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"Mobile is emerging as a mass media", Mr Ahonen adds. The Wall Street Journal, 30 Sept 2008




                                                             From Advocurrency to
                                                           Augmented Reality: Next Big
                                                                Things in Mobile
                                                                    (Keynote)


                                                                 Tomi T Ahonen, MBA
Tomi Seen at:                                                    Author and Consultant
50 Countries          300 Presentations                          Twitter: @tomiahonen
90 Cities             Cumulative Audience over 100,000 people    www.tomiahonen.com
     Mobile Future 2012
     Stockholm Sweden
     28 November 2012




       Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com             Twitter: @tomiahonen
"All media is digital; all digital is mobile
                             and all companies are social."
                                          - Jonathan MacDonald




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com      Twitter: @tomiahonen
How Big is Mobile?




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Global Media End of 2012
                                                                                        Population 7.1B
                                                                         n              Mobile 7.1B
                                                                    latio
                                                               P opu



                                                                                        FM Radio 4.1B


                                                               io
                                                            Rad
                                                         FM                             Internet 2.4B
                                                                                        TV 1.9B
                                                                           TV
                                                     hone                               PC 1.3B
                                           Landline P                                   Landline 1.1B
                                                                           PC




Source: TomiAhonen Almanac 2012 and TomiAhonen Mobile Forecast 2012-2015
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012      www.tomiahonen.com                     Twitter: @tomiahonen
Hotel Keys
•  Assa Abloy (world’s biggest lockmaker), TeliaSonera
   and Nordic Choice Hotels (Scandinavian brand
   owners of Comfort, Clarion and Quality hotels) had
   trial of NFC mobile phones as hotel room keys.
•  A Clarion hotel in Stockholm had a trial with 30 locks.
   Trial was with loyalty card holders. The thing most
   hated by hotel guests is lines at check-in/check-out
    Source: Wall Street Journal, 8 June 2011




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Mobile Sheep?
•  Swiss researchers discovered way to detect when
   sheep are frightened from biological data like
   heartbeat etc.
•  They created alert system that identifies accurately
   when sheep frightened, sends SMS to the shepherd
•  The use in sheep-farming is if there is a wolf nearby.
•  Wolf-detection system is primitive solution of 'reading
   our minds' and generating mobile traffic
    Source: Textually 14 Aug 2012




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
QR Code Gravestones Now In UK
•  (I said this would spread..) So yes, Japanese idea to
   put QR Codes to gravestones is now in Europe
•  The Guardian reports that a UK cemetary in Dorset
   uses technology so graveyard visitors can learn more
   about the deceased person and to see their web
   pages or Facebook page and leave comments etc
•  The QR Code is done on a piece of granite or metal
   and added to the gravestone, at the cost of 300 UKP
    Source: The Guardian 5 September 2012




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Honda Virtual Hitch-Hiker
•  Honda has fan club K-Tra 'virtual hitch-hiker'
•  Real Honda motorcycle owners can sign up, their
   actual motorcycle movement will be providers of trips
•  Any Honda fans can create hitch-hiker avatar, and
   then place it anywhere in Japan to start hitch-hiking.
   Avatar will be on adventure visibile on mobile phone
•  20K users = 1.8M km travelled
    Source: Infinita 2011




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
How Fast is Mobile?




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Mobile Web 720x Faster
•  The IAB Internet Advertising Board has released
   some mobile web and mobile commerce data
•  In the UK, half of all mobile phone users already use
   mobile commerce
•  The average time that a person will pursue a
   commercial transaction from web search
   to real purchase is about one month
•  On the phone the time lag between search
   and m-commerce is about one hour
•  Quite literally 'e-commerce' on mobile
   is 720x faster
    Source: IAB 14 June 2011
                                                      Mobile Tech: Mobile Internet

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com          Twitter: @tomiahonen
How Addicted Are We?




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Compulsive? 150 Times Per Day
•  T-Mobile USA CEO Philipp Humm said at CTIA in
   2012 that mobile phone owners "pick up their phone
   150 times per day". That once every 6 and half
   minutes of every waking hour of every day
    Source: Mashable 8 May 2012
•  For smartphones its already up to 200 times per day
   as reported by the Guardian (every 5 minutes)
    Source: The Guardian 26 June 2012




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Consumer of Mobile

             Youth of Today is Customer of Tomorrow




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
12% use during Sex
•  Astonishing finding by Zeldi in UK
   of 1,000 mothers and mobile
•  12% of UK mothers admit to
   having used their mobile phone
   while having sex
•  This is similar to earlier finding by
   Retrovo that 10% of UK youth
   send SMS during sex
    Source: Media Post 10 May 2012




                                                      Mobile Tech: SMS

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com         Twitter: @tomiahonen
New Zealand Mobile Web
•    Vodafone statistics at the annual Tel.Con conference:
•    74% check social networking from bed
•    41% check the mobile internet while on toilet
•    38% have settled bet by finding answer on phone
•    23% have used mobile to check answer for pub quiz
•    23% access the mobile internet from the beach
     Source: Vodafone NZ presentation at Tel.Con in Auckland April 2012




                                                      Mobile Tech: Mobile Search

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com         Twitter: @tomiahonen
52% Changed Mind in Store!
•  ComScore survey of US smartphone users found that
   52% had changed their mind inside a store about
   what to buy, based on price-shopping they did inside
   the store, on their smartphone
    Source: Mary Meeker Internet Report 18 October 2011




                                                      Mobile Tech: Mobile Internet

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com          Twitter: @tomiahonen
Mobile is the 7th Medium

                Better than the internet or television



                  Wikipedia page: Seven Mass Media

                   Source: Ahonen book Mobile as 7th of the Mass Media, 2008
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012     www.tomiahonen.com                Twitter: @tomiahonen
The 7 Mass Media
1st mass medium Print 1500: books, newspapers, magazines
2nd medium Recordings 1890s: music, games, movies
3rd medium Cinema 1910s
4th medium Radio 1920s
5th medium TV 1950s
6th medium Internet 1995s
7th medium Mobile 2000s



                     Wikipedia page: Seven Mass Media
                    Source: Ahonen book Mobile as 7th of the Mass Media, 2008

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012    www.tomiahonen.com               Twitter: @tomiahonen
Tomi: Mobile Has 9 Unique Benefits
1.   Mobile is first personal mass medium
2.   Permanently Connected
3.   Always Carried
4.   Built-in Payment Channel
5.   Available at Creative Impulse
6.   Has Most Accurate Audience Info
7.   Captures Social Context of Consumption
8.   Enables Augmented Reality
9.   Offers Digital Interface (to real world)
Source: Tomi Ahonen book
The Insider's Guide to Mobile, 2011



Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
mAd Money

       When money and advertising merge, via mobile




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
From Advertising Side




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Steal the Car - Last to Have it Wins
•  Mini campaign Sweden around the theme of car theft
•  A virtual Mini was 'parked' in Stockholm
•  Then participants were invited to go steal it - whoever
   got close enough would gain control of the virtual car
•  Rivals would chase person, trying to grab the car.
   The game would show where
   the car was at any time
•  Who had it in the end, won
   the actual Mini car
•  Campaign had enormous
   visibility in Swedish media
    Source: Globe presentation at
    MMA Asia Forum May 4-5, 2011
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Girlswalker 45% Redemption Rate
•  Teen girl mobile magazine Tokyo Girl / Girlswalker
   twice weekly with youth content: fashion, dating,
   make-up etc. Concept is freemium - base mobile web
   magazine free, premium editions from paid premium
   Gold level with videos etc to platinum level live shows
•  Alan Moore reports it is achieving 45% redemption
   rates to its fashion-oriented coupons and offers
                                                      Source: Alan Moore
                                                              book No
    Straight Lines                                            2012




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com       Twitter: @tomiahonen
From Banking Side




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
m-Banking 40% of Kenya GDP
•  M-Pesa by Safaricom is now 5 years old, with 15M
   users. Rival Airtel (ex Zain) has 2.9M users.
•  Kenya pop 40M (26M age 18+) 69% of adults have
   m-banking account, 2.2x more than 'real' bank acct
•  M-Pesa has 37,000 merchants
•  Central Bank of Kenya says daily transaction value is
   2B Kenya Shillings ($20M). Average transfer $29
•  Already 40% of Kenya GDP transits a mobile phone
                                        Sources: Mobile Money Africa 1 Feb
                                        2012, Business Day 22 Mar 2012,
                                        Chetan Sharma Consulting Apr 2012




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com       Twitter: @tomiahonen
Imagine Perfect Money




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
If Money had a Screen




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Welcoming w Exchange Rate
•  Singtel in Singapore has introduced personalised
   exchange rates for the welcoming message to
                                        incoming tourists
                                         based on what
                                         country your
   roaming                               phone is from.
   For                                   frequent
   travellers this                             is a
   brilliant innovation




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
If Money 'Remembered'




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
QR Codes Used by 10% Globally
•  TNS Survey of 48,000 mobile users in 57
   countries reported on QR Code use. When
   analyzed by TomiAhonen Consulting, QR
   Codes have 380M unique users: 9.5% of
   global unique mobile owners
•  Leading countries according to TNS were Japan
   60%, Hong Kong 47%, South Korea 43%, Singapore
   33%, UK 26%, Canada & Taiwan 25%
•  Regionally, QR codes used by 27% of advanced
   APAC, 19% of N America, 14% of W Eur, 12% of Lat
   Am, 6% of Middle East, 5% of E Eur, and 1% of
   Developing Asia and Africa
    Sources: TNS Survey April 2012 and
    TomiAhonen Consulting May 2012
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
If Money Stopped Crime?




