From the SMX West Conference in San Jose, California, March 21-23, 2017. SESSION: Paid Search Fundamentals. PRESENTATION: Paid Search Fundamentals - Given by Matt VanWagner, @mvanwagner - FindMeFaster, President. #SMX #13D
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Why I Love Paid Search
New Business Opens
Goal: Get people in store
One Month Later
124,000 Ad Impressions
300+ Qualified Visitors to Site
Cost: $185
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You Control Messaging / Landing Pages
Get going quickly.
Discover what words convert (in a “not provided” SEO world).
Manage risk of algorithm changes.
Predictable, dependable flow of traffic.
You write the ads that appear.
You determine what pages visitors see first.
PPC and SEO are Complementary
Why I Love Paid Search
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§ Reach Audiences Worldwide
– Any Country
– Any Language
World’s Favorite Search Engine
§ 20+ Billion searches/mo.
Worldwide
§ 2/3 of all U.S. searches
are powered by Google
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More than Google.com
§ Google search powers many web
properties
• Google Maps
• Internet Service Providers (ISPs)
Xfinity, Earthlink, & others.
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More than just Text Ads
Google places banner and
rich media ads across
the internet.
• Internet users spend
95% of their time browsing &
reading website content.
• Google’s display ad network
reaches 2 Million+ websites,
videos, & mobile apps
around the world.
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AdWords: A Powerful, Global Online Advertising Platform
Full control
in your hands!
• Create Ads
• Set Budgets
• Scheduling
• Targeting
• Reporting
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Paid Search Overview
Keywords:
Ads:
Words & phrases that trigger ads to show
Really, really, short sales pitches in text or images.
Landing Page: The first page people see after they click your ad.
Optimization: Active daily management for all of the above. Measuring, testing & tracking.
Modifications to increase clicks, conversions, revenues, and profits.
Bids: How much you are willing to pay to show your ads, get clicks & conversions.
Conversions: Actions taken by your visitors that you want to track such as leads, orders,
downloads, phone calls.
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Where you have an advantage…exploit it!
Improve Ad Position & ROI
Bid By Time Zone
Target Areas by Language
Choose Your Battle zones
Geographic Targeting
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Time & Day of Week Targeting
Note: Ad scheduling works differently on AdWords vs Bing Ads.
Bing Ads: Set schedule based on when the users see your ads
AdWords: Schedule based on your AdWords account setup location.
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How Do Paid Search Engines Really Work?
● How does an ad get selected?
● Does the highest bid always get the top spot?
● How much does it cost to show my ad?
● What is the best ad position?
Paid Search Auctions
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What is Best Ad Position?
In general, the higher your ads appear,
the more clicks you get and
the more you pay.
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Your Keywords & Max Bids
User Search Query:
Blue Widgets
Red Widgets $.10
Blue Widgets $.10
Blue Green Widgets $.10
Blue Widgets
Buy blue widgets today.
Free next-day shipping.
www.widgetworld.com/bluewidget
In Your Perfect World...
You're a Winner!!!
CPC = $.10 or less!
Your Ad
Your Site:
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…this would be a great set of answers.
Ads Competing
Against Each Other
On a search for the color blue…
What Search Engines Want
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$ 3$ 1
$ 2 $ 4
$.25$10
$ .30 $ 6
If highest bid determined ad display…
Ads Competing
Against Each
Other on Bid Price
…results may not be quite as relevant.
What Advertisers Want
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Quality Score, Bids and Ad Ranking
● Relevancy:
Relationship of Keywords à Ads à Landing page
The nature of the click(er)
● Historical Performance (CTR):
Keyword
Keyword + Ad
Ad groups, campaigns, account
● Max Bid Price
A Hybrid Solution – Quality Scoring
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Who Wins the Top Spot?
$ .30
$ 3$ 1
$ 2 $ 4
$.25$6
$ 5
.95
.90
.30
.30
.10
.25 .80
.95
Lets Say Quality
Scores look like this
AD RANK = QS x Max Bid
1.8 1.21.5 .95 .90
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$ .30
$ 3$ 1
$ 2 $ 4
$.25$6
$ 5
.95
.90
.30
.30
.10
.25 .80
.95
Lets Say Quality
Scores look like this
1.8 1.21.5 .95 .90
What Do They Pay?
$ .10
$ .96
$3.18
$4.81
$1.68
Lesson:
Write relevant ads and select
relevant keywords.
Bid reasonably.
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Getting Started
What is the primary goal of your campaign?
● Leads, sales, brand building?
