross Profit $0 -$2 $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800 R&D $95 $130 $130 $130 $215 $215 $235 $260 S&M $110 $195 $220 $295 $520 $545 $730 $755 G&A $60 $55 $130 $140 $225 $300 $325 $350 Expenses $265 $380 $480 $565 $960 $1,060 $1,290 $1,365 Net Profit ($265) ($382) ($390) ($205) ($285) ($70) ($30) $435
  • 46. P&L FOR FIRST 8 QUARTERS Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8 Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200 ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200 Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400 Gross Profit $0 -$2 $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800 R&D $95 $130 $130 $130 $215 $215 $235 $260 S&M $110 $195 $220 $295 $520 $545 $730 $755 G&A $60 $55 $130 $140 $225 $300 $325 $350 Expenses $265 $380 $480 $565 $960 $1,060 $1,290 $1,365 Net Profit ($265) ($382) ($390) ($205) ($285) ($70) ($30) $435 Breakeven…!
  • 47. MINIMUM FUNDING REQUIRED Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q5 Q6 Q7 Q8 Units Sold (K) 0 1 10 40 75 110 140 200 ASP $0 $8 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 Revenue $K $0 $8 $160 $640 $1,200 $1,760 $2,240 $3,200 Unit Cost $10 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 COGS $K $0 $10 $70 $280 $525 $770 $980 $1,400 Gross Profit $0 -$2 $90 $360 $675 $990 $1,260 $1,800 R&D $95 $130 $130 $130 $215 $215 $235 $260 S&M $110 $195 $220 $295 $520 $545 $730 $755 G&A $60 $55 $130 $140 $225 $300 $325 $350 Expenses $265 $380 $480 $565 $960 $1,060 $1,290 $1,365 Net Profit ($265) ($382) ($390) ($205) ($285) ($70) ($30) $435 Cumulative Loss 265 647 1037 1242 1527 1597 1627 $1,627 Probably ask for $2M+
  • 48. LET’S START YOUR 5 YEAR P&L Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5 % Units Sold (K) 51 525 ASP $16 $16 Revenue $K $808 $8,400 Unit Cost $7 $7 COGS $K $360 $3,675 Gross Profit $448 $4,725 R&D 485 925 S&M 820 2550 G&A 385 1200 Expenses $1,690 $4,675 Net Profit ($1,242) $50 Methods: 1. Bottom up and/or curves 2. Estimate year 5 and work backwards
  • 49. WORK BACKWARD FROM YEAR 5 Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5 % Units Sold (K) 51 525 3500 ASP $16 $16 $16 Revenue $K $808 $8,400 $56,000 Unit Cost $7 $7 $7 COGS $K $360 $3,675 $16,400 Gross Profit $448 $4,725 $39,600 R&D 485 925 5000 S&M 820 2550 16000 G&A 385 1200 4800 Expenses $1,690 $4,675 $25,800 Net Profit ($1,242) $50 $13,800 Set a reasonable revenue goal for year 5 < $20M/yr Too small $20M - $50M Interesting $50M - $100M Very interesting Over $100M Tough to do. Will need to justify
  • 50. THINK ABOUT YEAR 5 Zone of Reason Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5 % Units Sold (K) 51 525 3500 ASP $16 $16 $16 Revenue $K $808 $8,400 $56,000 100% Unit Cost $7 $7 $7 COGS $K $360 $3,675 $16,400 29% Gross Profit $448 $4,725 $39,600 71% R&D 485 925 5000 9% S&M 820 2550 16000 29% G&A 385 1200 4800 9% Expenses $1,690 $4,675 $25,800 46% Net Profit ($1,242) $50 $13,800 25% Set a reasonable revenue goal for year 5 < $20M/yr Too small $20M - $50M Interesting $50M - $100M Very interesting Over $100M Tough to do. Will need to justify
  • 51. ZONE OF REASON The amount of expense as a % of revenue expected by category Not absolute, check public companies in same industry 51 % of Revenue B2C B2B S&M 30 - 55% 15 - 30% R&D 10 - 20% 15 - 30% G&A 8 - 12% 8 - 12%
  • 52. FILL IN THE GAPS Add in Years 3 and 4 Trend as appropriate Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5 % Units Sold (K) 51 525 1000 1800 3500 ASP $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 Revenue $K $808 $8,400 $16,000 $28,800 $56,000 100% Unit Cost $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 COGS $K $360 $3,675 $7,000 $12,600 $16,400 29% Gross Profit $448 $4,725 $9,000 $16,200 $39,600 71% R&D 485 925 1740 2630 5000 9% S&M 820 2550 4420 8500 16000 29% G&A 385 1200 2500 3850 4800 9% Expenses $1,690 $4,675 $8,660 $14,980 $25,800 46% Net Profit ($1,242) $50 $340 $1,220 $13,800 25%
  • 53. IT’S A P&L…! $50+M Business Losses for first year Break even year 2 Steady State profitable Expenses within “Zone of Reason” Need to raise at least $1.2M Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5 % Units Sold (K) 51 525 1000 1800 3500 ASP $16 $16 $16 $16 $16 Revenue $K $808 $8,400 $16,000 $28,800 $56,000 100% Unit Cost $7 $7 $7 $7 $7 COGS $K $360 $3,675 $7,000 $12,600 $16,400 29% Gross Profit $448 $4,725 $9,000 $16,200 $39,600 71% R&D 485 925 1740 2630 5000 9% S&M 820 2550 4420 8500 16000 29% G&A 385 1200 2500 3850 4800 9% Expenses $1,690 $4,675 $8,660 $14,980 $25,800 46% Net Profit ($1,242) $50 $340 $1,220 $13,800 25%
  • 54. SIMPLIFIED FOR PRESENTATION in $M Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5 Revenue $0.8 $8.4 $16.0 $28.8 $56.0 COGS 0.4 3.7 7.0 12.6 16.4 Gross Profit (0.4) 4.7 9.0 16.2 39.6 Expenses 1,7 4.7 8.7 15.0 25.9 Net Profit ($1.2) $0.05 $0.3 $1.2 $13.8 Only relevant info for a quick read. Round to $K or $M Delete all trailing zeros Simplify, simplify..!
