SlideShare une entreprise Scribd logo
1  sur  19
Télécharger pour lire hors ligne
Creative Bloom
Measuring The Return on your marketing (PROPERLY!)
Stuart Davies April 2017
Before INTERNET
@creativebloomUK
There was only ROI
ROI = Return on investment %
profit - costs x 100
costs
Great to measure and
optimise a strategy.
Marketing = an investment
@creativebloomUK
THEN ALONG CAME
INTERNET
@creativebloomUK
And marketing
created ROAS
Return on advertising spend
Revenue from ad campaign
Cost of ad campaign
Great to optimise a tactic
or channel.
Marketing = a cost
@creativebloomUK
Some math(s)
CAMPAIGN ROI
Profit: £1,200, Costs £1,000
ROI = (1200-1000/1000) x 100 = 20%
For every £1 we spend we make 20p
profit.
CAMPAIGN ROAS
Revenue: £10,000, Costs £1,000
ROAS = 5000/1000 = 500%
Or for every £1 we spend on
advertising we make £5 revenue.
@creativebloomUK
THEN EVERYTHING CHANGED
WE CREATED SEARCH ALGORITHMS,
SOCIAL MEDIA MARKETING & IT’S
DEVIL CHILDREN
@creativebloomUK
& we started measuring everything IMPROPERLY THOUGH
THIS IS ALL LAST-BLOODY-CLICK!
@creativebloomUK
Oh it’s all a bit
complex now isn’t
it
@creativebloomUK
BUT FEAR NOT - SOME OF US ARE GOOD
AT MATH(S) & WANT TO MAKE IT
SIMPLE & WORK
@creativebloomUK
BEHOLD: Clv
Customer lifetime value
=t(52 x s x c x p)
t = avg cust lifetime (yrs)
s = avg spend per customer per week
c = avg visits per week
P = avg customer GP%
The net profit lifetime
value of a future customer
Marketing = measuring it’s
true value
@creativebloomUK
Some more math(s)
SO say my average CLV for a customer is £1,000 over one year
I’m not willing to spend more than that to acquire 1 customer over 1 year.
@creativebloomUK
NOW WORK BACK & QUANTIFY THE LIFETIME VALUE OF A LEAD
To get one new customer on direct debit for one year worth £1000 CLV
Use GA to determine your conversion ratios & work backwards
For that customer I need to get 20 people to signup to my newsletter
I need to get 500 people to visit & engage with a specific landing page
To get 500 engaged people I need to outreach 5000 session hits on the site
Soo..
I’ll pay no more than £50 per newsletter signup
I’ll pay no more than £2 per person engages with my landing page
I’ll pay no more than 20p per session
@creativebloomUK
Couple that with attribution & you can get a true ROI by channel across your customer journey
@creativebloomUK
KEY TAKEAWAY #1:
PEOPLE PAY YOU - NOT PAGE VIEWS
So learn your clv calculation & MEASURE IT
https://blog.kissmetrics.com/how-to-calculate-lifetime-value/
http://www.clv-calculator.com/free-clv-excel-templates/
@creativebloomUK
KEY TAKEAWAY #2:
Increase the average clv value =
segmentation & retention
strategies
@creativebloomUK
Useful resources
Google analytics abc:
http://www.simplybusiness.co.uk/microsites/google-analytics-guide/
Creating goals in analytics: https://blog.kissmetrics.com/critical-goal-types/
Creating segments in GA for your brand:
https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/3306157?hl=en
Using UTM parameters to track your campaign traffic:
https://ga-dev-tools.appspot.com/campaign-url-builder/
Need some help?
We love this stuff.
www.creativebloomrocks.com
@creativebloomUK

Contenu connexe

Dernier

Brand experience Dream Center Peoria Presentation.pdf
Brand experience Dream Center Peoria Presentation.pdfBrand experience Dream Center Peoria Presentation.pdf
Brand experience Dream Center Peoria Presentation.pdf
tbatkhuu1
 
Brand experience Peoria City Soccer Presentation.pdf
Brand experience Peoria City Soccer Presentation.pdfBrand experience Peoria City Soccer Presentation.pdf
Brand experience Peoria City Soccer Presentation.pdf
tbatkhuu1
 