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Sweden - Bus Drivers Robbed
•  Sweden had a wave of robberies of bus drivers for
   their cash. So Sweden followed Estonia's m-
   parking example, and eliminated cash as
   acceptable payment for public transport
•  The crime ended
•  Most used way to pay?
   Mobile of course
•  Sweden became first
   country to start official
   government discussions
   of the elimination of
   cash altogether, in
   parliament in 2010
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
If Money Sold more




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
14% More Vending via SMS
•  Coca Cola revealed at MMA Asia Forum that when
   they implemented SMS payments to their vending
   machines in Spain, they achieved a 14% increase in
   the sales per vending machine on average
•  Note Coca Cola invented the SMS-enabled vending
   machine, in Finland in 1998 and holds many patents
   in the SMS area of mobile commerce and marketing
    Source: Coca Cola presentation at MMA Asia Forum May 4-5, 2011




                                                      Pearls: Real Mobile Services
                                                      collected by Tomi T Ahonen
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com          Twitter: @tomiahonen
Mobile Will Win

                                  It Is Inevitable




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Future of Money is...
•  Visa Europe showed a corporate Visa video to the
   Slovakian Mobile Marketing Forum with a stunning
   statement about mobile phone based credit cards
   and payment cards. The official Visa view is that:
•  "The Visa card of the future is a Visa mobile card."
•  And the video ended with the position
   of Visa about the future of money:
•  "The future of payments is mobile."
    Source: Visa Europe corporate video shown at
    MMMMXI Conference Bratislava 10 May 2011
                                           STOP PRESS:
                                        Nov 21, 2011: Turkey
                                       announces target date of
                                          2025 to end cash!

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com       Twitter: @tomiahonen
Next: Merge The Two




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Carrefour Mobile Shopping App
•  I talked about this coming. Now Carrefour the big
   retailer in France has deployed its smartphone app to
   help shoppers find what have on their shopping list
•  It seems innocent enough at the start - you can use it
   to create your shopping list - and to help you, you can
   use the 2D barcode scanner while in the store to
   easily add items to the shopping list
•  But here is the magical benefit - you tell it which
   Carrefour store you will shop in, and the shopping list
   will be re-arranged in the order of the items in the
   shopping aisles!
•  Similar also Albert Heijn in NetherlandsReal Mobile Services
                                       Pearls:
                                                      collected by Tomi T Ahonen
    Source: Lebensmittel Zeitung 5 Oct 2012
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com          Twitter: @tomiahonen
iConsierge NTT DoCoMo
•  Start with Osaifu Keitai - the world's first mobile wallet
•  So your money is mobile, your coupons are mobile,
   your keys are mobile, your loyalty cards are mobile..
•  Then add intelligence: iConsierge
•  Now your mobile phone acts like the most helpful
   assistant, secretary, or consierge service ever
•  Japanese users say it seems like the mobile phone
   reads their minds!




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Digital Identity is Worthless

                         Digital Footprint is Priceless




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Digital Identity and Footprint
•  Understand "digital identity" is what we humans value
   and want to protect - the digital identity is mostly
   worthless and cannot be monetized.
•  The "digital footprint is priceless" it is the real
   value. Amazon does not offer me recommendations
   based on my age or zip code or marital status...
•  Amazon recommends based on what I have bought
   or looked at, based on what others like me have done
•  Read: Tony Fish book "My Digital Footprint" for more




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Must Be Opt-In
•  All mobile advertising and marketing must be based
   on active opt-in (ask each customer for permission)
•  It means work
•  It means you have to convince every prospective
   mobile phone owner to volunteer to sign up with you
•  It means you have to give honest value to the
   consumer
•  But - the value of an opt-in database of consumers,
   willing to accept ads, and giving you info about them
   and permission to use them - is infinitely more
   valuable than demographics data on mass media
   consumption..

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
We Love Amazon Advertising
•  Amazon is first 'perfect' case of where we don't even
   think of the communication being advertising
•  Its the Amazon recommendation engine
•  It learns what we bought, and what we looked at, and
   makes recommendations based on what other
   people who bought those books, also bought
•  We love it.
•  We actually love it so much -
   we seek more of the
   recommendations

                                                      Pearls: Real Mobile Services
                                                      collected by Tomi T Ahonen
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com          Twitter: @tomiahonen
Want More Ads?
•  Alan Moore said this would happen
•  Blyk was first mobile ad service where consumers
   were reported saying they wanted more ads
•  Now Qustodian of UK and Spain is reporting same.
•  A Qustodian user Andrew Manley wrote at FB:
   "I never thought I would be asking this question
   in my life but how can I receive more ads?"

    Source: Message left at Qustodian
    page on Facebook on 2 Nov 2011




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Bonus: Magic Happens




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
"Ads + money = advocurrency."
                                       - Jonathan 'JMac' MacDonald




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012     www.tomiahonen.com    Twitter: @tomiahonen
Obama 2012 SMS Volunteers
•  The Obama 2008 campaign used social media and
   mobile very successfully. For 2012 they turbocharged
   their efforts. One of their most ingenious ideas was
   the recruiting of SMS volunteers on election day
•  "Would you like to make one call to support President
   Obama today? We'll send you one phone number."
•  Campaign achieved 10% conversion of targeted
   Obama supporters so out of 64M voters, about 6.4M
   made this call. If half got through, and SMS activation
   results in 50% success in voting, 3.2M votes were
   generated this way - Obama's margin of victory was
   4.1M votes. Source: Communities-Dominate.blogs.com Nov 22, 2012

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
What Comes Next?

            If Mobile was 7th, what is 8th Mass Media?




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
The 7 Mass Media
1st mass medium Print 1500: books, newspapers, magazines
2nd medium Recordings 1890s: music, games, movies
3rd medium Cinema 1910s
4th medium Radio 1920s
5th medium TV 1950s
6th medium Internet 1995s
7th medium Mobile 2000s
Next? 8th mass medium will be Augmented Reality


                     Wikipedia page: Seven Mass Media
                    Source: Ahonen book Mobile as 7th of the Mass Media, 2008

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012    www.tomiahonen.com               Twitter: @tomiahonen
Ikea AR Ads
•  Ikea Augmented Reality app that lets consumers to
   'test' how furniture would appear in your home
    Source: Tomi T Ahonen book The Insider's Guide to Mobile, 2011




                                                       Mobile Tech: AR App

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012    www.tomiahonen.com         Twitter: @tomiahonen
Wonderbra App: Strip the Girl
•  Wonderbra launched smartphone AR app called the
   Decoder campaign, lets you strip the dressed model
   in the live video to see which bra she is wearing
    Source: PSFK 5 Oct 2012




                                                      Mobile Tech: AR

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com         Twitter: @tomiahonen
Are There Any Numbers?

            Is Augmented Reality only hype and hope?




