SlideShare une entreprise Scribd logo
1  sur  46
Benchmarking SaaS 
Companies 
Tomasz Tunguz 
Redpoint Ventures 
tomtunguz.com
$250k - $40M in 
Seed, Series A, B, Growth 
Menlo Park, China, Brazil 
Lots of *aaS
tomtunguz.com
Environment
SaaS Benchmarks
Methodology 
• Basket of 41 publicly traded SaaS companies 
• Measure progress from years since founding 
• Segment by ACV
Revenue
Payback Period 
= 
Gross Margin 
÷ 
CAC
Revenue per 
Employee
Department Spend
Sales to Engineering Ratio 
Year Since 
Founding 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 
Median 
Revenue in $M 
3 4 11 25 55 70 98 
Sales : Eng 
Ratio 
1.5 3.5 2.0 1.7 1.9 2.4 2.1 
Sample Size 1 1 5 9 12 16 18
Capitalization
Evolution of SaaS Fund Raising 
IPO 
Cohort 
Median 
VC$ 
Raised 
Median # 
of Rounds 
Median 
Round Size 
$M 
Median IPO 
Size 
1998 42 2.5 17 97 
2002 71 3.0 24 86 
2006 66 4.0 16 122 
2010 101 4.5 22 137
Sales
Sales Efficiency in Year Five 
Ticker 
Gross Profit 
in $M 
Sales 
Efficiency 
ACV 
VEEV 72.5 3.3 780,000 
XERO 2.6 1.9 195 
WDAY 40.5 1.7 512,615 
DWRE 5.9 1.7 122,294 
ZEN 25.0 1.4 1,800
How to Construct Quota 
Deal Velocity per Month 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 
1 12 24 36 48 60 72 84 96 
5 60 120 180 240 300 360 420 480 
ACV in 
$K 
10 120 240 360 480 600 720 840 960 
20 240 480 720 960 1,200 1,440 1,680 1,920 
50 600 1,200 1,800 2,400 3,000 3,600 4,200 4,800 
100 1,200 2,400 3,600 4,800 6,000 7,200 8,400 9,600
Quotas 
Inside Sales 
250k 500k 750k 
Outside Sales 
750k 1.2M 2.0M
Lead to Close Conversion Rates 
Freemium 
2% 3% 4% 
Inside Sales 
15% 20% 30%
Customer Success 
Maximizing your negative churn
3,000,000 
2,250,000 
1,500,000 
750,000 
0 
Churn’s Impact on Revenue Growth 
4% 2% 0% -2% -4% 
1 8 15 22 
MRR in $ 
Months
Sales and Marketing Spend Required to Double 
8.5 
5.8 
Revenue 
3.8 
2.2 0.9 
4% 2% 0% -2% -4%
$ 
2-and-Out Customer 
0 15 24 36 
months in customer life 
MRR 
Cost of Customer 
Acquisition + 
Cost to Serve 
Contribution
$ 
Renewed Customer, with Customer Success Investment 
0 15 24 36 
months in customer life 
MRR 
Cost of Customer 
Acquisition + 
Cost to Serve 
CS 
Contri-bution 
Contribution 
21
$ 
Churned Customer, Despite Customer Success Efforts 
0 15 24 36 
months in customer life 
MRR 
Cost of Customer 
Acquisition + 
Cost to Serve 
CS 
Contri-bution 
21
How much? 
Expected Value = 
Save Rate x Value of Extension 
EV = 
30% * 12 months * 83 = 
$298 
About 30% of ACV 
An existing customer is much less expensive to 
retain than to acquire a new customer
Thank you 
Tomasz Tunguz 
Redpoint Ventures 
tomtunguz.com
Benchmarking SaaS Companies

Contenu connexe

Tendances

State of the Cloud 2017
State of the Cloud 2017State of the Cloud 2017
State of the Cloud 2017
Bessemer Venture Partners
 

Tendances (20)