FULL ENJOY Call Girls In Majnu.Ka.Tilla Delhi Contact Us 8377877756
FULL ENJOY Call Girls In Majnu.Ka.Tilla Delhi Contact Us 8377877756FULL ENJOY Call Girls In Majnu.Ka.Tilla Delhi Contact Us 8377877756
FULL ENJOY Call Girls In Majnu.Ka.Tilla Delhi Contact Us 8377877756
dollysharma2066
 
The 100x Factor Growth with AI - Susan Diaz
The 100x Factor  Growth with AI - Susan DiazThe 100x Factor  Growth with AI - Susan Diaz

Dernier (20)

Navigating the SEO of Tomorrow, Competitive Benchmarking, China as an e-Comme...
Navigating the SEO of Tomorrow, Competitive Benchmarking, China as an e-Comme...Navigating the SEO of Tomorrow, Competitive Benchmarking, China as an e-Comme...
Navigating the SEO of Tomorrow, Competitive Benchmarking, China as an e-Comme...
 
Brand experience Dream Center Peoria Presentation.pdf
Brand experience Dream Center Peoria Presentation.pdfBrand experience Dream Center Peoria Presentation.pdf
Brand experience Dream Center Peoria Presentation.pdf
 
Cash payment girl 9257726604 Hand ✋ to Hand over girl
Cash payment girl 9257726604 Hand ✋ to Hand over girlCash payment girl 9257726604 Hand ✋ to Hand over girl
Cash payment girl 9257726604 Hand ✋ to Hand over girl
 
Brand experience Peoria City Soccer Presentation.pdf
Brand experience Peoria City Soccer Presentation.pdfBrand experience Peoria City Soccer Presentation.pdf
Brand experience Peoria City Soccer Presentation.pdf
 
Martal Group - B2B Lead Gen Agency - Onboarding Overview
Martal Group - B2B Lead Gen Agency - Onboarding OverviewMartal Group - B2B Lead Gen Agency - Onboarding Overview
Martal Group - B2B Lead Gen Agency - Onboarding Overview
 
No Cookies No Problem - Steve Krull, Be Found Online
No Cookies No Problem - Steve Krull, Be Found OnlineNo Cookies No Problem - Steve Krull, Be Found Online
No Cookies No Problem - Steve Krull, Be Found Online
 
Pillar-Based Marketing Master Class - Ryan Brock
Pillar-Based Marketing Master Class - Ryan BrockPillar-Based Marketing Master Class - Ryan Brock
Pillar-Based Marketing Master Class - Ryan Brock
 
The Future of Brands on LinkedIn - Alison Kaltman
The Future of Brands on LinkedIn - Alison KaltmanThe Future of Brands on LinkedIn - Alison Kaltman
The Future of Brands on LinkedIn - Alison Kaltman
 
Google 3rd-Party Cookie Deprecation [Update] + 5 Best Strategies
Google 3rd-Party Cookie Deprecation [Update] + 5 Best StrategiesGoogle 3rd-Party Cookie Deprecation [Update] + 5 Best Strategies
Google 3rd-Party Cookie Deprecation [Update] + 5 Best Strategies
 
Five Essential Tools for International SEO - Natalia Witczyk - SearchNorwich 15
Five Essential Tools for International SEO - Natalia Witczyk - SearchNorwich 15Five Essential Tools for International SEO - Natalia Witczyk - SearchNorwich 15
Five Essential Tools for International SEO - Natalia Witczyk - SearchNorwich 15
 
Alpha Media March 2024 Buyers Guide.pptx
Alpha Media March 2024 Buyers Guide.pptxAlpha Media March 2024 Buyers Guide.pptx
Alpha Media March 2024 Buyers Guide.pptx
 
Brand Strategy Master Class - Juntae DeLane
Brand Strategy Master Class - Juntae DeLaneBrand Strategy Master Class - Juntae DeLane
Brand Strategy Master Class - Juntae DeLane
 
FULL ENJOY Call Girls In Majnu.Ka.Tilla Delhi Contact Us 8377877756
FULL ENJOY Call Girls In Majnu.Ka.Tilla Delhi Contact Us 8377877756FULL ENJOY Call Girls In Majnu.Ka.Tilla Delhi Contact Us 8377877756
FULL ENJOY Call Girls In Majnu.Ka.Tilla Delhi Contact Us 8377877756
 
