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Google Analytics

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Google Analytics is the most widely used website statistics service. It shows you how people found your site, how they explored it, and how you can enhance their visitor experience. With this information, you can improve your website return on investment, increase conversions, and make more money on the web.

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Google Analytics

  1. Supernova Media Presents: Analytics
  2. Stay Informed Join our E-Club http://bit.ly/SNMe-club to receive our monthly newsletter, with practical tips to increase brand awareness and strategies for more engaging relationships with your clients. Visit and Like our Facebook page http://on.fb.me/KFujSu Go ahead - post your Social Media & WordPress questions and get answers in real time.
  3. It Starts With Passion There‘s no shortage of creative thinkers out there. What‘s a little harder to find are creative thinkers who understand business. That‘s where Supernova Media Shines. We are a full service web company. We provide our customers with a uniform custom branded web presence. At Supernova Media we specialize in the speedy setup of WordPress websites & blogs. All our websites are mobile friendly, have onsite search engine optimization and social media integration.
  4. Google+ Analytics Whether It‘s your personal site you‘ve built from the ground up or you oversee the digital strategy for a corporation/business, many of us are managing a web presence these days. There are millions of websites out there, and tracking how people are getting to your site and what‘s performing well is a must for being competitive in the online market. Google Analytics is the most widely used website statistics service, currently in use on around 55% of the 10,000 most popular websites.
  5. Google AnalyticsGoogle Analytics makes it easy for site managersto track and analyze this data. It‘s a powerful, freetool that generates detailed statistics about thevisitors to a website.Wondering which keywords resonate withvisitors? Need insight on what design elementsmight be turning people away?Here‘s how you can start answering the websitequestions that have been keeping you awake atnight.
  6. Google Analytics Sign up for an account and set up a profile for the site you‘d like to track and the step-by-step process will generate a unique script for you. This is called the tracking code that you must implement on your website. If you‘re using a content management system or blogging platform like WordPress, you only need to add the code once to your template or theme. The theme will propagate the code in every post and page you create. If your site is custom-built, you‘ll either need to implement the code on each page manually, or speak to your web developer about how the site generates content.
  7. Google Analytics If youre adding Google Analytics to a WordPress blog via the Google Analytics for WordPress - plugin, you need to add the property ID to the plugin settings. I recommend to use the Google Analytics for WordPress –plugin if you need the additional features like not tracking your own visits, automatically tracking outgoing links and other advanced features.
  8. What you can Measure After you connect your site to Google Analytics, hit ―View Report‖ on the initial screen. This will bring you to the main dashboard. In the left column, you‘ll see the various types of data Google Analytics provides: • Audience: This shows many things about the people coming to your site, including where they‘re located geographically, what language they speak, how often they visit your site and what computers and browsers they use to get there. • Advertising: This lets you know all about your advertising programs and how well they are working complete with AdWords integration. • Traffic Sources: Here you‘ll find how people got to your site. You can track which sites link to your page or keywords people search to find you.
  9. What you can Measure• Content: This tab gives you insight into specific pages on your site. It can help answer questions about how people enter and exit your pages, as well as which ones are most popular.• Conversions: If you‘re aiming for established objectives, reports in the Goals tab will be helpful to you. Here you‘ll find data about desired actions from users, including downloads, registrations and purchases.These tabs contain sub reports that provide insights aboutspecific aspects of your site, including top content and visitorloyalty.
  10. DashboardOn the ‗Account Home‘ you can select which site you would like totrack. After you select the site you will be brought to yourdashboard. On the main dashboard, you‘ll see a summary of yoursite‘s data- this is also the Visitors page. You can customize thedashboard to show whichever reports you decide you want to seeupfront. By default you will see the number of daily visits you‘vehad over a one month period. To change the report, select it fromthe left column.The graph can be viewed not only on a daily basis but also on aweekly and monthly basis by clicking on the ‗Hourly‘ ‗Day‘ ‗Week‘‗Month ‘at the top right hand corner of the graph. This is useful ifyou want to measure month by month progress over a longer timeframe.Not only will Google Analytics give you a graph to look at but it will Weekly Reportalso list your stats below.
  11. ReportsMany of the reports in Google Analytics, such as pageviews and conversion rates, contain lineargraphs that present data for the topic and date range you‘ve selected. When mousing over thedots on the line, you‘ll see measurements for that day, week or hour.You can change the metric you want to visualize by clicking the tab above the graph on the left.Here you‘ll also have the option to compare two metrics against each other. When you‘re notcomparing date ranges, you can compare against the site average. This is particularly helpful ifyou‘ve laid out goals, as you can compare site activity to conversion goals. When comparing, asecond line (gray) will appear for the variable over the graph with the original metric line (blue),making it easy to see how you‘re stacking up.
  12. Sharing & ExportingThese graphs and reports can beexported as PDF (recommended), XML,CSV or TSV file by clicking on theExport button in the top left corner oryou can email it by clicking on the Emailbutton. You can also schedule arecurring report or add the report to anexisting pre-scheduled email.