12 Key Levers of SaaS Success
12 Key Levers of SaaS Success12 Key Levers of SaaS Success
12 Key Levers of SaaS Success
 
The risk executive agenda -- A compendium of Deloitte insights
The risk executive agenda -- A compendium  of Deloitte insights The risk executive agenda -- A compendium  of Deloitte insights
The risk executive agenda -- A compendium of Deloitte insights
 
China Exit or Co-Investment Opportunities for German PE Investors
China Exit or Co-Investment Opportunities for German PE InvestorsChina Exit or Co-Investment Opportunities for German PE Investors
China Exit or Co-Investment Opportunities for German PE Investors
 
9 Worst Practices in SaaS Metrics
9 Worst Practices in SaaS Metrics9 Worst Practices in SaaS Metrics
9 Worst Practices in SaaS Metrics
 
12 Key Levers of SaaS Success
12 Key Levers of SaaS Success12 Key Levers of SaaS Success
12 Key Levers of SaaS Success
 
Unit economics example for B2B SaaS company
Unit economics example for B2B SaaS companyUnit economics example for B2B SaaS company
Unit economics example for B2B SaaS company
 
State of the Cloud 2017
State of the Cloud 2017State of the Cloud 2017
State of the Cloud 2017
 
2012 saas conversions benchmark
2012 saas conversions benchmark2012 saas conversions benchmark
2012 saas conversions benchmark
 
2019 Expansion SaaS Benchmarks Report
2019 Expansion SaaS Benchmarks Report2019 Expansion SaaS Benchmarks Report
2019 Expansion SaaS Benchmarks Report
 
SaaS Metrics Masterclass: What Key Business Metrics, Pricing Strategies, and ...
SaaS Metrics Masterclass: What Key Business Metrics, Pricing Strategies, and ...SaaS Metrics Masterclass: What Key Business Metrics, Pricing Strategies, and ...
SaaS Metrics Masterclass: What Key Business Metrics, Pricing Strategies, and ...
 
EY's European Banking Barometer – 2015
EY's European Banking Barometer – 2015 EY's European Banking Barometer – 2015
EY's European Banking Barometer – 2015
 
Bessemer's 10 Laws of Cloud Computing
Bessemer's 10 Laws of Cloud ComputingBessemer's 10 Laws of Cloud Computing
Bessemer's 10 Laws of Cloud Computing
 
Step by Step Guide to Revenue Growth
Step by Step Guide to Revenue GrowthStep by Step Guide to Revenue Growth
Step by Step Guide to Revenue Growth
 
Bcg good
Bcg goodBcg good
Bcg good
 
The Mendoza Line for SaaS Growth
The Mendoza Line for SaaS GrowthThe Mendoza Line for SaaS Growth
The Mendoza Line for SaaS Growth
 
PwC’s new Golden Age Index – how well are countries harnessing the power of o...
PwC’s new Golden Age Index – how well are countries harnessing the power of o...PwC’s new Golden Age Index – how well are countries harnessing the power of o...
PwC’s new Golden Age Index – how well are countries harnessing the power of o...
 
The CMO Survey - Highlights and Insights Report - March 2023
The CMO Survey - Highlights and Insights Report - March 2023The CMO Survey - Highlights and Insights Report - March 2023
The CMO Survey - Highlights and Insights Report - March 2023
 
The SaaS business model and metrics
The SaaS business model and metricsThe SaaS business model and metrics
The SaaS business model and metrics
 
Genius Network 10 Minute Talk Roland Frasier
Genius Network 10 Minute Talk Roland FrasierGenius Network 10 Minute Talk Roland Frasier
Genius Network 10 Minute Talk Roland Frasier
 
Whole Brain Leadership: New Rules of Engagement for the C-Suite| Accenture St...
Whole Brain Leadership: New Rules of Engagement for the C-Suite| Accenture St...Whole Brain Leadership: New Rules of Engagement for the C-Suite| Accenture St...
Whole Brain Leadership: New Rules of Engagement for the C-Suite| Accenture St...
 