Uncover Insightful User Journey Secrets Using GA4 Reports
Uncover Insightful User Journey Secrets Using GA4 ReportsUncover Insightful User Journey Secrets Using GA4 Reports
Uncover Insightful User Journey Secrets Using GA4 Reports
 
The+State+of+Careers+In+Retention+Marketing-2.pdf
The+State+of+Careers+In+Retention+Marketing-2.pdfThe+State+of+Careers+In+Retention+Marketing-2.pdf
The+State+of+Careers+In+Retention+Marketing-2.pdf
 
Unlocking the Mystery of the Voynich Manuscript
Unlocking the Mystery of the Voynich ManuscriptUnlocking the Mystery of the Voynich Manuscript
Unlocking the Mystery of the Voynich Manuscript
 
The 100x Factor Growth with AI - Susan Diaz
The 100x Factor  Growth with AI - Susan DiazThe 100x Factor  Growth with AI - Susan Diaz
The 100x Factor Growth with AI - Susan Diaz
 
Generative AI Master Class - Generative AI, Unleash Creative Opportunity - Pe...
Generative AI Master Class - Generative AI, Unleash Creative Opportunity - Pe...Generative AI Master Class - Generative AI, Unleash Creative Opportunity - Pe...
Generative AI Master Class - Generative AI, Unleash Creative Opportunity - Pe...
 
BDSM⚡Call Girls in Sector 150 Noida Escorts >༒8448380779 Escort Service
BDSM⚡Call Girls in Sector 150 Noida Escorts >༒8448380779 Escort ServiceBDSM⚡Call Girls in Sector 150 Noida Escorts >༒8448380779 Escort Service
BDSM⚡Call Girls in Sector 150 Noida Escorts >༒8448380779 Escort Service
 
Situation Analysis | Management Company.
Situation Analysis | Management Company.Situation Analysis | Management Company.
Situation Analysis | Management Company.
 

En vedette

Social Media Marketing Trends 2024 // The Global Indie Insights
Social Media Marketing Trends 2024 // The Global Indie InsightsSocial Media Marketing Trends 2024 // The Global Indie Insights
Social Media Marketing Trends 2024 // The Global Indie Insights
Kurio // The Social Media Age(ncy)
 
Good Stuff Happens in 1:1 Meetings: Why you need them and how to do them well
Good Stuff Happens in 1:1 Meetings: Why you need them and how to do them wellGood Stuff Happens in 1:1 Meetings: Why you need them and how to do them well
Good Stuff Happens in 1:1 Meetings: Why you need them and how to do them well
Saba Software
 

En vedette (20)

Content Methodology: A Best Practices Report (Webinar)
Content Methodology: A Best Practices Report (Webinar)Content Methodology: A Best Practices Report (Webinar)
Content Methodology: A Best Practices Report (Webinar)
 
How to Prepare For a Successful Job Search for 2024
How to Prepare For a Successful Job Search for 2024How to Prepare For a Successful Job Search for 2024
How to Prepare For a Successful Job Search for 2024
 
Social Media Marketing Trends 2024 // The Global Indie Insights
Social Media Marketing Trends 2024 // The Global Indie InsightsSocial Media Marketing Trends 2024 // The Global Indie Insights
Social Media Marketing Trends 2024 // The Global Indie Insights
 
Trends In Paid Search: Navigating The Digital Landscape In 2024
Trends In Paid Search: Navigating The Digital Landscape In 2024Trends In Paid Search: Navigating The Digital Landscape In 2024
Trends In Paid Search: Navigating The Digital Landscape In 2024
 
5 Public speaking tips from TED - Visualized summary
5 Public speaking tips from TED - Visualized summary5 Public speaking tips from TED - Visualized summary
5 Public speaking tips from TED - Visualized summary
 
ChatGPT and the Future of Work - Clark Boyd
ChatGPT and the Future of Work - Clark Boyd ChatGPT and the Future of Work - Clark Boyd
ChatGPT and the Future of Work - Clark Boyd
 
Getting into the tech field. what next
Getting into the tech field. what next Getting into the tech field. what next
Getting into the tech field. what next
 
Google's Just Not That Into You: Understanding Core Updates & Search Intent
Google's Just Not That Into You: Understanding Core Updates & Search IntentGoogle's Just Not That Into You: Understanding Core Updates & Search Intent
Google's Just Not That Into You: Understanding Core Updates & Search Intent
 