  13. Traffic SourcesTraffic Sources is another great tool for youto utilize. It can help marketers understandhow well campaigns are working and howbetter to invest in site content, advertising,or other forms of engagement.The Google Analytics Traffic Sourcessection categorizes your site traffic as"direct" traffic, "referring" traffic, "searchengine" traffic and ‗campaigns‘.Direct traffic comes from people that typeyour website address directly in the browseror click on a bookmark.
  14. Traffic Sources Referral traffic is traffic send from other websites. This means that you have a link on another website, or you post a link or an article on another website. Search engine traffic is traffic that your website receives from search engines. This traffic source is divided into organic or non-paid search engine traffic — meaning that the visitor clicked on a so-called natural search result — and CPC or paid search engine traffic, which is the traffic you purchase (via pay-per-click ads from search engines). Campaign traffic tracks visitors from a specific source, such as a an email newlsetter link.
  15. Traffic SourcesSelecting "All Traffic Sources" from Google Analytics left-sidenavigation will show you a table listing the most active trafficsources and their medium. Direct traffic, as you would expect, hasa medium of "none." Traffic from Facebook, as an example, willhave a medium of "referral." Search engine traffic will have amedium or "organic" or "CPC" as described earlier.Sometimes you will see a search engine domain, like Google.com,with the medium "referral." This indicates that the site sent youtraffic from a page other than a search engine results page. Thiscould be a link from a Google+ account or some other Googleservice.These are just a couple of ways to view traffic sources but if youexplore the sub menus within ‗Traffic Sources‘ you will find all sortsof great options.
  16. Conversion RateThe goal of using Google analytics to design a website is to change avisitor from someone who simply views web pages to someone who hasestablished some type of relationship with the website. When a webpageviewer becomes a website customer, a relationship has been establishedbetween the visitor and the website -- a conversion has taken place.In the simplest terms your conversion rate is the percentage of visitors whoarrive at your landing page, who complete the task you want them to. Thiscould be clicking on a link, subscribing to a service, or making a purchase.A conversion rate is calculated over a set time period, usually a week,though it could be tallied over a day or a month. In most instances,creating a dedicated landing page will help you acquire and analyzeconversion rates.The simple logic behind this, is when you make your landing page morepersuasive, you increase your conversion rate.
  17. Conversion Rate If the primary objective of a website is an online purchase, it is important to make the clickpath to the desired outcome short, clear, and easy to navigate. Generally, the fewer clicks needed to accomplish a purchase, the better customers like it. Study the attributes of visitors to your website and try to create a profile of those visitors who converted. Be able to answer these questions. •From where do your converted visitors tend to come? •How do converted visitors enter the website? •Do visitors from a specific search engine or advertisement return to the website? •What sources seem to drive the most interest in your website? •Does your website have any drop-off points?
  18. Conversion RateThe good thing is that Google Analytics can be set up to define thenecessary steps that distinguish a "true conversion." What you will need todo, however, is sit down and decide which route you want to define as atrue path to visitor conversion in your own website.The next thing you will need is a success URL that is different from the restof the URLs on your site. This is a tricky but important requirement. Thesuccess URL needs to be entirely different from the URLs in the previoussteps. For example:Step 1: www.somewebsite.com/Step 2: www.somewebsite.com/contact.phpStep 3 (success URL): www.somewebsite.com/contact.php?x=success
  19. Creating a GoalTo set up a Goal (to track conversion rates) Click to theConversions tab in the left menu. In the sub menu clickGoals and then click set up Goals.You can create 5 goals. If you have none setup clickthe first open Goal link.You will then give your Goal a name, activate ordeactivate it and select which type of goal you wouldlike. Lets choose URL.So, if your goal process ends withwww.somewebsite.com/contact.php?x=success, enterthat into the URL destination and click save.
  20. Creating a GoalSo, if your goal process ends with www.somewebsite.com/contact.php?x=success, enter thatinto the URL destination.In the match type, you have three choices, "head match," "exact match" and "regularexpression match." You need to set this very carefully, or else Google Analytics may providethe wrong conversion data. Check out how Google defines these here.
  21. Creating a GoalNext is your Goal Fennel. This only applies if you have several pages leading up to your goal.If this is the case, select the box and enter the leading sites as prompted.After this click Save.Once your goal is created you will be able to view reports on the goal overview page.
  22. Creating a GoalYour conversion rate is the number of successful transactions divided bythe total number of unique visitors. The "Successful transaction" data istaken as the number of "goals" achieved in Google Analytics. So as anexample, let us say we have the following statistics:Total number of unique visitors to the website (in a one month period) =3458Total number of goals (those visitors that reach the download page)reported in Google Analytics = 50Then the conversion rate of website is around:% Conversion rate = (50/3458) x 100% = 1.45%
  23. Google Analytics Now that we‘ve broken down some of the basics, it‘s your turn to go for it. There are SO many great tools and features that are FREE for you to use and experiment with so why not? Knowing your audience and their traffic patterns will help better your business so you have nothing to lose.
  24. Our ServicesBeing Passionate comes easy when yougenuinely enjoy what you do. We offer anarray of services at Supernova Media buthere‘s what we do best:• Web Design & Hosting• Consulting• Branding• Virtual ToursWe know that your success is our success.Contact Us
  25. About Nancy Bain Nancy is a business owner, educator, and business strategist with more than 20 years experience. When she is not advising and teaching people about social media, Nancy spends a lot of her own time using social media. Find Nancy online: Google+ : Nancy Bain Like Supernova Media on Follow Nancy on Twitter Facebook Visit her Website Find her on LinkedIn Follow her Blog And visit her YouTube Channel