En vedette

The State of the Cloud Report 2017
The State of the Cloud Report 2017 The State of the Cloud Report 2017
The State of the Cloud Report 2017
Anna Khan
 
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad TécnicaDocumentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
Proyecto Red Eureka
 
Getting paid to go to Harvard
Getting paid to go to HarvardGetting paid to go to Harvard
Getting paid to go to Harvard
meducationdotnet
 
The Effects of Artificial Lighting
The Effects of Artificial LightingThe Effects of Artificial Lighting
The Effects of Artificial Lighting
Emma-Louise Spicer
 

En vedette (19)

Benchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS Companies
Benchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS CompaniesBenchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS Companies
Benchmarking Exceptional Series A SaaS Companies
 
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom TunguzGainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz
 
Tom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San Francisco
Tom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San FranciscoTom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San Francisco
Tom Tunguz Talk at Wharton San Francisco
 
The State of the Cloud Report 2017
The State of the Cloud Report 2017 The State of the Cloud Report 2017
The State of the Cloud Report 2017
 
IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00)
IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00) IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00)
IPOs from the "Tech Bubble" ('99 - '00)
 
Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017
Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017
Upfront State of the VC & Tech Industry 2017
 
Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star
Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star
Numbers that Actually Matter. Finding Your North Star
 
Upfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup Industry
Upfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup IndustryUpfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup Industry
Upfront LP Survey of the Venture Capital & Startup Industry
 
Diseño instruccional
Diseño instruccionalDiseño instruccional
Diseño instruccional
 
Alemanha
AlemanhaAlemanha
Alemanha
 
5.guia amplificacion y reduccion
5.guia amplificacion y reduccion5.guia amplificacion y reduccion
5.guia amplificacion y reduccion
 
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad TécnicaDocumentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
Documentación Proyecto # 62 Premios Eureka 2011 Mención Innovatividad Técnica
 
Getting paid to go to Harvard
Getting paid to go to HarvardGetting paid to go to Harvard
Getting paid to go to Harvard
 
rp
rprp
rp
 
Its good to talk process
Its good to talk processIts good to talk process
Its good to talk process
 
The Effects of Artificial Lighting
The Effects of Artificial LightingThe Effects of Artificial Lighting
The Effects of Artificial Lighting
 
Presentación1 (1)
Presentación1 (1)Presentación1 (1)
Presentación1 (1)
 
Mapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargas
Mapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargasMapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargas
Mapaconceptual(LEM)EloyVargas
 
Ofirmarc
OfirmarcOfirmarc
Ofirmarc
 

Similaire à Benchmarking SaaS Companies

Final Presentation Insight-2
Final Presentation Insight-2Final Presentation Insight-2
Final Presentation Insight-2
Carl Schiro
 
SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!
SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!
SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!
Software & Information Industry Association
 

Similaire à Benchmarking SaaS Companies (20)

Journey to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a Backlog
Journey to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a BacklogJourney to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a Backlog
Journey to the Perfect Application: Run a Business, not a Backlog
 
Yess pitch startup
Yess pitch   startupYess pitch   startup
Yess pitch startup
 
KPI Dashboard Presentation.pptx
KPI Dashboard Presentation.pptxKPI Dashboard Presentation.pptx
KPI Dashboard Presentation.pptx
 
IP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRM
IP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRMIP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRM
IP on top of Microsoft Dynamics CRM
 
Investor presentation
Investor presentationInvestor presentation
Investor presentation
 
BackLive Pitch Deck
BackLive Pitch DeckBackLive Pitch Deck
BackLive Pitch Deck
 
SEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALE
SEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALESEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALE
SEVEN STEPS TO CUSTOMER SUCCESS AT SCALE
 
Final Presentation Insight-2
Final Presentation Insight-2Final Presentation Insight-2
Final Presentation Insight-2
 
Business Pitch PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch PowerPoint Presentation SlidesBusiness Pitch PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
Business Pitch Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch Powerpoint Presentation SlidesBusiness Pitch Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Business Pitch Powerpoint Presentation Slides
 
Revenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's Effectiveness
Revenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's EffectivenessRevenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's Effectiveness
Revenue Planning: How Planning for Revenue Impacts a Budget's Effectiveness
 
Equity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Equity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation SlidesEquity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Equity Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
The Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription Economy
The Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription EconomyThe Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription Economy
The Finance Perspective: The Business Model for the Subscription Economy
 
Investment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Investment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation SlidesInvestment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Investment Crowdfunding PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy
Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy
Investor Presentation of Solution Based Training Strategy
 
SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!
SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!
SIIA & OPEXEngine: Let the Data Set You Free!
 
Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Pay Forecast PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides
Money Projection PowerPoint Presentation Slides
 
Investor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Investor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation SlidesInvestor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation Slides
Investor Pitch Deck Pe Powerpoint Presentation Slides
 
Sept 2018 acxiom live-ramp_investor roadshow deck
Sept 2018 acxiom live-ramp_investor roadshow deckSept 2018 acxiom live-ramp_investor roadshow deck
Sept 2018 acxiom live-ramp_investor roadshow deck
 

Dernier

Dernier (20)

DBX First Quarter 2024 Investor Presentation
DBX First Quarter 2024 Investor PresentationDBX First Quarter 2024 Investor Presentation
DBX First Quarter 2024 Investor Presentation
 
Data Cloud, More than a CDP by Matt Robison
Data Cloud, More than a CDP by Matt RobisonData Cloud, More than a CDP by Matt Robison
Data Cloud, More than a CDP by Matt Robison
 
AWS Community Day CPH - Three problems of Terraform
AWS Community Day CPH - Three problems of TerraformAWS Community Day CPH - Three problems of Terraform
AWS Community Day CPH - Three problems of Terraform
 
A Beginners Guide to Building a RAG App Using Open Source Milvus
A Beginners Guide to Building a RAG App Using Open Source MilvusA Beginners Guide to Building a RAG App Using Open Source Milvus
A Beginners Guide to Building a RAG App Using Open Source Milvus
 
Manulife - Insurer Transformation Award 2024
Manulife - Insurer Transformation Award 2024Manulife - Insurer Transformation Award 2024
Manulife - Insurer Transformation Award 2024
 
MINDCTI Revenue Release Quarter One 2024
MINDCTI Revenue Release Quarter One 2024MINDCTI Revenue Release Quarter One 2024
MINDCTI Revenue Release Quarter One 2024
 
Boost Fertility New Invention Ups Success Rates.pdf
Boost Fertility New Invention Ups Success Rates.pdfBoost Fertility New Invention Ups Success Rates.pdf
Boost Fertility New Invention Ups Success Rates.pdf
 
Apidays Singapore 2024 - Building Digital Trust in a Digital Economy by Veron...
Apidays Singapore 2024 - Building Digital Trust in a Digital Economy by Veron...Apidays Singapore 2024 - Building Digital Trust in a Digital Economy by Veron...
Apidays Singapore 2024 - Building Digital Trust in a Digital Economy by Veron...
 
Strategies for Landing an Oracle DBA Job as a Fresher
Strategies for Landing an Oracle DBA Job as a FresherStrategies for Landing an Oracle DBA Job as a Fresher
Strategies for Landing an Oracle DBA Job as a Fresher
 
ProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemke
ProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemkeProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemke
ProductAnonymous-April2024-WinProductDiscovery-MelissaKlemke
 
A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?
A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?
A Year of the Servo Reboot: Where Are We Now?
 
Apidays Singapore 2024 - Modernizing Securities Finance by Madhu Subbu
Apidays Singapore 2024 - Modernizing Securities Finance by Madhu SubbuApidays Singapore 2024 - Modernizing Securities Finance by Madhu Subbu
Apidays Singapore 2024 - Modernizing Securities Finance by Madhu Subbu
 
Apidays New York 2024 - Accelerating FinTech Innovation by Vasa Krishnan, Fin...
Apidays New York 2024 - Accelerating FinTech Innovation by Vasa Krishnan, Fin...Apidays New York 2024 - Accelerating FinTech Innovation by Vasa Krishnan, Fin...
Apidays New York 2024 - Accelerating FinTech Innovation by Vasa Krishnan, Fin...
 