How to have difficult conversations
How to have difficult conversations How to have difficult conversations
How to have difficult conversations
 
Introduction to Data Science
Introduction to Data ScienceIntroduction to Data Science
Introduction to Data Science
 
Time Management & Productivity - Best Practices
Time Management & Productivity -  Best PracticesTime Management & Productivity -  Best Practices
Time Management & Productivity - Best Practices
 
The six step guide to practical project management
The six step guide to practical project managementThe six step guide to practical project management
The six step guide to practical project management
 
Beginners Guide to TikTok for Search - Rachel Pearson - We are Tilt __ Bright...
Beginners Guide to TikTok for Search - Rachel Pearson - We are Tilt __ Bright...Beginners Guide to TikTok for Search - Rachel Pearson - We are Tilt __ Bright...
Beginners Guide to TikTok for Search - Rachel Pearson - We are Tilt __ Bright...
 
Unlocking the Power of ChatGPT and AI in Testing - A Real-World Look, present...
Unlocking the Power of ChatGPT and AI in Testing - A Real-World Look, present...Unlocking the Power of ChatGPT and AI in Testing - A Real-World Look, present...
Unlocking the Power of ChatGPT and AI in Testing - A Real-World Look, present...
 
12 Ways to Increase Your Influence at Work
12 Ways to Increase Your Influence at Work12 Ways to Increase Your Influence at Work
12 Ways to Increase Your Influence at Work
 
ChatGPT webinar slides
ChatGPT webinar slidesChatGPT webinar slides
ChatGPT webinar slides
 
More than Just Lines on a Map: Best Practices for U.S Bike Routes
More than Just Lines on a Map: Best Practices for U.S Bike RoutesMore than Just Lines on a Map: Best Practices for U.S Bike Routes
More than Just Lines on a Map: Best Practices for U.S Bike Routes
 
Ride the Storm: Navigating Through Unstable Periods / Katerina Rudko (Belka G...
Ride the Storm: Navigating Through Unstable Periods / Katerina Rudko (Belka G...Ride the Storm: Navigating Through Unstable Periods / Katerina Rudko (Belka G...
Ride the Storm: Navigating Through Unstable Periods / Katerina Rudko (Belka G...
 
Barbie - Brand Strategy Presentation
Barbie - Brand Strategy PresentationBarbie - Brand Strategy Presentation
Barbie - Brand Strategy Presentation
 
Good Stuff Happens in 1:1 Meetings: Why you need them and how to do them well
Good Stuff Happens in 1:1 Meetings: Why you need them and how to do them wellGood Stuff Happens in 1:1 Meetings: Why you need them and how to do them well
Good Stuff Happens in 1:1 Meetings: Why you need them and how to do them well
 

