12. 90%
US Internet traffic comes from PC/MAC:
77% US Internet traffic from Windows PC
13% US Internet traffic comes from Mac
source: comScore Device Essentials March 2012
22. @comScore
1.8h 2.4h 3.6h 6.3h
AOL Microsoft Yahoo! Facebook
source: comScore Media Metrix, April 2012
23. @comScore @DigitalPhilip 23 #IDSD (2012)
Online minutes
f
1 out of 8 are spent on Facebook
Social Networking Minutes
f f f
3 out of 4 are spent on Facebook
f
source: comScore Media Metrix (Total Minutes US) May 2012
source: comScore MobiLens, 3 months ending July 2011
24. @comScore @DigitalPhilip 24 #IDSD (2012)
Smartphone owners
source: comScore MobiLens, 3 Month3 months ending April 2011
source: comScore MobiLens, Average ending July 2012
25. @comScore @DigitalPhilip 25 #IDSD (2012)
Publisher Share of Display Ad Impressions
60%
other
f 22%
Facebook
11%
Yahoo!
4%
4% Microsoft
2%
Google
AOL
source: comScore MobiLens, 3 months ending April 2011
source: comScore Ad Metrix, U.S., July 2012
26. @comScore @DigitalPhilip 26 #IDSD (2012)
Photocredit: Christian Bale in American Psycho
30. @comScore @DigitalPhilip 30 #IDSD (2012)
Unique Visitors
20 million
May 2012
Unique Visitors
1/ million
2
May 2011
source: comScore Media Metrix, January 2011
31. @comScore @DigitalPhilip 31 #SMTravel12
65% 35%
source: comScore Media Metrix, April 2012
40. #1 Viewable
Move to a “viewable impressions” standard.
#2 Delivered On Audience
Online advertising must switch to currency-based on
audience impressions, not gross ad impressions.
41. Don’t just count impressions served,
count and optimize for impressions
that had a chance to make a real impact:
Validated Impressions
in-view
target audience
target geography
brand safe
not fraudulent
43. comScore vCE charter study results
in-view rates across top 500 publishers
Sites
7 % in-view
98% in-view 69% in-view
? ? ?
best average worst
On average only 69% of ads where in-view, meaning
3 out of 10 are never seen.
source: comScore vCE charter study
44. comScore vCE charter study results
in-view rate value impact example
CPM Imp Cost Value
$3 x 60mm = $180k x 98% = $176.4k
$3.6k
x 69% = $124.2k
$55.8k
x 7% = $12.6k
$167.4k
In this example, on average
$55,800 goes to waste.
45. comScore vCE charter study results
in-view rate value impact example
Brand X: 88 million Impressions
source: comScore AdMetrix, 01-2012 to 04-2012
Lost Impact
100% 0
98% 1,770,660
69% 27,445,230
7% 82,335,690
46. Placing ads above-the-fold does not guarantee visibility.
Above-the-fold in-view rates
ranged from 48% to 96%.
source: comScore vCE charter study
47. Some remnant inventory might actually be premium.
Below-the-fold in-view
ranged from 3% to 67%.
source: comScore vCE charter study
48. On average, online display ads are
in-view for 15.6 seconds!!
(which makes them comparable to TV ads)
source: comScore vCE charter study
49. comScore vCE charter study results
target audience cookie issues
demographic cookie accuracy
ranged from 14% to 96%!! source: comScore vCE charter study
50. comScore vCE charter study results
target geography hit rate
On average across campaigns
4% missed the
target geography.
source: comScore vCE charter study
51. comScore vCE charter study results
brand safety: example
In this example, on average advertisers
overpay $55,800!!
52. comScore vCE charter study results
brand safety: delivery complexity
delivery
START
AD EXCHANGE
AD SERVER
AD NETWORK
AD NETWORK
14 out of 17 campaigns had impressions
PUBLISHER
served next to inappropriate content.
PUBLISHER’S FRIEND WHO
BORROWED THE AD TAGS
source: comScore vCE charter study
53. comScore vCE charter study results
not fraudulent
By placing 1 pixel on the users screen
hundreds of ads can load and counted as delivered,
without ever been seen.
54. Impressions that had a chance to make a
real impact!
Validated Impressions
in-view
target audience
target geography
brand safe
not fraudulent
55. Impact on Performance
Buyers
= 20%
33%
conversion rate
People exposed to served ad ad impressions
validated impressions
Success measurement based on served impressions
understates attitudinal
and behavioral impact.
56. @comScore @DigitalPhilip 56 #IDSD (2012)
Don’t just count
impressions served,
but count and optimize for impressions
that have a chance to
make a real impact.
Source: comScore vCE Charter Study 2012