SlideShare une entreprise Scribd logo
1  sur  19
Paul Gillin, Author The New Influencers Secrets of Social Media Marketing Social Marketing to the Business Customer Social Media ROI:Yes You Can!
It’s Simple, Knucklehead ROI  =  COST OF INVESTMENT (GAIN FROM  INVESTMENT  - COST OF INVESTMENT)
Return on Investment Or Risk of Inaction?
Types Of Financial Impact A. Revenue B. Costs Avoided Anything that leads to A or B, But only if you can directly equate its value to an action
These are NOT ROI Website Visitors Click-throughs Store visits Press coverage “ Buzz” Employment applications Retweets FaceBook friends Blog comments Video views Twitter followers Impressions Friends Coupons distributed But if you can quantify their financial impact, you have ROI!
Reconsider Customer Segments How Best Buy segments its customers High Low High Low Leading-Edge Technology  Price Sensitivity Online Aficianados Practicals Ambivalent Aspirers Deal Drivers Who are your high-value customers? Enthusiasts
Start With the Business Business Goal Measurement Tactics Tools Generate 30% More Leads ,[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],Review and Revise
Stagger Activities White Paper Promotion Timeline   Task Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Home page link                         E-mail newsletter                         E-mail blast                         Blog promotion                         Twitter messaging                                                  
Look for Impact
Basic Business Metrics Lifetime Value of a Customer = (Longevity * Revenue) * Margin Conversion Rate = New Customers/  Visits or Leads Value of a Lead/Visitor =  Visitor  * Conversion Rate * Lifetime Value
OK, Let’s Make it Real Typical customer Curly spends $10,000/year with you Curly is with you for five years Your profit margin is 10% Lifetime value of Curly is ($10,000 * 5) * .1 = $5,000
CRM Essentials Must be used by  everyone  who touches the customer Must document online, offline and landline communications Must span the engagement lifecycle Must enable segmentation and grouping
Web Analytics Must track individual visitors Must document paths to desired destinations Must identify referring sources You must use them
Applying ROI: Value of a Visitor Monthly Visitors 10,000 Conversion Rate .5% Lifetime Value $5,000 Calculation (10,000 * .005 * 5)/10,000 Value of a Visitor $25
Value of a Blog Monthly Search Traffic 3,000 Estimated Traffic w/Blog 4,000 Value of a Visitor $25 Monthly Value of a Blog $25,000 Monthly Blog Expense $6,000 ROI  ($25,000-$6,000)/$6,000 316%
Value of Twitter ,[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],[object Object],(1,000 * .02 * .05 * 5000)/50 =  $100
Value of a Community You want to launch a customer support forum to reduce your costs of telephone support Estimated admin costs: ½ FTE yr 1, ¼ FTE yr 2 1/10 FTE yr 3 Estimated savings: 1 FTE yr 1, 1.5 FTE yr 2, 2 FTE yr 3 Year Item Annual Cumulative 1 Forum Administrative costs $  35,000  $  35,000  Savings $  70,000  $  70,000  ROI 100% 100% 2 Forum Administrative costs $  17,500  $  52,500  Savings $  105,000  $  175,000  ROI 500% 233% 3 Forum Administrative costs $  7,000  $  59,500  Savings $  140,000  $  315,000  ROI 1900% 429%
Measuring the Immeasurable Lift Studies Store visits Headline Counts Employment applications Speaking Invitations Net Promoter Score Coupons redeemed If You Can Measure It,  You Can Calculate Its ROI
Thank you! Paul Gillin 508-656-0734 [email_address] Site: gillin.com Blog: paulgillin.com Twitter: pgillin Free bi-weekly newsletter; sign up at gillin.com

Contenu connexe

En vedette (6)

Using big data analytics to monetise and link customer experience and direct ...
Using big data analytics to monetise and link customer experience and direct ...Using big data analytics to monetise and link customer experience and direct ...
Using big data analytics to monetise and link customer experience and direct ...
 
Logic
LogicLogic
Logic
 
Big Data Is Here - Now What?
Big Data Is Here - Now What?Big Data Is Here - Now What?
Big Data Is Here - Now What?
 