Apidays New York 2024 - Scaling API-first by Ian Reasor and Radu Cotescu, Adobe
Apidays New York 2024 - Scaling API-first by Ian Reasor and Radu Cotescu, AdobeApidays New York 2024 - Scaling API-first by Ian Reasor and Radu Cotescu, Adobe
Apidays New York 2024 - Scaling API-first by Ian Reasor and Radu Cotescu, Adobe
 
Exploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone Processors
Exploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone ProcessorsExploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone Processors
Exploring the Future Potential of AI-Enabled Smartphone Processors
 
presentation ICT roal in 21st century education
presentation ICT roal in 21st century educationpresentation ICT roal in 21st century education
presentation ICT roal in 21st century education
 
FWD Group - Insurer Innovation Award 2024
FWD Group - Insurer Innovation Award 2024FWD Group - Insurer Innovation Award 2024
FWD Group - Insurer Innovation Award 2024
 
Apidays New York 2024 - The value of a flexible API Management solution for O...
Apidays New York 2024 - The value of a flexible API Management solution for O...Apidays New York 2024 - The value of a flexible API Management solution for O...
Apidays New York 2024 - The value of a flexible API Management solution for O...
 
MS Copilot expands with MS Graph connectors
MS Copilot expands with MS Graph connectorsMS Copilot expands with MS Graph connectors
MS Copilot expands with MS Graph connectors
 
AXA XL - Insurer Innovation Award Americas 2024
AXA XL - Insurer Innovation Award Americas 2024AXA XL - Insurer Innovation Award Americas 2024
AXA XL - Insurer Innovation Award Americas 2024
 

Benchmarking SaaS Companies

  • 1. Benchmarking SaaS Companies Tomasz Tunguz Redpoint Ventures tomtunguz.com
  • 2. $250k - $40M in Seed, Series A, B, Growth Menlo Park, China, Brazil Lots of *aaS
  • 5.
  • 6.
  • 7.
  • 8.
  • 9.
  • 10.
  • 12. Methodology • Basket of 41 publicly traded SaaS companies • Measure progress from years since founding • Segment by ACV
  • 14.
  • 15.
  • 16.
  • 17.
  • 18. Payback Period = Gross Margin ÷ CAC
  • 19.
  • 21.
  • 22.
  • 24.
  • 25. Sales to Engineering Ratio Year Since Founding 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Median Revenue in $M 3 4 11 25 55 70 98 Sales : Eng Ratio 1.5 3.5 2.0 1.7 1.9 2.4 2.1 Sample Size 1 1 5 9 12 16 18
  • 27.
  • 28. Evolution of SaaS Fund Raising IPO Cohort Median VC$ Raised Median # of Rounds Median Round Size $M Median IPO Size 1998 42 2.5 17 97 2002 71 3.0 24 86 2006 66 4.0 16 122 2010 101 4.5 22 137
  • 29. Sales
  • 30.
  • 31. Sales Efficiency in Year Five Ticker Gross Profit in $M Sales Efficiency ACV VEEV 72.5 3.3 780,000 XERO 2.6 1.9 195 WDAY 40.5 1.7 512,615 DWRE 5.9 1.7 122,294 ZEN 25.0 1.4 1,800
  • 32.
  • 33. How to Construct Quota Deal Velocity per Month 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 1 12 24 36 48 60 72 84 96 5 60 120 180 240 300 360 420 480 ACV in $K 10 120 240 360 480 600 720 840 960 20 240 480 720 960 1,200 1,440 1,680 1,920 50 600 1,200 1,800 2,400 3,000 3,600 4,200 4,800 100 1,200 2,400 3,600 4,800 6,000 7,200 8,400 9,600
  • 34. Quotas Inside Sales 250k 500k 750k Outside Sales 750k 1.2M 2.0M
  • 35. Lead to Close Conversion Rates Freemium 2% 3% 4% Inside Sales 15% 20% 30%
  • 36. Customer Success Maximizing your negative churn
  • 37.
  • 38.
  • 39. 3,000,000 2,250,000 1,500,000 750,000 0 Churn’s Impact on Revenue Growth 4% 2% 0% -2% -4% 1 8 15 22 MRR in $ Months
  • 40. Sales and Marketing Spend Required to Double 8.5 5.8 Revenue 3.8 2.2 0.9 4% 2% 0% -2% -4%
  • 41. $ 2-and-Out Customer 0 15 24 36 months in customer life MRR Cost of Customer Acquisition + Cost to Serve Contribution
  • 42. $ Renewed Customer, with Customer Success Investment 0 15 24 36 months in customer life MRR Cost of Customer Acquisition + Cost to Serve CS Contri-bution Contribution 21
  • 43. $ Churned Customer, Despite Customer Success Efforts 0 15 24 36 months in customer life MRR Cost of Customer Acquisition + Cost to Serve CS Contri-bution 21
  • 44. How much? Expected Value = Save Rate x Value of Extension EV = 30% * 12 months * 83 = $298 About 30% of ACV An existing customer is much less expensive to retain than to acquire a new customer
  • 45. Thank you Tomasz Tunguz Redpoint Ventures tomtunguz.com