  • 55. REPRESENTATIVE “COMMON SENSE” CHECKLIST Does this look like others in the industry? Are there any strange jumps or gaps in any of the numbers? Does this follow “Valley of Death” standards? Can I tell how quickly company gets to break even? Can I tell how much money needs to be raised? Does the business large enough to care about? Does this generate sufficient returns in a reasonable time?
  • 58. GRAPHS Income statements are generally recognizable by most finance professionals Graphic representations differ. Simplest: Break out Revenues and Net Profits Keep as periodic information, not cumulative. Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Revenue 0 135 2460 17400 31500 49200 Profits 0 -2425 -4730 55 4538 11670 -10000 0 10000 20000 30000 40000 50000 60000
  • 59. GROWBY SAYS: Let’s do it again…! That was so much fun!
  • 60. BONUS: HOW TO BUILD A ONE-PERIOD SAAS-BASED P&L © Rick Rasmussen 2019
  • 61. SECONDARY BUSINESS MODELS Combining primary business modes in groups Product Service Trade Subscription x x Marketplace x x Brokerage x x Ecosystem x x x Product Service Trade
  • 62. REVENUE MODELS DRIVE UNIT ECONOMICS Type Business Revenue Model Cost Model Primary Product Sales One time sale COGS Service Sales Hourly Rate Hourly Cost Trade Resell COGS Derivative Subscription Monthly Revenue CAC Marketplace Transaction Fees open Brokerage Commission Fees open Ecosystem Combination open
  • 63. PROJECT YOUR REVENUE STEP 1: CALCULATE AVERAGE SALES PRICE ACROSS PLANS $6 / month $12 / month $16 / month Plan A Plan B Plan C 50% of Business $6 x 0.5 = $3 25% of Business $12 x 0.25 = $3 25% of Business $16 x 0.25 = $4 $3 + $3 + $4 = $10 Average Sales Price (ASP) per month $10 x 3 months = $30 Average Sales Price per quarter
  • 64. PROJECT YOUR REVENUE STEP 2: ESTIMATE SUBSCRIPTION GROWTH + ATTRITION ACROSS THE PERIOD (i.e. Q1: January – March) Beginning Customer Subscriptions Growth Attrition Ending Customer Subscriptions Q1 0 3,020 (20) 3,000 Average Subscriptions Beginning + Ending 2 = 0 + 3000 2 = 1500
  • 65. PROJECT YOUR REVENUE STEP 3: CALCULATE ESTIMATED REVENUE Average Subscriptions x Average Sales Price = Estimated Revenue Q1 1500 x $30 = $45,000
  • 66. CATEGORIZE & PROJECT YOUR EXPENSES STEP 1: CATEGORIZE COGS (I.E. COST OF GOODS SOLD) COGS are direct costs attributable to the production and delivery of goods or services sold Examples: -Hosting, cloud, database fees -Support personnel / customer care costs -Third-party web fees -Ex: content delivery networks, etc -Customer onboarding costs -Payment fees -Ex: bank fees, credit card gateways, etc.
  • 67. CATEGORIZE & PROJECT YOUR EXPENSES STEP 2: CATEGORIZE/CALCULATE COGS Hosting, cloud, database fees $10000 Support personnel / customer care costs $8000 Third-party web fees $4000 Customer onboarding costs $4000 Payment fees $3000 Total $29000
  • 68. CATEGORIZE AND PROJECT YOUR EXPENSES STEP 3: CATEGORIZE OPERATING EXPENSES Examples: Salaries Rent Advertising Legal & Professional Equipment Travel Software Operating expenses (a.k.a. Fixed Costs) are expenses incurred through normal business operations
  • 69. CATEGORIZE AND PROJECT YOUR EXPENSES STEP 4: CALCULATE / PROJECT OPERATING EXPENSES Salaries $7000 Rent $2000 Advertising $300 Legal & Professional $200 Equipment $200 Travel $200 Software $100 Total $10000
  • 70. BUILDING THE PROFIT & LOSS STATEMENT Q1 Total Sales $45000 Less: COGS - $29000 Gross Profit $16000 Less: Total Operating Expenses - $10000 Net Profit $6000
  • 71. Deeper cash trough SaaS Economics: • Raise more $ • Spend on Customer Acquisition • Grow Faster • Dominate Sector Faster Growth
  • 72. CONGRATULATIONS YOU DID IT..! You’re now a financial genius Get ready to present to investors..!