Terametric MassInno 31 presentation
Terametric MassInno 31 presentationTerametric MassInno 31 presentation
Terametric MassInno 31 presentation
 
Cesar Millan´s Tips
Cesar Millan´s TipsCesar Millan´s Tips
Cesar Millan´s Tips
 
Finding fraud in large, diverse data sets
Finding fraud in large, diverse data setsFinding fraud in large, diverse data sets
Finding fraud in large, diverse data sets
 

Similaire à Measuring Social Media ROI

Digital Marketing Strategy Sample_Small Business
Digital Marketing Strategy Sample_Small BusinessDigital Marketing Strategy Sample_Small Business
Digital Marketing Strategy Sample_Small Business
Katherine Lao, MPH
 
Maximising the return of your website for data driven marketing congress
Maximising the return of your website for data driven marketing congressMaximising the return of your website for data driven marketing congress
Maximising the return of your website for data driven marketing congress
dbintein
 
Topspinmarketingwithdataatmidem 100128204641 Phpapp02
Topspinmarketingwithdataatmidem 100128204641 Phpapp02Topspinmarketingwithdataatmidem 100128204641 Phpapp02
Topspinmarketingwithdataatmidem 100128204641 Phpapp02
RICHROLYN
 
The Content Formula: Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Mon...
The Content Formula: Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Mon...The Content Formula: Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Mon...
The Content Formula: Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Mon...
NewsCred
 

Similaire à Measuring Social Media ROI (20)

Introduction to Marketing Data: What to measure and why
Introduction to Marketing Data: What to measure and whyIntroduction to Marketing Data: What to measure and why
Introduction to Marketing Data: What to measure and why
 
Marketing the startup online
Marketing the startup onlineMarketing the startup online
Marketing the startup online
 
Social Media Crash Course
Social Media Crash CourseSocial Media Crash Course
Social Media Crash Course
 
Social Media ROI Explained
Social Media ROI ExplainedSocial Media ROI Explained
Social Media ROI Explained
 
Uncovering The Bottom Line: Finding ROI in Social Media for Associations
Uncovering The Bottom Line: Finding ROI in Social Media for AssociationsUncovering The Bottom Line: Finding ROI in Social Media for Associations
Uncovering The Bottom Line: Finding ROI in Social Media for Associations
 
SaaS marketing 101 How to execute today for maximum growth
SaaS marketing 101 How to execute today for maximum growthSaaS marketing 101 How to execute today for maximum growth
SaaS marketing 101 How to execute today for maximum growth
 
Social Media Measurement and ROI
Social Media Measurement and ROISocial Media Measurement and ROI
Social Media Measurement and ROI
 
Digital Marketing Strategy Sample_Small Business
Digital Marketing Strategy Sample_Small BusinessDigital Marketing Strategy Sample_Small Business
Digital Marketing Strategy Sample_Small Business
 
Presentation Deck for DeServe
Presentation Deck for DeServePresentation Deck for DeServe
Presentation Deck for DeServe
 
Measure what Matters - Outcomes
Measure what Matters - OutcomesMeasure what Matters - Outcomes
Measure what Matters - Outcomes
 
Maximising the return of your website for data driven marketing congress
Maximising the return of your website for data driven marketing congressMaximising the return of your website for data driven marketing congress
Maximising the return of your website for data driven marketing congress
 
Ehsal social media metrics & advertising
Ehsal social media metrics & advertisingEhsal social media metrics & advertising
Ehsal social media metrics & advertising
 
Topspin's Marketing With Data Presentation at Midem
Topspin's Marketing With Data Presentation at MidemTopspin's Marketing With Data Presentation at Midem
Topspin's Marketing With Data Presentation at Midem
 
Topspinmarketingwithdataatmidem 100128204641 Phpapp02
Topspinmarketingwithdataatmidem 100128204641 Phpapp02Topspinmarketingwithdataatmidem 100128204641 Phpapp02
Topspinmarketingwithdataatmidem 100128204641 Phpapp02
 
Startup Metrics for Pirates (Sept 2010, Vancouver)
Startup Metrics for Pirates (Sept 2010, Vancouver)Startup Metrics for Pirates (Sept 2010, Vancouver)
Startup Metrics for Pirates (Sept 2010, Vancouver)
 
Where's the ROI? 10 Steps to Show Digital Marketing ROI to Your Boss - Michae...
Where's the ROI? 10 Steps to Show Digital Marketing ROI to Your Boss - Michae...Where's the ROI? 10 Steps to Show Digital Marketing ROI to Your Boss - Michae...
Where's the ROI? 10 Steps to Show Digital Marketing ROI to Your Boss - Michae...
 
The Content Formula: Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Mon...
The Content Formula: Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Mon...The Content Formula: Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Mon...
The Content Formula: Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Mon...
 