How to measure the return on your marketing by Creative Bloom

  • 1. Creative Bloom Measuring The Return on your marketing (PROPERLY!) Stuart Davies April 2017
  • 3. There was only ROI ROI = Return on investment % profit - costs x 100 costs Great to measure and optimise a strategy. Marketing = an investment @creativebloomUK
  • 5. And marketing created ROAS Return on advertising spend Revenue from ad campaign Cost of ad campaign Great to optimise a tactic or channel. Marketing = a cost @creativebloomUK
  • 6. Some math(s) CAMPAIGN ROI Profit: £1,200, Costs £1,000 ROI = (1200-1000/1000) x 100 = 20% For every £1 we spend we make 20p profit. CAMPAIGN ROAS Revenue: £10,000, Costs £1,000 ROAS = 5000/1000 = 500% Or for every £1 we spend on advertising we make £5 revenue. @creativebloomUK
  • 7. THEN EVERYTHING CHANGED WE CREATED SEARCH ALGORITHMS, SOCIAL MEDIA MARKETING & IT’S DEVIL CHILDREN @creativebloomUK
  • 8. & we started measuring everything IMPROPERLY THOUGH THIS IS ALL LAST-BLOODY-CLICK!
  • 10. Oh it’s all a bit complex now isn’t it @creativebloomUK
  • 11. BUT FEAR NOT - SOME OF US ARE GOOD AT MATH(S) & WANT TO MAKE IT SIMPLE & WORK @creativebloomUK
  • 12. BEHOLD: Clv Customer lifetime value =t(52 x s x c x p) t = avg cust lifetime (yrs) s = avg spend per customer per week c = avg visits per week P = avg customer GP% The net profit lifetime value of a future customer Marketing = measuring it’s true value @creativebloomUK
  • 13. Some more math(s) SO say my average CLV for a customer is £1,000 over one year I’m not willing to spend more than that to acquire 1 customer over 1 year. @creativebloomUK
  • 14. NOW WORK BACK & QUANTIFY THE LIFETIME VALUE OF A LEAD To get one new customer on direct debit for one year worth £1000 CLV Use GA to determine your conversion ratios & work backwards For that customer I need to get 20 people to signup to my newsletter I need to get 500 people to visit & engage with a specific landing page To get 500 engaged people I need to outreach 5000 session hits on the site Soo.. I’ll pay no more than £50 per newsletter signup I’ll pay no more than £2 per person engages with my landing page I’ll pay no more than 20p per session @creativebloomUK
  • 15. Couple that with attribution & you can get a true ROI by channel across your customer journey @creativebloomUK
  • 16. KEY TAKEAWAY #1: PEOPLE PAY YOU - NOT PAGE VIEWS So learn your clv calculation & MEASURE IT https://blog.kissmetrics.com/how-to-calculate-lifetime-value/ http://www.clv-calculator.com/free-clv-excel-templates/ @creativebloomUK
  • 17. KEY TAKEAWAY #2: Increase the average clv value = segmentation & retention strategies @creativebloomUK
  • 18. Useful resources Google analytics abc: http://www.simplybusiness.co.uk/microsites/google-analytics-guide/ Creating goals in analytics: https://blog.kissmetrics.com/critical-goal-types/ Creating segments in GA for your brand: https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/3306157?hl=en Using UTM parameters to track your campaign traffic: https://ga-dev-tools.appspot.com/campaign-url-builder/
  • 19. Need some help? We love this stuff. www.creativebloomrocks.com @creativebloomUK

Notes de l'éditeur

  1. ROI optimizes to a strategy while ROAS optimizes to a tactic, yet some marketers use these terms interchangeably. ROI measures the profit generated by ads relative to the cost of those ads. It’s a business-centric metric that is most effective at measuring how ads contribute to an organization’s bottom line.
  2. In contrast, ROAS measures gross revenue generated for every pound spent on advertising. It is an advertiser-centric metric that gauges the effectiveness of online advertising campaigns. ROAS = revenue from ad campaign / cost of ad campaign With ROAS, marketing is considered a necessary cost of doing business vs. ROI, where marketing is an investment to grow a business’s profits incrementally. While using both metrics in tandem is useful, the pendulum is swinging back from the widespread use of the ROAS-focused model in digital advertising, to a more rigorous ROI-focused model.
  3. The ROAS model can increase advertising expenses across all channels if marketers treat advertising as a cost while seeking additional market share without the discipline of a defined profit margin target that would keep bids and spending in check. Some ad tech vendors push this metric, but it can lead to advertisers feeling a need to spend budget without truly understanding the incrementality of each additional dollar of media spend. Advertisers are conditioned to be so worried about missing out on an impression that they don’t step back and ask what the impact would be if they had not served that particular impression.
  4. LAST BLOODY CLICK
  5. Today, consumers interact with ads and content across multiple channels and devices before converting. We are at the forefront of the transition to linking many of these interactions to conversions and generating directionally accurate metrics. Among people who see and interact with mobile ads, 32% of conversions occur on a different device, Facebook’s Rob Creekmore said recently.
  6. We are still stuck in an ROAS model, wherein we treat advertising as a cost that is siloed in a specific channel. In reality, much of our advertising is multitouch. ROAS does not measure the true impact of one channel on another, such as display’s impact on search, or offer an understanding of the incrementality of media dollar investment, which the ROI metric provides.
  7. The rising costs of advertising and the availability of advanced attribution and offline measurement has begun moving the industry toward more business-focused metrics, such as CLV & ROI, and away from ROAS. This will change the dynamic of media agencies and ad tech vendors, forcing them to evolve their business models and pricing to become more transparent and focused on driving business performance, not just advertising performance. As a result, advertising vendors will evolve into stewards of advertisers’ media dollars, with a focus on measuring how advertising impacts clients’ business through ROI, rather than optimizing to ROAS, their own advertising-based metric.