This document provides an introduction to Google AdWords, including how to set up an effective AdWords structure and campaign. It discusses how to choose relevant keywords, write compelling ads, and optimize ads for quality score and ad ranking. Key points covered include using the keyword tool, applying the "Goldilocks principle" to keywords, writing ads with calls to action, and experimenting with ad variations to improve performance. The goal is to help new advertisers get started effectively with Google AdWords.
2. AdWords 101
• Introduction to AdWords
• Setting Goals
• How Google Ranks Ads
• The Importance of Structure
• Choosing the Right Keywords
• How to Write Great Ads
4. What is Google AdWords?
AdWords is Google‟s online advertising program
• Advertisers select keywords; ads appear next
to the search results on Google.com
• Ads can also show on hundreds of thousands
of other websites
• AdWords is a live auction for keywords
5. Common Questions for New Advertisers
Is AdWords appropriate for Which keywords
my small business? should I use?
How do I get my ad
in the #1 position? How will I be
charged?
How do I write a
great ad?
Where will my
ads appear?
6. What are your goals?
Make a list of goals BEFORE you start advertising so you
can evaluate your progress.
Marketing is about TESTING!
• I want 3 new orders everyday
• I‟d like as many clicks as possible for less than $.80
per click
• I want at least 40 visits to my website everyday
• I want five quality leads for my sales team everyday
Worksheet #1
10. Remarketing Ads
• Follows visitors who have been to your site
• Brings customers back to your page to complete an action
• Out of sight, out of mind
• Can target different ads for users who searched different products
Worksheet #2
12. In this section we‟ll cover...
• How an AdWords Auction Works
• How Google Calculates your AdRank
• What is Max CPC?
• How Quality Score is Calculated
• How this affects what you pay per click
13. How does AdWords work?
Instant Auction
A live auction is run for every search
Ad Position = Quality x Your Bid
Quality Factors:
Clickthrough rate, keyword relevance, ad
relevance and historical performance
14. Everybody wants to be in position #1, right???
The position of each ad is determined using a ranking formula.
15. The Ad Ranking Forumla
Maximum
Ad Rank
= Cost-Per-Click Bid
(Max. CPC)
x Quality Score
16. What is your Max CPC?
CPC stands for Cost Per Click
• Maximum you are willing to bid for a keyword
in an AdWords auction
17. What is Quality Score?
Quality Score is a measure of the relevance of your ads. Google‟s
goal is to provide a great user experience so these score help
ranking for the user.
POOR
OK
GREAT
18. How Google Calculates Quality Score
Click-Through-Rate (CTR)
Of the people who saw your ad, how many clicked on it?
+
Relevancy
Do your keywords match your ads?
Does the search query match your keyword?
+
Landing Page Quality
Does your landing page provide a good user experience?
20. Add Your Quality Score to Your Columns
• Click “Columns” in the Keywords Tab
• Customize Columns
• Under Attributes, Add “Quality Score”
21. The Ad Ranking Formula
Alison, Scott, and Jon are all bidding on the same keywords.
Based on their Max CPC and Quality Score, where will they rank?
Ad Rank Max CPC Quality Score
Alison 2nd
8 = $1.00 x 8
Scott 10 = $1.00 x 10 1st
Jon 7 = $2.35 x 3 3rd
22. How Does This Affect How Much I Pay?
Your actual CPC is the Ad Rank of the advertiser below, divided by your
Quality Score.
Ad Rank Max CPC Quality Score Actual CPC
Scott 10 = $1.00 x 10 = (8/10) $.80
Alison 8 = $1.00 x 8 = (7/8) $.88
Juan 7 = $2.35 x 3 = minimum $min
24. In this section we‟ll cover:
• The structure and limits of a typical AdWords Account
• Best Practices for organizing your account
25. Typical AdWords Account Structure
AdWords Account
Unique email address & password
Billing information
Campaign Campaign
Daily budget Daily budget
Location/language targeting Location/language targeting
Distribution preference Distribution preference
End date End date
Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group
Keywords Keywords Keywords Keywords Keywords Keywords
Ads Ads Ads Ads Ads Ads
26. Poorly Setup Structure
AdWords Account
“Furniture” Campaign
Furniture Ad Group
The Best Furniture
Great Selection, Made in USA
Free Shipping, 5 Year Warranty.
PlantationDesign.com
leather sectional leather loveseat leather chair
rugs patio furniture leather sofa
dining room table table lamp coffee table
kitchen table floor lamp end table
brass bed kids furniture lamp
leather headboard living room furniture ottoman
dresser bedroom furniture dining room table
leather couch desk media console
27. The Right Way to Structure Your Account
AdWords Account
“Furniture” Campaign
“Leather Sectionals” “Leather Loveseats” “Leather Chairs”
Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group
Leather Sectionals Leather Loveseats Leather Chairs
Leather Sectionals Made in USA Free Delivery When You Buy Before Handcrafted Leather Chairs
From $1,999 With 5 Year Warranty Christmas. Order Yours Today! Make a Statement. View Catalog!