Notes de l'éditeur

  1. Let me give you a little bit of background on red point. We invest in every part of technology stack, from consumer applications like secret to enterprise software like zuora and mapr, to developer services like stripe and twilio, and infrastructure companies like pure storage We have 11 partners and most of them are based in California. We have a team in China that is invested in some of the largest companies there. And we have a team in the fund in Brazil who cover South America for us. We also have the notable distinction of being the only venture capital firm in the world with two former ATMs on staff, Jamie Davidson (YouTube and I)
  2. Blog extensively at tomtunguz.com Data driven analysis
  3. Let’s first set some context about the environment It’s a bull market
  4. B of USD entering the venture market black line is the post dot com median 2014 will be the fourth largest in 14 years
  5. In terms of dollars deployed, invested into companies, 2014 is on track to exceed $40B, making it the second largest year since the dot com era
  6. This dollars have been raised by many new firms, particularly institutional seed stage
  7. All that capital is increasing the amount of capital deployed per investment in the US. Median across A, B, C.
  8. Meanwhile in the publlic markets, there’s a bit of a different story. NTM revenue to market 2.2B market cap - 3x in 2004 and 6X in 2005
  9. Split it by high growth WorkDay, Splunk, ZenDesk, DemandWare, LinkedIn tale of two markets relative stability of the standard markets, much greater variance in the high growth companies, still trading at 12x, which is similar to private market multiples, particularly in the growth stage.
  10. Median publicly traded SaaS company achieves $11M by third year, reaching about $64M in year six, the year before IPO. After that, growth tends to slow.
  11. Looking at the data at a bit more granular level. Each point represents a year for a SaaS company. At the beginning, SaaS companies are growing close to 200% per year, and that number begins to taper reaching about 100% by year five and then 50% by year seven.
  12. Let’s break this out by segment: SMB is < $10k acv; mid market is < $100k ACV; http://tomtunguz.com/segmenting-saas-growth/
  13. http://tomtunguz.com/fundraising-history-saas-publics/ Median is 70M The number of rounds of financing each company raises before IPO has nearly doubled from 2.5 to 4.5, i.e. Series B/C to Series D/E. These figures exclude seeds, which I’ve defined as rounds less than $1.5M.
  14. Inflation adjusted in 2014 dollars $32M on the balance sheet at IPO time, spent $69 during the seven years
  15. This is list of publicly traded saaS companies by acv at time of IPO Huge range Median is $30k
  16. Amazingly, sales efficiency isn't actually tied to ACV. These are the top five most efficient sales organizations. Huge variance in sales efficiency
  17. Here’s the data broken down by segment and shown over time. Monotonically decreasing No statistically significant difference among the companies Early on, sales efficiency should be close to one and then ideally plateau to 0.8, which is the median The median SaaS company selling a $1M product declines from a sales efficiency of 1.7 to 0.9 in about 6 years, a 47% drop. In contrast, the $50k ACV median falls 9%.
  18. Quotas What sizes of quotas do we typically see Function of acv and deal velocity; we’ll get into that in a second