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
iButterfly Flies to Hong Kong
•  Japanese AR iButterfly by D2C
•  300,000 users collected 10M butterflies in under 1 yr
    Source: Cherry Picks presentation at MMA Asia Forum 25 April, 2012




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
AR Pages in Tesco Magazine
•  Tesco in the UK has been adding Augmented Reality
   to many of its pages of the Real Food Magazine, its
   customer magazine
•  AR links go to videos helping prepare foods, recipes,
   and even the ability to make purchases instantly,
   online
•  Through three months of use, the AR interactive
   pages get consistently average click-through rates of
   15% with best pages hitting 60% rates
    Source: The Cloud and Compass 20 Nov 2012




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
AR Virtual Trials - Eyeglasses
•  French eyeglasses and sunglasses online retailer
   DirectOptic has added AR trialing of their eyeware,
   using Total Immersion's platform
•  Shoppers who try eyeglasses using AR have 41%
   higher conversion rate than normal online shoppers
•  And those who use AR trialing will spend 12.5% more
   on their eyeglasses on average than non AR users
•  41% x 112.5% = 45.6% more revenue through AR
    Source: The Cloud and Compass 20 Nov 2012




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Mobile Media And AR Media
     Global Mobile Media
     Consumers, in Millions




                                      2 Years Mobile
                                       5M audience


Mobile

     Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Mobile Media And AR Media
     Global Mobile Media
     Consumers, in Millions




                                         AR passes 1B by
                                            year 2020


               2 Years AR pass
                 5M audience


Mobile
  AR        2009         2011         2013   2015    2017   2019    2021       2023
     Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012    www.tomiahonen.com    Twitter: @tomiahonen
Lets take a tour of the future

                       Hong Kong is a chaotic place..




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
(here was a video)
•  To see the video shown at the conference and 3
   other simulations of what AR will be like in the near
   future, please see my TEDx Talk video on YouTube

•  Just go to YouTube, search 'Ahonen TEDx' and you
   should easily see my 20 minute presentation about
   Augmented Reality including the video I showed




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Dieting With AR Goggles
•  Tokyo University led by Professor Michtaka Hirose
   has produced AR based goggles that magnify the
   view of food.




•  When food appeared 50% bigger, the tested people
   ate 10% less
    Source: Tokyo University August 2012

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Who Wants My Latest Book?




                   Available Now Free on Lulu.com: 350 pages
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com       Twitter: @tomiahonen
And finally, some magic..

         Try to make your new concepts seem magical




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Axe/Lynx Virtual Peep Holes
•  Axe/Lynx deodorant ran an experiment with QR code
   based 'virtual peep holes' in discos, restaurants, bars
   and clubs in Puerto Rico
•  Inside the men's toilets, the men could use their
   cameraphones and 'see through the wall' to the
   womens' rest rooms and see videos of the women
   and what they do in there..
•  Result? 23% of target audience
   accessed the videos (and proof
   that all men are Peeping Toms)
    Source: 2D Code 26 June 2012


                                                      Mobile Tech: QR & mobile video

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com         Twitter: @tomiahonen
Now: The Caloriephone..
•  NTT DoCoMo in Japan has introduced service for its
   cameraphones where the consumer just points his
   cameraphone at a dish and takes picture
•  The operator's database will recognize over 1,000
   items in Japanese cuisine and estimate the calories
   involved - and count the calories for the consumer
    Source: Ubergizmo 3 Oct 2011




                                                      Mobile Tech: Smartphone App
                                                      & Mobile Internet
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com         Twitter: @tomiahonen
Tomi T Ahonen, Author & Consultant
      Competitiveness, Business Case, Marketing, and Profitability
       "Service creation and marketing will be key to 3G," Ahonen said. Total Telecom 12 October 2000

•    Provides workshops, training and consulting in how to
     make money with mobile adn converged services.
•    The world's most prolific new mobile service evangelist,
     has introduced over 1,000 new service concepts at
     public conferences; is quoted in 120 books by his peers
•    Quoted in over 400 press stories in a dozen languages;
     keynotes at over 300 major conferences on 6 continents;
     his daily blog is syndicated on CNBC, NY Times, etc
•    Lectures at Oxford University on 3G and Convergence
•    Available as a motivational speaker at your event!
•    Read his bestsellers "Digital Korea", "Communities
     Dominate Brands", “Mobile as 7th of the Mass Media” etc
                         website: www.tomiahonen.com                  Earlier Tomi Ahonen has set up &
                                                                      run Nokia’s 3G Business
                         e-mail: tomi@tomiahonen.com
                                                                      Consultancy. Previously he
                         blog:    communities-dominate.blogs.com      worked for 3 operators where he
                                   twitter: @tomiahonen               created the world’s first fixed-
                                                                      mobile service bundle and set a
•    Tomi's newest book "The Insider's Guide to Mobile"               world record for taking market
                                                                      share from the incumbent
     Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com                 Twitter: @tomiahonen
Bonus Info




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Major Milestones Coming Soon
•  TomiAhonen Mobile Forecast 2012-2015 gives
   following dates of major milestones coming in mobile:
•  Smartphones to sell 1B units annually by year 2013
•  More people vote via SMS on TV shows than total TV
   sets in world by year 2013
•  Total handset sales to pass 2B annually by 2014
•  More active users of SMS than humans alive 2014
   (obviously this means many of us using 2+ accounts)
•  Half of new phones sold to have touch screens 2014
•  Half of internet users will never use a PC to access
   the internet by 2014 (rest are mobile & PC users, and
   diminishing slice of 'only PC' users)
    Source: TomiAhonen Mobile Forecast 2012-2015 - see more at tomiahonen.com
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com            Twitter: @tomiahonen
Mobile Subscribers, Unique Users, Phones




Source: Tomi Ahonen Amanac 2012 - see www.tomiahonen.com - 191 page eBook only 9.99 Euros
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com                  Twitter: @tomiahonen
Price Pyramid of Mobile Phones

   Premium Smartphones                       Over $450                      11%


   Mid-Price Smartphones                     $150 - $449                    13%


   Low cost Smartphones                      $80 - $149                     17%


   Featurephones                             $40 - $79                      21%


   Ultra-cheap phones                        Under $40                      38%


   Source: TomiAhonen Phone Book 2012 - see www.tomiahonen.com - eBook only 9.99 Euros
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com              Twitter: @tomiahonen
400M Touch Screen Smartphones
•  Deloitte projects that by the end of Q2 of 2012, the
   world will have 400 million touch screen smartphones
   in use
•  Tomi comment: the world will have passed 1 billion
   smartphones in use by the summer of 2012, so it
   means about 38% of all smartphones would be touch
   screen smartphones in the summer of 2012

    Source: Deloitte Media & Telecommunications 2012




                                                      Pearls: Real Mobile Services
                                                      collected by Tomi T Ahonen
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com          Twitter: @tomiahonen
Smartphones & 3G Users: by Region




 Source: TomiAhonen Phone Book 2012 - see www.tomiahonen.com - eBook only 9.99 Euros

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com               Twitter: @tomiahonen
Feature Creep UK 2008-2011
•  Of new phone models sold in UK in 2008 and 2011,
   the following features and abilities were available:
                            2008           2011
   HSPA 3.5G                51%            90%
   3+ megapixel camera 49%                 88%
   GPS                      11%            86%
   Smartphone               33%            85%
   WiFi                     22%            85%
   Touch screen             21%            82%
   5+ megapixel camera 17%                 66%
   8+ megapixel camera       1%            21%
    Source: Survey by TomiAhonen Consulting Dec 2008-2011
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com         Twitter: @tomiahonen
Largest 'Mobile' Companies
•  TomiAhonen Consulting provides exclusive ranking of world's
   largest corporations when measured by only their mobile
   industry revenues (removing other revenues). The top 12 are:
   1    China Mobile*, China            Operator       $77B
   2    Verizon Wireless**, USA         Operator       $72B
   3    Vodafone Mobile**, UK           Operator       $66B
   4    AT&T Wireless**, USA            Operator       $58B
   5    Telefonica Movil**, Spain       Operator       $55B
   6    T-Mobile**, Germany             Operator       $49B
   7    Orange Mobile**, France         Operator       $48B
   8    Nokia Mobile**, Finland         Handsets       $45B
   9    Apple iPhone**, USA             Smartphones $42B
   10 Samsung Mobile**, S Korea         Handsets       $40B
   11 NTT DoCoMo*, Japan                Operator       $38B
   12 Telecom Italia Mobile**, Italy    Operator       $36B
    *real company under this name, **virtual company with estimated revenues
    Source: TomiAhonen Almanac 2012 - see more at www.tomiahonen.com
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com          Twitter: @tomiahonen
Tomi Ahonen Index of Mobile Leadership 2011