plantationdesign.com/sectionals plantationdesign.com/loveseat plantationdesign.com/chairs
buy leather sectional suite buy leather love seats buy handmade leather chair
buy leather sectional suites buy leather loveseats buy handmade leather chairs
leather sectional suites buy leather love seat handmade leather chairs
leather sectional suite buy leather loveseat handmade leather chair
buy leather sectional leather loveseats buy leather chairs
buy leather sectional leather love seats buy leather chair
leather sectional leather love seat leather chair
leather sectionals leather loveseat leather chairs
Worksheet #3
29. In this section we‟ll cover…
• How to begin building your keyword list
• The Google Keywords Tool
• How to apply the “Goldilocks” principle
• Keywords match types
30. Building Your Keyword List
• Brainstorm Business
• Review Your Website
• Think Like a Customer
• Focus on Your Unique Selling Points
• Include Plural and Singular Versions
• Include Spelling Mistakes & Variations
• Include Product Numbers & Codes
Worksheet #4
31. The Google Keyword Tool
https://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal
33. The Goldilocks Principle
vacation florida vacation rental 3 br vacation rental grayton beach
tax tax preparation nashville tax preparation service nolensville rd
store dvd storage faux leather storage for dvd box sets
bags handmade leather bags handmade black croc leather handbags
accounting cheap accounting software accounting software for petsitting biz
Too General Just Right Too Specific
34. Example keyword „vacation‟ -- your ad might show
for:
vacation rental The go-go‟s vacation
vacation deals disney vacation club
vacation ideas pictures from our vacation by
lynne rae perkins
vacations for kids
vacation auctions
vacations for singles
vacation accrual policy
vacations for veterans
Vacation agent magazine
National lampoon‟s European vacation
vacation air conditioning
permanent vacation lyrics
vacation anxiety
General keywords = low clickthrough-rate = low Quality Score
35. Keyword Match Types
How keyword
The ad will The ad will show when
Match Type appears in
show when: a searcher types:
AdWords:
Any word combination
Caribbean Cruise Ships
related to part of or all of
Broad Caribbean Cruise
the keyword or related
Tropical Cruise
terms in any order
Words related to every Caribbean holiday Cruises
+Broad +Modifier +Caribbean +Cruise word with a + sign in front Cruise holiday in Caribbean
of it in any order Cruise in Carribean
Keywords are typed in the
Cheap Caribbean Cruise
exact order specified. Can
“Phrase” “Caribbean Cruise”
have other words before
Caribbean Cruise deals
Luxury Caribbean Cruise
and/or after.
Keywords must be only &
[Exact] [Caribbean Cruise] exactly what the user Caribbean Cruise
types in
Ads will not appear when Add will not show if
-Negative - Tom this search term is entered someone types:
in the query Tom Cruise
36. Some Common Negative Keywords
Service provider Vacation destination Frequently used
-become -library -free
-study -doctor -lyrics
-class -vet -second hand
-classes -hospital -used
-course -schools -parts
-license -coffee -repairs
-training -cards -wholesale
-jobs -history -pics
-employment -jobs in -pictures
-supplies -pictures -definition of
-tools -news -history
-price -weather -diy
Worksheet #5
38. Ad Text Specifications
Ad title
(25 characters max,
including spaces)
Two description lines
(35 characters max each,
including spaces)
Display URL
(35 characters max,
including spaces)
Destination URL
(1024 characters max,
including spaces)
39. What is a Good AdWords Ad?
A good ad:
• Is relevant to the keywords in the ad group
• Gets a high Click-Through-Rate (CTR)
• Effectively Sells your Product or Service
• Stands out from your competitors
• Includes a call to action
40. Bad AdWords Ads:
Vague, Irrelevant, Unclear Ads
Ask yourself just 3 questions to help you write great ads!
41. 1. What Sets Your Business Apart?
Why would someone choose your business over a
competitor?
Examples:
“We only sell products made in the USA” “We won an award in 2009”
“We have a money back guarantee” “All our products are custom made”
“We have 30 years experience” “We always show up on time”
“Free shipping if you buy two” “We‟re open 7 days a week”
“We have lower prices”
“We offer free quotes”
This helps you
“We‟re having a sale” write useful ads
42. 2. Can You Describe Your Products or Services?
Describe specific or technical details of your
products or services.
Examples:
“Made from recycled materials” “Evening classes available”
“Battery lasts up to 8 hours” “18 day all-inclusive tour”
“From $16 per square foot” “10 Nashville locations”
“Suitable for diabetics” “24/7 onsite support”
“Dishwasher safe” “On time or it‟s free”
“Collectors item” “First class is free”
“Sizes 8-16” “HIPPA compliant”
43. What is your call to action?
After someone clicks on your ad and visits your
website, what is it you want them to do next?
Examples:
“Call us to request a free quote” “Learn more about osteoporosis”
“Browse through all of our toys” “Order a copy of our brochure”
“Book your rental home online” “Call us and order a pizza”
“Download a 30-day free trial” “Request a call back”
“Sign up for our mailing list”
This helps you
write a call to
action
45. Link to the Best Landing Page
Always direct traffic to the most useful page on the site.
46. Experiment with Your Ads
• Create 2 ads for each ad group
• Set Ad Rotation to “Rotate Evenly”
• Track your results to see which ad is performing better
so you can create a new ad to compete against it and
delete the old ad
48. You should now know:
Where Ads Show How to Structure an Account
Show ads on Google.com, the Search Structure your account for success with
Partners, the Google Display Network. campaigns, Ad Groups and keywords.
How to Select Keywords How To Write Ads
Keyword match types, the “Goldilocks” Ad text specifications, tips for writing
principle, using the Google Keyword Tool. more effective ads, calls to action.
50. Online Marketing Company
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51. Online Marketing Company
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