How do you define success?
● Online vs. offline sales conversions.
● Steps on the path towards sales conversion.
Measure real world actions, not just CTR or CPC!
How do you measure success?
● AdWords and Bing Ads conversion tags.
● Web analytics (Google Analytics, Omniture, Coremetrics, etc).
● How much the phones are ringing.
● Total company sales and profits increasing.
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Getting Semantics Straight
Keywords are not Search Queries
Keywords = what you bid on
Search Queries = what users type into a search box
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Building Keyword Lists
Start with your own brain
● What words / phrases describe what you are promoting?
● What words do other people use?
● Synonyms, misspellings.
● Words that will bring the wrong people to you.
● Start with keywords that contain 2 or 3 words (aka
terms, tokens)
● Absolutely use your own brand names.
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Creating Lists of Keywords
shepherds
german shepherds
shepherd dogs
pure-bred shepherds
labrador puppies
labradors
black lab puppies
black labs
golden lab
chocolate labrador
brown labradors
black lab puppies
black labs
retreivers
pug dogs
puppies
small pet dogs
lassie dogs
collies
poodles
toy poodles
shitzo
mutts
weiner dogs
irish retriever
sheep herding dogs
pure bred dobermans
pit bulls
vietnamese pot belly pigs
dalmations
dalmation puppies
dalmation pups
golden retrievers
golden retriever
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Organize Keyword Lists
Pull them into smaller, tighter ad groups:
Labradors
labrador puppies
labradors
black labs
golden lab
chocolate labrador
brown labradors
black lab puppies
black labs
Shepherds
shepherds
german shepherds
shepherd dogs
pure-bred shepherds
Retrievers
golden retrievers
golden retriever
retreivers
Pugs
pug dogs
pug dog
pugs
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Keyword Match Types
Match types control how closely your keywords match with a user’s search query:
Broad Match: Very loose matching = tons of traffic
Broad Match Modifier: Loose, more control = lots of traffic
Phrase Match: Tighter matching = less traffic
Exact Match: Tightest matching = least traffic
Negative Match: Prevents matches, restricts traffic
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Broad Match
MatchType Broad Match (DEFAULT)
Syntax word1 word2 word3
What it matches to: Queries with words in any order
Synonyms search engines believe could be relevant
Session-based matches
User Search Query: Your keyword is: Can it Match?
wedding cake wedding cake YES
cakes wedding cake MAYBE
pictures of wedding cakes wedding cake YES
wedding cup cakes wedding cake YES
yellow cake wmd wedding cake YES
hemarroid cream wedding cake YES
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Broad Match Modifier
Match Type Broad Match Modified
Keyword Syntax +word1 +word2 word3
What it matches to: Queries containing those words in any order
Queries must contain word(s) with the + sign
Optionally: Plurals, close variants
User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match?
wedding cake +wedding +cake YES
birthday cakes +wedding +cake NO
pictures of wedding cakes +wedding +cake YES
weeding cup cakes +wedding +cake YES
cakes +wedding +cake NO
hemarroid cream +wedding +cake NO
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Phrase Match
Match Type Phrase
Syntax “word1 word2 word3”
What it matches to: Queries with those words together
Queries in that word order
Also matches to: Misspellings, singular & plurals, acronyms, stemmings (such
as wedding & weddings) abbreviations, and accents.
User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match?
wedding cake “wedding cake” YES
Chelsea wedding cakes bakery “wedding cakes” YES
gluten-free cakes, weddings “wedding cakes” NO
wedding cupcake “wedding cakes” NO
weeding cake “wedding cakes” MAYBE
bride’s cake “wedding cakes” NO
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Exact Match
Match Type Exact
Syntax [word1 word2]
What it matches to: Queries with only those words
Queries with exact word order
Optionally: Misspellings, singular & plurals, acronyms, stemmings (such
as wedded, wedding & weddings) abbreviations, and accents.
User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match?
wedding cake [wedding cake] YES
wedding cakes [wedding cake] YES
white wedding cake [wedding cake] NO
wedding cup cake [wedding cake] NO
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Exact Match
Match Type Exact
Syntax [word1 word2]
What it matches to: Queries with only those words
Queries with exact word order
Optionally: Misspellings, singular & plurals, acronyms, stemmings (such
as wedded, wedding & weddings) abbreviations, and accents.
User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match?
wedding cake [wedding cake] YES
wedding cakes [wedding cake] YES
white wedding cake [wedding cake] NO
wedding cup cake [wedding cake] NO
***CHANGING
APR 2017***
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Negative Match
Match Type Negative Match
Keyword Syntax -word, or –word1 word2 word3
What it excludes: Search queries containing that literal word
If you want to exclude plurals, add them explicitly.
