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Ads in Mobile
Apps and
Games 101
Alan Mendelevič
Founder & CEO
AdDuplex
alan@adduplex.com
@ailon
Alan Mendelevich
@ailon
15+ years development experience
Founder & CEO of AdDuplex
Everybody loves ads!
Right? Right!?
App monetization models
Advertising is the most popular on some platforms, important on all
Why would I want to monetize
with ads?
No one buys apps anymore
(as opposed to paid
apps/games)
Minimal impact on
game design
(as opposed to F2P)
* do not confuse with visual/graphic design
Monetize
the long tail
in addition to in-app
purchases
(Freemium, F2P,
premium features)
only 1-5% of users will
ever make an IAP
Gateway to IAPs
IAP to remove ads
Not only for
monetization
Jumpstart your new titles
App
#1
App
#2
App
#3
New
app
Cross-promote with
other publishers
Mobile Advertising
Terminology Primer
Ad types
Banners
• Largest provider choice
• Don’t interfere with the flow
• Take up screen real estate
Full screen ads
Interstitial image ads
Video ads
Playable ads
• Good user engagement
• Don’t take up real estate during
gameplay
• Can’t show too often (needs a
natural pause)
• Can be “heavy”
Offer walls
• Can be user initiated
• Show multiple ads
• choice for the user
• diluted for advertisers
Native ads
• Look like content
• Can be non-intrusive
(e.g. replace field ads in
sports game)
• Hardly accessible to indie
developers
Ad providers
Ad networks
Ad exchanges, mediators
Direct deal marketplaces
Basic terms
• Impression
ad displayed to user once
• CTR – click-through rate
percentage of impressions resulting in clicks on the ad
• IR – install rate
percentage of clicks resulting in app installation
Ad pricing models
• CPM
Cost per mille (thousand impressions)
• CPC
Cost per click
• CPI
Cost per install
• CPA, CPL, etc.
Cost per action, lead, etc.
KPIs for
Advertisers
CTR – click-through rate
• Percentage of ad impressions resulting in clicks
• Improve by perfecting ad copy and campaign
targeting
IR – install rate
• Percentage of clicks resulting in app installation
• For app/game advertisers
• Improve by perfecting store listing, ad copy
relevance (sometimes at the expense of CTR)
CPI – cost per install
• For app/game advertisers
• Improve by increasing both CTR and IR
ROI – return on investment
• Based on “deeper” internal metrics
• Improve by acquiring better users cheaper (trial &
error, previous experience)
KPIs for Publishers
Just 2 things you actually care about
eCPM
Effective CPM – any ad sales
model converted to CPM
CPC → eCPM
𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒 = 𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶 × 𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶 × 1,000
Example:
• CPC = $0.10
• CTR = 1% (0.01)
𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒 = $0.10 × 0.01 × 1,000 = $1
CPI → eCPM
𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒 = 𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶 × 𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶 × 𝐼𝐼𝐼𝐼 × 1,000
Example:
• CPI = $1
• CTR = 1% (0.01)
• IR = 10% (0.1)
𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒𝑒 = $1 × 0.01 × 0.1 × 1,000 = $1
Fill rate
A concept most developers are not familiar with
Fill rate –
percentage of ad
requests resulting
in ad impression
Requests
made
Ads
received
• Almost never 100% for a
single ad provider
• Can vary dramatically based
on the region and other
factors
• Smaato: “Worldwide, the
average ad network fill rate
was 10% in Q3 2011”
Mitigating low fill rate
Ad Provider 1
Ad Provider 2
Ad Provider N
Cross promotion or “house ad”
Last step – something with 100%
fill rate
• House ads – ads for your
other apps or services,
“public service” ads
• Cross-promotion ad for a
partner publisher
• Cross-promotion network
Empowering developers to
help each other grow.
• free advertising for your apps
• utilize 100% of your ad space
• 9,000+ apps, more than 1 billion ad
impressions a month
www.adduplex.com
The largest cross-promotion
network for Windows Phone
and Windows Store apps
Step 1:
Create an ad for your app
Step 2: Place a line of
code into it and start
advertising other apps
Step 3:
They promote yours in return
What’s the catch?
You show
You get
Introducing Interstitial Ads
coming in early 2015
When
monetizing
with ads pay
attention
to…
Some providers may calculate
eCPM disregarding the fill rate
Impressions Clicks CPC eCPM
1,000 10 $0.1 $1
Requests Impressions Clicks CPC eCPM
2,000 1,000 10 $0.1 $0.5
VS
It is incorrect to directly compare
eCPM for different ad types
$1
eCPM
$5
eCPM
VS
Why wouldn’t
I monetize
with ads?
Arguments against ad
monetization
• Religion, allergy, etc.
• Rarely/short running apps
• Negative effect on UX (as any other attempts to
monetize )
• Extra permission requirements/privacy concerns
• High revenue unpredictability
• Optimizing ad revenue takes time and effort
No good
reasons,
actually…
Thank you
Alan Mendelevič
Founder & CEO
AdDuplex
alan@adduplex.com
@ailon

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