Ecommerce marketing
Ecommerce marketingEcommerce marketing
Ecommerce marketing
 
Event marketing for startups and new businesses
Event marketing for startups and new businessesEvent marketing for startups and new businesses
Event marketing for startups and new businesses
 
Sales funnel for developers
Sales funnel for developersSales funnel for developers
Sales funnel for developers
 

Dernier

+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
?#DUbAI#??##{{(☎️+971_581248768%)**%*]'#abortion pills for sale in dubai@
 
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and MythsArtificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
Joaquim Jorge
 

Dernier (20)

Apidays New York 2024 - The value of a flexible API Management solution for O...
Apidays New York 2024 - The value of a flexible API Management solution for O...Apidays New York 2024 - The value of a flexible API Management solution for O...
Apidays New York 2024 - The value of a flexible API Management solution for O...
 
Real Time Object Detection Using Open CV
Real Time Object Detection Using Open CVReal Time Object Detection Using Open CV
Real Time Object Detection Using Open CV
 
TrustArc Webinar - Unlock the Power of AI-Driven Data Discovery
TrustArc Webinar - Unlock the Power of AI-Driven Data DiscoveryTrustArc Webinar - Unlock the Power of AI-Driven Data Discovery
TrustArc Webinar - Unlock the Power of AI-Driven Data Discovery
 
Strategies for Landing an Oracle DBA Job as a Fresher
Strategies for Landing an Oracle DBA Job as a FresherStrategies for Landing an Oracle DBA Job as a Fresher
Strategies for Landing an Oracle DBA Job as a Fresher
 
Apidays New York 2024 - Scaling API-first by Ian Reasor and Radu Cotescu, Adobe
Apidays New York 2024 - Scaling API-first by Ian Reasor and Radu Cotescu, AdobeApidays New York 2024 - Scaling API-first by Ian Reasor and Radu Cotescu, Adobe
Apidays New York 2024 - Scaling API-first by Ian Reasor and Radu Cotescu, Adobe
 
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
+971581248768>> SAFE AND ORIGINAL ABORTION PILLS FOR SALE IN DUBAI AND ABUDHA...
 
Apidays Singapore 2024 - Building Digital Trust in a Digital Economy by Veron...
Apidays Singapore 2024 - Building Digital Trust in a Digital Economy by Veron...Apidays Singapore 2024 - Building Digital Trust in a Digital Economy by Veron...
Apidays Singapore 2024 - Building Digital Trust in a Digital Economy by Veron...
 
Tech Trends Report 2024 Future Today Institute.pdf
Tech Trends Report 2024 Future Today Institute.pdfTech Trends Report 2024 Future Today Institute.pdf
Tech Trends Report 2024 Future Today Institute.pdf
 
Strategies for Unlocking Knowledge Management in Microsoft 365 in the Copilot...
Strategies for Unlocking Knowledge Management in Microsoft 365 in the Copilot...Strategies for Unlocking Knowledge Management in Microsoft 365 in the Copilot...
Strategies for Unlocking Knowledge Management in Microsoft 365 in the Copilot...
 
04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptx
04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptx04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptx
04-2024-HHUG-Sales-and-Marketing-Alignment.pptx
 
Partners Life - Insurer Innovation Award 2024
Partners Life - Insurer Innovation Award 2024Partners Life - Insurer Innovation Award 2024
Partners Life - Insurer Innovation Award 2024
 
Scaling API-first – The story of a global engineering organization
Scaling API-first – The story of a global engineering organizationScaling API-first – The story of a global engineering organization
Scaling API-first – The story of a global engineering organization
 
Handwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed texts
Handwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed textsHandwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed texts
Handwritten Text Recognition for manuscripts and early printed texts
 
Driving Behavioral Change for Information Management through Data-Driven Gree...
Driving Behavioral Change for Information Management through Data-Driven Gree...Driving Behavioral Change for Information Management through Data-Driven Gree...
Driving Behavioral Change for Information Management through Data-Driven Gree...
 
Understanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdf
Understanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdfUnderstanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdf
Understanding Discord NSFW Servers A Guide for Responsible Users.pdf
 
Advantages of Hiring UIUX Design Service Providers for Your Business
Advantages of Hiring UIUX Design Service Providers for Your BusinessAdvantages of Hiring UIUX Design Service Providers for Your Business
Advantages of Hiring UIUX Design Service Providers for Your Business
 
Automating Google Workspace (GWS) & more with Apps Script
Automating Google Workspace (GWS) & more with Apps ScriptAutomating Google Workspace (GWS) & more with Apps Script
Automating Google Workspace (GWS) & more with Apps Script
 
TrustArc Webinar - Stay Ahead of US State Data Privacy Law Developments
TrustArc Webinar - Stay Ahead of US State Data Privacy Law DevelopmentsTrustArc Webinar - Stay Ahead of US State Data Privacy Law Developments
TrustArc Webinar - Stay Ahead of US State Data Privacy Law Developments
 
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and MythsArtificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
Artificial Intelligence: Facts and Myths
 
presentation ICT roal in 21st century education
presentation ICT roal in 21st century educationpresentation ICT roal in 21st century education
presentation ICT roal in 21st century education
 

Measuring Social Media ROI

  • 1. Paul Gillin, Author The New Influencers Secrets of Social Media Marketing Social Marketing to the Business Customer Social Media ROI:Yes You Can!
  • 2. It’s Simple, Knucklehead ROI = COST OF INVESTMENT (GAIN FROM INVESTMENT - COST OF INVESTMENT)
  • 3. Return on Investment Or Risk of Inaction?
  • 4. Types Of Financial Impact A. Revenue B. Costs Avoided Anything that leads to A or B, But only if you can directly equate its value to an action
  • 5. These are NOT ROI Website Visitors Click-throughs Store visits Press coverage “ Buzz” Employment applications Retweets FaceBook friends Blog comments Video views Twitter followers Impressions Friends Coupons distributed But if you can quantify their financial impact, you have ROI!
  • 6. Reconsider Customer Segments How Best Buy segments its customers High Low High Low Leading-Edge Technology Price Sensitivity Online Aficianados Practicals Ambivalent Aspirers Deal Drivers Who are your high-value customers? Enthusiasts
  • 7.
  • 8. Stagger Activities White Paper Promotion Timeline   Task Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Home page link                         E-mail newsletter                         E-mail blast                         Blog promotion                         Twitter messaging                                                  
  • 10. Basic Business Metrics Lifetime Value of a Customer = (Longevity * Revenue) * Margin Conversion Rate = New Customers/ Visits or Leads Value of a Lead/Visitor = Visitor * Conversion Rate * Lifetime Value
  • 11. OK, Let’s Make it Real Typical customer Curly spends $10,000/year with you Curly is with you for five years Your profit margin is 10% Lifetime value of Curly is ($10,000 * 5) * .1 = $5,000
  • 12. CRM Essentials Must be used by everyone who touches the customer Must document online, offline and landline communications Must span the engagement lifecycle Must enable segmentation and grouping
  • 13. Web Analytics Must track individual visitors Must document paths to desired destinations Must identify referring sources You must use them
  • 14. Applying ROI: Value of a Visitor Monthly Visitors 10,000 Conversion Rate .5% Lifetime Value $5,000 Calculation (10,000 * .005 * 5)/10,000 Value of a Visitor $25
  • 15. Value of a Blog Monthly Search Traffic 3,000 Estimated Traffic w/Blog 4,000 Value of a Visitor $25 Monthly Value of a Blog $25,000 Monthly Blog Expense $6,000 ROI ($25,000-$6,000)/$6,000 316%
  • 16.
  • 17. Value of a Community You want to launch a customer support forum to reduce your costs of telephone support Estimated admin costs: ½ FTE yr 1, ¼ FTE yr 2 1/10 FTE yr 3 Estimated savings: 1 FTE yr 1, 1.5 FTE yr 2, 2 FTE yr 3 Year Item Annual Cumulative 1 Forum Administrative costs $ 35,000 $ 35,000 Savings $ 70,000 $ 70,000 ROI 100% 100% 2 Forum Administrative costs $ 17,500 $ 52,500 Savings $ 105,000 $ 175,000 ROI 500% 233% 3 Forum Administrative costs $ 7,000 $ 59,500 Savings $ 140,000 $ 315,000 ROI 1900% 429%
  • 18. Measuring the Immeasurable Lift Studies Store visits Headline Counts Employment applications Speaking Invitations Net Promoter Score Coupons redeemed If You Can Measure It, You Can Calculate Its ROI
  • 19. Thank you! Paul Gillin 508-656-0734 [email_address] Site: gillin.com Blog: paulgillin.com Twitter: pgillin Free bi-weekly newsletter; sign up at gillin.com