Optionally: AdWords has Exact, Phrase and Broad match negatives available.
User Search Query: Your negatives are: Will it prevent the
match?
wedding cake -wedding YES
birthday cakes -wedding NO
pictures of wedding cakes -wedding YES
weeding cup cakes -wedding NO
cakes -wedding NO
hemorrhoid cream -wedding NO
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Write Great Ads
Note the Variety of Copy Styles:
1st Person story.
Trusted Authority – “Uses Quotes”
Price Appeal
Convenience - Call 800 #
Get Information – Medical Alert Guide
We’re different from “Them”
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Who are you selling to?
Who are you talking to?
Who buys?
Who influences?
Who is it actually for?
What motivates them?
Speak directly to one of these people.
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Features:
Timer, Easy to Use, Discount,
Affordable
Free Shipping
Benefits:
Organize pills better
Take charge of your health
Keep parents well connected
Are you selling what they're buying?
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Stress Benefits, Not Features
Feature
Benefit
Creative
Benefit
Vibrating Watch Alarm
Get pill reminders even if
you have trouble hearing.
Vibrating pill reminder. Works even
when Mom’s TV is blaring away.
Vibrating pill reminder works even
if Dad’s hearing aid is off.
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Tips for Writing Great Ads
Switch from your Left Brain to you Right Brain
Go for a walk Sing a song
Laugh Doodle
· Do not start writing ads in Excel spreadsheets!
· Start with story-telling. Talk out loud.
· Try a “non-verbal zero draft”
· Go listen to your sales team on sales calls.
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Writing Great Ads
Keywords
Use keywords in the headlines when possible.
Write dozens of headlines until you find ones you like.
Compelling Concepts
Save You Money.
Save You Time.
Improve Your Life.
Copy Writing
Try full sentences.
Use idioms only when appropriate.
Avoid gimmicks and overly-idiomatic expressions (or test!)
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Ad Extensions
Image Extensions
Expanded Sitelinks
Bad Extensions
Sitelinks
Social Extensions
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Shopping Ads
Feed-based ads through
Merchant Center on Bing Ads
and AdWords.
Entirely different auction.
You can have keyword-based
ads and shopping ads on the
Search Engine Results Page
(SERP).
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Evaluating Ad Performance
Which of these ads
performing better?
Lessons:
Be wary of small samples sizes.
Measure against conversions, not
just click-through rates (CTR).
Conversion Rate:
10.5%
Conversion Rate:
2.5%
Now which?
Evaluating Ad Performance
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Bidding & Budgeting Options
Bidding
Cost Per Click (CPC)
Cost Per Conversion (CPA)
aka cost per action/acquisition
Cost Per Thousand Impressions (CPM)
Budgeting
Set Daily, Weekly or by Campaign
Shared budget groups.
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How Much is a Click Worth?
How much is a Visitor (click) worth?
What is your site conversion rate now?
What is your offline close ratio?
How does that translate to revenues?
Clicks 20
Conversion % 5%
Cost Per Conversion (CPA) $ 5.00
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How Much is a Click Worth?
How much can you afford to pay for each click?
Cost per Click (CPC) $ .25
Clicks 20
Conversion % 5%
Cost Per Conversion (CPA) $ 5.00
Target MAX Bid CPC = CPA / Clicks
= $5.00 / 20
= .$25
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Bid Modifiers
Not every click has the same value.
Bid modifiers allow you to bid up or down, depending on:
Device
Location
Time of Day
Retargeting Audiences
Placements, topics, and keywords (GDN).
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Campaigns
Ad 1keywords
keyword1
keyword2
keyword3
keyword4
.
Ad 2
Landing Page
Structure of a PPC Account
Ad Group
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Landing Pages
Master the basics.
Get fancy later.
Any page can be a landing page
Use properly built webpages:
Include Title, Description, Alt Tags,
and spiderable body copy.
Get users quickly to what they
want.
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Process Creates Sustainable Advantage
§ Its not just about keywords, ads, bids
§ Plan on working in a disciplined manner
Use Systems-Level Thinking
§ Align campaign goals with larger company goals.
§ Increase sales, not visitors
Track Performance and Make Adjustments
§ Be methodical, measure and test everything you can
§ Don’t react too quickly, but don’t get analysis-paralysis
Set Good Goals and work towards them
Better PPC Every Day