Source: Tomi Ahonen Amanac 2012 - see www.tomiahonen.com - 191 page eBook only 9.99 Euros
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com                  Twitter: @tomiahonen
Tomi Ahonen Report
                        eBooks only via tomiahonen.com
                        TomiAhonen Mobile Forecast 2012-2015
                        86 pages, eBook format only, May 2012 - Cost only 99 Euro
                        TomiAhonen Consulting's forecast of the 110 most
                        requested mobile industry numbers is in ebook format. Table
                        of contents:
                        Chapter 1 - Intro (4 pages)
                        Chapter 2 - Size of Industry (8 pages) 3 charts, 7 tables
                        Chapter 3 - Customers (7 pages) 1 chart, 10 tables
                        Chapter 4 - Handsets Overall (10 pages) 6 charts, 8 tables
                        Chapter 5 - Handset Market Shares (25 pages) 24 charts
                        Chapter 6 - Mobile Data (18 pages) 15 charts, 15 tables
                        Chapter 7 - Smartphone Apps (2 pages) 1 chart, 1 table
                        Chapter 8 - Customer Types (5 pages) 3 charts, 3 tables
                        Chapter 9 - Annual Statistical Summaries (5 pages) 4 tables
                        More info see www.tomiahonen.com

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com              Twitter: @tomiahonen
Tomi Ahonen eBooks
                        eBooks only via tomiahonen.com
                        Pearls Vol 2: Mobile Social Networking
                        Foreword by Mark Curtis, CEO of Flirtomatic,
                        171 pages, eBook format only, April 2009 - Cost only 9.99 Euro
                        Tomi's second volume of "Pearls", has 50 case studies of
                        real world services around topics of mobile social
                        networking and digital communities covering all biggest
                        stories including Mixi, Mobage, Flirtomatic, Itsmy, Qik,
                        Twitter, Cyworld, Habbo, Mogi, Tohato, MTV, i-Report etc.

                        Pearls Vol 1: Mobile Advertising
                        Foreword by Russell Buckley, SVP Admob, Chairman Mobile
                        Marketing Association
                        171 pages, eBook format only, January 2009 - Cost only 9.99 Euro
                        Launching an eBook series of Tomi's "Pearls", this first
                        volume has 50 case studies of real world services around
                        topics of mobile advertising and marketing from 19 countries
                        including location-based, coupons, viral, advergaming etc

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012    www.tomiahonen.com              Twitter: @tomiahonen
Tomi Ahonen eBooks
                        eBooks only via tomiahonen.com
                        Pearls Vol 3: Mobile Money
                        171 pages, eBook format only, June 2011 - Cost only 9.99 Euro
                        Tomi's third volume of "Pearls", has 50 case studies of real
                        world services around topics of mobile social money, mobile
                        payments, mobile banking and mobile wallets. Includes all
                        biggest stories such as Coca Cola, M-Pesa, NTT DoCoMo
                        Osaifu Keitai etc.




Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com              Twitter: @tomiahonen
Tomi Ahonen eBooks
                         eBooks only via tomiahonen.com
                         Tomi Ahonen Almanac 2012
                         190 pages, eBook format only, February 2012 - Cost only 9.99 Euro
                         Comprehensive industry review and almanac with 93 tables,
                         charts and diagrams, covering all major aspects of the
                         mobile telecoms industry from handsets to services, from
                         customers to networks, from SMS text messaging to content
                         from mobile internet to mobile advertising.
"Whenever I need a stat, Tomi seems to have it, so I'd highly recommend this."
        - Russell Buckley, MD Admob Europe, Chairman Mobile Marketing Association
"Speaking of statistics, Tomi Ahonen has put together the Tomi Ahonen Almanac as an eBook
for mobile nuts. In it, you can quickly find mobile penetration of say, Thailand, or that 51% of
the Earth's population has at least one cellphone, and one in 8 mobile walks around with 2
phones in their pockets!"
          - Ricky "The Guru" Cadden at Symbian Guru
"Tomi Ahonen is the king of mobile statistics and knows more about the mobile space than
any one I know"
          - Paul Poutanen founder and President of Mob4hire
"If you're interested in mobile statistics, you really need to pick up a copy of Tomi Ahonen's
Almanac. The Almanac is full of hard to find information."
            - WAP Review
     Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com                   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Tomi Ahonen eBooks
                        eBooks only via tomiahonen.com
                        Tomi Ahonen Phone Book 2012
                        173 pages, eBook format only, September 2012 - Cost only 9.99
                        Euro


                        Complete update of the volume, data current to December
                        2012.

                        Comprehensive review and almanac of handset side of
                        mobile industry with 100 tables, charts and diagrams, with
                        all market shares, average sales prices, features, operating
                        systems etc for smartphones, dumbphones and major
                        brands in handsets.

                        It is the companion piece to highly popular TomiAhonen
                        Almanac.


Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com             Twitter: @tomiahonen
Tomi Ahonen six hardcover books
                all six hardcover books are available at Amazon
             Mobile as 7th of the Mass Media, 2008
             explains the media opportunities in mobile from music
             and gaming to TV and social networking and even
             internet and adertising. 322 pages.
                   Digital Korea, 2007 with Jim O'Reilly
                   is case study in digital convergence from the most
                   advanced information society of South Korea.
                   covers internet, TV, mobile, ecash, egoverment,
                   robotics, telematics, virtual reality etc 282 pages.
             Communities Dominate Brands, 2005
             with Alan Moore
             first business book on social networking 280 pages.
                     3G Marketing, 2004, with Timo Kasper & Sara
                     Melkko is marketing handbook for mobile operators
                M-Profits 2002
                 Still only complete business book for mobile, 360 p
                     Services for UMTS, 2002, with Joe Barrett was first
                     services and applications book for 3G, 373 pages

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com                Twitter: @tomiahonen
Tomi Ahonen Books:
2012 TomiAhonen Phone Book 2012 (ebook: tomiahonen.com)
2012 Mobile Forecast 2012-2015 (ebook: tomiahonen.com)
2012 TomiAhonen Almanac 2012 (ebook: tomiahonen.com)
2011 Pearls Vol 3: Mobile Money (ebook: tomiahonen.com)
2010 The Insider's Guide to Mobile (free ebook: lulu.com)
2009 Pearls Vol 2: Mobile Social Networking (ebook: tomiahonen.com)
2009 Pearls Vol 1: Mobile Advertising (ebook: tomiahonen.com)
2008 Mobile as 7th of the Mass Media (hardcover: futuretext)
2006 Digital Korea (hardcover: futuretext)
2005 Communities Dominate Brands (hardcover: futuretext)
2004 3G Marketing (hardcover: John Wiley)
2002 M-Profits (hardcover: John Wiley)
2002 Services for UMTS (hardcover: John Wiley)

see all Tomi T Ahonen's books with links at www.tomiahonen.com

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen
Selected TomiAhonen Workshops
•    Changing Customer Needs in Mobile Most requested workshop
     currently, includes “steps” to addiction, “split” personalities, time to change..
•    Mobile as 7th Mass Media Tomi's latest workshop discussing media
     convergence and unique aspects of mobile. Also adopted for Oxford Univ.
•    Social Networking / Mobile Digital Communities based on his book
     Communities Dominate Brands, may be run with SMLXL. Adopted for Oxford U.
•    New Mobile Service Creation From ideas to money-making, for mobile and
     fixed, for operators, vendors, content partners etc, includes 6 M’s and Early 8
•    Business of Mobile Telecoms (2G, 2.5G, 3G) Adopted for Oxford U
•    3G TV covering video and TV convergence with mobile. Adopted for Oxford U
•    Mobile Marketing and Advertising featuring "Engagement Marketing"
•    Segmentation and Customer Understanding may be run with Xtract
•    Launch Marketing for 2.5G and 3G also adopted for Oxford University
•    MVNO, Revenue Sharing & Partnerships can include building a model
•    Forecasting and Business Modelling in Telecoms Popular workshop
•    Competitiveness in Telecoms Workshop form or competition simulation:
•    Workshops are very cost-effective ! Write tomi@tomiahonen.com for more.
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com                 Twitter: @tomiahonen
Tomi's Mobilista Primus Inter Pares TW List
•     If you are in mobile and on Twitter, the 'must follow' Twitterati in addition to
      @TomiAhonen are Tomi's Primus Inter Pares list:
•     @AjitJaokar - author of tons of mobile books, advisor to governments
•     @ChetanSharma - Chetan Sharma author, best view to US stats & industry
•     @DW2 - David Wood ex CEO of Symbian
•     @EOrtiz - C Enrique Ortiz author on mobile tech
•     @Ew4n - Ewan MacLeod, editor of Mobile Industry Review
•     @FjordMark - Mark Curtis author ex CEO of Flirtomatic, now at Fjord
•     @JMacDonald - JMac Jonathan MacDonald the author and superguru
•     @KimDushinski - Kim Dushinski author on mobile marketing
•     @MTrends - Rudy De Waele what can I say, a mobile social butterfly
•     @PGolding - Paul Golding author on mobile apps, web, tech
•     @RussellBuckley - Russell Buckley author ex MMA Chair ex Google ex Admob
•     @TechnoKitten - Helen Keegan runs Swedish Beers
•     @Textually - Emily Turrettini editor of Textually and Ringtonia
•     @TonyFish - Tony Fish mobile author but also guru on digital identity & privacy
•     @Torgo - Daniel Appelquist author & mobile strategist now with Bluevia
•     @Wireless_Watch - Lars Cosh-Ishii editor Wireless Watch Japan, MoMo Tokyo

Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com             Twitter: @tomiahonen
The Guru's Bookshelf in Mobile:
•    Mobile as 7th of the Mass Media, Tomi T Ahonen, 2008
•    Communities Dominate Brands Ahonen & Moore, 2005
•    Mobile Advertising, Sharma, Herzog & Melfi, 2008
•    My Digital Footprint, Tony Fish, 2010
•    Digital Korea, Ahonen & O'Reilly, 2007
•    Mobile Marketing Handbook (2nd ed), Kim Dushinski, 2012
•    No Straight Lines, Alan Moore, 2011
•    Mobile Internet for Dummies, O'Farrell, Levine, et al 2008
•    Wireless Broadband, Fotheringham & Sharma, 2008
•    Next Generation Wireless Apps (2nd ed), Paul Golding, 2010
•    M-Profits, Tomi T Ahonen, 2002
•    Mobile Web 2.0, Jaokar & Fish, 2006
•    3G Marketing, Ahonen, Kasper & Melkko, 2004
•    ...And of course The Dilbert Future by Scott Adams..
Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012   www.tomiahonen.com   Twitter: @tomiahonen

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[Mobile Future] Tomi Ahonen

  • 1. "Mobile is emerging as a mass media", Mr Ahonen adds. The Wall Street Journal, 30 Sept 2008 From Advocurrency to Augmented Reality: Next Big Things in Mobile (Keynote) Tomi T Ahonen, MBA Tomi Seen at: Author and Consultant 50 Countries 300 Presentations Twitter: @tomiahonen 90 Cities Cumulative Audience over 100,000 people www.tomiahonen.com Mobile Future 2012 Stockholm Sweden 28 November 2012 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 2. "All media is digital; all digital is mobile and all companies are social." - Jonathan MacDonald Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 3. How Big is Mobile? Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 4. Global Media End of 2012 Population 7.1B n Mobile 7.1B latio P opu FM Radio 4.1B io Rad FM Internet 2.4B TV 1.9B TV hone PC 1.3B Landline P Landline 1.1B PC Source: TomiAhonen Almanac 2012 and TomiAhonen Mobile Forecast 2012-2015 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 5. Hotel Keys •  Assa Abloy (world’s biggest lockmaker), TeliaSonera and Nordic Choice Hotels (Scandinavian brand owners of Comfort, Clarion and Quality hotels) had trial of NFC mobile phones as hotel room keys. •  A Clarion hotel in Stockholm had a trial with 30 locks. Trial was with loyalty card holders. The thing most hated by hotel guests is lines at check-in/check-out Source: Wall Street Journal, 8 June 2011 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 6. Mobile Sheep? •  Swiss researchers discovered way to detect when sheep are frightened from biological data like heartbeat etc. •  They created alert system that identifies accurately when sheep frightened, sends SMS to the shepherd •  The use in sheep-farming is if there is a wolf nearby. •  Wolf-detection system is primitive solution of 'reading our minds' and generating mobile traffic Source: Textually 14 Aug 2012 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 7. QR Code Gravestones Now In UK •  (I said this would spread..) So yes, Japanese idea to put QR Codes to gravestones is now in Europe •  The Guardian reports that a UK cemetary in Dorset uses technology so graveyard visitors can learn more about the deceased person and to see their web pages or Facebook page and leave comments etc •  The QR Code is done on a piece of granite or metal and added to the gravestone, at the cost of 300 UKP Source: The Guardian 5 September 2012 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 8. Honda Virtual Hitch-Hiker •  Honda has fan club K-Tra 'virtual hitch-hiker' •  Real Honda motorcycle owners can sign up, their actual motorcycle movement will be providers of trips •  Any Honda fans can create hitch-hiker avatar, and then place it anywhere in Japan to start hitch-hiking. Avatar will be on adventure visibile on mobile phone •  20K users = 1.8M km travelled Source: Infinita 2011 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 9. How Fast is Mobile? Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 10. Mobile Web 720x Faster •  The IAB Internet Advertising Board has released some mobile web and mobile commerce data •  In the UK, half of all mobile phone users already use mobile commerce •  The average time that a person will pursue a commercial transaction from web search to real purchase is about one month •  On the phone the time lag between search and m-commerce is about one hour •  Quite literally 'e-commerce' on mobile is 720x faster Source: IAB 14 June 2011 Mobile Tech: Mobile Internet Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 11. How Addicted Are We? Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 12. Compulsive? 150 Times Per Day •  T-Mobile USA CEO Philipp Humm said at CTIA in 2012 that mobile phone owners "pick up their phone 150 times per day". That once every 6 and half minutes of every waking hour of every day Source: Mashable 8 May 2012 •  For smartphones its already up to 200 times per day as reported by the Guardian (every 5 minutes) Source: The Guardian 26 June 2012 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 13. Consumer of Mobile Youth of Today is Customer of Tomorrow Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 14. 12% use during Sex •  Astonishing finding by Zeldi in UK of 1,000 mothers and mobile •  12% of UK mothers admit to having used their mobile phone while having sex •  This is similar to earlier finding by Retrovo that 10% of UK youth send SMS during sex Source: Media Post 10 May 2012 Mobile Tech: SMS Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 15. New Zealand Mobile Web •  Vodafone statistics at the annual Tel.Con conference: •  74% check social networking from bed •  41% check the mobile internet while on toilet •  38% have settled bet by finding answer on phone •  23% have used mobile to check answer for pub quiz •  23% access the mobile internet from the beach Source: Vodafone NZ presentation at Tel.Con in Auckland April 2012 Mobile Tech: Mobile Search Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 16. 52% Changed Mind in Store! •  ComScore survey of US smartphone users found that 52% had changed their mind inside a store about what to buy, based on price-shopping they did inside the store, on their smartphone Source: Mary Meeker Internet Report 18 October 2011 Mobile Tech: Mobile Internet Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 17. Mobile is the 7th Medium Better than the internet or television Wikipedia page: Seven Mass Media Source: Ahonen book Mobile as 7th of the Mass Media, 2008 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 18. The 7 Mass Media 1st mass medium Print 1500: books, newspapers, magazines 2nd medium Recordings 1890s: music, games, movies 3rd medium Cinema 1910s 4th medium Radio 1920s 5th medium TV 1950s 6th medium Internet 1995s 7th medium Mobile 2000s Wikipedia page: Seven Mass Media Source: Ahonen book Mobile as 7th of the Mass Media, 2008 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 19. Tomi: Mobile Has 9 Unique Benefits 1. Mobile is first personal mass medium 2. Permanently Connected 3. Always Carried 4. Built-in Payment Channel 5. Available at Creative Impulse 6. Has Most Accurate Audience Info 7. Captures Social Context of Consumption 8. Enables Augmented Reality 9. Offers Digital Interface (to real world) Source: Tomi Ahonen book The Insider's Guide to Mobile, 2011 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 20. mAd Money When money and advertising merge, via mobile Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 21. From Advertising Side Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 22. Steal the Car - Last to Have it Wins •  Mini campaign Sweden around the theme of car theft •  A virtual Mini was 'parked' in Stockholm •  Then participants were invited to go steal it - whoever got close enough would gain control of the virtual car •  Rivals would chase person, trying to grab the car. The game would show where the car was at any time •  Who had it in the end, won the actual Mini car •  Campaign had enormous visibility in Swedish media Source: Globe presentation at MMA Asia Forum May 4-5, 2011 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 23. Girlswalker 45% Redemption Rate •  Teen girl mobile magazine Tokyo Girl / Girlswalker twice weekly with youth content: fashion, dating, make-up etc. Concept is freemium - base mobile web magazine free, premium editions from paid premium Gold level with videos etc to platinum level live shows •  Alan Moore reports it is achieving 45% redemption rates to its fashion-oriented coupons and offers Source: Alan Moore book No Straight Lines 2012 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 24. From Banking Side Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 25. m-Banking 40% of Kenya GDP •  M-Pesa by Safaricom is now 5 years old, with 15M users. Rival Airtel (ex Zain) has 2.9M users. •  Kenya pop 40M (26M age 18+) 69% of adults have m-banking account, 2.2x more than 'real' bank acct •  M-Pesa has 37,000 merchants •  Central Bank of Kenya says daily transaction value is 2B Kenya Shillings ($20M). Average transfer $29 •  Already 40% of Kenya GDP transits a mobile phone Sources: Mobile Money Africa 1 Feb 2012, Business Day 22 Mar 2012, Chetan Sharma Consulting Apr 2012 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 26. Imagine Perfect Money Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 27. If Money had a Screen Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 28. Welcoming w Exchange Rate •  Singtel in Singapore has introduced personalised exchange rates for the welcoming message to incoming tourists based on what country your roaming phone is from. For frequent travellers this is a brilliant innovation Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 29. If Money 'Remembered' Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 30. QR Codes Used by 10% Globally •  TNS Survey of 48,000 mobile users in 57 countries reported on QR Code use. When analyzed by TomiAhonen Consulting, QR Codes have 380M unique users: 9.5% of global unique mobile owners •  Leading countries according to TNS were Japan 60%, Hong Kong 47%, South Korea 43%, Singapore 33%, UK 26%, Canada & Taiwan 25% •  Regionally, QR codes used by 27% of advanced APAC, 19% of N America, 14% of W Eur, 12% of Lat Am, 6% of Middle East, 5% of E Eur, and 1% of Developing Asia and Africa Sources: TNS Survey April 2012 and TomiAhonen Consulting May 2012 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 31. If Money Stopped Crime? Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 32. Sweden - Bus Drivers Robbed •  Sweden had a wave of robberies of bus drivers for their cash. So Sweden followed Estonia's m- parking example, and eliminated cash as acceptable payment for public transport •  The crime ended •  Most used way to pay? Mobile of course •  Sweden became first country to start official government discussions of the elimination of cash altogether, in parliament in 2010 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 33. If Money Sold more Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 34. 14% More Vending via SMS •  Coca Cola revealed at MMA Asia Forum that when they implemented SMS payments to their vending machines in Spain, they achieved a 14% increase in the sales per vending machine on average •  Note Coca Cola invented the SMS-enabled vending machine, in Finland in 1998 and holds many patents in the SMS area of mobile commerce and marketing Source: Coca Cola presentation at MMA Asia Forum May 4-5, 2011 Pearls: Real Mobile Services collected by Tomi T Ahonen Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 35. Mobile Will Win It Is Inevitable Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 36. Future of Money is... •  Visa Europe showed a corporate Visa video to the Slovakian Mobile Marketing Forum with a stunning statement about mobile phone based credit cards and payment cards. The official Visa view is that: •  "The Visa card of the future is a Visa mobile card." •  And the video ended with the position of Visa about the future of money: •  "The future of payments is mobile." Source: Visa Europe corporate video shown at MMMMXI Conference Bratislava 10 May 2011 STOP PRESS: Nov 21, 2011: Turkey announces target date of 2025 to end cash! Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 37. Next: Merge The Two Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 38. Carrefour Mobile Shopping App •  I talked about this coming. Now Carrefour the big retailer in France has deployed its smartphone app to help shoppers find what have on their shopping list •  It seems innocent enough at the start - you can use it to create your shopping list - and to help you, you can use the 2D barcode scanner while in the store to easily add items to the shopping list •  But here is the magical benefit - you tell it which Carrefour store you will shop in, and the shopping list will be re-arranged in the order of the items in the shopping aisles! •  Similar also Albert Heijn in NetherlandsReal Mobile Services Pearls: collected by Tomi T Ahonen Source: Lebensmittel Zeitung 5 Oct 2012 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 39. iConsierge NTT DoCoMo •  Start with Osaifu Keitai - the world's first mobile wallet •  So your money is mobile, your coupons are mobile, your keys are mobile, your loyalty cards are mobile.. •  Then add intelligence: iConsierge •  Now your mobile phone acts like the most helpful assistant, secretary, or consierge service ever •  Japanese users say it seems like the mobile phone reads their minds! Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 40. Digital Identity is Worthless Digital Footprint is Priceless Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 41. Digital Identity and Footprint •  Understand "digital identity" is what we humans value and want to protect - the digital identity is mostly worthless and cannot be monetized. •  The "digital footprint is priceless" it is the real value. Amazon does not offer me recommendations based on my age or zip code or marital status... •  Amazon recommends based on what I have bought or looked at, based on what others like me have done •  Read: Tony Fish book "My Digital Footprint" for more Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 42. Must Be Opt-In •  All mobile advertising and marketing must be based on active opt-in (ask each customer for permission) •  It means work •  It means you have to convince every prospective mobile phone owner to volunteer to sign up with you •  It means you have to give honest value to the consumer •  But - the value of an opt-in database of consumers, willing to accept ads, and giving you info about them and permission to use them - is infinitely more valuable than demographics data on mass media consumption.. Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 43. We Love Amazon Advertising •  Amazon is first 'perfect' case of where we don't even think of the communication being advertising •  Its the Amazon recommendation engine •  It learns what we bought, and what we looked at, and makes recommendations based on what other people who bought those books, also bought •  We love it. •  We actually love it so much - we seek more of the recommendations Pearls: Real Mobile Services collected by Tomi T Ahonen Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 44. Want More Ads? •  Alan Moore said this would happen •  Blyk was first mobile ad service where consumers were reported saying they wanted more ads •  Now Qustodian of UK and Spain is reporting same. •  A Qustodian user Andrew Manley wrote at FB: "I never thought I would be asking this question in my life but how can I receive more ads?" Source: Message left at Qustodian page on Facebook on 2 Nov 2011 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 45. Bonus: Magic Happens Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 46. "Ads + money = advocurrency." - Jonathan 'JMac' MacDonald Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 47. Obama 2012 SMS Volunteers •  The Obama 2008 campaign used social media and mobile very successfully. For 2012 they turbocharged their efforts. One of their most ingenious ideas was the recruiting of SMS volunteers on election day •  "Would you like to make one call to support President Obama today? We'll send you one phone number." •  Campaign achieved 10% conversion of targeted Obama supporters so out of 64M voters, about 6.4M made this call. If half got through, and SMS activation results in 50% success in voting, 3.2M votes were generated this way - Obama's margin of victory was 4.1M votes. Source: Communities-Dominate.blogs.com Nov 22, 2012 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 48. What Comes Next? If Mobile was 7th, what is 8th Mass Media? Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 49. The 7 Mass Media 1st mass medium Print 1500: books, newspapers, magazines 2nd medium Recordings 1890s: music, games, movies 3rd medium Cinema 1910s 4th medium Radio 1920s 5th medium TV 1950s 6th medium Internet 1995s 7th medium Mobile 2000s Next? 8th mass medium will be Augmented Reality Wikipedia page: Seven Mass Media Source: Ahonen book Mobile as 7th of the Mass Media, 2008 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 50. Ikea AR Ads •  Ikea Augmented Reality app that lets consumers to 'test' how furniture would appear in your home Source: Tomi T Ahonen book The Insider's Guide to Mobile, 2011 Mobile Tech: AR App Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 51. Wonderbra App: Strip the Girl •  Wonderbra launched smartphone AR app called the Decoder campaign, lets you strip the dressed model in the live video to see which bra she is wearing Source: PSFK 5 Oct 2012 Mobile Tech: AR Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 52. Are There Any Numbers? Is Augmented Reality only hype and hope? Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 53. iButterfly Flies to Hong Kong •  Japanese AR iButterfly by D2C •  300,000 users collected 10M butterflies in under 1 yr Source: Cherry Picks presentation at MMA Asia Forum 25 April, 2012 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 54. AR Pages in Tesco Magazine •  Tesco in the UK has been adding Augmented Reality to many of its pages of the Real Food Magazine, its customer magazine •  AR links go to videos helping prepare foods, recipes, and even the ability to make purchases instantly, online •  Through three months of use, the AR interactive pages get consistently average click-through rates of 15% with best pages hitting 60% rates Source: The Cloud and Compass 20 Nov 2012 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 55. AR Virtual Trials - Eyeglasses •  French eyeglasses and sunglasses online retailer DirectOptic has added AR trialing of their eyeware, using Total Immersion's platform •  Shoppers who try eyeglasses using AR have 41% higher conversion rate than normal online shoppers •  And those who use AR trialing will spend 12.5% more on their eyeglasses on average than non AR users •  41% x 112.5% = 45.6% more revenue through AR Source: The Cloud and Compass 20 Nov 2012 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 56. Mobile Media And AR Media Global Mobile Media Consumers, in Millions 2 Years Mobile 5M audience Mobile Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 57. Mobile Media And AR Media Global Mobile Media Consumers, in Millions AR passes 1B by year 2020 2 Years AR pass 5M audience Mobile AR 2009 2011 2013 2015 2017 2019 2021 2023 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 58. Lets take a tour of the future Hong Kong is a chaotic place.. Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 59. (here was a video) •  To see the video shown at the conference and 3 other simulations of what AR will be like in the near future, please see my TEDx Talk video on YouTube •  Just go to YouTube, search 'Ahonen TEDx' and you should easily see my 20 minute presentation about Augmented Reality including the video I showed Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 60. Dieting With AR Goggles •  Tokyo University led by Professor Michtaka Hirose has produced AR based goggles that magnify the view of food. •  When food appeared 50% bigger, the tested people ate 10% less Source: Tokyo University August 2012 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 61. Who Wants My Latest Book? Available Now Free on Lulu.com: 350 pages Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 62. And finally, some magic.. Try to make your new concepts seem magical Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 63. Axe/Lynx Virtual Peep Holes •  Axe/Lynx deodorant ran an experiment with QR code based 'virtual peep holes' in discos, restaurants, bars and clubs in Puerto Rico •  Inside the men's toilets, the men could use their cameraphones and 'see through the wall' to the womens' rest rooms and see videos of the women and what they do in there.. •  Result? 23% of target audience accessed the videos (and proof that all men are Peeping Toms) Source: 2D Code 26 June 2012 Mobile Tech: QR & mobile video Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 64. Now: The Caloriephone.. •  NTT DoCoMo in Japan has introduced service for its cameraphones where the consumer just points his cameraphone at a dish and takes picture •  The operator's database will recognize over 1,000 items in Japanese cuisine and estimate the calories involved - and count the calories for the consumer Source: Ubergizmo 3 Oct 2011 Mobile Tech: Smartphone App & Mobile Internet Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 65. Tomi T Ahonen, Author & Consultant Competitiveness, Business Case, Marketing, and Profitability "Service creation and marketing will be key to 3G," Ahonen said. Total Telecom 12 October 2000 •  Provides workshops, training and consulting in how to make money with mobile adn converged services. •  The world's most prolific new mobile service evangelist, has introduced over 1,000 new service concepts at public conferences; is quoted in 120 books by his peers •  Quoted in over 400 press stories in a dozen languages; keynotes at over 300 major conferences on 6 continents; his daily blog is syndicated on CNBC, NY Times, etc •  Lectures at Oxford University on 3G and Convergence •  Available as a motivational speaker at your event! •  Read his bestsellers "Digital Korea", "Communities Dominate Brands", “Mobile as 7th of the Mass Media” etc website: www.tomiahonen.com Earlier Tomi Ahonen has set up & run Nokia’s 3G Business e-mail: tomi@tomiahonen.com Consultancy. Previously he blog: communities-dominate.blogs.com worked for 3 operators where he twitter: @tomiahonen created the world’s first fixed- mobile service bundle and set a •  Tomi's newest book "The Insider's Guide to Mobile" world record for taking market share from the incumbent Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 66. Bonus Info Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 67. Major Milestones Coming Soon •  TomiAhonen Mobile Forecast 2012-2015 gives following dates of major milestones coming in mobile: •  Smartphones to sell 1B units annually by year 2013 •  More people vote via SMS on TV shows than total TV sets in world by year 2013 •  Total handset sales to pass 2B annually by 2014 •  More active users of SMS than humans alive 2014 (obviously this means many of us using 2+ accounts) •  Half of new phones sold to have touch screens 2014 •  Half of internet users will never use a PC to access the internet by 2014 (rest are mobile & PC users, and diminishing slice of 'only PC' users) Source: TomiAhonen Mobile Forecast 2012-2015 - see more at tomiahonen.com Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 68. Mobile Subscribers, Unique Users, Phones Source: Tomi Ahonen Amanac 2012 - see www.tomiahonen.com - 191 page eBook only 9.99 Euros Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 69. Price Pyramid of Mobile Phones Premium Smartphones Over $450 11% Mid-Price Smartphones $150 - $449 13% Low cost Smartphones $80 - $149 17% Featurephones $40 - $79 21% Ultra-cheap phones Under $40 38% Source: TomiAhonen Phone Book 2012 - see www.tomiahonen.com - eBook only 9.99 Euros Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 70. 400M Touch Screen Smartphones •  Deloitte projects that by the end of Q2 of 2012, the world will have 400 million touch screen smartphones in use •  Tomi comment: the world will have passed 1 billion smartphones in use by the summer of 2012, so it means about 38% of all smartphones would be touch screen smartphones in the summer of 2012 Source: Deloitte Media & Telecommunications 2012 Pearls: Real Mobile Services collected by Tomi T Ahonen Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 71. Smartphones & 3G Users: by Region Source: TomiAhonen Phone Book 2012 - see www.tomiahonen.com - eBook only 9.99 Euros Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 72. Feature Creep UK 2008-2011 •  Of new phone models sold in UK in 2008 and 2011, the following features and abilities were available: 2008 2011 HSPA 3.5G 51% 90% 3+ megapixel camera 49% 88% GPS 11% 86% Smartphone 33% 85% WiFi 22% 85% Touch screen 21% 82% 5+ megapixel camera 17% 66% 8+ megapixel camera 1% 21% Source: Survey by TomiAhonen Consulting Dec 2008-2011 Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 73. Largest 'Mobile' Companies •  TomiAhonen Consulting provides exclusive ranking of world's largest corporations when measured by only their mobile industry revenues (removing other revenues). The top 12 are: 1 China Mobile*, China Operator $77B 2 Verizon Wireless**, USA Operator $72B 3 Vodafone Mobile**, UK Operator $66B 4 AT&T Wireless**, USA Operator $58B 5 Telefonica Movil**, Spain Operator $55B 6 T-Mobile**, Germany Operator $49B 7 Orange Mobile**, France Operator $48B 8 Nokia Mobile**, Finland Handsets $45B 9 Apple iPhone**, USA Smartphones $42B 10 Samsung Mobile**, S Korea Handsets $40B 11 NTT DoCoMo*, Japan Operator $38B 12 Telecom Italia Mobile**, Italy Operator $36B *real company under this name, **virtual company with estimated revenues Source: TomiAhonen Almanac 2012 - see more at www.tomiahonen.com Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 74. Tomi Ahonen Index of Mobile Leadership 2011 Source: Tomi Ahonen Amanac 2012 - see www.tomiahonen.com - 191 page eBook only 9.99 Euros Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 75. Tomi Ahonen Report eBooks only via tomiahonen.com TomiAhonen Mobile Forecast 2012-2015 86 pages, eBook format only, May 2012 - Cost only 99 Euro TomiAhonen Consulting's forecast of the 110 most requested mobile industry numbers is in ebook format. Table of contents: Chapter 1 - Intro (4 pages) Chapter 2 - Size of Industry (8 pages) 3 charts, 7 tables Chapter 3 - Customers (7 pages) 1 chart, 10 tables Chapter 4 - Handsets Overall (10 pages) 6 charts, 8 tables Chapter 5 - Handset Market Shares (25 pages) 24 charts Chapter 6 - Mobile Data (18 pages) 15 charts, 15 tables Chapter 7 - Smartphone Apps (2 pages) 1 chart, 1 table Chapter 8 - Customer Types (5 pages) 3 charts, 3 tables Chapter 9 - Annual Statistical Summaries (5 pages) 4 tables More info see www.tomiahonen.com Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 76. Tomi Ahonen eBooks eBooks only via tomiahonen.com Pearls Vol 2: Mobile Social Networking Foreword by Mark Curtis, CEO of Flirtomatic, 171 pages, eBook format only, April 2009 - Cost only 9.99 Euro Tomi's second volume of "Pearls", has 50 case studies of real world services around topics of mobile social networking and digital communities covering all biggest stories including Mixi, Mobage, Flirtomatic, Itsmy, Qik, Twitter, Cyworld, Habbo, Mogi, Tohato, MTV, i-Report etc. Pearls Vol 1: Mobile Advertising Foreword by Russell Buckley, SVP Admob, Chairman Mobile Marketing Association 171 pages, eBook format only, January 2009 - Cost only 9.99 Euro Launching an eBook series of Tomi's "Pearls", this first volume has 50 case studies of real world services around topics of mobile advertising and marketing from 19 countries including location-based, coupons, viral, advergaming etc Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 77. Tomi Ahonen eBooks eBooks only via tomiahonen.com Pearls Vol 3: Mobile Money 171 pages, eBook format only, June 2011 - Cost only 9.99 Euro Tomi's third volume of "Pearls", has 50 case studies of real world services around topics of mobile social money, mobile payments, mobile banking and mobile wallets. Includes all biggest stories such as Coca Cola, M-Pesa, NTT DoCoMo Osaifu Keitai etc. Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 78. Tomi Ahonen eBooks eBooks only via tomiahonen.com Tomi Ahonen Almanac 2012 190 pages, eBook format only, February 2012 - Cost only 9.99 Euro Comprehensive industry review and almanac with 93 tables, charts and diagrams, covering all major aspects of the mobile telecoms industry from handsets to services, from customers to networks, from SMS text messaging to content from mobile internet to mobile advertising. "Whenever I need a stat, Tomi seems to have it, so I'd highly recommend this." - Russell Buckley, MD Admob Europe, Chairman Mobile Marketing Association "Speaking of statistics, Tomi Ahonen has put together the Tomi Ahonen Almanac as an eBook for mobile nuts. In it, you can quickly find mobile penetration of say, Thailand, or that 51% of the Earth's population has at least one cellphone, and one in 8 mobile walks around with 2 phones in their pockets!" - Ricky "The Guru" Cadden at Symbian Guru "Tomi Ahonen is the king of mobile statistics and knows more about the mobile space than any one I know" - Paul Poutanen founder and President of Mob4hire "If you're interested in mobile statistics, you really need to pick up a copy of Tomi Ahonen's Almanac. The Almanac is full of hard to find information." - WAP Review Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 79. Tomi Ahonen eBooks eBooks only via tomiahonen.com Tomi Ahonen Phone Book 2012 173 pages, eBook format only, September 2012 - Cost only 9.99 Euro Complete update of the volume, data current to December 2012. Comprehensive review and almanac of handset side of mobile industry with 100 tables, charts and diagrams, with all market shares, average sales prices, features, operating systems etc for smartphones, dumbphones and major brands in handsets. It is the companion piece to highly popular TomiAhonen Almanac. Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 80. Tomi Ahonen six hardcover books all six hardcover books are available at Amazon Mobile as 7th of the Mass Media, 2008 explains the media opportunities in mobile from music and gaming to TV and social networking and even internet and adertising. 322 pages. Digital Korea, 2007 with Jim O'Reilly is case study in digital convergence from the most advanced information society of South Korea. covers internet, TV, mobile, ecash, egoverment, robotics, telematics, virtual reality etc 282 pages. Communities Dominate Brands, 2005 with Alan Moore first business book on social networking 280 pages. 3G Marketing, 2004, with Timo Kasper & Sara Melkko is marketing handbook for mobile operators M-Profits 2002 Still only complete business book for mobile, 360 p Services for UMTS, 2002, with Joe Barrett was first services and applications book for 3G, 373 pages Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 81. Tomi Ahonen Books: 2012 TomiAhonen Phone Book 2012 (ebook: tomiahonen.com) 2012 Mobile Forecast 2012-2015 (ebook: tomiahonen.com) 2012 TomiAhonen Almanac 2012 (ebook: tomiahonen.com) 2011 Pearls Vol 3: Mobile Money (ebook: tomiahonen.com) 2010 The Insider's Guide to Mobile (free ebook: lulu.com) 2009 Pearls Vol 2: Mobile Social Networking (ebook: tomiahonen.com) 2009 Pearls Vol 1: Mobile Advertising (ebook: tomiahonen.com) 2008 Mobile as 7th of the Mass Media (hardcover: futuretext) 2006 Digital Korea (hardcover: futuretext) 2005 Communities Dominate Brands (hardcover: futuretext) 2004 3G Marketing (hardcover: John Wiley) 2002 M-Profits (hardcover: John Wiley) 2002 Services for UMTS (hardcover: John Wiley) see all Tomi T Ahonen's books with links at www.tomiahonen.com Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 82. Selected TomiAhonen Workshops •  Changing Customer Needs in Mobile Most requested workshop currently, includes “steps” to addiction, “split” personalities, time to change.. •  Mobile as 7th Mass Media Tomi's latest workshop discussing media convergence and unique aspects of mobile. Also adopted for Oxford Univ. •  Social Networking / Mobile Digital Communities based on his book Communities Dominate Brands, may be run with SMLXL. Adopted for Oxford U. •  New Mobile Service Creation From ideas to money-making, for mobile and fixed, for operators, vendors, content partners etc, includes 6 M’s and Early 8 •  Business of Mobile Telecoms (2G, 2.5G, 3G) Adopted for Oxford U •  3G TV covering video and TV convergence with mobile. Adopted for Oxford U •  Mobile Marketing and Advertising featuring "Engagement Marketing" •  Segmentation and Customer Understanding may be run with Xtract •  Launch Marketing for 2.5G and 3G also adopted for Oxford University •  MVNO, Revenue Sharing & Partnerships can include building a model •  Forecasting and Business Modelling in Telecoms Popular workshop •  Competitiveness in Telecoms Workshop form or competition simulation: •  Workshops are very cost-effective ! Write tomi@tomiahonen.com for more. Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 83. Tomi's Mobilista Primus Inter Pares TW List •  If you are in mobile and on Twitter, the 'must follow' Twitterati in addition to @TomiAhonen are Tomi's Primus Inter Pares list: •  @AjitJaokar - author of tons of mobile books, advisor to governments •  @ChetanSharma - Chetan Sharma author, best view to US stats & industry •  @DW2 - David Wood ex CEO of Symbian •  @EOrtiz - C Enrique Ortiz author on mobile tech •  @Ew4n - Ewan MacLeod, editor of Mobile Industry Review •  @FjordMark - Mark Curtis author ex CEO of Flirtomatic, now at Fjord •  @JMacDonald - JMac Jonathan MacDonald the author and superguru •  @KimDushinski - Kim Dushinski author on mobile marketing •  @MTrends - Rudy De Waele what can I say, a mobile social butterfly •  @PGolding - Paul Golding author on mobile apps, web, tech •  @RussellBuckley - Russell Buckley author ex MMA Chair ex Google ex Admob •  @TechnoKitten - Helen Keegan runs Swedish Beers •  @Textually - Emily Turrettini editor of Textually and Ringtonia •  @TonyFish - Tony Fish mobile author but also guru on digital identity & privacy •  @Torgo - Daniel Appelquist author & mobile strategist now with Bluevia •  @Wireless_Watch - Lars Cosh-Ishii editor Wireless Watch Japan, MoMo Tokyo Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen
  • 84. The Guru's Bookshelf in Mobile: •  Mobile as 7th of the Mass Media, Tomi T Ahonen, 2008 •  Communities Dominate Brands Ahonen & Moore, 2005 •  Mobile Advertising, Sharma, Herzog & Melfi, 2008 •  My Digital Footprint, Tony Fish, 2010 •  Digital Korea, Ahonen & O'Reilly, 2007 •  Mobile Marketing Handbook (2nd ed), Kim Dushinski, 2012 •  No Straight Lines, Alan Moore, 2011 •  Mobile Internet for Dummies, O'Farrell, Levine, et al 2008 •  Wireless Broadband, Fotheringham & Sharma, 2008 •  Next Generation Wireless Apps (2nd ed), Paul Golding, 2010 •  M-Profits, Tomi T Ahonen, 2002 •  Mobile Web 2.0, Jaokar & Fish, 2006 •  3G Marketing, Ahonen, Kasper & Melkko, 2004 •  ...And of course The Dilbert Future by Scott Adams.. Copyright © Tomi T Ahonen 2012 www.tomiahonen.com Twitter: @tomiahonen